7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

> Military Thread V26

SUSKLboy92
post Aug 9 2018, 06:25 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(zacky chan @ Aug 9 2018, 12:58 AM)
sorry if my points was not made clear. but what i was trying to said earlier is,no matter the circumstance there is nothing to worry from buying from US or EU. we have issue but it does not hinder the relationship to the point of embargo or sanction.

my brooding over ESSM and MICA was because when say about SAM, most people goes to S400 or S300 or even patriot system which is expensive and overkill for us. its good to say this things as people read and educate them. plus most never think the good of commonality in reduce cost and logistic.

about Argentina war, i dont know how they got the conclusion US and France wont butt in but US have a lot to gain from Argentina lose rather than won in IMO.
Yes, there are political considerations. US does refuse us certain things, and it will be much worse if we actively go against their interests e.g. fight Singkie.

Good considerations there. But also have to consider our other assets.

Hindsight is 20/20... I'm sure the Argies had their reasoning. They were indeed a US ally at the time - they badly underestimated US-UK relationship and overestimated their own relationship with US... plus they even assessed that UK would not even go to war.

azriel How many NASAMs did Indonesia buy again? What was the reported cost?
SUSKLboy92
post Aug 9 2018, 07:16 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(azriel @ Aug 9 2018, 06:51 PM)
1 complete battery of NASAMS. Unconfirmed report a second batch is in process.

Actually don't know exactly the reported cost.
Thank you.

Based on my searches, $77m is the amount reported by Kongsberg.
SUSKLboy92
post Aug 10 2018, 09:27 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(azriel @ Aug 10 2018, 09:16 AM)
Biggest ego too
SUSKLboy92
post Aug 10 2018, 04:20 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(zimhibikie @ Aug 10 2018, 03:12 PM)

while against hezbollah in south lebanon, IDF went in with large numbers of reservist, which was met with fierce resistance against a smaller number of hezbollah fighters..
and yet they still managed to inflict far more casualties on Hezb, and make fools of the Lebanese security forces

to the point that we and UN now have to station troops there to give Hezb time and space to recover whistling.gif
SUSKLboy92
post Aug 10 2018, 07:41 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(periuk_api1209 @ Aug 10 2018, 07:06 PM)
agreed..tapi beli banyak skit la..36 ke 44 ke...ari tu offer klu beli banyak dapat MPA free kan??ke dpt erieye free?
At least $80m sebiji mana mampu beli banyak
SUSKLboy92
post Aug 11 2018, 05:11 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(Mai189 @ Aug 10 2018, 11:14 PM)
So why is the tulpar a light tank and not a medium tank? I asked as to what constitute a medium  or light tank. And why some 30 ton class armored vehicles aremt? You hit the nail on its head when you referenced sales/marketing pitches.

In no way does it detract from the main fact that these are essentially 30 ton class armored vehicles. You just put a large cannon on top. You can also call a jeep with a 105mm recoiless rifle a compact light tank.
QFT
QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ Aug 11 2018, 12:58 AM)
naming convention these days dont mean much.. peenoise madmax apcs by modern standards are a joke... but still apcs

only the israelies maintain their toys top notch
Namer is an exceptional outlier as no other IFV is comparable

Shouldn't be considered benchmark
QUOTE(Mai189 @ Aug 11 2018, 02:01 AM)
Fire support esp in urban settings. They are really fire support vehicles.
Frankly that is their only use beyond 30mm IFVs. Cause 105mm has various uses in FIBUA. Of course they are able to defeat IFVs and obsolete tanks but it's own thin skin makes that a very suboptimal matchup.

Might as well call them assault guns actually.
SUSKLboy92
post Aug 11 2018, 09:59 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ Aug 11 2018, 09:31 AM)
t-15
sleek looking
Fine then, smart arse

I'll add the Achzarit, Nagmachon and Nakpadon as well, happy?

