Xbox Game Pass / Game Pass Ultimate Discussion

KomradMikhail
post Dec 7 2021, 10:05 AM

99 posts

New GamePass Ultimate subscriber here, after getting my XSX yesterday.

All I can say I'm pleasantly impressed. So much value for money, so much in fact, "is this legal?" laugh.gif

GamePass Ultimate have significantly droped my wishlisted games on Steam to only big releases and titles I'm getting to play on Steam Deck next year.

Subbed till April 2024. Wanted to go 36 mths but can't go beyond that for some reason.

Literally drowning in games. Not even tested the EA Play part yet, and then there's XCloud ohmy.gif . Gonna VPN closer today and see what I can get away with.

Good times. rclxms.gif
KomradMikhail
post Dec 7 2021, 12:09 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Dec 7 2021, 11:42 AM)
Welcome to "dark side" (XSX color) bro  thumbup.gif
Thank you. Love the vibe here.

KomradMikhail
post Dec 7 2021, 02:45 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Dec 7 2021, 02:23 PM)
I think i know what happened there - you may have turned on auto-renewal by accident which gives you free 3 months (from what i can remember) and therefore didn't allow you to stack 36 months of gold.  Don't forget to turn off auto renewal so that you can do the same trick in May 2024.
I think so too. I think a 28 months of GPU is plenty. Gonna do yearly re-subscription after April 2024 onwards. Should be smooth sailing for 12 month re-sub I reckon. icon_rolleyes.gif

GPU really spoils you with overflowing games. Too many games, too little free time! I doubt I have even the chance to play all the games in the Pass when my sub expired in 2024.
KomradMikhail
post Dec 8 2021, 09:52 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Dec 7 2021, 02:48 PM)
Only IF we have more free time XD

As growing older, so many things occupied and gaming always become the last (10pm later)
I always have the time these days, since I WFH, the seduction is to "quickly finish work" to immediately punch-card out into the "recreation area". laugh.gif But if dont work hard, no money for "recreation area". Thankfully, GPU is so much value, and major games are far and few in between release, that saves a lot! I'm just glad I'm not the target audience for games like Fortnite and "Games as a service" like Destiny and such. I play when I want to play, not forced to play when there's events or when peers pressure you to play. Or be pressured to buy silly cosmetic stuff. icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(yoyoi @ Dec 7 2021, 09:52 PM)
Happy gaming bro. trust me, you will never finish the whole library  biggrin.gif
I believe you, I'm already at 84% full on the 1TB SSD! sweat.gif

But the good thing about Game Pass Ultimate, I can remove my wishlisted games on Steam, since they are now part of GP. More money saved! Games like Sable and Microsoft Flight Simulator. Flight Simulator alone costs RM234 on Steam. moneyflies.gif And I can even try EA games without worrying if they're ........shit. Like Mass Effect Andromeda. Since they're part of game pass, just download. Only thing have to keep an eye out? Storage space.

This post has been edited by KomradMikhail: Dec 8 2021, 09:53 AM
KomradMikhail
post Dec 8 2021, 02:23 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Dec 8 2021, 02:17 PM)
I'm a bit of a hoarder - just buy an external HDD.  I have an external 8tb hooked up to the xbox and transfer to internal when required.  Also, you only need to keep series X/S games on internal - xbone games and other BC games can be played from external.
Nice, thank you!

I think I saw some Halo Infinite themed Seagate 8TB external HDDs on Shopee/Lazada, in keeping with the theme of the console I have. But HDD though, that transfer speed…….then again, 8TB SSD will kill my wallet flat. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by KomradMikhail: Dec 8 2021, 02:24 PM
KomradMikhail
post Jan 5 2022, 10:12 AM

99 posts

Very nearly bought Mass Effect LE at one point on PC. Already got the trilogy non-Legendary version on Origin/EA Play PC.

Game Pass saves me money again! rclxm9.gif

https://www.purexbox.com/news/2022/01/these...noFIiuVkleLLDE8
KomradMikhail
post Jan 6 2022, 02:22 AM

99 posts

Ubisoft+ coming to Xbox.

Great news for me. I refuse to buy into time sink games like AC Valhalla & Watch Dogs Legion. As a subscription game though, I'm willing to try them.

Online multiplayers like R6? No thanks, not for me.

It's a standalone app sub for now. Wont be surprised if it'll be absorbed into Game Pass Ultimate in the near future.

This post has been edited by KomradMikhail: Jan 6 2022, 02:38 AM
KomradMikhail
post Jan 13 2022, 10:23 PM

99 posts

Just finished watching Hitman 3 Year 2 LIVE Reveal Stream.

The ENTIRE Hitman "World of Assasination" Trilogy, covering Hitman 1, 2 and 3 is coming to Game Pass!

