Japanese & Korean Films, Recommended movies - new & old

TSsweet_pez
post May 31 2018, 06:20 PM, updated 6y ago

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Don't really see posts that talk about Japanese and Korean films. I love watching movies and I'd even go for French, Italian or Spanish (provided the story/ plot is good) but I usually watch more English, Korean and Japanese film (occasionally HK films).

Recently on the flight to Japan and return, I managed to catch about 5 movies. Could have done more if it wasn't an overnight flight going to Tokyo laugh.gif need my beauty sleep so I tried to catch a snooze. Anyway had to wake up at 3.30am for breakfast so I got up and started watching shows.

Feel free to share yours biggrin.gif Let's have a heart warming start with the one I watched most recently at home. The last 3 are 2018 movies and I watched it on SIA.

Japanese Films

The Miracles of Namiya General Store (ナミヤ雑貨店の奇蹟/ Namiya Zakkaten no Kiseki)

Plot Synopsis by AsianWiki ©

In 2012, Atsuya (Ryosuke Yamada) and his 2 childhood friends do something bad and run into an old general store. They decide to stay there until the morning. Late into the night, Atsuya sees a letter in the mailbox. The letter is addressed to the Namiya General Store and the letter was written by someone to consult about worries. Incredibly, the letter was written 32 years ago. The mailbox is somehow connected to the year 1980. Atsuya and his friends decide to write a reply and place their letter in the mailbox.

POV: It's certainly one of my favourite film now. Mysterious, heart warming and filled with hope, this is a wonderful film. The plot is brilliant and you'll start to connect the dots toward the end. I definitely cried watching this but if you don't, you ain't got a heart. Made of metal ya know shakehead.gif

---

That Winter, We Parted (去年の冬、きみと別れ/ Kyonen no Fuyu, Kimi to Wakare)

Plot Synopsis:

Yakumo Kyosuke is a book author who is interested in a fire-murder case related to a blind model, whereby photographer Zakayudai Kihara is a suspect. As Kihara was an alleged suspect in the case, Yakumo seeks to find the truth of the case. He started investigating Kihara and as he got deeper, that's when things became dangerous. It's a mystery-crime-thriller - things are more than meets the eye.

POV: I recommend this film -the story is good and it's unexpected. The pace and setting is nice as well. Also, since I've met Saito Takumi personally, i could not pass on watching his films! I'll also recommend Blank 13 later on, which I watched in last year's Japanese International Film Festival - the movie he came to KL to promote.

---

Impossibility Defense (不能犯/ Funohan)

Plot Synopsis (adapted from SIA site):

Tadashi Usobuki is a contract killer who carries out his killings using methods which are impossible to prove. If you have someone you needed to kill, just go to a designated phone booth and slip your contact details underneath the phone. He calls up his clients and voluntarily remove the target, with the exception the killing motive has to be 'pure' (eg. not for revenge or to evade the law by not dirtying own hands). His unorthodox killing method made it hard for the police to arrest him even when he got captured on the CCTV or camera. One investigator hopes to put an end to his reign of terror.

POV: I just realized I'm really into dark films. Seems like I can't pass off anything with a tinge of 'dark' or mysterious aura to it loll. Anyway Impossibility Defense is worth your time. See the dark and silly side of humanity from the eyes of Usobuki and the detective after him. The film does remind me a little of Jigoku Shoujo laugh.gif obviously if you're into Hell Girl, this is a movie for you.

---

Moving on to something lighter biggrin.gif

Destiny: The Tale of Kamakura (DESTINY 鎌倉ものがたり/ DESTINY Kamakura Monogatari)

Plot Synopsis:
I don't really know where to begin... I guess it's where the protagonist, Masakazu Isshiki - a mystery writer, came back to his home in Kamakura with new wife Akiko, who is much younger than him. As Akiko started living in the house, she sees and experiences the magic of Kamakura - all sorts of magical creatures, spirits including divine beings - surrounding Kamakura.

POV: It's a fantasy movie and has that humour element in it. Warm and full of live, it's a movie to watch if you're into stuffs like these. I find it average but not too bad, as I was going to visit Kamakura laugh.gif and no, I didn't see any creature. Not even a kappa hahahahaha

So if you're looking for something to humour yourself with and also check out Kamakura, this is the one for you. In fact, they also showcased the Enoden (train) which I also rode in my trip!

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Jun 12 2018, 09:07 AM
Mov_freak
post May 31 2018, 06:39 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Have you watch the Korean Movie, luck-key (2016)?
TSsweet_pez
post May 31 2018, 06:58 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ May 31 2018, 06:39 PM)
Have you watch the Korean Movie, luck-key (2016)?
I have heard of it, haven't seen it! Comedy right? Good?
Mov_freak
post May 31 2018, 07:15 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ May 31 2018, 06:58 PM)
I have heard of it, haven't seen it! Comedy right? Good?
Actually, Action comedy

Very good

Not your usual Hollywood fare
TSsweet_pez
post May 31 2018, 07:46 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

I also watched a fair share of Korean movies, some the title I can't recall. Will try to remember and add on to the recommended list.

Korean:

Forgotten

Plot Synopsis (taken from Asian Wiki):

Jin-Seok (Kang Ha-Neul) moves into a new home with his older brother Yoo-Seok (Kim Moo-Yul), mother (Na Young-Hee) and father (Moon Sung-Geun). Jin-Seok suffers from hypersensitivity, but with medication he is able to live normally. One rainy evening, Jin-Seok sees his older brother being thrown into a van by a group of men. After 19 days of silence, Yoo-Seok returns home, but he doesn't remember anything from his disappearance. Jin-Seok though notices enough changes in his older brother's personality and behavior that he begins to suspect that the person who has returned is not Yoo-Seok. Meanwhile, Jin-Seok keeps hearing sounds from a locked room temporarily storing the previous home owner's belongings.

POV: Brilliant. I love the movie *cough* Ha Neul *cough*

There's definitely a plot twist and you probably won't see it coming. Everything seemed to perfect and normal that you barely suspect anything. As usual excellent acting from Ha Neul and Moo Yul's part. So far Ha Neul's movies/ dramas have not disappointed me and yes, he's one of my favourite actor. Currently serving military, can't wait he's back into the acting industry. Fighting, Ha Neul!!!

---

Vanishing: A Boy Who Returned

Plot Synopsis (from Wikipedia):

A 13-year-old boy named Sung-min and his two friends went missing after their venture into a cave in a forest, along with Su-rin. Later, a mysterious man in his 30s shows up and tells Su-rin that he is her friend Sung-min.

POV: I enjoyed this film. I refused to sleep even though it was almost 1.30am as I needed to know what happened and what's the ending. It was that good, and that engaging. At one point in the film, you'll be lost in the children's world where they were stuck in time. And then of course, tragedy strikes. Bad things happen to innocent children as well.

However, you'll also find a little bit of 'pedophile' element in the movie. Their love is pure though, so long you don't look at it in a strange manner, it's all innocent and beautiful. I chose to see it from the latter's angle biggrin.gif

Also, I fell in love with Gang Dong Won after watching this movie. Since then, I always look forward to his movies on tvN wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif

---

A Werewolf Boy

Kim Sun-yi, an elderly woman in her sixties living in the US, receives a phone call about the sale of her old family home back in South Korea. Returning to her homeland, she's met by granddaughter Eun-joo, and they drive to the house in the country and stay the night. Sun-yi recalls how 47 years ago when she was a 17 year old girl in 1965, she moved from Seoul along with her widowed mother and her sister Sun-ja to a remote valley to undergo a period of convalescence after suffering problems with her lungs. The Kims lived in genteel poverty at the mercy of their arrogant and foppish landlord, Ji-tae, son of the business partner of Sun-yi's late father. Because of her delicate health, the beautiful yet introverted Sun-yi lives an isolated life in the country home, without any friends her age.

One night, Sun-yi glimpses a shadow in the outhouse; the next day, she discovers a feral boy of about 19 crouching in their yard. The boy's body temperature is 46 degrees Celsius, his blood type unidentifiable, and he can neither read nor speak. Even though he behaves like a wild beast, Sun-yi's kindhearted mother adopts him and names him Chul-soo, assuming he's one of more than 60,000 children orphaned in the Korean War.

At first Sun-yi considers him a nuisance, but eventually has fun taming him according to a dog-training manual. She teaches him how to wait patiently before a meal, how to wear clothes, how to speak, how to write and other human behavior so that he could one day live like a normal man. Chul-soo demonstrates unswerving loyalty and superhuman brawn, thus inspiring the envy of Ji-tae, who lusts after Sun-yi.

As Sun-yi attempts to "civilize" the beast, the two eventually become very close.

Pez: Watch it to know what happens later on and the ending!

POV: Yet another fantasy genre that captured my heart. How can I not watch this film that features 2 of my favourite actor? This is an infamous movie that many people would know even if they don't watch Korean films. Some would have probably seen it too.

By all means, as long as you have a pair of eyes, a beating heart and hand, please, watch this. One of the most moving, beautiful and touching movie. If you wanna talk about the ending, use spoiler.

Spoiler:-

---

A Violent Prosecutor

Byun Jae-Wook (Hwang Jung-min) is a short-tempered prosecutor who only pursues the truth. He is notorious for his rough and tough investigations. A suspect who is a small-time criminal, under the interrogation of Byun Jae-Wook, is then found dead. All the evidence indicate Byun Jae-Wook as the criminal. Byun Jae-Wook is prosecuted and gets 15 years in prison.

At first he is ill-treated by the prisoners. He helps some guards to avoid court room fees and in other legal matters. This gains him a special position in prison. He helps out both the officers and prisoners who are in jail through his legal knowledge and experiences. This makes prisoners loyal to him and he treats them well whenever he receives gifts from the guards. People in jail call him “Sir Young Gam” which means clever person.

Five years later, Byun Jae-Wook meets young fraudster Chi-Won (Gang Dong-won), in prison. Chi-Won knows details about Byun Jae-Wook’s case. Byun Jae-Wook trains Chi-Won to carry out his plan outside of prison. Using his knowledge as a former prosecutor, he gets Chi-Won free. Byun Jae-Wook prepares a counterattack on those who framed him. Although Chi-Won takes the chance to get away from Byun Jae-Wook, the other prisoners whom Byun Jae-Wook has helped get an early release don't let Chi-Won get away. Byun Jae-Wook and Chi-Won get together and start planning against Jong-Gil (Lee Sung-min) who was the Asst. Prosecutor General during Byun Jae-Wook's trial period and the person who had convinced Byun Jae-Wook to defend himself in a self-defense manner which resulted in his jail time. It is revealed that Jong-Gil, who is running in an upcoming election now, then was working with a builder to encroach an ecologically significant land. The rest of the film follows how Byun Jae-Wook through Chi-Won piles up evidences against Jong-Gil and gains his freedom.

