I was introduced to water fasting..
Means abstaining from food and only drink water.
Lets share your experience and how you go thru.
Izit really workable ?
Will it end up in health complication?
Water fasting, Anyone went thru this?
May 31 2018, 09:53 PM, updated 8y ago
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
172 posts Joined: Mar 2018 |
I was introduced to water fasting..
Means abstaining from food and only drink water. Lets share your experience and how you go thru. Izit really workable ? Will it end up in health complication? |
Jun 1 2018, 09:41 AM
Show posts by this member only | Post
1,231 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: Shah Alam |
Only boxer need to water fasting to achieved their weight class
since human are 70% water, why bother water fasting? |
Jun 1 2018, 11:31 AM
22 posts Joined: Dec 2017 |
QUOTE(ZoomGarde @ May 31 2018, 09:53 PM) I was introduced to water fasting.. My friend did it twice a year. Not dead yet, still fat. Cannot understand.....Means abstaining from food and only drink water. Lets share your experience and how you go thru. Izit really workable ? Will it end up in health complication? |
Jun 1 2018, 12:16 PM
1,723 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
It should work in theory but it will take a hell lot of motivation and dedication to stick to.
Jun 1 2018, 12:19 PM
710 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
Jun 1 2018, 12:28 PM
Jun 1 2018, 01:31 PM
Jun 1 2018, 01:34 PM
Jun 1 2018, 01:36 PM
818 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: Not Your Business |
Jun 1 2018, 01:39 PM
QUOTE(psyduck89 @ Jun 1 2018, 01:36 PM) hahahahahahahahahahahahhahaa...... He tried lah. Not me. I no eat 1 meal, i pengsan terus masuk hospital.how long the duration u tired?? i tot human can live without food for 1 week... Hr do it a month each time. He makes Muslim puasa looks like child's play... Every time he will reduce food slowly maybe 2 weeks before until totally no food, then continue for 1 month. |
Jun 2 2018, 01:33 AM
Jun 7 2018, 02:07 PM
117 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: kl |
I did it before. I suggest you type water fasting in youtube and watch some of the videos there for better understanding from people who did them and you can also get tips on the mistakes that beginners usually do. I don't think you will find any constructive advice here.
Jun 7 2018, 07:13 PM
1,008 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
did it once , 4 days without food, pure water, i dun think worth it, go for healthy leafy green diet better. during 4 day water fast, ur breath smells so bad even open mouth the odour will come out
Jun 7 2018, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(kuntaker @ Jun 7 2018, 07:13 PM) did it once , 4 days without food, pure water, i dun think worth it, go for healthy leafy green diet better. during 4 day water fast, ur breath smells so bad even open mouth the odour will come out I almost lol-ed hard when u say breath stink so hard.It makes me think why ?? Hmm... |
Jun 8 2018, 07:29 AM
1,008 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(ZoomGarde @ Jun 7 2018, 10:51 PM) kinda like people who do fasting , just the sameyou can google it http://www.therabreath.com/articles/fresh-...ad-breath-4754/ This post has been edited by kuntaker: Jun 8 2018, 07:31 AM |
Jun 9 2018, 11:42 AM
Is national water filter good ?
The carbon filter tat is sold in most shopping mall |
Jun 9 2018, 08:26 PM
553 posts Joined: Mar 2018 |
Jun 11 2018, 10:51 AM
538 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
I water fast between 1-3 days every month. Still alive and feeling great!
Jun 17 2018, 11:57 PM
Jun 19 2018, 10:40 AM
9 posts Joined: Apr 2018 |
u will still feel hungry
Jun 20 2018, 06:21 PM
7 posts Joined: Apr 2018 |
Won't recommend it, prob bad in the long run.
Jun 21 2018, 01:19 PM
1 posts Joined: Jun 2018 |
Never really heard of water-fasting before though. Looked it up and it's about consuming only water for a period of time. Nope. can't do.