I'm already ready to buy Hitman 3 once it hits Steam this 20th January (after being jailed into Epic Game Store exclusivity for one year), the news of the entire trilogy hitting Game Pass is the cherry on a very delicious Game Pass cake! rclxm9.gif

Sorry Mass Effect LE, I have to delete you for these 3 masterpieces.

This post has been edited by KomradMikhail: Jan 13 2022, 11:51 PM
KomradMikhail
post Jan 18 2022, 07:33 PM

99 posts

Coming soon to February 2022 Game Pass.
Death's Door and Hitman Trilogy should keep me occupied for months.

Buying the Hitman Trilogy on PC though, most of my Hitman contents are already there. Not to mention Ray-tracing update hitting PC first. Hitman 3 already looking gorgeous without RT turned on. drool.gif

Buy on PC, play on.....? No cross save I think.

Waited a year for Hitman 3 to get back to Steam. Not touching EGS, not even if my life depends on it.

This post has been edited by KomradMikhail: Jan 18 2022, 07:35 PM
KomradMikhail
post Jan 18 2022, 09:44 PM

99 posts

https://news.xbox.com/en-us/2022/01/18/welc...crosoft-gaming/

Microsoft buys Activision Blizzard.

All Call of Duty, Warcraft, Candy Crush, Tony Hawk, Diablo, Overwatch, Spyro, Hearthstone, Guitar Hero, Crash Bandicoot, StarCraft and more goes into Microsoft Gaming. Most importantly, will they be Day 1 Game Pass?

This post has been edited by KomradMikhail: Jan 18 2022, 09:55 PM
KomradMikhail
post Jan 19 2022, 10:34 AM

99 posts

GamePass subscribers, not sure if this is the right way to look at it, but wouldn't it be prudent to max out your GP sub now to the maximum 36 months, before MS increase the GPU sub price, after the Activision Blizzard (AB) acquisition? If MS end up adding AB's games into GP catalog of games, I'm not sure they'll be as charitable to leave the GPU price as it is now, would it? Buy in while it's still cheap? Before MS revises GP price upwards after adding in AB games as 1st party? Or will MS go into tiered level of GP? I'm not sure they can sustain the current GP price, with so much new games from acquisitions becoming Day-1 or 1st party permanent GP games.

I dunno, just thinking out loud.

KomradMikhail
post Jan 19 2022, 11:53 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(Pravin_Kopite @ Jan 19 2022, 11:27 AM)
Is PC Gamepass officially supported in Malaysia? I'm interested but from what I saw on Shopee you need some weird US address workaround which is a bit of a turnoff
I've had my US Xbox/Microsoft account, since the first Xbox.

My GamePass Ultimate subscription was subscribed on December 2021, right until April 2024.

As for supported or not, I've been enjoying Psychonaut 2, Mass effect Trilogy: Legendary Edition, Forza Horizon 5, Sable, Dirt 5, Microsoft Flight Simulator and more from the GPU subscription. I've been enjoying XCloud streaming with VPN as well. So, I'd say GamePass works here, even if not "officially" supported in Malaysia.

To OG Xbox veterans, the fact that Xbox or its services is never officially supported here, have not stopped any of us from getting the console or its services. Workaround has been working since the Xbox OG and Xbox 360 days, so the "unofficialness" does not faze us.

Your choice on what your tolerance is to what is "officially supported" or not. For all of us with GPU sub here, "officially supported" or not, it has been working for us, albeit with some workarounds we are happy to go through.

Pile on 3 years maximum XBL subs, then convert that to GPU for USD1. As for how, you need to look it up.

This post has been edited by KomradMikhail: Jan 19 2022, 12:03 PM
KomradMikhail
post Jan 20 2022, 10:32 AM

99 posts

Why is Hitman 3 or the Hitman Trilogy still not out la? Because we have to follow gaijin timetable ah, and it's still 19th there ah? Bah!

F5 Steam, refreshing GamePass listing on phone app. Hurry up la!

Hopefully by 3am EST. 12 minutes to go!

This post has been edited by KomradMikhail: Jan 20 2022, 03:48 PM
KomradMikhail
post Jan 20 2022, 04:01 PM

99 posts

That's weird. I see Death's Door and Rainbow Six Extraction on GP now. Already installing Death's Door even.

.......yet, no Hitman 3 or the Trilogy. What's happening!!? Don't deny my 1-year wait even longer, please. cry.gif

Nevermind lah, I go play Death's Door first. *sobs

Hitman 3 on Steam and GamePass at 10am PT January 20th. That's 2am 21st MY local time. 3.5 hours to go. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by KomradMikhail: Jan 20 2022, 09:24 PM
KomradMikhail
post Jan 20 2022, 11:57 PM

99 posts

Hitman 3 and the entire Trilogy is now out on GamePass now!

WOOHOO!

Let's see........sleep or silent killing?

