Photography Sony A6300 vs Olympus OMD EM10 MKIII

TSclement5949
post Jun 8 2018, 10:22 AM, updated 8y ago

HerculesMent
1,586 posts

Hi sifus,

I need your advice and suggestion.

Now I am in dilemma on choosing between Sony A6300 (3150) and Olympus OMD EM10 MKIII (3499)

A6300: https://www.11street.my/productdetail/sony-...g-pack-45315803

Olympus OMD EM10 MKIII: https://www.11street.my/productdetail/olymp...rranty-22902522

I mainly use to take landscape and portrait photos.

Occasionally, will use it to shoot video then upload to youtube like some unboxing and review video.

I see a lot beginner like me are using A6000 series and rarely heard someone said Olympus OMD EM10 MKIII.

The main thing causes me in the dilemma because both their price are quite near and my friend told me Olympus OMD EM10 MKIII has more option on the lens but I am not sure with this. Besides, this Olympus camera has the 5-axis on-body stabilization and Sony doesn't have.

FYI, my previous camera is Nikon D7000.

COOLPINK
post Jun 8 2018, 10:26 AM

3,666 posts

consider upgrading to D7200 if you still have you lenses from d7000.
its a more worthy upgrade unless you wan a smaller system to carry around.

This post has been edited by COOLPINK: Jun 8 2018, 10:27 AM
TSclement5949
post Jun 8 2018, 10:36 AM

HerculesMent
1,586 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Jun 8 2018, 10:26 AM)
consider upgrading to D7200 if you still have you lenses from d7000.
its a more worthy upgrade unless you wan a smaller system to carry around.
ya, looking for a smaller system to carry around.

the D7000 is way too heavy rclxub.gif
COOLPINK
post Jun 8 2018, 11:08 AM

3,666 posts

QUOTE(clement5949 @ Jun 8 2018, 10:36 AM)
ya, looking for a smaller system to carry around.

the D7000 is way too heavy  rclxub.gif
oh ok.
out of those two im more biased towards the one that give me more lenses and the OMDem10iii looks like a good deal.

its just my opinion.
it is always best to test out both cameras and view them on PC to see which output you like the most.
the a6300 and EM10iii are both capable cameras though.
TSclement5949
post Jun 8 2018, 11:29 AM

HerculesMent
1,586 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Jun 8 2018, 11:08 AM)
oh ok.
out of those two im more biased towards the one that give me more lenses and the OMDem10iii looks like a good deal.

its just my opinion.
it is always best to test out both cameras and view them on PC to see which output you like the most.
the a6300 and EM10iii are both capable cameras though.
i see.

i used to borrow my friend's a6000 go taiwan and i really enjoy the camera.

it just i worry a6000 is 4yrs old product, worry it will be too old to have it

even tho i see a lot ppl recommend a6000 for the best bang for the buck.
COOLPINK
post Jun 8 2018, 11:41 AM

3,666 posts

QUOTE(clement5949 @ Jun 8 2018, 11:29 AM)
i see.

well you could get a6000 and with the extra budget get a 50mm f1.8 prime lens for portraits.
a6300 has weather sealing, more focus points, higher video resolution, higher resolution viewfinder.
if you dun need these features u can consider a6000+prime lens.

it would seem many of the photography sifus are not online now.
usually u would have been bombarded with suggestions and you end up getting a FF mirrorless. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by COOLPINK: Jun 8 2018, 11:43 AM
TSclement5949
post Jun 8 2018, 11:46 AM

HerculesMent
1,586 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Jun 8 2018, 11:41 AM)
well you could get a6000 and with the extra budget get a 50mm f1.8 prime lens for portraits.
a6300 has weather sealing, more focus points, higher video resolution, higher resolution viewfinder.
if you dun need these features u can consider a6000+prime lens.

it would seem many of the photography sifus are not online now.
usually u would have been bombarded with suggestions and you end up getting a FF mirrorless.  laugh.gif
FF mirrorless, really cannot afford biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

I am buying with 24months installment, so I think less than 3.6k still can consider
COOLPINK
post Jun 8 2018, 11:50 AM

3,666 posts

QUOTE(clement5949 @ Jun 8 2018, 11:46 AM)
FF mirrorless, really cannot afford  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif

I am buying with 24months installment, so I think less than 3.6k still can consider
yeah i cannot afford one too. cry.gif biggrin.gif
but hang in there, the sifus from mirrorless sony, m43 and fuji will post up their views soon.

but whatever you decide always test first before buy. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by COOLPINK: Jun 8 2018, 11:51 AM
TSclement5949
post Jun 8 2018, 11:58 AM

HerculesMent
1,586 posts

QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Jun 8 2018, 11:50 AM)
yeah i cannot afford one too.  cry.gif  biggrin.gif
but hang in there, the sifus from mirrorless sony, m43 and fuji will post up their views soon. 

but whatever you decide always test first before buy.  icon_rolleyes.gif
just now i made my payment on the olympus. I tot its omd em10 mkIII then end up i see wrong its mkII

luckily can cancel order immediately. phew bangwall.gif
COOLPINK
post Jun 8 2018, 12:17 PM

3,666 posts

QUOTE(clement5949 @ Jun 8 2018, 11:58 AM)
just now i made my payment on the olympus. I tot its omd em10 mkIII then end up i see wrong its mkII

luckily can cancel order immediately. phew  bangwall.gif
no. no. test first. sweat.gif

anyway mkii and mkiii differences are marginal unless u want 4k video.
huislaw
post Jun 8 2018, 12:37 PM

1,344 posts

I'm coming from D7000 too.
Now using E-M5 Mark II.
Really thankful for the weight and size reduction.

Personally, I prefer the look and feel of E-M5 or in your case E-M10 compared to other brands.

You can go to shop to try try both in your hands.

Also if you plan to upgrade better lens in future, you can compare each brands’ PRO lens price and weight too.

This post has been edited by huislaw: Jun 8 2018, 12:43 PM
TrialGone
post Jun 8 2018, 01:20 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(clement5949 @ Jun 8 2018, 11:29 AM)
i see.

It is popular for a reason no matter how old. 5dmkiii came out in 2012 and i still see people clamoring for it. Camera is not like smartphones which u need to switch out every 3 years.

0.2337sec    0.99    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:38 PM