Widescreen Thread V2.0, All widescreen discussions here
alkin
Jul 31 2007, 03:18 PM
hi brothers and sisters, I'm interested to get a 22" la for the upcoming PC fair which is just 3 days from now!!!! EXCITED LAH!!!! But then, what model should i choose? Could you pros please..... please.... please.... recommend me a good 22". Budget around below RM1100. I was eyeing on the LG L226WTQ but my friend told me that the LCD had motion blurness when you play games or watch movie although its a 2ms LCD. Another target was the "so" famous samsung 226BW. But again.....the panel issue.....some say S good la, some say C ok la, some say A useless la......haizzzzz....so confusing.... Is there any other brands that i can look forward to? Like maybe Benq, Viewsonic or mayb some "unfamous" brands? Please do let me know. Thanks....
alkin
Jul 31 2007, 05:44 PM
so, if the LG 226WTQ problem have been solved, then should i pick the LG or the samsung 226BW? I really need a serious advice from you all. Thanks in advance!
alkin
Aug 2 2007, 01:02 AM
Guys, here's a question, what type of panel does the Dell E228WFP uses? I know that it's a TN panel but which company? I've heard too much about the samsung 226BW panel wars and i give up on that model.....haizzz...now eyeing on Dell E228WFP la.....hahahaha
alkin
Aug 2 2007, 01:15 AM
ohhh....like that.... but i heard from the past thread that dell is using LG-phillips or samsung panel? somebody please correct me! DELL is killing me with the $849 price! Damn shit luring me from my 17" CRT!!!!!!!! Argggg.......
My "stupid" selection for 22" LCD was to go for either LG 226WTQ or Samsung 226BW. How can i know that the LG got ghosting problem and the samsung got panel war!!! I'm out of choices la....
Somebody said the LG 226WTQ ghosting had been settled? Really or not???
alkin
Aug 2 2007, 01:46 AM
dattebayo, I'm currently a 17" CRT user. I might not notice the difference for low quality or high end panels. I'm a newbie ma.....I went to cyber cafe and saw their LCD. Only 17" and i was like " wahhhhh.....so sharp and clear". But i didnt intend to replace my 5 year old CRT until now. My dad asked me what i wanted for my PC a few weeks ago, so I gila-gila said i want a 22" LCD, and he said OK, wait for his pay check to arrive........wah lau eh.....my jaw almost dropped at that moment! Anyway, he's been asking me what model do I really want before he spends some money for the house again, which he really did! He bought a new mattress a few days ago......but his LCD offer is still "valid" wahawahahahha..... :-)
Guys guys, this is a silly question, can i use the 22" in a lower resolution mode like 1280x960 or maybe 1600x900 for movies?Cuz my movies aren't HD and they're just DVD quality! The DVD is just 640x272 pixel! Damn thats a lot of difference! Please advice! Thank you...
alkin
Aug 2 2007, 03:59 PM
okok guys if i buy the dell 228WFP and upgrade the warranty to 5 years, will i still get 1 to 1 replacement if anything goes wrong after the 3rd year? Like maybe dead pixel or LCD cant operate? 1 more thing, if i received the LCD which has a dead pixel, what should i do? Call their 1800 and lie to them that the LCD cant work so i'll get a new one? Advice needed here! Thanks
alkin
Aug 2 2007, 04:46 PM
Dell in Penang is nearer what.....If the LCD comes from china sure more expensive loh cuz of air transfer ler...
ok now i ready to give them a call after the pc fair. See what i can get from pc fair 1st.....ngek ngek ngek....maybe can get samsung 226bw S version leh??wahahahha
alkin
Aug 5 2007, 12:45 AM
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Aug 4 2007, 10:57 PM) they should be both xvid encoder and decoder shortcuts under 'Configurations' sub folder of K-lite I installed the Mega pack wei wei borthers, where la......need to install from Dell CD 1st? sorry i noob.....
alkin
Aug 5 2007, 01:23 AM
genkis, how much you bought yours? and what panel is it?