POV: Omg Gang Dong Won again wub.gif nay, I'm not biased, definitely not hehe. No, not biased wub.gif

As read from the plot, it's a crime-thriller-prosecutor-drama sort of stuffs. Comes in with a bit of black humour, warmth and suspense. You can call it a typical movie, but it always give me that satisfaction due to the feel-good factor from this kind of show. Yes, definitely recommended thumbup.gif

---

I have space for only 1 more movie so I'll go into something darker:

The Crucible/ Silenced

Kang In-ho is the newly appointed art teacher at Benevolence Academy, a school for hearing-impaired children in the fictional city of Mujin, North Jeolla Province. He has a dark past - his wife committed suicide a year ago, and his sick daughter is under the care of his mother. He is excited to teach his new students, yet the children are aloof and distant, trying to avoid running into him as much as possible. In-ho does not give up trying to show the kids that he cares. When the children finally open up, In-ho faces the shocking and ugly truth about the school and what the students have been enduring in secret: the children are being physically and sexually abused by their teachers. When he decides to fight for the children’s rights and expose the crimes being committed at the school, In-ho teams up with human rights activist Seo Yoo-jin, but he and Yoo-jin soon realize the school’s principal and teachers, and even the police, prosecutors and churches in the community are actually trying to cover up the truth. In addition to using "privileges of former post" (Jeon-gwan ye-u) the accused do not hesitate to lie and bribe their way to get very light sentences.

POV: It's a really disturbing film so I suggest skipping it if you can't take this. It's unbelievable that these a**h**** managed to get away. What is justice?
This film is based on a true story, thus making one feel even more disturbed watching it.

TSsweet_pez
post May 31 2018, 07:47 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ May 31 2018, 07:15 PM)
Actually, Action comedy

Very good

Not your usual Hollywood fare
Hahahaha okay, I'll look for it! Thanks for the recommendation biggrin.gif
redart
post May 31 2018, 08:08 PM

315 posts

modern taste ehh, no jidaigeki love? biggrin.gif
TSsweet_pez
post May 31 2018, 08:14 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(redart @ May 31 2018, 08:08 PM)
modern taste ehh, no jidaigeki love? biggrin.gif
Hahahahahahahaha Akira Kurosawa era eh? Too stronk for my taste unfortunately 😂 but if you have any to recommend, by all means!
Noctis-Lucis
post May 31 2018, 08:34 PM

34 posts

ALONG WITH THE GODS: THE TWO WORLDS

Genre: Drama / Fantasy/ Afterlife

Plot Synopsis - AsianWiki

Following a person's a death, an Angel of Death escorts the deceased to the afterworld. There, the deceased person has 7 trials over a period of 49 days. At that time, the Angel of Death, who are not supposed to get involved in human affairs, unavoidably take part in human affairs. Gang Rim (Ha Jung-Woo) is the leader of the angel of deaths. He has an affection for humans. Kim Ja-Hong (Cha Tae-Hyun) receives his trial in the afterlife.

User Reviews - IMDB

#1 - This film tells the story of a firefighter who dies while saving a girl in a fire in a skyscraper. He is led by three grim reapers who guide him through the seven trials in the Afterlife. The story initially is predictable, as he breezes though the initial trials. Then the film gets increasingly engaging and captivating. The final trials are not predictable anymore, and there is much suspense. The visuals are great, and there is clearly a lot of thought going into the visuals. The ending is very touching, particularly when viewers understand the Oriental culture about filial duties. Lots of tissues were used in the cinema!

#2 - The film focuses on the inner story and the scenery of the protagonist who is transformed through seven trials. When a moment supports the ordinary character, at a certain moment, audiences put themsleves on the life of each person. As a result, this vast fantasy that transcends the boundaries of life and death between the world and hell, takes a leap into the tectonics of human life and death, the meaning of life and death, and the value of a given life.

redart
post May 31 2018, 08:38 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ May 31 2018, 08:14 PM)
Hahahahahahahaha Akira Kurosawa era eh? Too stronk for my taste unfortunately 😂 but if you have any to recommend, by all means!
Kurosawa's era might be a little to much for some, but a lighter ones by other directors might be okay to check out,

-Period drama-

Hana yori mo Naho (2006)

Love and Honor ~Bushi no Ichibun~ (2006)

The Twilight Samurai (2002)

-Modern dramas-

Always Sanchome no Yuhi (2005)

Be With You ~ Ima, Ai ni Yukimasu~ (2004)

Departures (2008)

Just some that I liked. Btw thanks for your list, a few of them looks interesting for me to check out.

This post has been edited by redart: May 31 2018, 08:39 PM
Mov_freak
post May 31 2018, 09:17 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(Noctis-Lucis @ May 31 2018, 08:34 PM)
ALONG WITH THE GODS: THE TWO WORLDS

Genre: Drama / Fantasy/ Afterlife

Plot Synopsis - AsianWiki

Following a person's a death, an Angel of Death escorts the deceased to the afterworld. There, the deceased person has 7 trials over a period of 49 days. At that time, the Angel of Death, who are not supposed to get involved in human affairs, unavoidably take part in human affairs. Gang Rim (Ha Jung-Woo) is the leader of the angel of deaths. He has an affection for humans. Kim Ja-Hong (Cha Tae-Hyun) receives his trial in the afterlife.

User Reviews - IMDB

#1 - This film tells the story of a firefighter who dies while saving a girl in a fire in a skyscraper. He is led by three grim reapers who guide him through the seven trials in the Afterlife. The story initially is predictable, as he breezes though the initial trials. Then the film gets increasingly engaging and captivating. The final trials are not predictable anymore, and there is much suspense. The visuals are great, and there is clearly a lot of thought going into the visuals. The ending is very touching, particularly when viewers understand the Oriental culture about filial duties. Lots of tissues were used in the cinema!

#2 - The film focuses on the inner story and the scenery of the protagonist who is transformed through seven trials. When a moment supports the ordinary character, at a certain moment, audiences put themsleves on the life of each person. As a result, this vast fantasy that transcends the boundaries of life and death between the world and hell, takes a leap into the tectonics of human life and death, the meaning of life and death, and the value of a given life.

Another good Korean
TSsweet_pez
post May 31 2018, 09:28 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Noctis-Lucis @ May 31 2018, 08:34 PM)

I cried buckets watching this. It was superb but a movie that I cant watch a 2nd time, really way too sad.

QUOTE(redart @ May 31 2018, 08:38 PM)
Kurosawa's era might be a little to much for some, but a lighter ones by other directors might be okay to check out,

-Period drama-

Hana yori mo Naho (2006)

Love and Honor ~Bushi no Ichibun~ (2006)

The Twilight Samurai (2002)
-Modern dramas-

Always Sanchome no Yuhi (2005)

Be With You ~ Ima, Ai ni Yukimasu~ (2004)

Departures (2008)
Just some that I liked. Btw thanks for your list, a few of them looks interesting for me to check out.
Ah you are recommending dramas. Was thinking this thread more towards movies.

No worries, may be good reference to others too.
redart
post May 31 2018, 10:13 PM

315 posts

nah those are not tv series dramas, those were cinema films in drama genre. smile.gif
TSsweet_pez
post May 31 2018, 11:43 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(redart @ May 31 2018, 10:13 PM)
nah those are not tv series dramas, those were cinema films in drama genre. smile.gif
I see. Probably better to label them as Genre: Drama ^___^

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: May 31 2018, 11:43 PM
besthanj
post Jun 1 2018, 09:19 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ May 31 2018, 06:20 PM)
Don't really see posts that talk about Japanese and Korean films. I love watching movies and I'd even go for French, Italian or Spanish (provided the story/ plot is good) but I usually watch more English, Korean and Japanese film (occasionally HK films).

Recently on the flight to Japan and return, I managed to catch about 5 movies. Could have done more if it wasn't an overnight flight going to Tokyo laugh.gif need my beauty sleep so I tried to catch a snooze. Anyway had to wake up at 3.30am for breakfast so I got up and started watching shows.

But before that, let me start with the one I watched most recently at home (recorded it via Astro):

Japanese Films

The Miracles of Namiya General Store (ナミヤ雑貨店の奇蹟/ Namiya Zakkaten no Kiseki)

Plot Synopsis by AsianWiki ©

In 2012, Atsuya (Ryosuke Yamada) and his 2 childhood friends do something bad and run into an old general store. They decide to stay there until the morning. Late into the night, Atsuya sees a letter in the mailbox. The letter is addressed to the Namiya General Store and the letter was written by someone to consult about worries. Incredibly, the letter was written 32 years ago. The mailbox is somehow connected to the year 1980. Atsuya and his friends decide to write a reply and place their letter in the mailbox.

POV: It's certainly one of my favourite film now. Mysterious, heart warming and filled with hope, this is a wonderful film. The plot is brilliant and you'll start to connect the dots toward the end. I definitely cried watching this but if you don't, you ain't got a heart. Made of metal ya know shakehead.gif

---

That Winter, We Parted (去年の冬、きみと別れ/ Kyonen no Fuyu, Kimi to Wakare)

Plot Synopsis:

Yakumo Kyosuke is a book author who is interested in a fire-murder case related to a blind model, whereby photographer Zakayudai Kihara is a suspect. As Kihara was an alleged suspect in the case, Yakumo seeks to find the truth of the case. He started investigating Kihara and as he got deeper, that's when things became dangerous. It's a mystery-crime-thriller - things are more than meets the eye.

POV: I recommend this film -the story is good and it's unexpected. The pace and setting is nice as well. Also, since I've met Saito Takumi personally, i could not pass on watching his films! I'll also recommend Blank 13 later on, which I watched in last year's Japanese International Film Festival - the movie he came to KL to promote.

---

Impossibility Defense (不能犯/ Funohan)

Plot Synopsis (adapted from SIA site):

Tadashi Usobuki is a contract killer who carries out his killings using methods which are impossible to prove. If you have someone you needed to kill, just go to a designated phone booth and slip your contact details underneath the phone. He calls up his clients and voluntarily remove the target, with the exception the killing motive has to be 'pure' (eg. not for revenge or to evade the law by not dirtying own hands). His unorthodox killing method made it hard for the police to arrest him even when he got captured on the CCTV or camera. One investigator hopes to put an end to his reign of terror.

POV: I just realized I'm really into dark films. Seems like I can't pass off anything with a tinge of 'dark' or mysterious aura to it loll. Anyway Impossibility Defense is worth your time. See the dark and silly side of humanity from the eyes of Usobuki and the detective after him. The film does remind me a little of Jigoku Shoujo laugh.gif obviously if you're into Hell Girl, this is a movie for you.

---

Moving on to something lighter biggrin.gif

Destiny: The Tale of Kamakura (DESTINY 鎌倉ものがたり/ DESTINY Kamakura Monogatari)

Plot Synopsis:
I don't really know where to begin... I guess it's where the protagonist, Masakazu Isshiki - a mystery writer, came back to his home in Kamakura with new wife Akiko, who is much younger than him. As Akiko started living in the house, she sees and experiences the magic of Kamakura - all sorts of magical creatures, spirits including divine beings - surrounding Kamakura.