Still no signs of Hitman 3 on Steam. I'll complete my Trilogy there later. Just need to take out a few targets first,thanks to GamePass!

This post has been edited by KomradMikhail: Jan 21 2022, 12:03 AM
KomradMikhail
post Jan 21 2022, 09:57 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jan 21 2022, 08:45 AM)
I bought Hitman1+2 on Steam during Winter Sale. Now this Trilogy came out and I kinda regretted my purchase. Lol.
Just get the third game separately. If you're only into the story, the third game will import your first and second game into the third.

Only complicated if you want the whole complete content.

For Hitman 1, if you have the GOTY Edition, you're good to go. Or the First Season + Patient Zero mission.

For Hitman 2, this is where it gets complicated. Just get the Gold Edition for all the DLCs.

For Hitman 3, I'm only getting the standard Edition first. Once the Freelancer mode drops, then I'll reassess to see if it's worth getting the rest of the DLCs. Peer pressure and social media hype doesn't get to me, those are just white noise trying to hook you in for unnecessary impulse buy. The longer you wait the cheaper it gets. I play my way and based on my schedule, not others.

And then there's the new Rocky location they dangle at the end of the Year 2 presentation.......

For GamePass subscribers and players new to the Hitman universe, you're good to go if you're only into Agent 47's main story. Everything is packed in, just get the checkmark on the correct downloads.

I'm waiting for the Lunar New Year Steam sale on this 28th to see if there's any savings there. I doubt it, since it's so close to the Trilogy launch. Summer or Winter sale maybe?

I'm just happy GamePass allows me to play Hitman 3, while I evaluate all purchase options. I'm sure I'm only buying the standard version of the game on Steam, just which DLCs? No hurry, enjoy at relaxed pace. Plan my buys like how Agent47 plan his kills.

Play the long game, be a patient gamer.
KomradMikhail
post Jan 21 2022, 07:06 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(Savor_Savvy @ Jan 21 2022, 06:20 PM)
I have the complete Hitman 1+2. I haven't read much on Hitman 3, but you did provide a simple and sweet summary here. Thanks.

I recently resubbed. Guess I will just play Hitman 3 with the Game Pass then.
Yeah, Hitman 3 Year 2 at the moment are just those 7 Escalation missions, "The 7 Deadly Sins" These mission do call back to the excellent "Patient Zero" mission on H1, but nostalgia is not enough for me to spend that much on this DLC. The Freelancer mode and the rotating Elusive Target Arcade will only drop much later 2022. VR mode for PC isn't getting good reviews right now. I quit VR after been stung by how mediocre first-gen VR experience was with my Vive and Rift when I got into VR, they're now in a pile of plastic and metal boxes with wires in storage somewhere. I could get back into VR if I want to, I have enough processing power with my 3080Ti, but I'm done with VR and its reduced fidelity over standard.

In short, wait till Hitman 3 Year 2 is fully formed, the price for purchase may just follow suit and gets reduced. At the current price they're asking for Hitman 3 on Steam after waiting for a year from EGS release, it's not worth it. I'm just happy GamePass has picked up the slack and enable me to play Hitman 3 while waiting for prices on Steam to drop to more reasonable level. Not a big deal if your Hitman collection is on your consoles, the prices on consoles has dropped since they were released a year ago. My Hitman games are solely on Steam, so I'm completing the ownership of the three games there. Plus I'm building up my Steam library for the upcoming Steam Deck.

If you're ever interested in this trilogy and have never jumped in, now is the perfect time utilise your GPU. Play the three games back to back, it'll unfold like one huge interconnected story. Disclaimer ya, I'm not responsible for your loss of productivity once addicted to this trilogy. Levels can take days, even weeks to fully explore. Or you can choose to play it like a typical stealth genre games and finish it in one sitting in one day and miss the different ways to approach your target's assassination. Just whatever you do, please dont play Hitman like a FPS. Brute forcing your way in, killing everyone in sight is best left to your typical COD games. Be better, be smarter than that.

This post has been edited by KomradMikhail: Jan 21 2022, 07:20 PM
KomradMikhail
post Jan 25 2022, 11:47 PM

99 posts

Sniper Elite 5 is Day 1 coming to Game Pass in 2022! rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by KomradMikhail: Jan 25 2022, 11:53 PM
KomradMikhail
post Jan 29 2022, 01:03 AM

99 posts

Microsoft is making its Xbox subscriptions more flexible after UK regulator steps in

Good news I guess, although my only sub with Microsoft is until 2024, and nothing (so far) will make me change my mind from ending that prematurely.

GPU for the win! rclxm9.gif
KomradMikhail
post Feb 1 2022, 10:16 PM

99 posts

Coming soon, next GPU rotation.

A bit of yawners, unless there's gems in there that I'm not aware of, or dont particularly care of.

0.0384sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:11 PM