Am i underpaid at SG as engineer?, I never been to SG and need advices pls.

jamalnsx
post May 29 2018, 12:31 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(State9 @ May 29 2018, 12:08 AM)
Hi all,
Recently I'm offered to work in Singapore as an engineer with 1 year++ experience. Salary around SGD 2800. Currently I'm paid around MYR 4000. My concern as below. Pls enlighten this kampung boy with high dreams.
1. Does the company deduct levy or any other deduction from the SGD 2800?
    SGD2800 will get you S-pass. I started with SGD2200 in 2005 holding S-pass also. Didn't remember paying any levy. Only work permit holder kenna levy and normally
    will be paid by the company.

2. What is the breakdown for normal Malaysian work at SG in terms of food, accommodation(As i don't think waking up 4am to travel from jb-sg is healthy), misc etc?
    Nowadays HDB room can cost from $500 to $700 for single occupant. If you share can get cheaper than that. But nowadays HDB rules becomes stricter.
    Lunch at hawker centre will cost about $3 to $5. If you take train and bus need to topup Ezlink car. No idea for monthly amount as I only driving from the beginning
    i work in Singapore.

3. How SG manufacturing environment is compared to MY?
    My customer are some factory in Singapore. Singapore salary high but you need to cover many job scope compare to Malaysia.

4. Assume I had saved around SGD 1500. If i save it and convert it monthly do I get 1500 x 2.9?
    If you wanna save in Malaysia of course you x 2.9. I'm kinda regret saving in MYR because in 2005 the exchange rate is about RM2.5 only. Now is RM2.9 per dollar.

5. Am I underpaid at SG? because at MY I earn RM4k net pay.
    SGD2800 is a good salary to start in SG with 1 year+ experience. Of course you can jump company to get better salary but I'm still working with the same company
    since 2005.
jamalnsx
post May 29 2018, 10:52 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(State9 @ May 29 2018, 11:27 AM)
Thanks bro.
Since you have work from 2005. Mind to share the culture there? I heard Malaysian are treated bad or treated as pendatang.
Yes, you have should saved in SGD to get x2.9. Haha

As S pass do we need to pay any levy? If yes then the offered SGD 2700 will be lower. Haiz 😣
So far my experience with Singaporeans are positive. I really cannot tell you we're treated like pendatang or what because when I started working,
our company was small with some Japanese and Malaysians. There are some Singaporeans worked with us but they did't last long. Only in 2010
our company was dissolved and we were absorbed into a bigger company in Singapore. But we continued to work as a department inside this big company
independently without much intervention.

About the levy for S-pass, you can refer here --> http://www.mom.gov.sg/passes-and-permits/s...ta-requirements
The levy will be paid by the company. Why do you worry? Did the company asked you to pay the levy?
As an employee, you only need to pay for the income tax.

jamalnsx
post Jun 11 2018, 08:45 PM

141 posts

[quote=State9,Jun 10 2018, 11:45 AM]
Happy to hear your positive fback.
Noted,the HR mentioned levy paid to me.
I heard income tax is lower compared to Malaysia, whats ur take?
How long it takes for Malaysian to get apply PR at Singapore? I read there will be increment in salary after we became PR. Any idea?

The criteria to apply PR have changed few times and I only heard it had become less easy compare 10 years ago. Last time they even have landed PR scheme
like Australia or Canada but they scrapped it already. Last time my customer's engineer got the PR after 3 years working in Singapore. They have quota system,
so I think it's easier for Malaysian Chinese to get their PR approved. I'm Malay myself and got my PR 10 years ago. Those that difficult to get PR now is
Filipino, India Indian, Europeans etc. Anyway this is my experience talking to some people when I'm doing grab hitch. Not real statistic.

Of course income tax in Singapore is lower than Malaysia. It's even lower when your 20% income deducted to cpf.

0.0147sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 11:09 AM