Review Part 1 is now on my blog.
BENQ S41 FANS CLUB ( new model ), S41 user , register urself here ^ ^
Jun 30 2007, 07:45 PM
4,670 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
Review Part 1 is now on my blog.
Jun 30 2007, 09:13 PM
I only charged mine for about 6-7 hours... Won't make a difference if it is charged 8 full hours because it's designed to stop charging once the battery is within 95-99% of it's full capacity, which happens to be around 6-7hours.
Jul 1 2007, 11:53 AM
QUOTE(Jeffery @ Jun 30 2007, 10:59 PM) Hi guys, I'm one of the new owner of S41 bought from john yesterday ^^. I quite like the LCD... Nice, bright but i could do without the reflectiveness which is madness because the windows is right behind me and i have to keep the curtains closed.First i'll review the salesperson--Mr. John. Nice guy, better than those in other shop who acted LCLY and treat customers like idiot. However, it will make me happier if there is more free gift lolz! Next I'll do some short review on s41, Temperature - Medium hot. After some usage, the temp on left hand side will be quite hot. The adapter is extremely hot but it's normal. Speed - It's still consider so so for me. Able to do some multitasking wif 2 gb of ram without much lagging. BUT lagging and slow respond are still exist. However, it's definitely more responsive than single core processor. (Graphic review is below) Design - Ermm it's normal when u c the outlook. Especially the pattern they put on the cover is not visible so u might think it's black color. But when u open the laptop, everything inside is very nice ^^ Ergonomic - I hate the touch pad, it looks cool but it's located abit to the left which leads mis-touching when i'm typing. And i hate the way benq design the WLAN and bluetooth switch, when WLAN on it's blue, when it's bluetooth on it's amber, when it's both on it's purple, the color is so hard to recognize. And the ports and dvd rom location are extremely bad for me since i'm placing the laptop at the right edge of my desk. Benq's software - I installed only Qpower and Qhotkey which is very important for me. Qpower is not 100% compatible somehow, it's like it couldn't locate the address of the hotkey, everything is fine except it can't change the display brightness itself. While Qhotkey is lack of many functions unlike acer which has next, previous, play, stop, pause, turn off lcd. LCD - Nice and very nice. Extremely bright, i can live forever even wif the darkest display. Speaker - Loud but lack of bass. Forget about wat benq said about the SRS. Use the speaker only when u dun have external speaker wif u. Battery - Not yet test Last but not least Graphic Card - Dunno y it couldn't run 3dmark06 . error: invalid bitmap file. Maybe it's my win xp problem. 3dmark03 - 7899 [attachmentid=255451] 3dmark05 - 4896 [attachmentid=255452] ermm, honestly john, ur free gift is abit lame... lolz... *peace* Speakers - What'd you expect? Thses are only 1.5W LAPTOP speakers. Can't compare to my 280W Logitech Z5300 5.1 system which i've plugged into the headphone port. LOL! Touchpad - The touchpad is annoying especially when you forget to turn it off while gaming. Wish it was more towards the centre. BenQ Software - Only software i have installed is the camera, SRS Surround and Nero. Not bothered with the rest. Speed - To me, if benq allowed proc upgrades... coupling this with a T7300 would do very nicely. More than enough if you ask me... too bad it's only the T7100. |
Jul 1 2007, 11:57 AM
Battlefield 2, American Conquest:Divided Nation and CSS so far... All run smooth except for AC:DN.
AC:DN is rather RAM and proc intensive as i had 10k+ units slogging it out on the screen. But no complaints...good enough for a desktop. No problems with BF2142 aside from the fact that 2142 doesn't support widescreen(stupid EA). What it needs is more RAM and a better Proc. |
Jul 1 2007, 12:07 PM
QUOTE(StratOS @ Jul 1 2007, 12:02 PM) if they say no OS.. means need install our own windows in it..? juz run the cd when start the laptop izzit..? kinda noob in this kind of stuff.. yeah...just run the OS cd. However, i suggest you be careful when installing OEM software because once it's installed that's it. You won't be able to simply change the hardware once the software is in.OEm software works with the hardware that is present the first time in the laptop. |
Jul 1 2007, 12:49 PM
Jul 1 2007, 02:58 PM
QUOTE(nebousuke @ Jul 1 2007, 02:49 PM) because OEM license are specifically for the usage of one machine. You can't install it to other machine eventhough you have already uninstalled it from the first machine. That's my understanding towards OEM license. Correct me if i am wrong., Quite correct. And you can't make major hardware changes either or the OS won't accept them. |
Jul 1 2007, 06:41 PM
Jul 1 2007, 08:42 PM
But it applies only for OEM software. Full original software does not have this limitation.
Jul 2 2007, 07:52 AM
QUOTE(babyrabies @ Jul 1 2007, 11:08 PM) Very stable indeed, but dvd had lower tolerence Just don't turn the keyboard white, okay? for jack sparrow media, as compared to s73g. Overall good, at least i get to keep all my apps running till that little brat, Vista matures into a fine woman. Then ill hump her good! |
Jul 2 2007, 02:25 PM
QUOTE(300078 @ Jul 2 2007, 01:53 PM) ohhhh Hotfix.... Read here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/479123But i cant find any Hotfix for Vista Added on July 2, 2007, 2:24 pmOk i am having problem with the DVD rom, i just feel that it is too sensitive!!! A bit of dirty or scratch then u cant load the damn DVD or CD!!! |
Jul 2 2007, 05:33 PM
Jul 2 2007, 05:53 PM
You're not gay enough... You need more brokeback benq.
Jul 2 2007, 10:34 PM
My BenQ S41 Performance Score
Proc:4.8 RAM:4.8 Graphics:5.9 Gaming Graphics:5.3 HDD: 4.3 I'll try again without torrenting or any load. |
Jul 2 2007, 10:37 PM
I'm running Vista Premium.
Jul 3 2007, 07:20 PM
Jul 4 2007, 11:46 AM
QUOTE(ik3da @ Jul 4 2007, 09:03 AM) So far, no much complain from my brother bout S41, EXCEPT for the DVD-ROM. I bought him some original games (CnC and Patrician) but it's not readable!!! Argh... He's now in NZ, no idea how to see what's wrong with it =/ Well, it refused to read my CoH DVD until i re-inserted it three times. Anyway, laptop drives are known to be choosy of the media they read.And this is also applies to other laptop brands as well. Not only BenQ. |
Jul 4 2007, 05:33 PM
i didn't bother to install any applications except for Nero and BenQ Surround.
Jul 4 2007, 08:39 PM
QUOTE(raylee914 @ Jul 4 2007, 08:23 PM) hey..i will get 1 s41 from john tml..pls prepare well ar..will reach there about 11am..hehe Just install Nero. BenQ Surround is a pack of f*** if you ask me. Doesn't do wonders that it's supposed to for my movies.and this for all the users of s41...may I know which software provided by the benq is good and recommended to install ar? Hehe, lazy to discover myself |
Jul 4 2007, 09:47 PM
I just uninstalled the Surround program.
| Change to: | 0.0459sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:47 PM |