4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

XBOX 360 or PS3, I can't decide!

TSblinky
post May 18 2007, 10:16 AM, updated 19y ago

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

Hello there, I guess this will be my first post and topic in this corner.

Anyway, I currently own a PS2, which I've already grown bored of it. I bought it since the first week of its launching, so that would make it a couple of years already.

So now I'm looking into the next generation consoles. Either the XBOX 360 or the PS3. I have no intentions to go into the Wii.

A friend of mine, who's the editor of HWM magazine, has both the XBOX 360 and PS3 in his home and he advised me to go for the XBOX 360 instead of the PS3. He said the shortage of games and unavailability of *cheaper* games on the PS3 gives the XBOX 360 the edge.

So I would like to know what do you guys think? Price is not a factor to me.

mambo
post May 18 2007, 10:20 AM

Me And My Perverted MInd... Never Alone
679 posts

get one of each.. since both have their own pros and cons.. so u get one of it first then get another one later.. sure u will puas hati...
quiksilve
post May 18 2007, 10:25 AM

297 posts

get both, X-box 360 currently offer a larger library of games since it was launch a year ahead of PS3, but PS3 current library in High Definition is slowly building up in anticipation of its killer titles like Metal Gear Solid:4, Grand Turismo HD, etc.

Agree with Mambo dude both consoles have pros and cons, so depends on what type of games you would like to play on your long term investment.
TSblinky
post May 18 2007, 10:34 AM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(mambo @ May 18 2007, 10:20 AM)
get one of each.. since both have their own pros and cons.. so u get one of it first then get another one later.. sure u will puas hati...
QUOTE(quiksilve @ May 18 2007, 10:25 AM)
get both, X-box 360 currently offer a larger library of games since it was launch a year ahead of PS3, but PS3 current library in High Definition is slowly building up in anticipation of its killer titles like Metal Gear Solid:4, Grand Turismo HD, etc.

Agree with Mambo dude both consoles have pros and cons, so depends on what type of games you would like to play on your long term investment.
Guys, I barely have time to even play PS2, I doubt I will have time to satisfy both the 360 and PS3. I'm not a hardcore gamer, I'm just a casual one. So I guess one would be sufficient. smile.gif
6GDominator
post May 18 2007, 10:41 AM

ThE NeW SpAm KiNg~.~
3,407 posts

QUOTE(blinky @ May 18 2007, 10:34 AM)
Guys, I barely have time to even play PS2, I doubt I will have time to satisfy both the 360 and PS3. I'm not a hardcore gamer, I'm just a casual one. So I guess one would be sufficient.  smile.gif
then still to Wii as it is for casual gamers.
rx330
post May 18 2007, 10:57 AM

11,809 posts

ya, if price not a factor, get both

if u really dun have the time, dun play, or get the wii, for entertainment
sihumchai
post May 18 2007, 11:22 AM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

Wanted to say this earlier, but rx330 is right, no point spending money on consoles you're not gonna spend time with. A simple example would be paying for Xbox Live acct. and not using it, quite a waste of membership time.

Plus, the next-gen consoles you specified oughta be used with HDTV's or PC LCD monitors, without those, you can't glorify your next-gen needs. Altho it's not a must, it's just generally recommended that you have HDTV(or a simple LCD monitor) before applying next-gen needs.

I won't vouch for Wii since you already made your mind up from the beginning.

Have you considered handheld?
mambo
post May 18 2007, 11:24 AM

Me And My Perverted MInd... Never Alone
679 posts

browse the game library of both console.. see what u willing to play.. then buy the one with more of ur most wanted game.. ok that way its better.. different ppl have different taste.. so ppl here hardly tell u which one to get cos they will tell base on their taste... who know later u found out ur taste is at other console such as wii or psp or sp .. hehehe
neoardi
post May 18 2007, 11:45 AM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(blinky @ May 18 2007, 10:16 AM)

Anyway, I currently own a PS2, which I've already grown bored of it. I bought it since the first week of its launching, so that would make it a couple of years already.

So now I'm looking into the next generation consoles. Either the XBOX 360 or the PS3. I have no intentions to go into the Wii.

A friend of mine, who's the editor of HWM magazine, has both the XBOX 360 and PS3 in his home and he advised me to go for the XBOX 360 instead of the PS3. He said the shortage of games and unavailability of *cheaper* games on the PS3 gives the XBOX 360 the edge.