Point being that these are way in the minority in the big scheme of things, outside of Israel only a literal handful of Armatas will be built
SUSKLboy92
post Aug 11 2018, 11:56 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ Aug 11 2018, 11:30 AM)
dont need name calling la, be civil and engage in constructive discussion... if easily triggered then dont continue la

yea, why not... that's the role assigned...

the only exception is the merkava being able to ferry infantry... that's a special tank... the rest, fits the role given
wonder whether elements of the xm8 is incorporated into the design
Hmm let's see

We are discussing about vehicle armour protection

You claim that IFVs also can have heavy protection equal to a tank

I and others are saying that the vast majority of IFVs do not. The Namer is one of the few exceptions.

Then you say T-15 also.

So your point is?

^ If this is not called being smart ass then what is it?
SUSKLboy92
post Aug 14 2018, 11:29 PM

189 posts

Turkey's F35 buy on hold

How? Wanna pick up a couple?

(No don't actually. Current operating cost is $50,000/flying hour)
SUSKLboy92
post Aug 15 2018, 02:06 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(zacky chan @ Aug 15 2018, 01:10 AM)
sure...we sure can afford F35
pffffff    sweat.gif
Oh yes my friend

Quoted price is only $85m for F35A

That is on a level with Su35, a new Super Hornet, and cheaper than Eurofighter Typhoon
SUSKLboy92
post Aug 15 2018, 03:30 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(Lumiaaa @ Aug 15 2018, 03:19 AM)
If buy American just get F18 or F15SE

I say Malaysia should settle with Gripen NG or more F18
F18 is IF Kuwait will sell their 2ndhand to us and US allows

Gripen is my choice of new buy IF we want to avoid US*, but it costs about the same as F35A and F18SH too, $80-85m

We will never get F15SE as America is not selling, it only has about 200 of the best current Eagle variant in USAF service

12 Gripen NG will cost approx $1.5 billion including weapons and support, aka Rm6 billion. That is the entire TUDM capex budget for 6 years. If we can ask for a 12-year loan that is realistic for our MRCA/MIG replacement.

*Of course my real choice is to buy American, preferably F18SH, but politics...

This post has been edited by KLboy92: Aug 15 2018, 03:37 AM
SUSKLboy92
post Aug 15 2018, 05:03 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(zacky chan @ Aug 15 2018, 08:56 AM)
please no typhoon or su35. those plane looks like no future.
85m is good actually. its the correct price for 5th gen so far.
last time i read, the government accountability office have been inform the F35 will be priced around 90m-95m range,so its already down so much now.
if we can afford,it would be good but its operating cost will make RMAF broke soo much  rclxms.gif
F18 yeah...its a good decision. but Gripen NG just big NOPE. its not just procurement cost and operating cost should be review but also the future plan. the F35,F18 or F15 already have future plan where it will be upgrade with more feature overtime to be able to keep up with future tech. but typhoon,gripen or even Rafale  was none. if we want to upgrade,we need to figure out ourselves means we need to make the R&D and its very costly and time consuming. example looks at our MKM,its one of its kind and take a lot of time and resources to get the necessary abilities.
Typhoon actually is arguably 1 of the best fighter outside of F22 now, and has a lot of upgrades planned actually - Brimstone and Paveways, Meteor BVRAAM, Captor AESA radar, maybe CFTs

Gripen NG is also newer than F16, could have lots more life especially since there are few (no) other Western single-engine types being offered. It's a new airframe and could have lots of upgrade potential
SUSKLboy92
post Aug 15 2018, 05:25 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(MKLMS @ Aug 15 2018, 11:15 AM)
Still not free from US control (ITAR) as they manufactured the Gripen E engine (GE 414G), unless we are willing to spend additional funds to change the engine to other manufacturer like Rolls-Royce or Safran.

Link: Gripen E Multirole Fighter Aircraft
¯\_(ツ)_/ ¯
SUSKLboy92
post Aug 15 2018, 05:54 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(zacky chan @ Aug 15 2018, 05:39 PM)
Typhoon upgrade was already stated during buy in including Brimstone and Paveways, Meteor BVRAAM and Captor AESA radar but dont know about CFT(maybe i miss those). when those upgrade available, the user will be able to get it. the reason i said it have bleak future because german air force may decided(some said already in motion) to get F35 rather than another batch of typhoon. this will be follow by other EU maybe which will make the market even smaller for typhoon. thus less sale,no production,maybe close line and less future upgrade. but who know, the saudi and the gang might "cough" up money for BAE to upgrade typhoon since they cant get F35.