POV: It's a fantasy movie and has that humour element in it. Warm and full of live, it's a movie to watch if you're into stuffs like these. I find it average but not too bad, as I was going to visit Kamakura laugh.gif and no, I didn't see any creature. Not even a kappa hahahahaha

So if you're looking for something to humour yourself with and also check out Kamakura, this is the one for you. In fact, they also showcased the Enoden (train) which I also rode in my trip!
Once again thank you for the recommendation and contribution to this forum, glad to have you as Moderator. biggrin.gif

I will definitely download these movies tonight thumbup.gif
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 1 2018, 09:29 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(besthanj @ Jun 1 2018, 09:19 AM)
Once again thank you for the recommendation and contribution to this forum, glad to have you as Moderator.  biggrin.gif

I will definitely download these movies tonight  thumbup.gif
No no, I would have done the same as a normal member biggrin.gif just wanted to share the good films I've seen. I'll continue sharing, coz there's a lot (have to dig my memory). Taste in films are rather subjective, and it's not easy to find people/ kaki who share the same taste or genre. Am happy if there are people who enjoy some of these recommendations nod.gif

And thank you, share your thoughts after watching them thumbsup.gif
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 1 2018, 10:05 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Japanese

Blank 13

Plot Synopsis by AsianWiki Staff ©
Koji Matsuda’s (Issei Takahashi) father goes missing. 13 years later, Koji Matsuda knows his father’s (Lily Franky) information, but he is suffering from terminal cancer. 3 months later, his father dies. At his funeral, Koji and his family learn from attendees about his father.

This is based on the true story of broadcast writer Koji Hashimoto. This movie is also the feature film directorial debut of actor Takumi Saito.

POV: It's a mellow drama that squeezes you emotionally dry. The drama takes on from the perspective of Koji - his character, love and childhood bond with his father. I enjoyed the film and got pretty immersed in it. It takes time for this film to sink in, so upon reading the synopsis - if this is not your type of a story, I'll say to give this a skip.

---

The Projects [団地 (Danchi)]

Plot Synopsis:

What started as a light-hearted comedy turned into some sort of mystery and drama. [Danchi] means public community houses/ low cost housing. It is usually a close-knitted community with everyone knowing things about each other as places are small, locked in a small town (away from major city, thus cheaper) resides are small families. In this movie, you get to see a 'sample' of the danchi community in Japan. Takes place in Tochigi, it features this pair of elderly couple who stayed together in this danchi in Tochigi Prefecture. The husband is a traditional medicine maker/ seller and have his own regular customers. He makes his medicines at home and stores them in a small basement-like space he created.

One day, he heard a neighbour gossip something negative about him. Feeling belittled, he angrily told his wife that he will be "living" in the basement with his medicines. And thus, he started his 'hiding' and the neighbours started to suspect the wife may have killed and buried him somewhere.

POV: Yes, I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. It won't be easy to find this movie if you want to watch it laugh.gif even have problems looking for the images via Google image. It works well when you use the Japanese characters (Kanji in the the title). I recommend when you're looking for nonsensical fun or laughter. Otherwise you'll be surprised at what happens in the end unsure.gif

The Ending
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 4 2018, 02:20 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Finally had some time to spare last Saturday evening. Decided to watch Solomon's Perjury which I've downloaded months ago laugh.gif

And so I did. Excellent movie, that's 4.5 hours well spent. The movie is split into Part I (2 hours) and Part II (2.5 hours)

Solomon's Perjury

Solomon's Perjury 1: Suspicion (ソロモンの偽証 前篇・事件/ Solomon no Gisho Zenpen Jiken)
Solomon's Perjury 2: Judgment (ソロモンの偽証 後編・裁判/ Solomon no Gisho Kohen Saiban)

On Christmas morning, Ryoko (Ryoko Fujino) and Kenichi (Koki Maeda) go to school and discover a dead boy covered in snow. The deceased boy is Ryoko's classmate Takuya (Ayumu Mochizuki). The police determine that Takuya committed suicide and his parents agree with the police report. Rumors though quickly spread about Takuya's death. Ryoko and Principle Masao (Fumiyo Kohinata) then receive anonymous notes. The notes claim that the sender witnessed three students, including Shunji (Hiroya Shimizu), throw Takuya off of the rooftop of a school building.

To protect the students, the police and the school hide the anonymous notes, but a reporter receives one of the notes. The situation then becomes uncontrollable. A student dies in a car accident and the other students become increasingly unsettled by the unknown. Ryoko decides to hold a trial by their peers to uncover the truth.

POV: In Part I - you'll witness the beginning of the "tragedy". Part II is where the excitement began - a court trial by the students, for the students. You will see the plot unfolds towards the end.

Typically Japanese film, the pace starts slow and some part of the movie was in fact a little draggy. But as they say, patience bears fruit. I was too absorbed into the film to mind the slow parts. The plot was interesting and you dive into all the characters' emotions and guilt throughout the whole story. Enjoyed the movie thoroughly and looking forward to watch the Korean drama's version.

I recommend this to people who likes mystery thumbup.gif
Kanan Jarrus
post Jun 4 2018, 02:57 PM

399 posts

I really wanna watch The Miracles of Namiya General Store, because the thematic is something that is bizarre yet intriguing for me at that time, but sadly it didn't get allocated in my nearest cinema branch(mmCineplex) sigh sad.gif

i know the tidbits of story based on the trailers in youtube and after reading short snippets of it in wikipedia, but if you don't mind, can you spoil the ending/climax part for me? i'm dying to know because i don't read the novel so yeah i only know what's it about on surface, but i don't know what happens to the characters communicating within the different timeline.. sad.gif
besthanj
post Jun 4 2018, 03:40 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ May 31 2018, 06:20 PM)
Yeah I finished watching Miracles of Namiya General Store yesterday... I really like the plot on how they communicate between the present and past...

First time watching this kind of movie... but... yeah although I didn't really cry... but I did feel sad... and you're right... the movie will connect all the dots until the end... marvelously directed and brilliant plot as you mentioned...

But no... my heart ain't no metal... 😁

Anyway tried downloading other movies... seems like it's still too new to be available in the internet...

This post has been edited by besthanj: Jun 4 2018, 03:42 PM
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 4 2018, 04:10 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Kanan Jarrus @ Jun 4 2018, 02:57 PM)
I really wanna watch The Miracles of Namiya General Store, because the thematic is something that is bizarre yet intriguing for me at that time, but sadly it didn't get allocated in my nearest cinema branch(mmCineplex) sigh sad.gif
i know the tidbits of story based on the trailers in youtube and after reading short snippets of it in wikipedia, but if you don't mind, can you spoil the ending/climax part for me? i'm dying to know because i don't read the novel so yeah i only know what's it about on surface, but i don't know what happens to the characters communicating within the different timeline.. sad.gif
Can't stream the movie or download it...? hmm.gif

If you're sure about it then I'll give you the full compact version cool2.gif

SPOILER

That's the gist of it hahahaha. Hope you enjoyed the story.
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 4 2018, 04:17 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(besthanj @ Jun 4 2018, 03:40 PM)
Yeah I finished watching Miracles of Namiya General Store yesterday... I really like the plot on how they communicate between the present and past...

First time watching this kind of movie... but... yeah although I didn't really cry... but I did feel sad... and you're right... the movie will connect all the dots until the end... marvelously directed and brilliant plot as you mentioned...

But no... my heart ain't no metal... 😁

Anyway tried downloading other movies... seems like it's still too new to be available in the internet...
Yes! It may be a little slow (in terms of pace) but I couldn't stop watching. You know something is gonna happen, just a matter of time biggrin.gif

hahahahahahahaa I was just kidding about the tears. I guess I'm sentimental, many tears came out throughout the show cry.gif

Yes - That Winter, We Parted, Impossibility Defense and Tales of Kamakura is 2018's film (very recent) so probably not available yet huhu.
Kanan Jarrus
post Jun 4 2018, 06:12 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jun 4 2018, 04:10 PM)
Can't stream the movie or download it...?  hmm.gif

If you're sure about it then I'll give you the full compact version cool2.gif

SPOILER

That's the gist of it hahahaha. Hope you enjoyed the story.
Thank you very much for sharing, that's a wholesome story

in fact now that we're on it, i really wanna watch it even more right now even though i already know the whole thing!! rclxms.gif gonna find a way to get it, by hook or by crook haha!

TSsweet_pez
post Jun 11 2018, 01:27 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Kanan Jarrus @ Jun 4 2018, 06:12 PM)
Thank you very much for sharing, that's a wholesome story

in fact now that we're on it, i really wanna watch it even more right now even though i already know the whole thing!! rclxms.gif  gonna find a way to get it, by hook or by crook haha!
Yes you should, it's wonderful wink.gif

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Jun 11 2018, 01:32 PM
hafizhans
post Jun 11 2018, 01:51 PM

haa..ahnn..ahnn..aduii
1,484 posts

I started to watch korean movies recently and suprisingly they were good.
my top fav are:

1. A taxi driver
2. The wailing
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 11 2018, 01:59 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Korean Films:

The Man from Nowhere (아저씨 / Ajeossi)

Plot from Wiki:
Cha Tae-sik leads a quiet life running a pawnshop. His only friend is a little girl, So-mi, who lives next door. So-mi's mother, Hyo-jeong, is a heroin addict who steals drugs from a feared Korean-Vietnamese organized crime group. She pawns her camera bag to Tae-sik; he does not realize it has the stolen drugs inside. Crime lord Oh Myung-gyu sends his subordinates, brothers Man-Seok and Jong-seok to retrieve the drugs; Jong-seok and his henchman Lum Ramrowan torture Hyo-jeong to find the drugs' location, then kidnap her and So-mi. Two gangsters, Du-chi and "Bear" go to Tae-sik's pawn shop, but Tae-sik easily overpowers them. When he finds that Hyo-jeong and So-mi have been kidnapped, he gives them the bag, and Ramrowan kills Bear to set him up as the fall guy.

Realizing that Tae-sik may serve better as a mule, the gang brothers force Tae-sik to perform a delivery to Oh Myung-gyu, who they have set up. The police arrest Tae-sik and discover Hyo-jeong's body, with her organs harvested, in the back of the car he used to make the delivery. Tae-sik escapes from the police station to search for So-mi, and during his escape, the police are bewildered at Tae-sik's display of power, combat techniques, and agility. On further investigation, they discover that Tae-sik was a former covert operator for the South Korean Army Intelligence, with numerous commendations, but he retired after he was wounded and his pregnant wife was murdered by an assassin.

POV: One of my all-time favourite is The Man from Nowhere. It started off mysteriously but soon, it escalated quickly. So fast that you'd probably hold your breath as you watch on. Extremely awesome action & fight scenes, well-written plot and handsome Won Bin, there's nothing lacking about this film (except I wished he hadn't cut his hair). This is one of the film that got me started exploring other Korean films, as I didn't expect them to be this ichiban.

Hwayi: A Monster Boy

Plot from Wiki:
In the middle of a forest, a notorious five-member crime organization lives together on a deserted farm. One day, following a plan that didn't go as expected, an infant whom they had kidnapped in a blackmailing scheme is left with them. 14 years later, this boy, who is now named Hwa-yi, lives as the son of his five criminal fathers: Seok-tae, the cold but charismatic leader, Ki-tae, a stammering driving expert, Jin-seong, an ideal planner, Beom-soo, a guns expert, and Dong-beom a cold martial artist. Hwa-yi has been brought up in a unique way, learning skills from his five fathers instead of going to school. Though he has adapted to this life, sometimes he longs for the ordinary life of other boys, which seems impossible for him.

