Being bullied in workplace...., Can scenario be change?

sweet_pez
post Jun 19 2018, 11:33 AM

何を見ているの
4,242 posts

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Jun 19 2018, 08:50 AM)

1. What should I do in this situation?
2. My salary is MUCH below my friends about the,same academic result who graduated about the same time. ( Cgpa 3.47 , above average).
3. What should I change in order not to be forget and earn my respect?

Thanks, I m feeling sad and find myself helpless...
When someone is nice towards others out of goodwill, coyotes tend to take advantage. As such when you suddenly stop helping them, they got angry and ostracize you. Despite that, your superior is definitely not to be trusted. How can someone say they "forgot" such an important promise?

1. Leave. I agree with ahchun below. Your superior lacks credibility for not keeping her promise. Are you still going to believe her from hereon?

2. Even more reason to leave. You've worked in this company for 6 years. It's time to leave for higher pay and not let your superior downplay your salary and character anymore.

3. You need to learn when to help and when to reject. In the workplace, it's hard to survive "alone" so we need to help each other out. Employees in an organisation have a symbiosis relationship with each other. In earning respect, first and foremost you need to show you're capable of handling your own work well. Learn to read the situation and know when people take advantage of you - reject from the early stage when you detect this. If you accept it even once, the other party will continue to expect that you'll do this for them.

However when the other party is desperate, it's okay to offer a helping hand. Consider telling them that you're doing this as a favour, to avoid having this person expecting such help repeatedly in future.

QUOTE(ahchun @ Jun 19 2018, 09:58 AM)
after she forgotten your "promotion"
do you still believe her ?

you should leave as soon as possible but make sure u get better offer. but also do not burn the bridge when you leave
TSIrresistible
post Jun 19 2018, 11:55 AM

3,189 posts

QUOTE(ahchun @ Jun 19 2018, 09:58 AM)
after she forgotten your "promotion"
do you still believe her ?

you should leave as soon as possible but make sure u get better offer. but also do not burn the bridge when you leave
Don't quite get " do not burn the bridge when you leave"?

I mean I understand it. But,what should I do?

Thanks for LOWYATERS reply.. Didn't expect such overwhelming responses.[SIZE=7]
ahchun
post Jun 19 2018, 01:29 PM

MiddleAge
1,115 posts

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Jun 19 2018, 11:55 AM)

try to leave in a good condition as possible. if cant then tooo bad la
but be firm about leaving

WaCKy-Angel
post Jun 19 2018, 01:30 PM

PeACe~~
21,509 posts

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Jun 19 2018, 11:55 AM)

Means just find another job and leave.
moon yuen
post Jun 19 2018, 03:10 PM

2,293 posts

QUOTE(magasel @ Jun 19 2018, 01:58 PM)
Huh? 30 yo still young can change job. But superior that admit to forget about promoting you shows that she is damn incompetent. I won't simply promise such things. Accounting office dominated by females is like that one lah.

They like to play boycott one.

As the minority male, suggest you just be on your own, don't mix only when need work coordination, talk.

I never mix with my female dominated office, because they are all weird one. Sikit sikit, they start to judge you one and complain behind your back say you make stupid decision this and that.
What job u are ?

I m a woman... but, I.prefer to.work wit man. Woman gossiping too much
dawho
post Jun 19 2018, 03:13 PM

752 posts

youre company leeching on u bro...
ocphangaz
post Jun 19 2018, 03:14 PM

Midlife Crysis.
768 posts

2. My salary is MUCH below my friends about the,same academic result who graduated about the same time. ( Cgpa 3.47 , above average).

you got to change yourself... age 30 still uses university CGPA as comparison? you're not 25 year old anymore. grow up.
tehoice
post Jun 19 2018, 05:02 PM

5,403 posts

it's a clear sign you should leave your job. start hunting and leave all these behind.

believe in yourself, you can land a better job out there.

6 years as SE, you can easily become an experienced AM or junior M in many other companies already bro...
MeToo
post Jun 19 2018, 05:39 PM

9,297 posts

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Jun 19 2018, 09:44 AM)
Really didn't expect so much replies in a short while.

When I demand answer fr my superior about the promotion, she even said "If u left the co, u.will regret . U know how good I treat u."
U let people step on you, they will do it again.

Unless u have no future elsewhere, if I were you, I will try my luck outside.
Dern
post Jun 19 2018, 08:03 PM

1,979 posts

I already 30, male,  in the current job Accounting more than 6 years.

I m guessing due to my look (innocent type) and childish character, always speaking "never mind". I m symbolized of "nice guy" 烂好人。I felt all these years, I was bullied. I do mind ,just I didn't speak out.