I not confident with Gripen NG. its the E/F series right??its still early stage and need time to mature.
Yes E/F series

People don't trust it only. But Saab have good track record all the way back to Draken, and it could turn out better than F16... In fact if it was sold by US confirm people would be rushing to buy

As it is the real story is that F35 captured a huge market because it's 5th gen stealth at LCA prices, a mega deal for smaller countries

Typhoon also got Italy, Spain, Saudi and UAE in addition to UK. UK will confirm integrate those upgrades mentioned (except CFT, not sure about those). Once those are in, they will be undisputed champ of the skies (other than F22).
SUSKLboy92
post Aug 15 2018, 07:59 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(zacky chan @ Aug 15 2018, 07:45 PM)
IMO F16 able to be one of effective plane because it have a lot of user and all those feed info and help it improve. Gripen it will take time and need a lot of user. maybe if it win India IAF requirement it will be the next F16 in future.

UK and saudi will confirm upgrade but other will see if German get F35 and if its a better deal,who know man...  hmm.gif

once all those EU(surely UK) country got F35, most of them will integrate it with typhoon networking thus making it more deadlier as F35 stealth will find the target and link it to the typhoon to be eliminated. but the US will surely use their F15 in those situation. and new F15 upgrade able to carry more bomb and missile  rclxm9.gif
F-16 was successful because the US decided to upgrade it a lot rather than invest in new airframes. So it became capable of far more missions than it used to.

It doesn't matter if the Germans don't upgrade the Typhoon, UK and Sauds will. The UK F35s will operate alongside the Typhoon.

This is a very fair criticism of the F-15X worth reading: https://nationalinterest.org/blog/buzz/f-15...aste-time-28492
SUSKLboy92
post Aug 15 2018, 10:22 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(zacky chan @ Aug 15 2018, 09:49 PM)
UK and Saudi will upgrade it. they are the big sponsor of typhoon.

thanks for that articles. its a good analysis. but the shocker is the price of F15X is somewhat affordable as quote in articles between $50 to $75 million.
why would LIMA cancel??did someone suggest that  shocking.gif
Legacy airframe is legacy, without stealth features it's just a missile and bomb truck

It's like comparing two AK-47s and one M16 with ACOG scope and silencer. One side can throw more bullets, the other has different advantages. Who will win? Maybe more bullets, but also maybe the scope will make the M16 more accurate and deadly

Not sure what's the use of LIMA since we are the most unlikely country to buy stuff in ASEAN whistling.gif
SUSKLboy92
post Aug 16 2018, 04:34 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(zacky chan @ Aug 15 2018, 10:56 PM)
i thought it was design like that??F35 with full stealth but lack offensive capabilities complement with other asset(F15/F18) with lack stealth but full offensive capabilities.

although the F35 was suppose to be the replacement for other legacy(F16,F15,F18) it seem it only be F22 replacement.some also suggest having same plane to cover all mission will be cost effective but not strategic wise since most design have it flaw. so better to have 2 or 3 design to be safe. of course it only can be done with super power only not ciput budget nation.

From USAF perspective, they have literally several hundreds of non-stealth fighters and intend to develop another even better fighter to replace the Raptor - so called 6th gen fighter

So why should they divert funds from F35 to buy more outdated F15X?

F35 doesn't replace F22. It really replaces the AV8B Harrier, F16, F18 and A10.
SUSKLboy92
post Aug 20 2018, 09:38 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ Aug 20 2018, 10:55 AM)

btw, are you kl92's dupe? why repeating this topic again... lol

how do you even get to that conclusion rclxub.gif
SUSKLboy92
post Aug 21 2018, 06:31 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(KYPMbangi @ Aug 21 2018, 08:02 AM)

Pave Hawk

spec ops
SUSKLboy92
post Aug 23 2018, 01:22 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ Aug 22 2018, 06:07 PM)

Dumb article with no conclusion

Anyway

Aren't the Tiger IIs in storage dy?

This post has been edited by KLboy92: Aug 23 2018, 01:23 AM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » 
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.1760sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:12 PM