alkin
Aug 5 2007, 03:35 PM
I've tried to check for the A/C/S after the model number for the 226BW and there is no sign of Alphabet used! Samsung wont let us know which panel is it now!:)
BTW, can my 7600GT support 1680*1050 for gaming? Another question, if i'm watching DVD movies on my 22" will it still be pixelated if i'm watching 8 feet away from the LCD? Cant find pirated HD movies on the roadside! LOL
alkin
Aug 6 2007, 12:19 AM
Guys, does the DELL warranty still cover the 1 on 1 replacement if anything goes wrong in the 1st 3 years? Please advice as i'm gonna order mine tomolo, last day for the promotion:) Another query that have not been answer by forumers:- If i'm sitting 8 feet away from the 22", will the DVD movie still be pixelated?? my couch is about 8-10 feet away from my PC. please advice....... This post has been edited by alkin: Aug 6 2007, 12:21 AM
alkin
Aug 6 2007, 09:48 AM
QUOTE(akachester @ Aug 6 2007, 08:33 AM) About 1 to 1 replacement, as long as your LCD is still UNDER WARRANTY with DELL, you are entitled it. Dell would not take your LCD for RMA. They will straight replace you with another one on the spot if the problem is found. However, AFAIK, you will risk getting refurbished units if you requested for RMA. About the pixelation, for one, it really depends on the DVD quality you are watching at. If its poor, it will be noticeable. For me, it does look fine after about 5 feet away. But the acceptance really depends on personal preferences.. Yes, but only for the first month during purchase. But you still need to pay RM80 for courier fees...  akachester, what is RMA? I was thinking of extending the warranty to 5 years for safety measures. but the refurbished unit has to be better than mine in order to replace my faulty LCD right? IF thats the case then if the replacement unit(refurbished) does have the same problem, should i keep the faulty one and reject the refurbished LCD OR request for another replacement?
alkin
Aug 6 2007, 05:42 PM
Just called the Dell line and their saleslady by the name of Ms.Lee San took my order for my 22". She talk very fast.......damn...... Hey i asked her about the panel that they are using and she said its from a Taiwanese company. Cant recall whats the name.....my short term memory really bad la.....Well, at least we know that its panel is from taiwan and the model will be assembled in Penang's DELL factory! ETA : 5-7 working days....wahhhhh so long ar......cant wait la.... Added on August 6, 2007, 5:47 pmQUOTE(mfa333 @ Aug 6 2007, 05:42 PM) Setiawangsa KL. Btw, nvidia driver for Vista is not working properly. Cant set the option for LCD scaling to maintain aspect ratio..  mfa, do we need vista OS to get get the LCD scaling to maintain aspect, r u trying to do the 1:1 ratio for gaming? I wanna learn!!!!!!! This post has been edited by alkin: Aug 6 2007, 05:47 PM
alkin
Aug 9 2007, 01:09 PM
will be getting my E228WFP very soon. The girl from Dell called me and told me the ETA will be around 2-6pm.........so have to stay at home for 4 hours today......boring........zzzzzzz
alkin
Aug 9 2007, 05:04 PM
Yo brothers! I am now enjoying my 22". Sharp! Big! Nice colour! Everything good la.....luckily no dead pixel. I've dont the 1:1 mapping via Nvidia Control Panel and it works in my games that doesnt support WS. Cool man this LCD! Worth waiting for almost 3 hours! hahahaha
alkin
Aug 15 2007, 06:29 PM
ohhh now everybody wanna show their 22" la.......i also wanna show liao but my table verry messy! malu to show only...... BTW the 228wfp backlight bleeding on the left side quite noticeable when i watch movies! DO i need to ask for replacement? Any 228wfp user having backlight bleeding on the left side????
alkin
Aug 16 2007, 01:56 PM
how powerful the subwoofer be? Our normal Sonic gear 2.1 speakers should be 200% better quality!
alkin
Aug 20 2007, 12:05 AM
Try DELL brand. Cheap and big!:P
alkin
Aug 20 2007, 06:25 PM
steventan, cant notice any backlight bleeding ha? My 228WFP's left side is having slight bleeding. If i set brightness to 50, there is a minimal bleeding on the left. Normally i set to 60 for normal use and gaming. Movie time 50.
alkin
Aug 21 2007, 09:00 PM
woi pls la not that bad like the picture! Only slight bleeding only.