Condo Hidden Cost

TSVICKIE LUYE
post Jun 6 2018, 09:41 AM, updated 8y ago

84 posts

This is my first time to buy a condo, thus below is part of the hidden things which i dont know previously ..

i) previously mentioned that each unit will get 5 access cards.. but during handover only get to know that only 2 access card is foc, if want the 3rd card will be rm300, 4th card will be rm400 & 5th card will be rm500.... bangwall.gif

ii) cukai tanah cost me around rm1550 per year due to currently the condo is under commercial property.. water & electricity bill will be calculate based on the commercial rate as well....... bangwall.gif bangwall.gif

iii) deposit for water & electricity around rm3500..........

iv) house installment slightly increase due to Bank negara had increase dont know what what what rate.... rclxub.gif

I'm totally inexperienced on this so did not ask very clear when talk with the developer / bank or maybe some of the part was purposely be hidden by developer site.. Anyway, nothing can be do now as the handover procedure almost done.. Just dont know whether new things / new cost will be keep coming out in the future lol... fyi, my condo is Atlantis residences melaka..

Anyone want to share anything wif this newbie? haha
ManutdGiggs
post Jun 6 2018, 09:48 AM

13,761 posts

All tis r not hidden la. They r there all the while.

Maybe u din realise but tat doesn't mean those mentioned r hidden wo.

Ya v learn new thgs every other day. Just different thgs to different indi.
WaCKy-Angel
post Jun 6 2018, 09:50 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

refer to black & white

i) btw card can be duplicate outside very cheap.

ii) slightly expensive only, my condo non-commercial around 1.2K

iii) deposit to management? if paying direct to management only need deposit otherwise deposit at TNB and Syabas

iv) Normal. that is charged by Bank. so even landed also same.

how about parking?

This post has been edited by WaCKy-Angel: Jun 6 2018, 09:58 AM
aaron1717
post Jun 6 2018, 09:51 AM

Chui Shui in Property Manyak Best!
10,188 posts

yeah... its been there all this while... alot of threads around here also sharing their cost required when going to get their keys... the costs you mentioned really the most common 'hidden cost' already...

your SA wont bother what is going to happen to u during VP time... their job most probably stopped after u signed and stamped your agreements...
jmas
post Jun 6 2018, 09:57 AM

I can edit title???
830 posts

QUOTE(VICKIE LUYE @ Jun 6 2018, 09:41 AM)
This is my first time to buy a condo, thus below is part of the hidden things which i dont know previously ..

i) previously mentioned that each unit will get 5 access cards.. but during handover only get to know that only 2 access card is foc, if want the 3rd card will be rm300, 4th card will be rm400 & 5th card will be rm500.... bangwall.gif

ii) cukai tanah cost me around rm1550 per year due to currently the condo is under commercial property.. water & electricity bill will be calculate based on the commercial rate as well....... bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif

iv) house installment slightly increase due to Bank negara had increase dont know what what what rate.... rclxub.gif

I'm totally inexperienced on this so did not ask very clear when talk with the developer / bank or maybe some of the part was purposely be hidden by developer site.. Anyway, nothing can be do now as the handover procedure almost done.. Just dont know whether new things / new cost will be keep coming out in the future lol... fyi, my condo is Atlantis residences melaka..

i) your salesman mislead you is it?? mine wrote down clearly 2 card foc only, with payment for additional

ii) you buy for investment?? most ethical salesman will tell you this unit under commercial property and tax will be higher.
Latest example I can find is the empire damansara, they upfront told me its commercial unit and better suit for investments.

iii) commercial unit ma...

iv) Overnight Policy Rate (OPR) raised.
Your loan floating rate??
kuntilanak
post Jun 6 2018, 10:02 AM

977 posts

never forget the ultimate hidden cost: monthly maintenance and sinking funds... sweat.gif
AskarPerang
post Jun 6 2018, 10:03 AM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

i) RM100-300 for an access card is blood sucking. You can just duplicate clone outside. At shops is max RM50 per card. If you go through those freelance one like at lowyat sales section can get at RM20 only.

ii) TNB can convert into residential rate if your unit is sole for staying only, not doing business/office.
AskarPerang
post Jun 6 2018, 10:04 AM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

QUOTE(kuntilanak @ Jun 6 2018, 10:02 AM)
never forget the ultimate hidden cost: monthly maintenance and sinking funds... sweat.gif
and yearly cukai tanah and renewal of fire insurance.
jrshow
post Jun 6 2018, 10:15 AM

