Wow! The keypad skin looks kinda handy for people with oily palm and fingers, hope it's selling here..or maybe it does?
BENQ S41 FANS CLUB ( new model ), S41 user , register urself here ^ ^
Dec 11 2007, 09:55 PM
1,355 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
Wow! The keypad skin looks kinda handy for people with oily palm and fingers, hope it's selling here..or maybe it does?
Dec 20 2007, 12:32 AM
Damn..how I wish I found this thread 2 month ago...
Dec 20 2007, 03:02 PM
QUOTE(Jeffery @ Dec 20 2007, 01:17 AM) Actually I didn't read reviews b4 buying this lappy, my bad and I only reads the features of this lappy in the net. It's recommended by a friend( he bought the same specs as yours) while I was decided to buy NEC 6300 at Low Yat and since the price is OK with such specs, I bought BenQ. Actually I haven't came across any problem with my lappy just that after reading this thread regarding about the SC chills me, what if it happens to me then? Most of my freinds are using Dell and they always boasting how good the Dell service they received as I don't really care at the beginning since my specs seems better over theirs with the almost same price tag, but now I'm doubt over BenQ now as we'll be ill-mannered treated or maybe a long wait if anything happen when we send it to the SC. |
Dec 21 2007, 10:43 PM
QUOTE(kengsim @ Dec 21 2007, 04:41 PM) Wah, this thread so active... I'm also an S41 user and it's been nearly 3 months and everything's still good. My BIOS is 1.09 but there's a newer 1.10, available from How much your S41 cost you? I bought mine about nearly the same time you bought yours and the price is very reasonable too.BenQ S41 BIOS 1.10. As usual, if it ain't broke, don't fix it... I'm very happy with this notebook (got it at special price) and it runs all of my MMORPGs at reasonable frame rates. I play Guild Wars, WoW and Hellgate London (gave up alrdy). Shadowbane also ok. For a 14.1", the S41 rocks. Cheers. |
Dec 24 2007, 09:09 PM
QUOTE(davidmak @ Dec 24 2007, 05:14 PM) Hey there, Thanks for the link as I have been experiencing over the lag whenever I boot into my Vista Ultimate. I thought it was because of my BenQ S41 problem what now it seems that the problem is came from the Vista itself, haven't tried the tweak thingy yet but I'll post the result later. Hope you guys with the S41 can provide the result as well and I would like to take this opportunity here to wish everybody "MERRY CHRISTMAS"!!Go to this thread at the NoteBookReview forums: http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=166532 They have compiled a list of Windows Vista SAFE tweaks that will solve most of your problems. I believe there's a specific tweak that will solve your complaint in the above. I have verified that tweak to have work on both of my laptops and Vista loads a lot faster now without that 'lag'. Here's a depiction from the thread (direct quote): "The last item to load and confirm on some systems is the internet connection itself. Many people have complained that, it may take as much as 10-15 seconds for Vista to confirm the connection during which they cannot do anything. I have experienced this myself with one of my SSDs and subsequently learned about this tweak." I believe that is what happening with our PC every time Vista boots up. Please go over to that forum and get a lot more tips and tweaks. These are useful ones and not gimmicks. Don't forgot to sign up to view some other member specific materials and also thank the thread starter for his kind contributions. Hope that helps. |
Dec 30 2007, 12:36 AM
QUOTE(nicks @ Dec 28 2007, 10:04 PM) Yeah, like everyone said, the erazer is just jacking up the Laptop from the surface to let the heat out but I use a Lappy Cooler and it really cooling down my S41. I didn't check with the temperature measuring utilities but the palm rest and speaker area are not warm anymore compare to without using a lappy cooler last time. |
Dec 30 2007, 05:10 PM
QUOTE(sumtuckieeeee @ Dec 30 2007, 09:40 AM) Chipset : Intel 965PM I'm not sure whether this helps, but you can give it a try: http://www.benq.com.au/products/joybook/?p...wnloads&dtype=DVGA Chip : nVidia 8600M GS 載點一,nVidia 8600M GS 載點二 Audio : Realtek ALC262 LAN : Marvell Yukon 88E8055 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller Wireless : Intel(R) Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN Bluebooth : WIDCOMM Bluetooth Software Already installed all this for Windows XP driver.What bout modem and card reader driver?I dont understand chinese This is the link i got from this thread for Windows XP drivers http://www.mobile01.com/topicdetail.php?f=...29&last=3060892 And the LAN driver link seems dead There's no modem or card reader driver but the "Lan" driver should work. |
Dec 31 2007, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(nicks @ Dec 31 2007, 02:48 AM) I use to own those plastic laptop cooler and it did cool down my lappy but using Zalman NC1000 will given me better result, as DavidMark stated "It worth the price". Like chinese people always said, "If you can buy a cow, why not buying a rope as well?"..hehehehThis post has been edited by Joelles: Dec 31 2007, 11:56 AM |
Dec 31 2007, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(300078 @ Dec 31 2007, 01:28 PM) I dun OC my lappie and i used it to play TF2! The heat is not a problem for this lappy, my laptop cooler now is used on another laptop which cannot live alone without a laptop cooler! That is the Acer Gemstone! I didn't OC my lappy as well(actually I don't know how to..And Happy New Year to all of u! A bit early though! |
Jan 5 2008, 01:50 PM
John, how much is the 2Gig 667 ram for notebook at your place?