My current workplace, accounting . Most are females. They always ask me to do their jobs and I helps. It 's like getting more and more.

Last year end, I was called by superior , promise a job promotion since I plan to resign that time. The end results is the other younger gal get the promotion, not me. I got questioned my superior, her answer is just she forgotten the promise.

After this incident, I m starting not to be so "nice". I just do my own job. I rejected most of the request to help because it's not my job task. Now,The sudden change, and I was boycott by most of them.

bully in work environment is actually everywhere

This post has been edited by Dern: Sep 23 2018, 09:18 PM
Dern
post Jun 19 2018, 08:12 PM

1,979 posts

QUOTE(moon yuen @ Jun 19 2018, 03:10 PM)
What job u are ?

I m a woman... but, I.prefer to.work wit man. Woman gossiping too much
biggrin.gif let's not play dumb, these days, men are as good as bitches
wufei
post Jun 19 2018, 08:15 PM

3,031 posts

Give your letter go out for a ride and come back again
Alvinthechipmunk
post Jun 19 2018, 08:33 PM

I already 30, male,  in the current job Accounting more than 6 years.

I m guessing due to my look (innocent type) and childish character, always speaking "never mind". I m symbolized of "nice guy" 烂好人。I felt all these years, I was bullied. I do mind ,just I didn't speak out.

My current workplace, accounting . Most are females. They always ask me to do their jobs and I helps. It 's like getting more and more.

Last year end, I was called by superior , promise a job promotion since I plan to resign that time. The end results is the other younger gal get the promotion, not me. I got questioned my superior, her answer is just she forgotten the promise.

After this incident, I m starting not to be so "nice". I just do my own job. I rejected most of the request to help because it's not my job task. Now,The sudden change, and I was boycott by most of them.

1) Do your job as assigned in your offer letter.
2) what is ur friends' salary that they tell you ... different industry different package dude . Did u compare among ur peers and industry u are in bro .
3) Do your job that is assigned to you . Smile always be positive to others . keep the surrounding neutral thats it .
SUSBarbossa
post Jun 19 2018, 09:07 PM

407 posts

sorry but i think the sign is pretty clear that you should find another jobs

goodluck ts
TSIrresistible
post Jun 20 2018, 12:44 PM

3,189 posts

QUOTE(magasel @ Jun 19 2018, 03:39 PM)
Accounts lah what else.

I am the only guy, surrounded by 30 women.
Then , we are in the same line...

I.also felt isolated by them especially recently. (Last time,quite friend or at least appear so)
TSIrresistible
post Jun 20 2018, 02:30 PM

3,189 posts

QUOTE(magasel @ Jun 20 2018, 02:25 PM)
what to do

sometime I regret take accounts degree

Should have taken engineering degree.

I work in female dominated office, while I watch my co engineers go out and get to do all the guy stuff.

Not saying that working with guys is a piece of cake.

But unlike guys, women colleagues can be oversensitive and take offence very easily.

Once they take offence, they will do stuff like boycott you or marginalize you socially.

As for guys, they tend to be more forgiving and just forget about it.
Brother, I felt the same things lo...

Woman like backstabbing too... and always ask for help using "manja " way... accounting = boring too.
TSIrresistible
post Jun 20 2018, 02:49 PM

3,189 posts

QUOTE(magasel @ Jun 20 2018, 02:36 PM)
You already in this field of work. So nothing you can do but to go through all the crap.

I already 20 years in this field. Numb already.

I go to lunch alone. Even co gathering, I just keep quiet and not socialize, pretend to clap my hand, pretend to smile, I only talk when spoken to.
So, u are elder than me....

I think This is ur way to protect yourself ba
TSIrresistible
post Jun 20 2018, 02:49 PM

3,189 posts

QUOTE(magasel @ Jun 20 2018, 02:36 PM)
You already in this field of work. So nothing you can do but to go through all the crap.

I already 20 years in this field. Numb already.

I go to lunch alone. Even co gathering, I just keep quiet and not socialize, pretend to clap my hand, pretend to smile, I only talk when spoken to.
So, u are elder than me....

I think This is ur way to protect yourself ba
TSIrresistible
post Jun 20 2018, 03:02 PM

3,189 posts

QUOTE(magasel @ Jun 20 2018, 03:00 PM)
I not protect myself

I just sick and tired of conditional friendships
Ok, I understand.

I think I will.find other jobs, as per.advised by former here
xajimx
post Jun 20 2018, 03:13 PM

198 posts

sounds like a sexist working environment.
you better off leaving the unhealthy politics of a workplace.
people don't appreciate you until you're gone. find what works best for you. start looking for a new job, you'll probably find a leng lui in a next job anyway, look at the bright side biggrin.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0206sec    0.20    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 11:04 PM