4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Widescreen Thread V2.0, All widescreen discussions here

Phoenixwunin
post Jun 24 2007, 02:45 AM

841 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 24 2007, 02:20 AM)
Gosh, does not feel wana RMA it though..Need to recheck it tomorrow and see how the problem is..

Anyway, if RMA is really needed, can i ask them to collect at a different location than the first location where the delivery was made?
Hm.. is one-on-one still applicable for you?? How long have you received this monitor anyway??

I think for RMA you need to give them address again.. so just give them your new address...

QUOTE(arafat @ Jun 24 2007, 02:33 AM)
what is 1:1 pixel mapping?
viewsonic vx922 got this function?
1:1 pixel mapping means that... those games which doesn't have support for widescreen won't be strecth. Instead two black bars will appear beside the picture and you can still play the game normally as if the monitors is not a widescreen monitor...

So such games like Battlefield and Need For Speed Underground/U2/Most Wanted/Carbon won't look bad on your widescreen (all from EA doh.gif )...

====================================

Found this website just now...

http://www.behardware.com/articles/662-1/2...ond-coming.html

Now adding another rclxub.gif in my head.. they listed DELL 228WFP as a second winner after Samsung 226BW. Lose only becoz the response time of DELL is 5ms while Samsung has 2ms.

But I doubt we can see the difference even on 5ms... so response time really doesn't count that much. Too bad though since they don't have LG 226WTQ in the review...

Gee... hardchoice here.. DELL 228WFP becoz of the warranty and also cause I've already ordered it. LG 226WTQ for its 1:1 Pixel Mapping which is very drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif

This post has been edited by Phoenixwunin: Jun 24 2007, 03:25 AM
Phoenixwunin
post Jun 24 2007, 11:46 AM

841 posts

Thanks a lot for the comment akachester biggrin.gif

Now after thinking for quite some time.. I've decided to just stick with DELL. One reason why I want to get refund was because I urgently need an 22" monitor before 1 July. But then judging from the situation... I will have to settle for 19" if I choose to get a refund and get a monitor before 1 July.

So instead of "Time Attack".. it became a hunt for a better LCD now since for both option.. the monitor will only arrive around 12 to 14 July too. laugh.gif So thinking to get the LG instead because of the 1:1 pixel mapping... until I found and read a little thing about 22" LCD comparison in BeHardware.

Wow... DELL 228WFP actually is one of the best monitor for its color production... I dunno how credible the review is... it seems to me its very credible indeed. But the DELL 228WFP seems to not be a bad choice at all laugh.gif

So now I'll stick with DELL unless... someone can give me an option to get an 22" before 1 July. Now I don't care what brand anymore... if I can get it before 1 July... Viewsonic is also acceptable...
Phoenixwunin
post Jun 25 2007, 12:31 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 25 2007, 10:04 AM)
Well, you really need to wait and see whether you make a good decision or not. I just called Dell to check whether i can RMA my LCD or not. The technical support is absolutely helpful. Even without the order num etc, they are still helping me finding my solution.

Too bad my LCD is not here so i could not do direct testing. Will be emailing them to continue the testing purposes..Very satisfied by their after sales services even though the LCD "MIGHT" not be the best around. (still best i have owned so far)..
I see.. that is really convincing to hear that from you. Well.. I'll just wait for my LCD then on 12 July. No need to ask refund anymore since I don't have any other option anyway.

And the BeHardware review really manage to convince me to get 22" from DELL biggrin.gif

QUOTE(joonming @ Jun 25 2007, 11:39 AM)
helped my company to order few unit LCD from Dell last Friday,

As dell telesale person told me currently their are shartage of LCD in worldwide order. now their are not allow to sell only LCD monitor to public. all LCD need to bundle in to their desktop.

for those fren here think to buy Dell mayb need to reconsider again.

any fren here can double confirm again
Yup that is correct. A DELL sales person called me just now to explain the situation and why my LCD has been delayed again... she also told me that currently even the 19" and 20" are not available to.. incase I want to change my order. But she never told me anything about the need to bundle with desktop. Only that both 19" and 20" are also having quantity problem.. shortage.

Phoenixwunin
post Jun 25 2007, 11:37 PM

841 posts

Samsung.. panel lottery. LG is better.. but I heard the Q version of LG 226WT has some serious ghosting problem.. but lots of people claimed that the ghosting problem has been resolved.

If I were you and the choice is either 226BW or 226WTQ... I would take LG 226WTQ for the sole purpose of 1:1 pixel mapping that the LG have. Samsung... I think the only plus point is it is sexier and looks cool.. more than the LG sweat.gif
Phoenixwunin
post Jun 26 2007, 10:36 AM

841 posts

Gee... is the difference between each panel is really that noticeable???

