MRT 3 Canceled. HSR Canceled.

aspartame
post May 31 2018, 12:45 AM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(gks @ May 31 2018, 12:28 AM)
the direction of population growth usually will be concentrated along the line. Just like how highways help in boosting the township, the rails will have same impact.

However in case of MRT3 i believe it is a strong case for connectivity which current rail transport is lacking now.
Correct. Haiz...what a waste. MRT 3 is the last piece of the jigsaw puzzle, so to speak. It will increase connectivity exponentially which will have many spillover benefits. Increased mobility means more business for retails, motels, tourist spending, reduced congestion/improved productivity, improved image as 1st class city, increased property/land value, wealth effects, increased assessment, quit rent income etc. Many not so clear benefits that cannot be measured by ticket sales alone...
aspartame
post May 31 2018, 02:13 PM

3,165 posts

Both for and against sides also like got their points. Aiyo, very susah lah. Build also good, dun build first also got good reasons because government in heavy debt. Whatever decision - hard to say right or wrong. I prefer MRT 3 to be built as it is the final piece to complete jig saw puzzle. HSR can wait. But if MRT 3 really scrapped... also have to live with it.. what to do.. too many cooks spoil the soup...that's why too democratic also a country cannnot move..
aspartame
post Jun 1 2018, 02:49 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(HELLO HELLO @ Jun 1 2018, 02:40 PM)
after i tried the speed train at taiwan from tai-chong to taipei (not the fastest)... already sibeh good and sibeh fast... also sibeh simple check in and out :thumbsup: definitely HSR is frist choice. last minute go there buy ticket also no problem buy liao---> fast and simple check-in---> straight go in train thumbup.gif
Definitely faster lor. The Eurostar London - Paris, reach 45 min before, pass 2 immigration in one line, 2 hours later, reach Paris.. straight walk off with luggage... super fast... I like HSR
aspartame
post Jun 1 2018, 03:04 PM

3,165 posts

Actually, I am very surprised got so many people object to MRT. I think Malaysia is the only country that protests building of roads and MRTs. MRT bring convenience right? Gives an option right? If u like to drive, then dun use. Let others have a choice to use. Reduce congestion. Only when the national debt is used indiscriminately like building white elephants, then u must be wary of national debt. MRT is useful infra. It is not a waste. We will reap long term benefits way beyond ticket sales or cost of building.

I thought just a few years ago, people always complain so many cars causing bad congestion? At that time, keep saying government did not improve public transportation. Now?

This is called 人云亦云.
aspartame
post Jun 1 2018, 03:06 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(HELLO HELLO @ Jun 1 2018, 02:53 PM)
wah you go so far away and try the hsr there.. so nice and lagi canggih one. me envy liao. cry.gif  land size and distance wise sure 3 to 5 time bigger longer than malasiao to singland.  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
Slightly longer than Kul - Sin only but under sea tunnel. Damn canggih! But inside train cannot feel la... lol
aspartame
post Jun 1 2018, 04:40 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ Jun 1 2018, 04:26 PM)
i think u mis und the whole situation... if the project is supported by domestic loan and fully built using msia resource and with reasonable cost... I am ok with it...

but if u gonna be using foreign debt and inflated project price... then no... i duwan my cucu cicit have to pay high GST, high income tax and pay high ticket cost just for the sake of seeing the mrt completed now... restructure and rearrange it... then i welcome the project again
I am also not ok with inflated price. Then, no need to cancel. Just redo by open tender.
aspartame
post Jun 1 2018, 04:59 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(aaron1717 @ Jun 1 2018, 04:46 PM)
i think scrap is the word tun M use to scare off the cronies sekalian... when given time enough... i'm sure mrt 3 will come back.. be patience bro... now we are just in day 23 of the new gov....  :thumbsup:  :thumbsup:
Ya, it's amazing the turn of events in May 2018. 9th May election..1st June, GST scrapped! Now, that's efficiency!..but whether GST should maintain or not is another story..
aspartame
post Jun 1 2018, 05:16 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Jun 1 2018, 04:35 PM)
Do you know your next generation new baby born  of today or yesterday obligate in debt RM33,000?
Do you know just quoting figures like that is meaningless? Is 33k debt per capita a lot? What if I tell you Singapore debt per capita is triple that? What if I tell you that actually their assets per capita more than debt per capita and so they are ok? You must look at the whole picture lah. I have to admit Malaysia is in net debt position and is spending a lot on interest payments. That is why I also think GST should not have been scrapped. Then plug the holes, cut expenditure, total reform on cronyism etc but does not mean useful infra spending need to be cut totally. All these things can implement concurrently. If all mega project stop, the economy is going to grind to a halt eventually. The construction/infra industry needs project to survive also.
aspartame
post Jun 1 2018, 06:16 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ Jun 1 2018, 05:47 PM)
this is not quoting figures la.. doh.gif
pls read this

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2018...g-harapan-7mil/
Aiyo...I talked long long but u dun get what I mean...

