Photography Underwater Photography, need help...

TSProclaimer
post May 18 2007, 01:12 AM, updated 19y ago

1,150 posts

Hi all.... smile.gif
I plannin to make underwater photography as a hobby so here's the question...
Which digicam + underwater housing do u pros suggest...?
Preferbaly slim P & S , 7 - 8 mp , budget around 2k...

Currently im having an eye for Canon ixus 75 and Sony DSC T-100.. Are both of these good for underwater photography?

But so far i cant find canon underwater housing in shops... Only online... sad.gif
Any1 knows where to get it without having to preorder....?

C'mon... Lets hear some suggestion.. Hehe.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Proclaimer: May 18 2007, 01:45 AM
kevinyong84
post May 18 2007, 01:43 AM

777 posts

SONY STLYE my fren ~ ur underwater is how deep ? 1 meter also called underwater u know ?
TSProclaimer
post May 18 2007, 01:47 AM

1,150 posts

Hehe my fren...General Underwater housing is capable of reaching 40m rite...?

BTW im using it 4 diving...
goldfries
post May 18 2007, 01:58 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

what's your budget for the housing? smile.gif some people say Olympus is good, others say Canon G7 is good, others say generally it's the settings - which i believe is more appropriate, it's about settings.

spoken to some diver guys, getting housing + strobes or whatever you call it could be costly.
TSProclaimer
post May 18 2007, 02:09 AM

1,150 posts

Internal flash can be used underwater. Internal flash can be used to trigger external slave flash. So i guess strobes wont b nessecity yet... Hehe...

Hmm.. I kno Sony T-100 housing cost rm699 but i cant find out about the ixus 75 housing price...

So any1..?

My budget for both casing and camera should b around 2k -+ but it would b better to get a housing which is cheaper...

I've seen the olympus housing for the mju series is dem expensive 1k+ so i'll try to avoid such expensive housing unless the digicam is good.. Hehe...

So any1 wif experience might suggest something? icon_question.gif
kelvinyam
post May 18 2007, 12:27 PM

May beauty be everywhere around me
1,766 posts

From what I heard, you have to be careful when buying housing. It's better to have a housing with double seal, so that if one seal fail, you still have a second seal to prevent leaking.
sherren
post May 18 2007, 01:03 PM

Retired
1,298 posts

wha about DICAPAC underwater housing
tan_alliance
post May 18 2007, 01:33 PM

85 posts

Hi, I am Sameul Tan from Tan Alliance Trading Sdn. Bhd. We are distributor of the Dicapac in Malaysia now, may be our product will suit you. For any further information, search for the dicapac forum in Lowyat. Thank you.
Joshua_0718
post May 18 2007, 01:39 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,913 posts

QUOTE(Proclaimer @ May 18 2007, 01:12 AM)
Hi all....  smile.gif
I plannin to make underwater photography as a hobby so here's the question...
Which digicam + underwater housing do u pros suggest...?
Preferbaly slim P & S , 7 - 8 mp , budget around 2k...

Currently im having an eye for Canon ixus 75 and Sony DSC T-100.. Are both of these good for underwater photography?

But so far i cant find canon underwater housing in shops... Only online...  sad.gif
Any1 knows where to get it without having to preorder....?

C'mon... Lets hear some suggestion.. Hehe..  biggrin.gif
Yes, you can. You need to order 1st.

QUOTE(sherren @ May 18 2007, 01:03 PM)
wha about DICAPAC underwater housing
It is advisable go for underwater casing for diver.

QUOTE(tan_alliance @ May 18 2007, 01:33 PM)
Hi, I am Sameul Tan from Tan Alliance Trading Sdn. Bhd. We are distributor of the Dicapac in Malaysia now, may be our product will suit you. For any further information, search for the dicapac forum in Lowyat. Thank you.
Erm. It is best using the underwater casing if going for diving. Yes, Dicapac can go to 18m deep. But, diver might go deeper.
TSProclaimer
post May 18 2007, 03:36 PM

1,150 posts

Yeah.. Dicapac is not so practical to bring 4 diving as recreational diving can go as deep as 40m...

So i would like opinions from u all to get the best camera for diving...

Preferbaly Slim and Good pic quality.... The rest are like in the first post....

TQ for ur opinions...

Joshua_0718
post May 18 2007, 05:01 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,913 posts

QUOTE(Proclaimer @ May 18 2007, 03:36 PM)
Yeah.. Dicapac is not so practical to bring 4 diving as recreational diving can go as deep as 40m...

So i would like opinions from u all to get the best camera for diving...

Preferbaly Slim and Good pic quality.... The rest are like in the first post....

TQ for ur opinions...
1st of all, you are diver but don't have digital camera? tongue.gif

Try to get a camera that have wide lens and can snap a good macro.