The gang plans another crime, which will see Hwa-yi participate for the first time. During a fight, Hwa-yi fires a gun to kill someone. At first, his fingers tremble and the gun shakes but after one shot, he keeps pulling the trigger as though possessed. He finds a picture of a child on the man he shot and soon Hwa-yi starts to uncover a huge secret and his tragic destiny. His life is turned upside down when he learns that the man he killed was his real father. From that moment on, Hwa-yi vows revenge on his gangster fathers, using the devious skills he picked up from a life in crime.

POV: I've known about this film for some time, but always lack the interest to watch it because the plot is so depressing. Yet I finally picked it up and it was as I expected: plenty of blood, shooting and corpse. There were some questions that I wanted answer to, but unfortunately I don't think there will ever be an answer. Good plot twists and Yeo Jin Goo is an amazing actor icon_rolleyes.gif

I Can Speak

Plot from Wiki:

An elderly woman (played by Na Moon-hee) constantly files complaints with the local office about the wrongs that she sees around her each day. Along the way, she forms an unlikely friendship with a junior civil service officer (played by Lee Je-hoon) who begins to teach her English. Being the teacher of the elderly woman, he realizes the genuine reason why she learned English and becomes an important supporter in earnest.

Though the film is a comedy, the genre serves as a vehicle to discuss the deeper topic of Korean "comfort women" during World War II.

POV: I only read Astro's synopsis before the film and they gave so little. Something along the line of how an elderly woman and a young man form an unexpected friendship when she asked him to teach her English. Thought I'll give it a chance and true enough - it started off as witty but slowly turned to something grimmer and serious towards the end. Personally I find it good, but it depends on your preference of genre. One thing for sure, it was certainly not boring.

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Jun 11 2018, 05:45 PM
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 11 2018, 02:03 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(hafizhans @ Jun 11 2018, 01:51 PM)
I started to watch korean movies recently and suprisingly they were good.
my top fav are:

1. A taxi driver
2. The wailing
Ah, I heard of Taxi Driver. Not so much of the Wailing.

Hahahaha yes you're right about them being surprisingly good. There was a period of blank where I hardly watch Korean movies (before they have tvN movies on Astro), but after I have seen The Man from Nowhere on tvN one day, I continued to explore the channel and films. Initially I thought only their drama is good, what a mistake haha.
hafizhans
post Jun 11 2018, 02:59 PM

haa..ahnn..ahnn..aduii
1,484 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jun 11 2018, 02:03 PM)
Ah, I heard of Taxi Driver. Not so much of the Wailing.

Hahahaha yes you're right about them being surprisingly good. There was a period of blank where I hardly watch Korean movies (before they have tvN movies on Astro), but after I have seen The Man from Nowhere on tvN one day, I continued to explore the channel and films. Initially I thought only their drama is good, what a mistake haha.
after finish the wailing, i still have to google for explanation.
quite confusing but very gooding thumbup.gif
The Man from Nowhere is good also!
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 11 2018, 03:38 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(hafizhans @ Jun 11 2018, 02:59 PM)
after finish the wailing, i still have to google for explanation.
quite confusing but very gooding  thumbup.gif
The Man from Nowhere is good also!
I looked it up just now biggrin.gif macam yes, will look for the show!

Oh wait, just realized you mentioned "Man from Nowhere"!!! Yes it's one of my fav!!!

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Jun 11 2018, 05:55 PM
Omega Z
post Jun 11 2018, 09:05 PM

269 posts

Allow me to share my share of Jap/Korean films that I like

Taiyou No Uta (Midnight Sun)

Synopsis

I watched this due to YUI (who played Kaoru) and I have this soft spots towards movies that has music elements in it. A coming of age kinda movie. Simple love story. Has its own sad moments but not enough to use tissues.

I Saw The Devil

Synopsis

A violent film (obviously), but as usual great (and sick) performance by Choi MIn Sik, (damn I love this guy, you will know him from OLDBOY). Its has blood and torture ( but not that extreme, still acceptable). Sometimes you wonder to what limit will you able to do to avenge for the person you love. Will you cross the line or not? If you are a fan of thriller/crime you will like this movie.

This post has been edited by Omega Z: Jun 11 2018, 09:15 PM
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 12 2018, 09:10 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Omega Z @ Jun 11 2018, 09:05 PM)
Allow me to share my share of  Jap/Korean films that I like

Ahhhhh will try to avoid melodrama if possible, as I tear up easily.

I enjoy thrillers, will probably look for this movie. In fact Lee Byung Hun's films are usually pretty good, a safe bet when you're not sure what to watch.
Thanks for the recommendations biggrin.gif
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 12 2018, 09:59 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

My favourite Korean horror film:

The Priests (검은 사제들/ Geomeun Sajedeul)

Plot from Wiki (this is a synopsis extracted from Wiki with spoiler omitted):

A young girl who belongs to Father Kim's parish becomes comatose after a hit-and-run accident. Father Kim finds out she is possessed by an evil spirit. Father Kim along with a rebellious young seminarian named Choi who is unsure about the spiritual warfare, tries to exorcise the demon and confine it in a piglet. Members of rosicrucianism informs Father Kim that two of their priests were killed by this demon. During the exorcism, manifestations of the demon terrifies, one of them being developing unnatural rashes all over the body, Choi and he runs out, but comes back to finish what they started with determination. When they try to free the girl from the demon's powerful hold, they realized that the demon they are facing is an ancient one named Malphas and is far more dangerous than they ever thought.

POV: A good horror movie is far better than a hundred mediocre ones. This is one creepy movie and yes, it scared the hell out of me. Probably 'coz I watched this at night alone, it was even better lol.gif everyone's tolerance & reaction towards horror is different, but this scares me. Had to watch some cute dog videos before going to bed.

Montage (몽타주 / Mongtajoo)

Plot from Wiki (this is a synopsis extracted from Wiki with spoiler omitted):

A kidnapper disappeared 15 years ago without a trace. Five days before the case's statute of limitations expires, someone is found anonymously leaving a flower at the crime scene. A few days later, another kidnapping takes place using the same method on a similar target. Police team up to solve the case before it's too late as in its previous case. Detective (Kim Sang-kyung) is consulted and he confirms its a similar MO.

POV: It keeps you on edge and probably your mouth gaping open. A thriller with major plot twist - and if this is what you like, it's definitely for you biggrin.gif I had to go out while watching it halfway, so I recorded the 2nd half and the first thing I got home - finish it.
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 14 2018, 01:58 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Japanese

ReLife

Plot from Wiki
The story revolves around a 27-year-old man who becomes unemployed after quitting his job of 3-months, claiming that it is because it "does not fit his highest potential". As a result of this action, he finds it difficult to gain a full-time job at another company and instead he works as a part-timer at a mini market. One day, a mysterious man named Ryō Yoake offers him a job opportunity, but first he needs to become a tester for ReLife: a scientific experiment to rejuvenate him by 10 years and send him back to high school as a student. Apparently, the experiment is supposed to provide a chance to experience youth once again and, in the process, fix whatever is wrong with the subject's life.

POV: It's alright. I read the manga, then watched the anime and subsequently the Live Action. No, not a huge fan sweat.gif but I like the story and I'm always curious what happens next, as well as the ending. Although the manga is still ongoing, the Live Action only had 2 hours to tell its tale. I'm satisfied with the casting for the characters and I think the actors did their job well. However I wish there were more depths to characters like Ryo and Oga in the film. Yet with little time, I think this is the best they can do.

toughgshock
post Jun 18 2018, 01:44 PM

196 posts

Synopsis

I watched this due to YUI (who played Kaoru) and I have this soft spots towards movies that has music elements in it. A coming of age kinda movie. Simple love story. Has its own sad moments but not enough to use tissues.

I Saw The Devil

Synopsis

A violent film (obviously), but as usual great (and sick) performance by Choi MIn Sik, (damn I love this guy, you will know him from OLDBOY). Its has blood and torture ( but not that extreme, still acceptable). Sometimes you wonder to what limit will you able to do to avenge for the person you love. Will you cross the line or not? If you are a fan of thriller/crime you will like this movie.
I just watched "I saw the devil". Sick but good story. Tension. Thanks for recommendation.
recca_act
post Jun 20 2018, 09:41 AM

38 posts

A new Korean movie just came out in the cinema, Champion, not bad.
besthanj
post Jun 20 2018, 09:52 AM

142 posts

Synopsis

I Saw The Devil

Synopsis

Yes I just watched Taiyou No Uta (Midnight Sun). It's really gooooood.

The beginning of the movie was all happy moment until the middle until the end, they found out that she has this sickness (sad moment). Not gonna say more here (not to spoil for those haven't watch it yet)

But overall it's a good movie which I'm glad I watched it. Because. YUI !

I always listened to YUI's Goodbye Days like 10 years ago (during my schooling days), now I know it's from a movie.

Thanks for recommending!
besthanj
post Jun 20 2018, 09:57 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jun 4 2018, 02:20 PM)
Finally had some time to spare last Saturday evening. Decided to watch Solomon's Perjury which I've downloaded months ago laugh.gif

And so I did. Excellent movie, that's 4.5 hours well spent. The movie is split into Part I (2 hours) and Part II (2.5 hours)

Solomon's Perjury

Solomon's Perjury 1: Suspicion (ソロモンの偽証 前篇・事件/ Solomon no Gisho Zenpen Jiken)
Solomon's Perjury 2: Judgment (ソロモンの偽証 後編・裁判/ Solomon no Gisho Kohen Saiban)

On Christmas morning, Ryoko (Ryoko Fujino) and Kenichi (Koki Maeda) go to school and discover a dead boy covered in snow. The deceased boy is Ryoko's classmate Takuya (Ayumu Mochizuki). The police determine that Takuya committed suicide and his parents agree with the police report. Rumors though quickly spread about Takuya's death. Ryoko and Principle Masao (Fumiyo Kohinata) then receive anonymous notes. The notes claim that the sender witnessed three students, including Shunji (Hiroya Shimizu), throw Takuya off of the rooftop of a school building.

To protect the students, the police and the school hide the anonymous notes, but a reporter receives one of the notes. The situation then becomes uncontrollable. A student dies in a car accident and the other students become increasingly unsettled by the unknown. Ryoko decides to hold a trial by their peers to uncover the truth.

POV: In Part I - you'll witness the beginning of the "tragedy". Part II is where the excitement began - a court trial by the students, for the students. You will see the plot unfolds towards the end.

Typically Japanese film, the pace starts slow and some part of the movie was in fact a little draggy. But as they say, patience bears fruit. I was too absorbed into the film to mind the slow parts. The plot was interesting and you dive into all the characters' emotions and guilt throughout the whole story. Enjoyed the movie thoroughly and looking forward to watch the Korean drama's version.

I recommend this to people who likes mystery thumbup.gif
I've already downloaded both of these movies. But don't have the time to watch it yet, WORLD CUP season now hahaha.

These kind of movies definitely intrigues me as I love mystery/detective movies.

Will give my review once I'm done.

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jun 14 2018, 01:58 PM)
Japanese

ReLife

Plot from Wiki
The story revolves around a 27-year-old man who becomes unemployed after quitting his job of 3-months, claiming that it is because it "does not fit his highest potential". As a result of this action, he finds it difficult to gain a full-time job at another company and instead he works as a part-timer at a mini market. One day, a mysterious man named Ryō Yoake offers him a job opportunity, but first he needs to become a tester for ReLife: a scientific experiment to rejuvenate him by 10 years and send him back to high school as a student. Apparently, the experiment is supposed to provide a chance to experience youth once again and, in the process, fix whatever is wrong with the subject's life.