I don't really know about panel lottery and I hardly care about them... is it like the difference between TN vs S-IPS?? C panel.. A panel.. S panel.. all this thing gives me lots of headache... rclxub.gif
Phoenixwunin
post Jun 26 2007, 06:18 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(alextee1881 @ Jun 26 2007, 04:49 PM)
Just use any of the credit card from ur family member to purchase...simple as that....
u still can choose to bank in before they process ur order but this definitely takes longer time.
Not everyone have credit card... wink.gif my parents have teached me not to get my hands on those.. and I've personally see the bad things credit card can cause.. to my parents before smile.gif

You can do what I do though... go to maybank.. create a bank draft. The DELL sales person will email you to arrange the collection of the bank draft / cheque (by ABX courier)... just tell them that it is ready.

The next day.. ABX person will call you and depend on which time you free that day.. will come and collect it. A day later... your order can be tracked after they have approved your payment. If you didn't buy DELL 228WFP... than around the next day you'll get your monitor (couriered by SkyNet).

Usually it will take less than 5 days. But in the case where you decided to order DELL 228WFP.. then that might take a month.. just like my case sweat.gif

Anyway.. if anyone here decided to get a 19" from DELL... better to do it now. The sales person I keep on pressuring to send my order earlier than 12 July told me... the 19" monitor will soon join the 22" bandwaggon. Shortage of supplies.. laugh.gif
Phoenixwunin
post Jun 28 2007, 06:05 PM

841 posts

well.. akachester.. have you received the LCD??

Strange... DELL called me yesterday informing me that I will receive my LCD today. But have been waiting until now and still no sign of it... sad.gif

Phoenixwunin
post Jun 28 2007, 06:36 PM

841 posts

Skynet Courier...
Phoenixwunin
post Jun 28 2007, 07:40 PM

841 posts

hm.. check wif the onlie order number just now..

Seems like my LCD is with the local courier (SkyNet) now.

Phoenixwunin
post Jun 28 2007, 09:24 PM

841 posts

what time did you received it?? Very lucky la you...

I really hope it will arrive by tomorrow... else it will be hard for me to retrieve it anymore...
Phoenixwunin
post Jun 29 2007, 07:12 AM

841 posts

QUOTE(heterosapiens @ Jun 29 2007, 06:05 AM)
Indeed, that is the million dollar question, that I've been waiting to heard from this thread. LoL tongue.gif

The question of buying dell online is almost out of reach for those who do not have credit card or do not have someone with credit card that willing to help out to "swipe" his/her card. So, the service doesn't even comes to mind just yet.

I don't have a credit card... and it won't be so long without it too. Only around one to two days longer. So if usually the item arrive within 3 days... it might takes 4 to 5 days without credit card. wink.gif
Phoenixwunin
post Jun 29 2007, 01:02 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(heterosapiens @ Jun 29 2007, 08:34 AM)
My bad, unintentionally neglected the other payment methods that Dell accept. What payment method you've used - Cheque/Bank Draft/Direct Deposit at Citibank? Is it convenience (I mean how Dell handle's the cheque mailed or the deposit advice slip faxed to them and the order made)?
Yup.. quite reliable.

DELL is using two courier for dealing with customer.

ABX courier will come and collect the cheque / bank draft.

SkyNet courier is responsible for delivering the goods. It took only one day after my order via internet for ABX to contact me and arrange for the cheque collection. Very fast I would say...

Now still waiting for my DELL 228WFP today. It seems that they fail to deliver the goods yesterday because the SkyNet fella failed to find my house doh.gif

Already arrange another time today which is around 4PM to 5PM and today.. hopefully he won't sesat anymore... laugh.gif
Phoenixwunin
post Jun 29 2007, 10:02 PM

841 posts

Received my LCD at 6.45 PM doh.gif

A veeryyy long waiting. sweat.gif

By the way guys... what is your setting for the DELL 228WFP?? I think mine is too bright and the color aren't correct... dunno what sort of setting shud I go.. already trying a few setting but the result aren't very satisfying.
Phoenixwunin
post Jun 29 2007, 11:23 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 29 2007, 10:44 PM)
congratulations on ur new addition man....

hows it treating u so far?

and how does it feel to be jumping from a 19" to a 22"?? biggrin.gif
My new addition seems to be... quite bright sweat.gif Have been trying to figure out the correct settings but most of the time it doesn't satisfying to me.

But from 19" to 22".. I must say it is... long... and big rclxms.gif Very much happy with this LCD...

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jun 29 2007, 11:06 PM)
Phoenixwunin, u still using ur old rig? faster move to new c2d and 8800 lor biggrin.gif
Waiting for OP650 and 8800GTS to arrive... sweat.gif then my new C2D rig will be complete. And I heard my OP650 will be here next week drool.gif Unfortunately though.. next week is orientation week for me in UUM... so can't do anything about it... have to wait till orientation's over before my new rig is complete..

@akachester... share with me your monitor setting... do you change anything???

This post has been edited by Phoenixwunin: Jun 29 2007, 11:24 PM
Phoenixwunin
post Jun 30 2007, 01:59 AM

841 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 30 2007, 01:01 AM)
LOL..First of all, congrats on your new gadget.. thumbup.gif

Anyway, about the setting, i am ok with the brightness. Thats why i stick with all the default setting. Jumping from CRT to LCD is marvelous. I am used to the brightness level though...LOL..