What does he meant by "cheaper" games? Was it "ahem" games whistling.gif shakehead.gif
rx330
post May 18 2007, 11:48 AM

11,809 posts

ar sihum.... sad.gif

me no HDTV.....
sihumchai
post May 18 2007, 11:50 AM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

QUOTE(neoardi @ May 18 2007, 11:45 AM)
What does he meant by "cheaper" games? Was it "ahem" games whistling.gif  shakehead.gif
Well, we all pretty well know what he means anyways laugh.gif .. Um.. well, not everyone. But if you REALLY want cheaper games, buy 2nd hand games*. You've got alot of titles to catch up on wink.gif

* Each subforum(Nint, Sony, Msoft) has their own garage sales thread, look up there for some cheap, affordable, and original games wink.gif

Oh, did you know that Msoft banning mod consoles from getting online now? wink.gif

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 18 2007, 11:48 AM)
ar sihum.... sad.gif

me no HDTV.....
I also don't have laugh.gif But that doesn't stop me from playing a jaggy version Virtua Tennis 3 on my SDTV laugh.gif

This post has been edited by sihumchai: May 18 2007, 11:52 AM
rx330
post May 18 2007, 12:20 PM

11,809 posts

kekekeke, same here....

wa seh, support microsoft!!!
TSblinky
post May 18 2007, 02:40 PM

Relax, just trust me.
2,633 posts

QUOTE(sihumchai @ May 18 2007, 11:22 AM)
Wanted to say this earlier, but rx330 is right, no point spending money on consoles you're not gonna spend time with. A simple example would be paying for Xbox Live acct. and not using it, quite a waste of membership time.

Plus, the next-gen consoles you specified oughta be used with HDTV's or PC LCD monitors, without those, you can't glorify your next-gen needs. Altho it's not a must, it's just generally recommended that you have HDTV(or a simple LCD monitor) before applying next-gen needs.

I won't vouch for Wii since you already made your mind up from the beginning.

Have you considered handheld?
I already have a HDTV, well basically my visual system at home is pretty much HD ready including my DVD players and such.

Basically I just need a console to entertain me when I'm free at home. I'm not the type who'd cancel my plans and appointments just to play games.

Really, I don't like the Wii so I guess it's still between the PS3 and XBOX 360.

May I ask how much would be a brand new modded XBOX 360 selling outside? The package which includes 2 wireless controllers.
rx330
post May 18 2007, 02:50 PM

11,809 posts

ohhh, u got a 32 incher LCD, saw ur sig biggrin.gif

just curious lar, if moarnee not an issue, why dun u go for an unmodded xbox and suport original?
snipersnake
post May 18 2007, 03:12 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

w000t! congrates for the 7634739047390889493974-040984th similar post around the net. teh 371t3!
sihumchai
post May 18 2007, 03:13 PM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

QUOTE(blinky @ May 18 2007, 02:40 PM)
I already have a HDTV, well basically my visual system at home is pretty much HD ready including my DVD players and such.

Basically I just need a console to entertain me when I'm free at home. I'm not the type who'd cancel my plans and appointments just to play games.

Really, I don't like the Wii so I guess it's still between the PS3 and XBOX 360.

May I ask how much would be a brand new modded XBOX 360 selling outside? The package which includes 2 wireless controllers.
Since you're HD-ready thumbup.gif I uhh.. notworthy.gif

I think what you really need to do is, get down to Gamers Hideout, Bernards, or SCE(etc. etc.) and TRY out these next-gen goodness. Go get the feel, figure out yourself which applies more to your needs. And you'll get a lenghty explanation of what these babies can do(background download, save peoples lives(I'm srs), download movie trailers, HDDVD/BruLey)..

If non of these features guarantees the needs of your gaming(next-gen) fix, then it's best you stick to the PS2 and enjoy God of War II at the moment biggrin.gif

Regarding your query, I *think* it's 1400++ .. GH's package includes 2 wireless, and 2-3 games I think.

QUOTE(snipersnake @ May 18 2007, 03:12 PM)
w000t! congrates for the 7634739047390889493974-040984th similar post around the net. teh 371t3!
No la, you miscounted. It's 7634739047390889493974-040985th similar post!

lawl.

This post has been edited by sihumchai: May 18 2007, 03:15 PM
michael9413
post May 18 2007, 04:18 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

Well, see how lo...

See here at You Tube for some comparison...

No bias here... but as this moment Xbox360 do have more variety of games to be played...
you can get a lots of 2nd or... handed games really really cheap...

Can you tell us which kinda of games which you like to play?
Shooting, RPG, Role-Playing, Sports, Family (Light n Easy) or...
I think after you tell us that it will be more easier to tell you which is more suitable..

This topic has been around everyweeks or months...
Non-stop ppl asking about this question...
You can ask some forumers also they do have both console...

Lastly... DON BUY MODDED... cos you can enjoy live when you can...
you can go to market place to download demo b4 u buy some of the games also... as a silver membership (free)
which MODDED will be ban from LIVE from today onwards...
some one say they will detact and banned the console not GamerTag...
So you cannot download anything at all!!!!

This post has been edited by michael9413: May 18 2007, 04:19 PM
judge-the
post May 18 2007, 06:50 PM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(blinky @ May 18 2007, 10:16 AM)

me also wanna know what's his defination on "cheaper" games... our big brother blake (gameaxis taiko) must do something already smile.gif

again, still have to ask yourself lah which one you like most.
DDSFan8
post May 18 2007, 06:52 PM

1,278 posts

wait la, by September 2007, PS3 > XBOX 360
verced
post May 18 2007, 07:07 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(DDSFan8 @ May 18 2007, 06:52 PM)
wait la, by September 2007, PS3 > XBOX 360
Why is that? Coz Halo's out? smile.gif

How to make decisions? Look at all the games you wanna play. See where they'll be released on. Then get the console. Simple right?

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0164sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:52 PM