POV: It's alright. I read the manga, then watched the anime and subsequently the Live Action. No, not a huge fan sweat.gif but I like the story and I'm always curious what happens next, as well as the ending. Although the manga is still ongoing, the Live Action only had 2 hours to tell its tale. I'm satisfied with the casting for the characters and I think the actors did their job well. However I wish there were more depths to characters like Ryo and Oga in the film. Yet with little time, I think this is the best they can do.
Ah...Did someone said RE:LIFE ?!

Yes this movie I will definitely watch it. I've already watched the anime version of RE:Life.

Now it's in a movie, will try to download it and watch if it's available.

Thankss @sweetypez
besthanj
post Jun 20 2018, 10:13 AM

142 posts

OK, rather than me keep "taking," I will going to have to "give" some in return, haha.

So here's my recommendation, I'm not sure if you guys have watched:

Battle Royale

I really like this kind of movie of survivor series. Synopsis below

Synopsis:
42 9th graders are sent to a deserted island. They are given a map, food, and various weapons. An explosive collar is fitted around their neck. If they break a rule, the collar explodes. Their mission: kill each other and be the last one standing. The last survivor is allowed to leave the island. If there is more than one survivor, the collars explode and kill them all.

Also detective kind of story but gentle kind:

Meitantei Katherine (Detective Katherine)

Again Detective story... which is my personal favorite...

But what's even more special that makes me wanna watch this is that the detective (main actress is an American), and I like her accent speaking in Japanese. It's really funny and cute biggrin.gif

Synopsis:
Katherine Turner is the daughter of the Vice President of the United States, and she had come with her father on his official visit to Japan. Since she runs a flower arrangement business back in the US, Katherine decides to stay on in Japan to learn Ikebana, after her father had returned home at the end of the official visit. Japan's Minister of Foreign Affairs, Hamaguchi Yukio, asks his nephew, Ichiro, to escort Katherine during her extended stay in Japan with the strict instructions that he is not to fall in love with her.

Katherine actually started her flower arrangement business after a chance meeting with a Japanese woman, Ogawa Maiko, who had held an exhibition in the United States. She befriended Maiko, and is now hoping to reunite with her old friend in Japan. Unable to reach Maiko, Katherine is shocked to learn that Maiko is a victim of a homicide. Thus, with the help of Ichiro, Katherine begins to look into her friend's death.

There's also a part 2:

Detective Katherine: Kieta Souzokujin (The Vanished Heiress)

Synopsis:
(They didn't provide the synopsis but it's a continuous from Part 1, and it's also good, just watch it =D)

I will be back for more recommendation if I found anything good.

This post has been edited by besthanj: Jun 20 2018, 10:21 AM
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 20 2018, 11:30 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(besthanj @ Jun 20 2018, 09:57 AM)
I've already downloaded both of these movies. But don't have the time to watch it yet, WORLD CUP season now hahaha.

These kind of movies definitely intrigues me as I love mystery/detective movies.

Will give my review once I'm done.
Wahahaha World Cup aye, supporter of which country? biggrin.gif *waves Argentina flag* Messi messed up tho hahahaha. Also supporting Asian countries - go go South Korea & Japan thumbup.gif

Yes, I enjoy mystery-thriller as well. They can be intriguing. You need to try South Korean films - they're really good. After World Cup you can give Montage a shot, I highly recommend this detective-mystery-thriller.

It's not easy to have access to Japanese film cry.gif

QUOTE(besthanj @ Jun 20 2018, 09:57 AM)
Ah...Did someone said RE:LIFE ?!

Yes this movie I will definitely watch it. I've already watched the anime version of RE:Life.

Now it's in a movie, will try to download it and watch if it's available.

Thankss @sweetypez
RE:LIFE it is! I've kinda stopped following the manga but the movie isn't bad. Casting was done nicely, the characters are a good fit.
lolololl you're another one who improvised my nick other than some of the naughty mods lol.gif lol.gif lol.gif

QUOTE(besthanj @ Jun 20 2018, 10:13 AM)
OK, rather than me keep "taking," I will going to have to "give" some in return, haha.

So here's my recommendation, I'm not sure if you guys have watched:

Battle Royale

I will be back for more recommendation if I found anything good.

BATTLE ROYALE *screams* definitely my favourite when it comes to horror! I had a shock when I watched it, but that didn't stop me from watching it again for the 2nd, 3rd, 4th... time. Even introduced it to my friend over a sleepover and she was so horrified. We still talk about it the show to this day hahahahaha on how the hero survived with just a pot lid! Certainly a good recommendation!

Have not come across Detective Katherine, interesting that it's a westerner playing the lead hmm.gif
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 20 2018, 11:56 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Japanese

What A Wonderful Family! 2 (家族はつらいよ2 / Kazoku wa Tsurai yo 2)

Story takes place several years after Shuzo (Isao Hashizume) and his wife Tomiko (Kazuko Yoshiyuki) nearly divorced.

Shuzo still enjoys driving his own car. His oldest son Konosuke (Masahiko Nishimura) and his wife Fumie (Yui Natsukawa) notice a dent on Shuzo’s car. They worry that Shuzo is now too old to safely drive. They make a plan to have Shuzo return his driver's license. Shuzo's daughter Taizo (Shozo Hayashiya) and her husband Shigeko (Tomoko Nakajima) and Shuzo's youngest son Shota (Satoshi Tsumabuki) and his girlfriend Noriko (Yu Aoi) are also worried about Shuzo’s driving. Yet, Shuzo is too stubborn to quit.

One day, while Shuzo is driving with bar owner Kayo (Jun Fubuki), he happens to meet Ginnpei Maruta (Nenji Kobayashi). They graduated from the same school in their home town of Hiroshima. For the first time in 40 years, Shuzo and Ginnpei drink alcohol together at Kayo’s bar. Shuzo then lets Ginnpei stay at his house. Soon, a new disturbance arises at the Hirata family.

POV: Ok i didn't watch part 1. This was back in 2017 - but even if you missed the prequel, you will not have any problem watching 2. It was easy to know who is who (son or daughter-in-law, or daughter). 10 minutes into the show and you'll understand the Hirata family with no problem. In part 2, the theme is on elderly who drives and death. The latter may appear grim but there's certainly plenty of laughs and dark comedy that comes along. Typical family-drama sort of movie, it is both moving and heart warming. Yes, it makes me want to look for Part 1.

Gantz

Plot Synopsis by Wiki

Gantz (2011)
The film follows two young men, Kei Kurono (Kazunari Ninomiya) and Masaru Kato (Kenichi Matsuyama), who are killed in a train accident. After their deaths they find themselves transported to another world, where there exists a black orb known as Gantz. Inside the Gantz is a bald man on life support.They find the Gantz in an unfurnished Tokyo apartment, and it forces them to take part in missions to hunt and kill aliens. They struggle to figure out if it is a game, or reality. Kei and Masura, and other newly dead people must accumulate points by killing aliens, and when they score one hundred points, they can choose to be resurrected, or bring a person of their choosing back to life.

Another Gantz (2011)
Airing on TV before Gantz: The Perfect Answer, Another Gantz is an alternate version of the first Gantz film. The film follows an investigative journalist during the events of the Gantz: the Perfect Answer.

Gantz: Perfect Answer (2011)
In Part two, Kei has become a warrior for Gantz, seeking to earn 100 points. Kei aims to bring Masaru back to life, who had died in the world of Gantz. He is working at a fast food restaurant, while taking care of his friend's orphaned little brother. In between missions, Kei lives his old life, and has a relationship with Tae (Yuriko Yoshitaka), an artist. He succeeds in bringing Masaru back to life, but Masaru comes back as two people - one good, and the other evil. There is also an investigator, Shigeta (Takayuki Yamada), who is trying to understand the Gantz-related violence, and Eriko Ayukawa (Ayumi Ito), an actress who wakes up with a small Gantz ball in her bed. Soon aliens begin to take on alien form and attack the main characters, and the Gantz begins to experience glitches. The fighting culminates in a battle on a subway with shapeshifting aliens.

POV: Gantz <3 yes, it's from an animation so this is considered Live Action. I'm a skeptic when it comes to Live Actions (to me, not all animation can be turned to LA) but I'll sing high praises to Gantz. Very well made props, action scenes coupled with excellent casts, it's wonderful. I have no complain, except that there are 3 films and as usual, the first is usually the best. And, I absolutely hate films where they make best friends turn against each other /flips table

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Jun 20 2018, 12:12 PM
TSsweet_pez
post Jun 29 2018, 05:17 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Korean

Battleship Island (군함도/Gunhamdo)

Synopsis (from Wikipedia):
About a group of about 400 Korean workers who risk their lives to attempt an escape from Hashima, and the story of forced labor on the island.

Hwang Jung-min as Lee Kang-ok
A bandmaster at a hotel in Gyeongseong, who chooses to take his only daughter to Japan in order to keep her safe. But they get sent to the Hashima labor camp instead, and there he'll do anything that's asked of him, as long as he can protect his daughter.

So Ji-sub as Choi Chil-sung
The best street fighter in Gyeongseong, a coarse man who constantly stirs up troubles in the labor camp. Under his harsh and rough exterior, he has a good heart.

Song Joong-ki as Park Moo-young
A member of the Korean independence movement who infiltrates the island in order to rescue a fellow independence fighter being held captive there.

Lee Jung-hyun as Oh Mal-nyeon
A comfort woman who gets moved to Hashima after going through endless troubles under the Japanese colonization, but never loosens her strong grip on hope.

POV: Most viewers knew they signed up for when they settle for Battleship Island - a train of feels. With the story centralised on Japanese occupation and the fight for survival for a father-and-daughter pair, it is guaranteed to make viewers sympathize, angry and upset for the main characters. I only have praises and good words for this movie as it was so well done (graphic, story, cast etc).

Spoiler

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Jun 29 2018, 05:22 PM
ZackFerrum
post Jul 25 2018, 07:38 PM

Oldboy. If you're genuinely disgusted when someone breaks social taboos - don't watch this, don't even read the reveiws. It's really dark - I mean it, it's deep, twisted and too humane.

TSsweet_pez
post Aug 1 2018, 05:30 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(ZackFerrum @ Jul 25 2018, 07:38 PM)

Oldboy. If you're genuinely disgusted when someone breaks social taboos - don't watch this, don't even read the reveiws. It's really dark - I mean it, it's deep, twisted and too humane.
I read the story by accident, including the spoiler. Didn't feel like watching it anymore afterwards sweat.gif
rong_rulez
post Aug 7 2018, 05:23 PM

I believe that these two countries are the leading pack of movie industry in Asia. Japan specialized in animation while Korean in action,etc.

If Japan, I would recommend any movie that is done by Studio Ghibli and especially if it directed by Hayao Miyazaki. Miyazaki and Studio Ghibli together really have created a number of high quality animation movies throughout their career.

1. Spirited Away

2. Princess Monosuke

Japan also produce some high quality movies.