2,186 posts

everyone knows this, obviously you didn't do enough homework when purchasing
jrshow
post Jun 6 2018, 10:17 AM

2,186 posts

also, ur maintenece fees surely will increase in future if you buying new condo ,bz currently many things inside condo is under warranty, still having many things free,once over warranty, will taste the cost.
kuntilanak
post Jun 6 2018, 10:51 AM

977 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Jun 6 2018, 10:04 AM)
and yearly cukai tanah and renewal of fire insurance.
oh yeah... totally forgotten about those... and another one: sewage treatment cost every 4 months... sweat.gif
WaCKy-Angel
post Jun 6 2018, 10:58 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(kuntilanak @ Jun 6 2018, 10:51 AM)
oh yeah... totally forgotten about those... and another one: sewage treatment cost every 4 months...  sweat.gif
sewage treatment? new condo now still using own treatment plant meh?
should be integrated into water bill d no?
JASON_01
post Jun 6 2018, 11:03 AM

30 posts

How come extremely expensive for deposit? Commercial property for the first payment deposit will be approximately RM3K++?
skylee18
post Jun 6 2018, 11:11 AM

406 posts

ii) cukai tanah cost me around rm1550 per year due to currently the condo is under commercial property.. water & electricity bill will be calculate based on the commercial rate as well....... bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif

1) I think they mentioned you can get up to 5 cards instead of given 5 cards, usually only provide 2 cards, additional will be charge
2) commercial property are usually high in term of cukai tanah (when the time you buy, i suppose you already knew its commercial land
3) deposit for electricity usually goes to TNB, water is either developer or syabas (amount wise is up to them to decide)
4) this one you can't do anything

**if your property covered under HDA then you may convert your electricity to residential rate
TSVICKIE LUYE
post Jun 6 2018, 11:19 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Jun 6 2018, 09:48 AM)
All tis r not hidden la. They r there all the while.

Maybe u din realise but tat doesn't mean those mentioned r hidden wo.

Ya v learn new thgs every other day. Just different thgs to different indi.
Tats y i said maybe bcoz i dont hv any experience at all tongue.gif
TSVICKIE LUYE
post Jun 6 2018, 11:20 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Jun 6 2018, 09:50 AM)
refer to black & white

i) btw card can be duplicate outside very cheap.

ii) slightly expensive only, my condo non-commercial around 1.2K

iii) deposit to management? if paying direct to management only need deposit otherwise deposit at TNB and Syabas

iv) Normal. that is charged by Bank. so even landed also same.

how about parking?
free 2 parking is provided.. but didnt indicated any time frame.. at least currently i saved alot from parking here haha
TSVICKIE LUYE
post Jun 6 2018, 11:21 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ Jun 6 2018, 09:51 AM)
yeah... its been there all this while... alot of threads around here also sharing their cost required when going to get their keys... the costs you mentioned really the most common 'hidden cost' already...

your SA wont bother what is going to happen to u during VP time... their job most probably stopped after u signed and stamped your agreements...
definitely lol...
TSVICKIE LUYE
post Jun 6 2018, 11:22 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Jun 6 2018, 09:57 AM)
i) your salesman mislead you is it?? mine wrote down clearly 2 card foc only, with payment for additional

ii) you buy for investment?? most ethical salesman will tell you this unit under commercial property and tax will be higher.
Latest example I can find is the empire damansara, they upfront told me its commercial unit and better suit for investments.

iii) commercial unit ma...

iv) Overnight Policy Rate (OPR) raised.
Your loan floating rate??
during collect key only i know that 2 card is foc lol...

nope.. for residential..

yup..
TSVICKIE LUYE
post Jun 6 2018, 11:24 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Jun 6 2018, 10:03 AM)
i) RM100-300 for an access card is blood sucking. You can just duplicate clone outside. At shops is max RM50 per card. If you go through those freelance one like at lowyat sales section can get at RM20 only.

ii) TNB can convert into residential rate if your unit is sole for staying only, not doing business/office.
will tried to ask outside.. thx haha...

eventhough the property is commercial, but i can still convert?
TSVICKIE LUYE
post Jun 6 2018, 11:25 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(jrshow @ Jun 6 2018, 10:15 AM)
everyone knows this, obviously you didn't do enough homework when purchasing
yup... haiz... was too rush to make the decision ....

0.0183sec    0.82    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 09:35 PM