Jun 24 2018, 06:46 AM
6 posts Joined: Jun 2018 |
I've seen few people do it. They lose a lot of weight but are still mentally sharp. Calorie restriction is associated with longer lifespans
Jul 5 2018, 10:03 AM
3 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
Water fasting is easy if you couple it with keto diet and have done intermittent fasting before. I am on day 4 of i-dont-know-how-long-im-going-to-do-this water fast and I don't feel hungry. The 48 hours mark was a bit tough though and its quite normal. People suggested that you start your fast after dinner (eg 11pm) so that when the 48 hours mark hit, you are sleeping. There are a lot of resources out there on water fasting. I listened to Dr Jason Fung's podcast The Obesity Code and 2KetoDudes.
People chose to do it to reverse diabetes type 2, for weight loss and to induce autophagy (where your body consume dead or sick cells). I mostly do it for weight loss. So far i have lost 12 kgs since 1st May 2018 by doing keto + fasting. I will need to start exercising though because I'm in a plateau at the moment. My advise is to not straight away dissed it, do some research (a lot on youtube), and then decide. But definitely get into keto first. |
Jul 5 2018, 11:18 PM
The 12 students + 1 coach that are stuck in the Tham Luang Cave in Chiang Mai Thailand had been drinking water only for 10 days before rescue came...
Not bad.. means drink water only can last 10 days one |
Jul 6 2018, 01:20 PM
QUOTE(ZoomGarde @ Jul 5 2018, 11:18 PM) The 12 students + 1 coach that are stuck in the Tham Luang Cave in Chiang Mai Thailand had been drinking water only for 10 days before rescue came... Of course you can. The longest fast ever recorded (with vitamin supplements) was by this Scottish guy for 382 days. Not bad.. means drink water only can last 10 days one Just to be clear, you need to make sure your electrolytes is balance during prolonged fasting. I'll have a bit of pink himalayan salt once or twice a day for that. |
Jul 8 2018, 07:11 PM
QUOTE(ejamaris @ Jul 6 2018, 01:20 PM) Of course you can. The longest fast ever recorded (with vitamin supplements) was by this Scottish guy for 382 days. Seriously?Just to be clear, you need to make sure your electrolytes is balance during prolonged fasting. I'll have a bit of pink himalayan salt once or twice a day for that. 1 year ? Is that person in a coma? No makan? Any source? This post has been edited by ZoomGarde: Jul 8 2018, 07:11 PM |
Jul 19 2018, 10:05 AM
QUOTE(ZoomGarde @ Jul 8 2018, 07:11 PM) This is the link to the research findings.Just to update, i broke my fast on the 10th day and eat normally soon after with no refeeding syndrome. |
Jul 19 2018, 07:04 PM
133 posts Joined: Jul 2016 |
did 7days about 2 months ago, now currently on day 6 of 14 day water fast
Jul 21 2018, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(ejamaris @ Jul 19 2018, 10:05 AM) This is the link to the research findings. Under supervision..Just to update, i broke my fast on the 10th day and eat normally soon after with no refeeding syndrome. I think those overweight one shud really try this |
Sep 18 2019, 10:25 PM
656 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Does anyone know of any water only fasting retreats or clinics in Malaysia?
Sep 25 2019, 09:20 PM
2,278 posts Joined: Jan 2019 |
QUOTE(tohca @ Sep 18 2019, 10:25 PM) Been how many days, no reply and I presume you know how to use search engine. MY has a sweet tooth with earlier sugar subsidy and now most obese in SEA. How would a water fasting clinic going to survive in MY ? |
Apr 24 2020, 02:46 AM
890 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Apr 24 2020, 08:27 AM
QUOTE(jason83 @ Apr 24 2020, 02:46 AM) Guess there is no such establishment yet in Malaysia. Hopefully, someone will start one in the future. I was able to do a 7 days water-only fast on my own. Needs lots of discipline to do it. It was difficult, not because of hunger which goes away pretty quickly, but craving for the taste of food. |
Apr 24 2020, 12:21 PM
261 posts Joined: Apr 2020 |
I did it for 7-10 days max in my 20’s. It is very hard, for women harder due to hormones in play. Fasting itself is difficult enough but there are unpleasant rashes and detoxing symptoms on body. For healthy ppl on low calorie/low carb diet it will be less harsh though.