1. Like Father, Like Son

2. The Third Murder

As for Korean movies, there are a lot if you really want to indulge. For starters as they have mentioned:

1. The Man from Nowhere
2. Oldboys

3. New World

4. Train to Busan

5.Miracle in Cell No. 7

6. The Villainess

There is plenty of movies to watch if you wanted to truly wanted explore Asia movie scene. Heck even, Hong Kong has some really good movies that could really surprise you.

This post has been edited by rong_rulez: Aug 7 2018, 05:23 PM
TSsweet_pez
post Aug 10 2018, 03:41 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(rong_rulez @ Aug 7 2018, 05:23 PM)
I believe that these two countries are the leading pack of movie industry in Asia. Japan specialized in animation while Korean in action,etc.

Thank you, you've got some good stuffs there thumbup.gif personally am interested in The Third Murder and New World.
TSsweet_pez
post Aug 13 2018, 05:36 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

-

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Aug 13 2018, 05:40 PM
TSsweet_pez
post Aug 13 2018, 05:39 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Korean

Bluebeard (해빙/ Haebing - meaning thawing)

Seung-Hoon (Cho Jin-Woong) is a physician. He opened a clinic in Gangnam, Seoul, but the clinic went bankrupt. He then lands a job at a hospital run by his friend in a satellite city of Seoul. Seung-Hoon then becomes involved in a series of murder cases. The murder cases are connected when a woman's severed body comes out from the melting Han River.

POV: In addition to AsianWiki's sypnosis, I would like to add on that the clinic had a lot of colonoscopy patients lining up daily as they are the only one who offers this service. During colonoscopy, patients were sedated but very often, they talk in their sleep. The lead character's landlord's father went to the clinic and under sedation, the old man let slip that "the head belongs to the fridge". Since then, the doctor had always been on his toes in fear that the the landlord (who is also a butcher) and his father could be murderers.

Applaud this film for its highly suspenseful plot and various good moments!!! My hands and feet were cold with nervousness and bad feelings that I cannot shake off. There was more than meets the eye and you wouldn't even see that coming. It's definitely one of my highly recommended thriller. Our poor doctor only wanted a simple life while coping with his divorce and alimony fees. His life was a bore of work and staying at home. Life had been tough on him and yet...

---

Midnight Runners (청년경찰/ Cheongnyeon Gyeongchal)

Plot from Wikipedia:
The story is about two Korean National Police University students, Ki-joon (Park Seo-joon) and Hee-yeol (Kang Ha-neul), who witness a kidnapping and track it down. However, the authorities are busy with the kidnapping of a son of a business mogul. They decide to embark on their own amateur investigation, which gets them into all sorts of trouble.

POV: Our 2 lead characters have no idea what would happen when they followed a beautiful lady with the intention to get her number. Upon seeing the kidnapping, they tried to trace the men and eventually found them. Unfortunately the scale of the 'organization' proved to be too much for them to handle. There's suspense, action and humour throughout the film. It's one film where you'll see 2 guys possess friendship that one would be jealous of. 4/5 thumbs up from me thumbup.gif
KretekSmoker
post Aug 20 2018, 12:12 AM

Japanese

1. Re:Born

Plot:

A legendary soldier with a mysterious past decides to unleash his inner beast to stand up for what he cares about.

2. Mumon: The Land of Stealth

Plot:

The warlord, Nobunaga Oda, is rapidly vanquishing his foes on a quest to pacify and unify the country under his rule. However, there is one region that even Nobunaga fears: The Iga Province, home to the Iga ninja, known to be extraordinary weapons of war who do not think of people as human and will assassinate anyone for money. There is one Iga ninja, Mumon, who is renowned as a deadly assassin and who has unmatched battle strength, earning him the nickname of Iga's strongest ninja. However, he is equally lazy and only seeks to earn money to please his wife, Okuni. At the same time, a ninja named Heibee Shimoyama becomes disillusioned with his people's way of living.

One day, Mumon kills a ninja from a different family for a reward, unaware that his actions will ultimately lead to a deadly battle between Nobunaga's army and the ninja of the Iga Province. The resulting battle evokes struggles with morality in a midst of colliding interests and political schemes.
LeeAnna
post Sep 4 2018, 11:52 PM

I have just watched "To all the boys I loved before" with Lana Condor. The movie is American, but the actress is Korean, which akes the movie different. And it is veeery interesting.
LeeAnna
post Sep 4 2018, 11:53 PM

Just look

This post has been edited by LeeAnna: Sep 4 2018, 11:53 PM
Morales
post Oct 19 2018, 03:24 PM

92 posts

Let Me Eat Your Pancreas (2017)

The movie's title is indeed intriguing. I know its not Halloween yet, but dont let the title spook you!

Its been awhile since this movie was stored in my Movies library folder. Did not have the time to watch it until yesterday. By looking at the poster, many would judge that this movie is another coming of age/high school boy meets girl love story. I am here to tell you that it is not.

It was believe that eating one's pancreas the soul of the person that was eaten to continue to live on inside the one that ate them.

Let Me Eat Your Pancreas (2017) delivers a powerful message on living life to its potential, holding no regrets.

A melodramatic movie, but fell short in triggering your tear ducts, which is not a bad thing at all.

This movie alternates between the past and future of the main characters, but not confusing as compared to other movies.

However, one thing in the movie that lets me down the is the

Rating: 3/5

This post has been edited by Morales: Oct 19 2018, 03:24 PM
TSsweet_pez
post Oct 24 2018, 01:49 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Thanks for your share of recommendations and reviews! I actually watched a little of "Let Me Eat Your Pancreas (2017)" but those bits were towards the end and I had the impression it was a mellow movie sweat.gif

It's been a while but 2 months ago I saw this at the Japanese International Festival with GSC.

---

3ft Ball & Souls / 三尺魂 (Sanshaku Tamashii)

Plot Synopsis by https://fantasticfest.com/films/3ft-ball-and-souls

There’s a internet suicide room in Japan called Life Club where strangers get together to discuss their plans on how to end it all. Four members of this group ally with a mission: they are going to use explosive to snuff out their lives. However, at the moment of the explosion, something unexpected happens; the four find themselves thrown back to just before the moment they detonated the device. So they try again. And again. And again. Something is wrong and the group must figure it out so they can be allowed to perish. In a big explosion.

Director Yoshio Kato’s entry into the pantheon of time travel movies operates on multiple levels. Sweetly comic, outrageously confusing and beautifully human, a story of how the moment of death brings four strangers to come to understand life is explored through amazing character work and wonderful cinematography.

Winning the audience award at Skip City International Festival, this wonderful film demonstrates Yoshio Kato assertively developing his voice and becoming one of the most interesting filmmakers to emerge from not only Japan, but from within the entire genre world. (Evrim Ersoy)

POV:
This movie deals with suicide - why, how, the driving force behind one's life and each personality. It's a good movie and I was totally fixated to the screen when it started off. Everyone live with a different reason, and these group of characters have their own fair share of trouble to want to end their lives. However, they also have values - there's no way they could let a high school girl kill herself because she "has a whole future ahead of her". When we're depressed, it felt like it's the end of the world... however, if one persevere on, he/ she will eventually find joy in living.

It's one of the best Japanese film I've seen in 2018. The theme is simple, yet thought provoking to a certain extent. The mood was depressing, intense yet light at times with dark humour (sorry, my sort of thing), alongside a fantastic cast.

Here's the trailer if you're interested:

SPOILER

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Oct 24 2018, 01:56 PM
Mov_freak
post Oct 24 2018, 10:21 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Legend of the Eight Samurai (里見八犬伝 Satomi Hakken-den) (1983). Higgh Production value, camp galore!!! nod.gif
TSsweet_pez
post Oct 25 2018, 09:31 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Oct 24 2018, 10:21 PM)
Legend of the Eight Samurai (里見八犬伝 Satomi Hakken-den) (1983). Higgh Production value, camp galore!!! nod.gif
Hahahahaha! Sadly I have no horror movies recommendation here Mov laugh.gif

Then again, I have not come across a good Japanese horror after Ju-On period. The newer ones probably have good themes such as group suicide etc but they are more gory than scary (ghosts/ spirits).

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Oct 25 2018, 09:32 AM
Mov_freak
post Oct 25 2018, 09:56 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Oct 25 2018, 09:31 AM)
Hahahahaha! Sadly I have no horror movies recommendation here Mov laugh.gif

Then again, I have not come across a good Japanese horror after Ju-On period. The newer ones probably have good themes such as group suicide etc but they are more gory than scary (ghosts/ spirits).
That's okay. Cannot be freaked out all the time... smile.gif
PhungTM
post Oct 25 2018, 11:31 AM

585 posts

I'm a fan of Korean and Japanese film as well, sad that the movies are not shown here in the cinemas (only famous ones).

Anyway to keep the thread alive, I'll recommend some in time. Just my personal taste biggrin.gif

GANTZ:O

This is the cream of the crop of Japanese CG animation at its best.
Not talking about the plot or the "plot" brows.gif but in pure animation.

If you're a Gantz manga reader like me, then it follows close to the manga with some changes here and there.

This post has been edited by PhungTM: Oct 25 2018, 11:32 AM
Kanan Jarrus
post Nov 21 2018, 10:22 PM

399 posts

This film has just been released this year, may I know when will it be released in our national cinemas?
gtp777
post Mar 14 2019, 01:03 PM

Hi where can I buy Korean movie dvd
TSsweet_pez
post Mar 14 2019, 01:58 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(gtp777 @ Mar 14 2019, 01:03 PM)
Hi where can I buy Korean movie dvd
Plenty of places. Speedy is one if you're talking about retail. Otherwise for Online purchase, you can try YesAsia.com
gtp777
post Mar 25 2019, 10:08 AM

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Mar 14 2019, 01:58 PM)
Plenty of places. Speedy is one if you're talking about retail. Otherwise for Online purchase, you can try YesAsia.com
Thanks sir I am looking for only son ye jin movies hard to get
skylinelover
post Mar 25 2019, 11:06 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,265 posts

Netflix The Revenger

Action very soild

Choreography very great

Can compare with Indon The Night Never Comes For Us with Iko Iwais

laugh.gif rclxms.gif

Action junkie should give it a shot
PhungTM
post Mar 30 2019, 03:48 AM

585 posts

Extreme Job

Went in without any expectation, came out unexpectedly entertained.

Surprisingly funny, a few unexpected twist and enough action to make this movie thoroughly entertaining.

TSsweet_pez
post Apr 1 2019, 10:06 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(PhungTM @ Mar 30 2019, 03:48 AM)

Extreme Job

Went in without any expectation, came out unexpectedly entertained.

Surprisingly funny, a few unexpected twist and enough action to make this movie thoroughly entertaining.
Looks good! It's up in the cinema at the moment?
Korean movies are getting better and better biggrin.gif
besthanj
post Apr 1 2019, 10:27 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Apr 1 2019, 10:06 AM)
Looks good! It's up in the cinema at the moment?
Korean movies are getting better and better biggrin.gif
Exactly! This movie looks good...

I wanna download it but couldn't find it...

TSsweet_pez
post Apr 1 2019, 11:20 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(besthanj @ Apr 1 2019, 10:27 AM)
Exactly! This movie looks good...

