SSD not detected

TSjian94
post Jun 21 2018, 02:05 PM, updated 6y ago

152 posts

Hi, i got a m.2 SSD from old laptop look like below.
https://shopee.com.my/Kingston-A1000-SSD-24...xxoC7fsQAvD_BwE

I wanna use it to my new pc using asus prime b360m-a motherboard. The motherboard do have the slot for the m.2 ssd but it does not detected when i insert my ssd. any help?

do i have to install nvme driver? *not sure between nvme and m.2
does thing like this work?
https://shopee.com.my/PCI-E-3.0-x4-Lane-Hos...6327.1100663118

WebWalker
post Jun 21 2018, 04:56 PM

Computer Geek
12,851 posts

Can it be detected from BIOS?
TSjian94
post Jun 21 2018, 05:34 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(WebWalker @ Jun 21 2018, 04:56 PM)
Can it be detected from BIOS?
No, not sure need setting or it faulty
sHawTY
post Jun 21 2018, 05:40 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,629 posts

QUOTE(jian94 @ Jun 21 2018, 02:05 PM)
Hi, i got a m.2 SSD from old laptop look like below.
Provide an actual picture of the SSD that you have
Only from there we can know for sure either it's a SATA or NVMe SSD

M.2 is a platform
SATA / NVMe is the protocol
TSjian94
post Jun 21 2018, 07:50 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jun 21 2018, 05:40 PM)
Provide an actual picture of the SSD that you have
Only from there we can know for sure either it's a SATA or NVMe SSD

M.2 is a platform
SATA / NVMe is the protocol

sHawTY
post Jun 21 2018, 10:13 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,629 posts

That SSD is a SATA M.2 SSD. Not NVMe M.2 SSD

You have to install the SSD in port M.2_1. Only Port M.2_1 can support both NVMe & SATA SSD
Port M.2_2 does not support SATA, only support NVMe
The photo below is taking from your motherboard manual
*The M.2_1 & SATA 6G_2 port is linked together. If you plug in a disk into the SATA port SATA 6G_2, the SATA function on M.2_1 port will cease to function and the other way around as well
So if you install the SATA SSD into the M.2_1 port, make sure you don't connect anything into the SATA 6G_2 port

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Jun 21 2018, 10:22 PM
TSjian94
post Jun 21 2018, 11:34 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jun 21 2018, 10:13 PM)
That SSD is a SATA M.2 SSD. Not NVMe M.2 SSD

You have to install the SSD in port M.2_1. Only Port M.2_1 can support both NVMe & SATA SSD
Port M.2_2 does not support SATA, only support NVMe
The photo below is taking from your motherboard manual
*The M.2_1 & SATA 6G_2 port is linked together. If you plug in a disk into the SATA port SATA 6G_2, the SATA function on M.2_1 port will cease to function and the other way around as well
So if you install the SATA SSD into the M.2_1 port, make sure you don't connect anything into the SATA 6G_2 port

thank for the details bro but i tried it still not detectable. i think i will try to put in another computer to try or maybe getting the adaptor like the one i mention earlier
sHawTY
post Jun 22 2018, 04:24 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,629 posts

QUOTE(jian94 @ Jun 21 2018, 11:34 PM)
thank for the details bro but i tried it still not detectable. i think i will try to put in another computer to try or maybe getting the adaptor like the one i mention earlier
That adaptor is only for NVMe SSD. Not for SATA SSD
That adaptor will be completely useless for your SSD as your SSD is a SATA SSD, not NVMe

Try to plug-in that SSD in another laptop (as most laptop with M.2 slot is capable of supporting both NVMe and SATA SSD)
If the other laptop still couldn't detect the SSD, then that means the SSD is dead

And don't bother asking where you can repair it. SSD is not something that's repairable
TSjian94
post Jun 22 2018, 04:21 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jun 22 2018, 04:24 AM)
That adaptor is only for NVMe SSD. Not for SATA SSD
That adaptor will be completely useless for your SSD as your SSD is a SATA SSD, not NVMe

Try to plug-in that SSD in another laptop (as most laptop with M.2 slot is capable of supporting both NVMe and SATA SSD)
If the other laptop still couldn't detect the SSD, then that means the SSD is dead

And don't bother asking where you can repair it. SSD is not something that's repairable
Nvm bro I think I found the reason why. My SSD is B+M key and the motherboard only support M key.

sHawTY
post Jun 23 2018, 02:04 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,629 posts

QUOTE(jian94 @ Jun 22 2018, 04:21 PM)
Nvm bro I think I found the reason why. My SSD is B+M key and the motherboard only support M key.
No. You misunderstood that statement
All M.2 with SATA protocol uses B key
The M.2_1 port on your motherboard supports both NVMe & SATA
Even if the M.2_1 port on your motherboard does not have the B key cutout, it still supports an M.2 SSD with B key cutout

Once again, test that SSD on another motherboard / laptop to know for sure if the SSD is faulty or not

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Jun 23 2018, 02:07 AM
goldfries
post Jun 23 2018, 03:27 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,409 posts

QUOTE(jian94 @ Jun 22 2018, 04:21 PM)
Nothing to do with the key.

Your SSD is B+M means it works with both B key and M key slots.

TSjian94
post Jun 25 2018, 04:10 PM

152 posts

sorry for the late reply and thanks for the info, i should try the ssd again.

or maybe because my ssd was used and got os inside so i simply have to format it again?

This post has been edited by jian94: Jun 25 2018, 04:40 PM
sHawTY
post Jun 25 2018, 10:34 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,629 posts

QUOTE(jian94 @ Jun 25 2018, 04:10 PM)
or maybe because my ssd was used and got os inside so i simply have to format it again?
No. Just try that SSD in another laptop that has an M.2 slot
If your old laptop that you took that SSD out from is still working, then try plugging it back in

If the SSD is detected, then the SSD is working fine
If the SSD is undetectable, then the SSD is faulty
game333
post Jun 28 2018, 12:50 AM

388 posts

nothing lah

This post has been edited by game333: Jun 28 2018, 12:50 AM

0.0124sec    0.11    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 12:54 PM