Jan 7 2008, 02:19 PM
Added on January 7, 2008, 2:05 pm 2gb ram should be around rm 135 now i think in the market .. Thanks for the info John, as I think it cost RM270 per 1x2Gig 667 two months back rite? |
Jan 8 2008, 09:51 PM
120G consider ok lah as we can chuck in a lot of programmes and games inside the HDD liao and of course you don't expect to have 30 to 40 games lah. As for storage we can burn them into DVD rom or maybe get a external drive for all the songs, pictures, movies and lots!
John!, why never add me osso as I'm a S41 user, BenQS41-425 This post has been edited by Joelles: Jan 8 2008, 09:57 PM |
Jan 8 2008, 11:31 PM
QUOTE(john_jay2 @ Jan 8 2008, 10:51 PM) Hahaha, yeah..my bad, btw thanks for adding me.I would like to ask you guys, what kinda lappy bag you guys use for your S41? I'm looking for a Lappy bag for my S41 which is large enough to put my AC adapter and laptop cooler as well coz sometimes I'm travelling outstation. Any Suggestion? Nike? Dicota? Crumpler? STM? |
Jan 9 2008, 12:46 AM
[quote=sumtuckieeeee,Jan 9 2008, 12:08 AM]No.Its not sleep.I mean the laptop went blank.After i type my password,the windows appear,but the application blinks.Its like appear then disappear,appear disappear
Could it be something wrong with the lcd connector or the Graphic card driver, what windoze you're running on? Added on January 9, 2008, 12:58 am[quote=selinix,Jan 8 2008, 11:52 PM] I am using Case Logic ... this one Suddenly while u using the laptop ? or when u leave it idle for some time ? [/quote] Cool and nice bag you have there and there's seems some compartment for my PSP as well. How much and where you bought that bag? Izzit 600D nylon? This post has been edited by Joelles: Jan 9 2008, 12:58 AM |
Jan 11 2008, 07:31 PM
Jan 14 2008, 11:01 AM
I just went to LYP yesterday and bought a S41-425(same spec as my Sig) for my friend, I was surprised as the price is still remain the same as 5 months back when I bought mine. I thought since the T7300 model was out and this model will gonna drop it's price but the S41 is selling like hot cakes as a few shop have out of stocks and I have no choices to bought it in another shop in LYP which is not the same shop I bought mine. Price is actually higher than mine(no choice lar) and XP drivers are included (since my friend want XP), of course running XP with this baby is ..Lemon! The seller shows me running "Unreal Tournament"(which this games can't run on a lot below 3.5K lappy) and it's amazing! BTW I'm not a Windoze gamer myself, since the "Graphic Card" is good enough for my Photoshop rendering.
This post has been edited by Joelles: Jan 14 2008, 11:01 AM |
Jan 15 2008, 08:15 PM
QUOTE(selinix @ Jan 15 2008, 06:08 PM) i once encountered this problem... and i get fed up so i just reformat it again... I just encounter an error while installing XP on the S41, the laptop freeze while restarting till I have to press and hold the Off/On button to shut it down, after that haven't encounter the problem so far.everything is running fine with Qeye now ... did u try to update the windows ? Added on January 15, 2008, 6:11 pm both OS is good on the S41 .. But i recommend XP if you want the max performance of the laptop .. well everyone know Vista is a resource eater.. the speakers are decent .. but lose a bit if compare to altec lansing 1 on Hp laptop Yeah, I agree that XP tends to have better performance than Vista on the S41 as I have tried both in two same specs of S41. Hopes future Vista updater will makes it perfoms better and better. As for speakers which compares to an Altec Lansing HP, I found that the HP seems to have better bass quality and of course louder than S41 but just don't expect too much from a laptop speakers..if so, get an external speaker lor. |
Jan 15 2008, 10:38 PM
Jan 20 2008, 06:44 PM
The QEye is really giving the freeze at shutdown problem for window XP which running on the S41, hopefully someone found a working driver and share it here. It's actually happen to my friends S41 which he's running with window Xp but my Vista is fine.
Jan 20 2008, 10:02 PM