I wanna download it but couldn't find it...
laugh.gif don't be a pirate...yet!I just Google-d, it's currently screening in cinemas so you won't find downloads until much later.
besthanj
post Apr 1 2019, 12:37 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Apr 1 2019, 11:20 AM)
laugh.gif don't be a pirate...yet!I just Google-d, it's currently screening in cinemas so you won't find downloads until much later.
Ahoy Matey! Sweet sweet pezz 😜

You're right! It was just released in cinema.

I might catch it this week.

Btw thanks for info sweety😊
TSsweet_pez
post Apr 1 2019, 12:43 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(besthanj @ Apr 1 2019, 12:37 PM)
Ahoy Matey! Sweet sweet pezz 😜

You're right! It was just released in cinema.

I might catch it this week.

Btw thanks for info sweety😊
lol.gif lol.gif lol.gif enjoy!
6so
post May 30 2019, 05:24 PM

135 posts

I can't remember when did I bought these two blu-rays or something my wife picked up.

Don't get conned by the slick trailer, it's actually a remake of Johnnie To's 2012 Drug War. Repackaged with the better looking korean aesthetic. Objectively a so-so effort and can't replace the original version.

Yeah, it's another pseudo remake of another well regarded old movie. Hot-shot negotiator experienced her downfall and then sucked up in a conspiracy cover-up of epic proportion. More or less is the same movie as '98 The Negotiator with sexier actors.
TSsweet_pez
post Mar 24 2020, 04:49 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Korean:

Kim Ji-Young: Born 1982

Plot Synopsis (Asianwiki):

Kim Ji-Young (Jung Yu-Mi) has one of the most common female names for people her age. She works at a PR agency. Kim Ji-Young gets married and has a daughter. So she can raise her daughter, Kim Ji-Young quits her job. She leads an ordinary life up to this point. Suddenly, Kim Ji-Young begins to talk like her mother, her older sister and other people. She seems possessed by other people. What happened to her?

My thoughts:
It's a peculiar film. Why? From the synopsis it sounded like horror but from the trailer it didn't. At the end of it I decided to watch to find out... and yes, it's horrifying. Horrifying to see sexism, bias, stereotyping and other ugly sides of human. While it's a feminist film, the theme also revolves around depression. It's interesting to note that the film is a mixture of both and you get a glimpse of Ji-Young's daily lives, juggling between taking care of her child and the houseshold, holding back from pursuing what she wants.

Generally it's an enchanting film and I got sucked into it without realizing. Definitely worth a watch and and serves as a good reminder to be less judgmental of others.

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Mar 24 2020, 04:49 PM
skylinelover
post Mar 26 2020, 09:10 PM

11,265 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Mar 24 2020, 04:49 PM)
Generally it's an enchanting film and I got sucked into it without realizing. Definitely worth a watch and and serves as a good reminder to be less judgmental of others.
Where have you been this 1 year

Why suddenly disappeared from nowhere laugh.gif laugh.gif

Anyway i know this is not under movie but netflix kingdom season 2 is dam awesome

Its like the walking dead in steroids hahahaha

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Mar 26 2020, 09:11 PM
TSsweet_pez
post Mar 28 2020, 04:51 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Mar 26 2020, 09:10 PM)
Where have you been this 1 year

Why suddenly disappeared from nowhere laugh.gif laugh.gif

Anyway i know this is not under movie but netflix kingdom season 2 is dam awesome

Its like the walking dead in steroids hahahaha
Omg now that you mentioned... it's really been about a year since my last update lol.gif lol.gif lol.gif been busy for awhile so slowed down on films. Then picked up a few along the way but not all are worth mentioning hehhh.

Oh yes a lot of people been talking about Kingdom and how good it is. Don't have Netflix hmm.gif i could download it but a little lazy to dwell into dramas. But still, I'll probably give it a shot one of these days. Thanks for bringing it up thumbsup.gif
TSsweet_pez
post Mar 28 2020, 05:16 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Korean:

Juror 8 (2019)

Plot Synopsis (AsianWiki):

Kim Joon-Kyeom (Moon So-Ri) is a presiding judge who leads the first civil participation of a criminal trial in South Korea. 8 jurors are selected for the criminal trial including Kwon Nam-Woo (Park Hyung-Sik). The jurors are ordinary people, but, after they become jurors, they seek out the truth of the case.

My thoughts:
Yes it's your typical comedy + crime + court drama sort of thing. Some part of the storyline is pretty predictable but that doesn't stop me from enjoying it. For example, you know what sort of outcome there will be but you don't know how - thus, enjoy the 'process' and have fun watching the film. I'll give this show a 7.5/10 and if you're into court drama, I'll recommend this without hesitation.
cowolter P
post Mar 30 2020, 05:32 AM

Probation

Am I going to be the first one to recommend The Raid and The Raid 2? They’re seriously on another level of extremely well designed action and The Raid 2 is, in my opinion, the greatest martial arts movie ever made and the best action film of the last decade. The first one is a great time but I think The Raid 2 really elevates it to an excellent series.
skylinelover
post Mar 30 2020, 10:30 AM

11,265 posts

QUOTE(cowolter @ Mar 30 2020, 05:32 AM)
Am I going to be the first one to recommend The Raid and The Raid 2? They’re seriously on another level of extremely well designed action and The Raid 2 is, in my opinion, the greatest martial arts movie ever made and the best action film of the last decade. The first one is a great time but I think The Raid 2 really elevates it to an excellent series.
Haha that is INDONESIAN

Not japan and korea

laugh.gif laugh.gif

Unless miss thread starters here wanna rename thread as ASIAN films hahahaha
TSsweet_pez
post Mar 30 2020, 11:23 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Eh my title says Japanese/ Korean films ohmy.gif
Thanks for the recommendation btw.

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Mar 30 2020, 10:30 AM)
Haha that is INDONESIAN

Not japan and korea

laugh.gif laugh.gif

Unless miss thread starters here wanna rename thread as ASIAN films hahahaha
You can open one for Asian films hmm.gif

And what's with the "miss"...! Funnily you're not the first to say this out of the blue. As though something happened where i aint aware of ...it was more fun when people bro me and I don't bother to correct them laugh.gif

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Mar 30 2020, 11:24 AM
r2t2
post Mar 30 2020, 06:02 PM

155 posts

And I thought I opened and read the wrong thread. laugh.gif

If really want similar Japanese action film to The Raid, maybe can try Re: Born (2016). A lot of CQC here. Storywise, nothing much, usual Japanese moody type.
Maybe the director was trying to make a Metal Gear Solid film but couldn't get the copyright.

However, Tak Sakaguchi is great as a villain in [キングダム] Kingdom (2019); a film based on the manga/anime ... which is based on China's Qin Shi Huang & the Warring States period.
Not a bad fictional+historical film, rousing soundtrack, good actions albeit some are over the top, pacing is good.

This post has been edited by r2t2: Mar 30 2020, 06:03 PM
r2t2
post Mar 30 2020, 06:33 PM

155 posts

Due to this MCO period, got more time to watch old Japanese films ... classic 70s tongue.gif

Was interested in watching [幸福の黄色いハンカチ] The Yellow Handkerchief (1977), due to the classic English song as well; wasn't expecting a very well acted film.

After done watching, googled about the film, found out it's the winner of the first Best Picture award at the Japan Academy Prize in 1978.

Structured as a road trip film, but it's a deeper character study story. Each of the three characters got their own relationship/inner conflicts; two met first but the film is mainly about one character (and his wife through flashbacks). Was remade into an American film (same title, 2008 ... the actress in the 1977 film even got a supporting role), and another time as a Japanese TV movie (2011).

For those who had watched it before, what's the name of the song playing on the car radio during one scene? It's quite melodic, you'll know it ...

(Edit : found the song using Soundhound ... apparently it's quite a well-known song from 1975)

This might be a cover version, there are plenty more with the original singer/band, but I like the background pictures in this one ... throwback to traveling in Japan bye.gif thumbsup.gif

This post has been edited by r2t2: Mar 30 2020, 07:07 PM
TSsweet_pez
post Mar 30 2020, 06:55 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(r2t2 @ Mar 30 2020, 06:33 PM)

You're into old films? Since you've done a 1970s, consider one from the 50s biggrin.gif

I've not seen it so can't give my take on it but apparently it's quite a controversially popular film by Kurosawa Akira: Rashomon (1950) 羅生門
It's so popular that the term "Rashomon effect" actually comes from the film.
r2t2
post Mar 30 2020, 07:30 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Mar 30 2020, 06:55 PM)
You're into old films? Since you've done a 1970s, consider one from the 50s biggrin.gif

I've not seen it so can't give my take on it but apparently it's quite a controversially popular film by Kurosawa Akira: Rashomon (1950) 羅生門
It's so popular that the term "Rashomon effect" actually comes from the film.
Not really into all classic films, depending on the directors and actors.

Akira Kurosawa is one of them ... ya, watched Rashomon before, during uni days ... actually I watched in university library audio/visual room, on VHS tape sweat.gif, they got a small collection of classic films.

Might post some brief reviews of classic and newer Japanese films that I think can be recommended even for youngsters. e.g. [東京物語] Tokyo Story (1953) and its 2013 [東京家族] Tokyo Family remake; plus Yoji Yamada's [家族はつらいよ] What a Wonderful Family! trilogy (2016-2018). (Haven't watched any of Yamada-sensei's 'Tora-san'/男はつらいよ films though ... now might, since found out he is the director of 幸福の黄色いハンカチ also)

Now mostly into Hirokazu Koreeda's films, started with [幻の光] Maborosi (1995).

This post has been edited by r2t2: Mar 30 2020, 07:35 PM
TSsweet_pez
post Mar 30 2020, 07:37 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(r2t2 @ Mar 30 2020, 07:30 PM)
Not really into all classic films, depending on the directors and actors.

Akira Kurosawa is one of them ... ya, watched Rashomon before, during uni days ... actually I watched in university library audio/visual room, on VHS tape sweat.gif, they got a small collection of classic films.

Might post some brief reviews of classic and newer Japanese films that I think can be recommended even for youngsters. e.g. [東京物語] Tokyo Story (1953) and its 2013 [東京家族] Tokyo Family remake; plus Yoji Yamada's [家族はつらいよ] What a Wonderful Family! trilogy (2016-2018).  (Haven't watched any of Yoji-sensei's 'Tora-san'/男はつらいよ films though)

Now mostly into Hirokazu Koreeda's films.
Ah how's Rashomon then? Good? Me too actually, not really into classical films but the story/ concept behind the film sort of intrigues me.

Oh yasssss What a Wonder Family! How can i forget that. It's a good film and I thoroughly enjoyed both the comedy and drama. Part II was both sad yet hilarious in a way, and guess that's the one that takes the cake for me. Okay be looking forward to your review icon_rolleyes.gif
TSsweet_pez
post Mar 30 2020, 07:54 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Japanese:

Departures (2008) おくりびと / Okuribito ("one who sends off")

Synopsis from AsianWiki:

Daigo Kobayashi (Masahiro Motoki) is an aspiring cellist newly hired by a symphony in Tokyo. No sooner than Daigo’s first performance with the orchestra he receives the devastating news that the orchestra will be disbanded. Daigo made the fateful decision to mortgage his future by purchasing a cello that cost well over $100,000. Now he has to break the news to his faithful wife (Ryoko Hirosue). When she asks Daigo what his plans are now, he suggests they move back to his rural hometown Yamagata and start over again. Daigo’s wife smiles and agrees to follow him to Yamagata.