Anyway, which rev you get?A01?A00?
I got Revision A01 too... just like you. But so far I think I'm quite satisfied with it... maybe because I have yet to see how A00 looks...

Very lucky I think. Having lots of headache thinking how I'm gonna live without monitor until 12 July (leaving for my college tomorrow morning)... and suddenly DELL forwarder called to arrange for postage. And that courier fella still lost on the way to my house today, luckily he manage to find it finally and I receive it at 6.45 PM... but he is not from SkyNet though... something like dermaga-dermaga sort of thing.

QUOTE(basSist @ Jun 30 2007, 01:09 AM)
@Phoenixwunin

i got my e228wfp too from viewnet week ago. rev A01.

brightness 55 contrast 55

normal preset (sRGB) colour setting.

that's all for my setting wink.gif
Whoa.. 55 for brightness is kinda malap to me... sweat.gif

But I manage to find a setting that is suitable with me... 75 for both brightness and contrast. And 74, 77 and 87 for Red, Green and Blue respectively.

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Jun 30 2007, 01:41 AM)
Care to share with us how is the warranty being done?Do you still get the sales after service from Dell?  Since some of us curious how viewnet manage to have Dell LCDs selling at their outlet.
Ofcourse... 3 years waranty from DELL. Though I am not so sure about their one-on-one change policy. But I think its 30 days for that.

In terms of warranty... I think akachester and kianwee would have a better insight on it since both have gone through the procedur. Regarding Viewnet though... it would be better if someone can ask them since I'm kinda curious about their warranty system as well. Is it directly from DELL or not? Since I do heard rumors from other people that they might be selling a refurbished units... and even then I still am not sure about it.
Phoenixwunin
post Jun 30 2007, 07:35 AM

841 posts

Just buy direct from DELL la... easier. laugh.gif

Phoenixwunin
post Jun 30 2007, 11:02 AM

841 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jun 30 2007, 10:49 AM)
i think most 19"-22" LCD are TN panel? can see their price is quite proportional, and its price upped drastically after 22"
There are some from IPS, PVA and MVA. For example DELL 2007WFP 20" widescreen... arc_archive is selling his' and it is S-IPS.
Phoenixwunin
post Jul 7 2007, 01:04 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jul 2 2007, 08:29 AM)
AFAIK, none of the above have 1:1 mapping..For sure, the Dell do not have it..
Yes, from what i have read thus far, 1:1 mapping allows you to automatically adjust non-widescreen into a normal viewing application with 2 black bars at the side. Anyway, i am not sure whether this can be done or not but according to Nvidia Control Panel, we can set the LCD to display in normal mode instead of widescreen (something like 1:1 mapping but manually done). Have yet to try it but i will test it out tonight to see whether it works or not..
Hm... just now touch my DELL back... (just come back from UUM to pick up my computer back and bring it there... so got some time to online tongue.gif )

Unfortunately still on 6800GS as my PSU is not here yet...

I go to Display Properties > Settings > Advanced > GeForce 6800GS > Digital Flat Panel Settings

And from there I set the setting from Monitor Scaling to Centered Output. Then set the resolution to 1280 x 1024. And bingo... it didn't scretch. Tried opening a few programs and all works perfectly so far... but haven't tried to open any games yet. Will try it later... thumbup.gif
Phoenixwunin
post Jul 21 2007, 11:00 AM

841 posts

yeah... I'm using DELL 22" as well... definitely a good monitor. thumbup.gif
Phoenixwunin
post Jul 23 2007, 12:58 PM

841 posts

QUOTE(clayclws @ Jul 23 2007, 12:10 PM)
No credit card? Not interested in Ambank's prepaid Mastercard? Like to get their hands immediately on products once cash is splashed isntead of waiting a few days (though I don't think this will happen at Viewnet)? There is a physical manifestation of customer service, where you know it will always be there for you to complain, RMA, etc. instead of just phone calls?
To be honest... one reason why I opt for DELL is because there is no need for me to go to shops... plus the warranty and great service policy they offered to me. And for your information I don't have a credit card... I just opt for cheque and they cam collect it. Everything settled in one day. The only reason why I received my LCD two weeks later is because of the sudden boom in consumer side where suddenly so many people get that same LCD as me and thus.. resulted in the shortage of supplies. Normally it will only takes around 2 days before you received your goods (a friend of mine bought DELL 2007WFP from them.. and received it two days later after order placed. He choose the same payment method as me... which is via cheque).

Their policy is great... with just a phone call everything was settled very fast. No need for me to go all the way to the shop. And if somehow I am not satisfied with the goods... a phone call can already arrange a refund procedure with no questions asked.

I'm a very satisfied customer of DELL.. and will definitely look forward on dealing with them again. And somehow I feel more comfortable and somewhat secured dealing directly with DELL instead of through the shops. icon_rolleyes.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0473sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 12:57 PM