Is 33k debt per capita a lot? If I tell you, person A personal debt is RM500k. Is it a lot? What about RM10mil debt? Is it a lot? If a person has 500k debt but no assets, then it is a lot. If debt is RM10mil but assets RM20mil, ok what? Anyway, not saying Malaysia got lots of assets lah...but hopefully u know what I mean...
aspartame
post Jun 1 2018, 09:15 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 1 2018, 08:21 PM)
I'm guessing its because security issues....
Long way to go to become like EU...
Like EU die lo. Migrants/refugees entering any of the countries free to roam around.
aspartame
post Jun 1 2018, 10:42 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 1 2018, 10:37 PM)
+1

many would be happy to cross over to SG  biggrin.gif
easy money.. better conversion rate
Lol. No way kiasuland will allow! Already they complain too many Indian nationals there...plus what they call tiongs
aspartame
post Jun 3 2018, 06:45 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 3 2018, 05:56 PM)
Because many have vested interest...
Cancelled means their investment losses....
They invest on speculation / location of the station...
On the other hand, those that support cancellation also might have selfish intentions

- they bought properties along MRT 1 or 2 and now hopes MRT 3 is scrapped so they hope their props are more scarce smile.gif

- they do not stay in KV and so MRTs do not benefit them at all

- those still waiting to buy properties or have sold and now hope property market will stay down aka property overhang smile.gif

I am fine either way, though I prefer MRT 3 to be built just because I want KV to be more canggih...

Oh well, another rambling ...
aspartame
post Jun 5 2018, 02:29 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(StarFalls~* @ Jun 5 2018, 02:15 PM)
when driving takes only 30~40 minutes compared to public transport taking 2 hours 1 way (or more) or requiring driving halfway to office just to 'park n ride' (and still requiring 1hour 45mins time on train), why bother.

yes park n ride + train is cheaper, but at what expense?  cry.gif
From where to where take 2 hours?
aspartame
post Jun 5 2018, 03:30 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(StarFalls~* @ Jun 5 2018, 02:46 PM)

KTM Shah Alam to MRT BU

Can breakdown the journey ? How u take? smile.gif
aspartame
post Jun 5 2018, 04:25 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Jun 5 2018, 03:30 PM)
Can breakdown the journey ? How u take? smile.gif
Oh, take KTM to Sentral , walk to Muzium station to take MRT 1 to BU.. I see
aspartame
post Jun 8 2018, 01:40 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Jagalat @ Jun 8 2018, 11:50 AM)
Enjoy the aircond (except at the plaza lakyat) and the fully covered walkway... Great experience under heavy rain.
Beware of slippery floor due to the "famous" leakage...
Your great experience referring to MRT 1 Museum station to KL Sentral walk way? What leakage?
aspartame
post Jun 8 2018, 02:52 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Jagalat @ Jun 8 2018, 02:48 PM)
Non of my post spelt musium.
It is the Mauduitkah to plaza lakyat walk.
Oh ok. What leakage?
aspartame
post Jun 8 2018, 05:33 PM

3,165 posts

QUOTE(Jagalat @ Jun 8 2018, 04:40 PM)
Water dipping out from piping/ceiling, only happened at a particular spot of the path. Raining days is worse and significant. Floor tiles edges have deeper color likely due to air masuk. Fortunately most of the time the floor is dried as cleaners had done a good job and placed an alert signage...
Oh...probably should do some major hacking find the leakage source...

As said earlier, opening of MRT 2 should add considerable connectivity to our current system even though it is not a circle line... hopefully ridership goes up ... KV towards global city ..ke ke.. and repair leakage ..😬

This post has been edited by aspartame: Jun 8 2018, 05:35 PM

0.0373sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:43 PM