After the couple settles into their new home, Daigo looks for a job. He finds a listing in the newspaper advertising a position that requires little hours, no experience, and centers around helping out others on their journeys. Daigo assumes the position is for a travel agent, but when he arrives at the office, he realizes the job is for an “encoffineer” (Nokanshi) – similar to an embalmer in the U.S., but requires the encoffineer to work in front of the deceased in a ceremony steeped in tradition. The job of an “encoffineer” is not a popular one in Japan and people often look down on the job as dirty. Daigo tries to keep his job secret, but soon rumors spreads around the small town. When Daigo’s wife learns of his new job, she gives him the ultimatum to quit his job or she’ll leave him.

My thoughts:
Perhaps this is a somber film befitting of the current pandemic. Yet among the dark plot, there are still humour and life in it. In this film, you get to see what encoffiners do in the tradition of Japan and how they perform their role. It's very eye opening in a way because it's different compared to our local culture here. And you can see the transformation in Daigo, who first couldn't accept the job but later on actually took pride of what he does. Giving the dead a dignified send-off is something prominent and central to the film as well.

The con would be slow story telling in the latter part of the film. The pace was good in the beginning/ middle but somewhat felt a little like a drag towards the end. But still, definitely worth a watch and you'll enjoy if this is your kind of theme/ film.
skylinelover
post Mar 30 2020, 08:44 PM

11,265 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Mar 30 2020, 07:37 PM)
Ah how's Rashomon then? Good? Me too actually, not really into classical films but the story/ concept behind the film sort of intrigues me.
Haha i watched 7 samurai b4 and i still regard it as kurosawa best ever

laugh.gif rclxms.gif

Its so great that hollywood decided 2 adapted the screenplay as the magnificent 7 which is 7 cowboys with 7 guns inestead of 7 samurai with 7 swords

I going 2 sit through another 200 minutes now that you bring up kurosawa topic hahahaha

Kurosawa films are my only expertise and i only venture in that because i more pro HK than J K films

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Mar 30 2020, 08:47 PM
TSsweet_pez
post Mar 30 2020, 11:18 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Mar 30 2020, 08:44 PM)
Haha i watched 7 samurai b4 and i still regard it as kurosawa best ever

laugh.gif rclxms.gif

Its so great that hollywood decided 2 adapted the screenplay as the magnificent 7 which is 7 cowboys with 7 guns inestead of 7 samurai with 7 swords

I going 2 sit through another 200 minutes now that you bring up kurosawa topic hahahaha

Kurosawa films are my only expertise and i only venture in that because i more pro HK than J K films
Really? Then off topic a little, good HK thriller/ psychological film? Or even horror hmm.gif anything good?
skylinelover
post Mar 31 2020, 02:35 PM

11,265 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Mar 30 2020, 11:18 PM)
Really? Then off topic a little, good HK thriller/ psychological film? Or even horror hmm.gif anything good?
I am more an action folk than thriller and horror

Jackie Chan Sammo Hung Jet Li and lastly Donnie Yen

My ultimate saga is police story series and ip man series

These are the only series i will repeat viewings in my life time

laugh.gif laugh.gif

here is the wiki on hk biggest grossing genre in the 80s

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hong_Kong_action_cinema

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Mar 31 2020, 11:10 PM
TSsweet_pez
post Apr 8 2020, 08:48 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Mar 31 2020, 02:35 PM)
I am more an action folk than thriller and horror

Jackie Chan Sammo Hung Jet Li and lastly Donnie Yen

My ultimate saga is police story series and ip man series

These are the only series i will repeat viewings in my life time

laugh.gif laugh.gif

here is the wiki on hk biggest grossing genre in the 80s

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hong_Kong_action_cinema
Danggg talk about Ip Man, this is really one of the best. I love part 1 so much, think I've seen it at least 3-5x and still find it good. The classic good vs evil still rulezzz biggrin.gif

Talk about the 80s... this is really a good comedy, action and horror: The Haunted Cop Shop brows.gif https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0093522/

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Apr 8 2020, 08:48 PM
skylinelover
post Apr 8 2020, 08:58 PM

11,265 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Apr 8 2020, 08:48 PM)
Danggg talk about Ip Man, this is really one of the best. I love part 1 so much, think I've seen it at least 3-5x and still find it good. The classic good vs evil still rulezzz  biggrin.gif

Talk about the 80s... this is really a good comedy, action and horror: The Haunted Cop Shop brows.gif https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0093522/
Haha nice

And grats 4 your new promotion and new tag

laugh.gif rclxms.gif
TSsweet_pez
post Apr 8 2020, 08:59 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

Taken from Japan Foundation FB post:

JFF Online was launched as a new streaming service for indie films created by young Japanese directors, available for viewing free of charge!
(All films are English subtitled)

Just click below to start watching!
https://www.japanesefilmfest.org/streaming/

Short synopsis of films:
https://www.japanesefilmfest.org/all/streaming/4293/

TSsweet_pez
post Apr 8 2020, 09:00 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Apr 8 2020, 08:58 PM)
Haha nice

And grats 4 your new promotion and new tag

laugh.gif rclxms.gif
Arigatou blush.gif i also just realized when the tag was suddenly changed mid-way through surfing today hahaha
aerght P
post Apr 12 2020, 06:56 PM

Probation

QUOTE(rong_rulez @ Aug 7 2018, 02:23 PM)

If Japan, I would recommend any movie that is done by Studio Ghibli and especially if it directed by Hayao Miyazaki. Miyazaki and Studio Ghibli together really have created a number of high-quality series animation movies throughout their career. 

1. Spirited Away
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/d...nese_poster.png 

2. Princess Monosuke
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/8...nese_poster.png 
Japan also produce some high quality movies.

1. Like Father, Like Son
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/d..._Son_poster.jpg 

2. The Third Murder
https://criticsroundup.com/wp-content/uploa...ter-266x400.jpg 
As for Korean movies, there are a lot if you really want to indulge. For starters as they have mentioned:

1. The Man from Nowhere
2. Oldboys

3. New World
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/3...2013-poster.jpg 

4. Train to Busan
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/9...in_to_Busan.jpg 

5.Miracle in Cell No. 7
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/4...o._7_poster.jpg 

6. The Villainess
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/3..._Villainess.jpg 
There is plenty of movies to watch if you wanted to truly wanted explore Asia movie scene. Heck even, Hong Kong has some really good movies that could really surprise you.

I really like korean movie and series than japanese. As mentioned by you.

1. Miracle in Cell No. 7
2. The Man from Nowhere
3. New World
These are awesome movies you can watch these days. I have watched them. Miracle in cell no. 7 is amazing. loved it.
skylinelover
post Apr 27 2020, 10:05 AM

11,265 posts

Just out in netflix laugh.gif rclxms.gif
Oliver2486 P
post May 6 2020, 09:35 PM

Probation

I’m not sure if there is a lot ppl know about this anime or drama, GTO. Quite famous. But this is the newest series which talks about life Onizuka become teacher. I watched the series, it was funny.
r2t2
post Jun 9 2020, 11:49 PM

155 posts

Restricted movement life is almost over ... most are going back to full working mode.
After been lockdown most of the time at home, feels like normal life has changed.

I sometimes wonder, what if I didn't join the rat race, took a step back to look at life, and decided to make a life at a beautiful rural place.
That's what's on my mind while watching the Little Forest duology:-

1) [リトル・フォレスト: 夏/秋] Little Forest: Summer/Autumn (2014)
2) [リトル・フォレスト: 冬/春] Little Forest: Winter/Spring (2015)

Just 4 parts of laid-back relaxing films about 4-seasons life as a farmer in a small town called Komori, in Japan.
No real plots/storyline, just a girl escaping from her directionless life in Tokyo after been 'abandoned' by her mother. Slowly she's discovering back her love for the routine farming life through the food, and the recipes she learned from her memory of her mother.

If this looks familiar, for me who didn't know about the manga or the Korean remake in 2018 [리틀 포레스트], it feels/looks like the life of media creator/YouTuber 李子柒 Liziqi or 滇西小哥 Dianxi Xiaoge or 龙梅梅 Longmeimei, or even the Malaysian girl who moved back to her kampung and made agriculture her main focus, with added light story.

Good for pondering and wondering when life slowed down, a needed break from the norm.

r2t2
post Jun 10 2020, 12:31 AM

155 posts

Sometimes, after finished watching a movie, you feel like continuing with a similarly themed movie ... like want to watch a companion piece, so that both movies will be memorable.

After viewing Little Forest : Summer/Autumn, I did the opposite ... while waiting for my Mom to watch Little Forest : Winter/Spring together the following day, I just wanna carry on with other Japanese movies which I know my Mom won't watch; as it happened, becoz it's 'convenient', I just choose Parasyte Part 1 & 2 ... maybe becoz it's a 2-parter as well (technically Little Forest is 4-parter).

While watching, I thought, aeii? ... this main actress looks familiar ... oh, it's the same main actress in Little Forest. Ai Hashimoto [橋本 愛] laugh.gif
Same released years somemore sweat.gif

1) [寄生獣] Parasyte: Part 1 (2014)
2) [寄生獣 完結編] Parasyte: Part 2 (2015)

Watchable ... not bad, the special effects more than acceptable ... and the storyline got mother issue plot as well doh.gif .... talk about unconnected, but related.
Rather than an action-packed alien invasion, it focused more how becoming less human (for the human side), and how to understand human (for the alien/parasite side).
Funny in parts, gory in most scenes, it's a drama about humanity.

The main actor, Shota Sometani [染谷 将太], didn't follow his career; seems like a prolific actor, starred in quite a lot of movies/tv series/voice acting since 2010. Ai Hashimoto acted with Shota Sometani also in Sadako 3D (2012), and Parks (2017); not surprising, Shota is like Kevin Bacon in the 80/90s (hence the 'game', 6 Degrees of Kevin Bacon). Actually got more than few of Shota's films, haven't watched yet .... and now hibernation mode is over.

skylinelover
post Jun 27 2020, 01:10 PM

11,265 posts

QUOTE(r2t2 @ Jun 9 2020, 11:49 PM)
If this looks familiar, for me who didn't know about the manga or the Korean remake in 2018 [리틀 포레스트], it feels/looks like the life of media creator/YouTuber 李子柒 Liziqi or 滇西小哥 Dianxi Xiaoge or 龙梅梅 Longmeimei, or even the Malaysian girl who moved back to her kampung and made agriculture her main focus, with added light story.

Good for pondering and wondering when life slowed down, a needed break from the norm.
Haha there is hope for kampong roots then if more young uns decide 2 quit the rat race once and 4 all

laugh.gif laugh.gif

Theres 2 more sensation you missed mentioning

Sugu Pavithra sama veveonah

laugh.gif laugh.gif

RM10k per video with 100k plus viewers

Both video about mastering the basic survival needs

Nothing fancy. Just hp camera will do. Hahahaha. Never imagined simple things like this can explode the youtubesphere.😂😂🤣🤣

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Jun 27 2020, 01:13 PM
787437076 P
post Jul 10 2020, 01:43 PM

Probation

good movies

0.0668sec    1.08    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:23 AM