Compare with Canon ixus 75 and Sony DSC T-100? I would advice you go for Canon Ixus-75. Canon Ixus75 + casing will cost you around RM2k which are your requirement already.
kelvinyam
post May 18 2007, 05:07 PM

1,766 posts

I have seen a Canon A80 housing for sale at Foto-Shangrila Mid Valley. Could remember the price though, it's about RM700~RM800.
TSProclaimer
post May 19 2007, 12:33 AM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ May 18 2007, 05:01 PM)

Try to get a camera that have wide lens and can snap a good macro.

Compare with Canon ixus 75 and Sony DSC T-100? I would advice you go for Canon Ixus-75. Canon Ixus75 + casing will cost you around RM2k which are your requirement already.
Yea plannin to get ixus 75 also... but the prob is ixus 75 got no IS and wide angle but ixus 850 does but it is kinda bulky...
Hard desicion le.. sad.gif vmad.gif

QUOTE(kelvinyam @ May 18 2007, 05:07 PM)
I have seen a Canon A80 housing for sale at Foto-Shangrila Mid Valley. Could remember the price though, it's about RM700~RM800.
Hehe.. A80 kinda bulky to me...

goldfries
post May 19 2007, 12:37 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ May 18 2007, 05:01 PM)

diver not necessarily mean having to own digi cam.
Joshua_0718
post May 19 2007, 12:41 AM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,913 posts

QUOTE(Proclaimer @ May 19 2007, 12:33 AM)
Yea plannin to get ixus 75 also... but the prob is ixus 75 got no IS and wide angle but ixus 850 does but it is kinda bulky...
Hard desicion le..  sad.gif  vmad.gif
Hehe.. A80 kinda bulky to me...
Mmm... I am not sure IS is it important for underwater photography. tongue.gif

Ixus 850 aren't really that bulky. wink.gif You put on your underwater casing, it is still the same. It will be still bulky. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 19 2007, 12:37 AM)
diver not necessarily mean having to own digi cam.
Then it would be waste for diving. It is beautiful under the water there. nod.gif

This post has been edited by Joshua_0718: May 19 2007, 12:44 AM
yyteik
post May 19 2007, 03:09 AM

..::Upgraded::..
1,172 posts

hehe.. get those disposable underwater camera .. haha.. joking joking..

just tha the canon underwater casing ald cost almost 1k.... i think u better increase ur budget...

possible get some other equip to use also.. buy those with double seal... prevent leaking...
goldfries
post May 19 2007, 03:12 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ May 19 2007, 12:41 AM)
Then it would be waste for diving. It is beautiful under the water there. nod.gif
hehe. you go visit those dive trainers la, ask them how many people actually bring camera. smile.gif

not everyone could afford camera + housing.

most people just go for simple dive trips.
TSProclaimer
post May 19 2007, 03:55 AM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ May 19 2007, 12:41 AM)
Mmm... I am not sure IS is it important for underwater photography. tongue.gif

Ixus 850 aren't really that bulky. wink.gif You put on your underwater casing, it is still the same. It will be still bulky. biggrin.gif
Yeah dun think IS is important for underwater photography but wide angle sure is.... Bulky when i do bring it around for normal use... sad.gif

QUOTE(yyteik @ May 19 2007, 03:09 AM)
hehe.. get those disposable underwater camera .. haha.. joking joking..

just tha the canon underwater casing ald cost almost 1k.... i think u better increase ur budget...

possible get some other equip to use also.. buy those with double seal... prevent leaking...
yea... A guy quote me arund 800.... double seal? Heard of that buy i havent seen one wif a double seal... Kno where got get that? drool.gif

QUOTE(goldfries @ May 19 2007, 03:12 AM)
hehe. you go visit those dive trainers la, ask them how many people actually bring camera. smile.gif

not everyone could afford camera + housing.

most people just go for simple dive trips.
But wif a camera underwater = experience worth recording rclxms.gif

Hmm... I went to bintang maju in lowyat n the guy there quote me this =
Ixus 75 = rm1199 including 1 gig sd, leather casing + mini tripod

Ixus 850IS = rm 1350 including 1 gig sd, leather casing + mini tripod

i prefer 2 or 4 gig sd but any1 can get better deal than this...?

Preferbaly in selangor area....

This post has been edited by Proclaimer: May 19 2007, 04:01 AM
kelvinyam
post May 19 2007, 10:15 AM

1,766 posts

Double seal is not that common for Canon cam. But Olympus cam is quite common. You may need to get a third party casing, but you know, a normal camera shop doesn't carry those.
yewkhuay
post May 19 2007, 10:44 AM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

just wanto ask hav u gov underwater photography certified? if not can't bring camera down too deep or not at all oh........

0.0209sec    0.77    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:00 AM