Apr 24 2020, 03:39 PM
70 posts Joined: Dec 2019 |
i don't think i can tahan
Apr 24 2020, 03:42 PM
997 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
Apr 25 2020, 02:07 AM
QUOTE(tohca @ Apr 24 2020, 08:27 AM) Guess there is no such establishment yet in Malaysia. Hopefully, someone will start one in the future. I was able to do a 7 days water-only fast on my own. Needs lots of discipline to do it. It was difficult, not because of hunger which goes away pretty quickly, but craving for the taste of food. Thanks for getting back to me. So how often do you do this? Was your health goals achieved from doing water fasting? |
Apr 25 2020, 02:09 AM
QUOTE(Just2centslah @ Apr 24 2020, 12:21 PM) I did it for 7-10 days max in my 20’s. It is very hard, for women harder due to hormones in play. Fasting itself is difficult enough but there are unpleasant rashes and detoxing symptoms on body. For healthy ppl on low calorie/low carb diet it will be less harsh though. Yeah I heard about the rashes, on which day do they start to appear? Been able to do only 24 hours fast... Didn't see any rashes. |
Apr 25 2020, 02:12 AM
QUOTE(Maknusia @ Apr 24 2020, 03:42 PM) There are many hidden hands manipulating the information that is available to all. According to our government, the cabinet is formed of corruption free and high integrity ministers, do you believe that? I'm not refuting your claims. I am just saying it is better to do our own research. Peace! |
Apr 25 2020, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(jason83 @ Apr 25 2020, 02:07 AM) Thanks for getting back to me. So how often do you do this? Was your health goals achieved from doing water fasting? No worries. I tried it more out of curiosity than anything else. All the while we have been told that if you don't eat for a day or 2 you will die or get very sick or become very weak and can't even walk or lose muscle mass. However, after reading about the experience of others who have fasted for long periods and come out none the worse, I thought I must try it myself.What I experience is that I feel more lively and energetic during the fast (especially after the 3rd day). My thinking was clearer too during the fast. Being someone who likes to eat and really enjoys food, it was really difficult to fast. Thus I broke fast after the 7th day, not because I had to eat but because I really wanted to eat. Had since done 2 days and 3 days water fast. Always feeling much better overall during and after the fast. I hope to do a 10-days or longer fast someday. Have you tried it yourself? |
Apr 27 2020, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(christinesg @ Apr 27 2020, 11:37 AM) How did you perform water fasting? I mean how long (hours) per day and does it include caffeinated drinks as well? No, nothing except water throughout the 7 days. In fact, I also tried dry fasting (no food, not even water) for 48 hours.Interested to know your fasting schedule |
Apr 27 2020, 03:22 PM
1,240 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: jellyfishlake |
I've done it before and please ensure you get enough nutrient Post-fast. I was on keto and went on water fast for 48 hours once every 3 weeks for 3 times in total.
I felt great and amazing but I also lost a lot of hair. I have a lot of hair to begin with but it was a lot of hair and stress for months. I did my blood test and was very low on iron which resulted in the hair loss. Do ensure your macro nutrient are adequate after the fast. |
Apr 27 2020, 04:29 PM
1,009 posts Joined: Apr 2011 |
I tried it for the first time at the start of MCO. 2 day water fast. Like some who shared, hunger still can tahan, but the mind constantly crave for food. I did notice I had a bit of bad breath and there is a peculiar smell in my urine. I do feel tired faster at the end of the day so tend to sleep earlier. Afterwards water fast ended I feel fine. Lost some weight too I think.
I didn't do any research at all. I tried it because a friend did it several times before. Mainly I think it has the benefit of detox (I think only, did not do any research). |
| Change to: | 0.0325sec
5 queries
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:51 PM |