Canon Warranty non-existant?, does accessories come with warranty?

TSrebel without a cause
post May 22 2007, 05:50 PM, updated 19y ago

Validating
297 posts

Hey guys, just wondering when you buy your canon accessories, are there any warranty given to the product? there is a shop in sungei wang called "boeing photo". has plenty of canon accessories in there like lenses, flash, batteries, etc. however when asked about warranty of the products, it is mentioned that there is no warranty even though the product is an original canon product. does this sound weird or fishy to you or what?

should this shop then be reported or brought to canon malaysia's attention?

This post has been edited by rebel without a cause: May 22 2007, 05:52 PM
SUSitanium
post May 22 2007, 06:11 PM

I brake very late.
762 posts

Off course Canon products have warranty. The shop should present you with the Canon warranty card complete with the shop's chop.
OR this shop could be seling parallel import stuff in which case the warranty is eat your own.
TSrebel without a cause
post May 22 2007, 06:21 PM

Validating
297 posts

well, for the cameras, this shop gives the warranty card and stuffs but for the accessories that i asked, it does not which makes me wonder. anyone else got any thoughts on this?
g88
post May 22 2007, 11:25 PM

1,631 posts

Boeing is well know camerashop with reliable price/friendly-ness around KL a nd so far didn't hear that there selling grey stuff....
yewkhuay
post May 22 2007, 11:59 PM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

well-known brand like nikon n canon will hav waranty card...
especially lens, flash, body.....
julchin_09
post May 23 2007, 02:08 AM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(itanium @ May 22 2007, 06:11 PM)
Off course Canon products have warranty. The shop should present you with the Canon warranty card complete with the shop's chop.
OR this shop could be seling parallel import stuff in which case the warranty is eat your own.
You hit the nail on the head. I was gonna mention about parallel imports from countries like Japan and Korea. Very dodgy stuff if you ask me...... Oh, HK as well... the list is longer actually tongue.gif

QUOTE(g88 @ May 22 2007, 11:25 PM)
Boeing is well know camerashop with reliable price/friendly-ness around KL a nd so far didn't hear that there selling grey stuff....
Thats what I heard as well. I am guessing that their main products like Cameras should carry the local 1 yr warranty with the option of extending it with Canon Malaysia for an additional year or 2 based on the price range. No warranty could mean either stolen goods or like what itanium has mentioned ohmy.gif
SUSMatrix
post May 23 2007, 09:51 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

I don't trust anything from Sg Wang....but i did bought my Canon last time from Boieng...after the CCD incident, i took it back to CANON for repair without hassle, so i guess it's not parallel import stuff.....but maybe doesn't apply to all items in the shop...watch out!

TSrebel without a cause
post May 23 2007, 09:53 AM

Validating
297 posts

warg, if what you guys say is true then this is quite astonishing cause i can understand certain shops that is selling parallel stuffs but to do it this openly and at such a rate..... seriously, you got to see the amount of canon accessories openly being displayed in this shop (ground floor of sungei wang) it's very dissapointing to sell it this way. some more, the prices isn't too big a difference with originals.....

very dissapointing liao. very VERY dissapointing. what if unsuspecting buyers plough down their hard earned money and when the product got problem, go to canon can't warranty then how? throw away ah? not cheap ler photography.... sad.gif

This post has been edited by rebel without a cause: May 23 2007, 09:55 AM
kelvinyam
post May 23 2007, 10:12 AM

May beauty be everywhere around me
1,766 posts

Common guys, as far as I know, "non-moving parts" or "non-electronic" accessories don't usually come with warranty, only DOA (death on arrival) will be entertained. The reason is these accessories seldom have problem and adding a warranty will only increase the cost. If it doesn't fail when you first use it, it will unlikely to fail later unless it's subject to mishandling.

Just call other shops or Canon Center itself to have this verified, rather than playing this guessing game and criticizing these shops.

0.0149sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:50 AM