Are taiwan rims good?

TSJibbynomo
post May 13 2018, 05:50 PM, updated 8y ago

Im thinking to paint my stock myvi 2018 14" rims, but my friend suggested to change only to 14" or 15" rims. I survey online mudah carousell etc around 500-600 also.. Ssr, rays, etc. Pretty sure its taiwan made not ori because so cheap lor.. My question is taiwan made rims good?? Never had one before

Thanks!!
Professor Factass
post May 13 2018, 07:06 PM

25 posts

No. Stay away from imitation design Taiwan rims. Spend a bit more and get original Advanti or Lenso instead. Better quality, lightweight compared to heavy ass Taiwan rims. 15 inch should be around the RM 1000 for Advanti or Lenso.
haziqk10
post May 13 2018, 11:03 PM

231 posts

QUOTE(Professor Factass @ May 13 2018, 07:06 PM)
No. Stay away from imitation design Taiwan rims. Spend a bit more and get original Advanti or Lenso instead. Better quality, lightweight compared to heavy ass Taiwan rims. 15 inch should be around the RM 1000 for Advanti or Lenso.
Possible for Advanti & Lenso to have imitation as well?
6UE5T
post May 13 2018, 11:53 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Jibbynomo @ May 13 2018, 05:50 PM)
Im thinking to paint my stock myvi 2018 14" rims, but my friend suggested to change only to 14" or 15" rims. I survey online mudah carousell etc around 500-600 also.. Ssr, rays, etc. Pretty sure its taiwan made not ori because so cheap lor.. My question is taiwan made rims good?? Never had one before

Thanks!!
Don't buy those fakes! Many of those are actually not even from Taiwan but from China. If you want to buy relatively cheap but still decent buy original Taiwan brands like Advanti Storm but not those fake Taiwan/China brands.

QUOTE(haziqk10 @ May 13 2018, 11:03 PM)
Seems unlikely coz they are pretty cheap already but who knows these days, maybe some China producer will try to make it even cheaper. sweat.gif

ktek
post May 14 2018, 02:46 AM

小喇叭
13,191 posts

dont care whichever country. fake stuff are cut cost in safety and quality. beside that, u nvr know its limit against our road condition.
tennytyy
post May 14 2018, 10:34 AM

1,915 posts

just top up and get cheaper Taiwan or Thailand ORIGINAL rims instead of going with those imitation / replica one.
Tyre and rims are the most important parts of a car, avoid risk it at all cost.
Jason
post May 14 2018, 11:10 AM

6,354 posts

Advanti is a pretty affordable ORIGINAL rim.
Or you can buy second hand Alza 15" rims.

Stay away from fakes, fake rims have fake QC too. lol. you think if they fake the rim they won't fake the certifications?
chenhui87
post May 15 2018, 10:15 AM

♥Jigeumeun So Nyuh Shi Dae♥
2,150 posts

QUOTE(haziqk10 @ May 13 2018, 11:03 PM)
i prefer to get those advanti rim from my "member's" shop to prevent imitation tongue.gif
leehernandez
post May 16 2018, 11:13 AM

just get advanti..affordable original rims at low price. price can be from rm 800++ depending on the design and technology.quality assured and rims also internationally recognised.
Kamigawaqs P
post Aug 12 2019, 11:27 AM

Probation

Hi there, this is my first time to post, i'd like to get your comment/s on this mags, if somebody can id the mags. Thanks

x23
post Aug 12 2019, 11:42 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(Kamigawaqs @ Aug 12 2019, 11:27 AM)
Hi there, this is my first time to post, i'd like to get your comment/s on this mags, if somebody can id the mags. Thanks
Is that Rota? Original Rota is manufacture at Philipines. They known for copy other brand design. Quality is very good .
kevin613
post Aug 12 2019, 02:11 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(x23 @ Aug 12 2019, 11:42 AM)
Is that Rota? Original Rota is manufacture at Philipines. They known for copy other brand design. Quality is very good .
and there are fake rotas...
imagine the level of fakes.. LOL
clones of the knockoffs

https://jalopnik.com/knockoff-wheelmaker-ro...heel-1137837262

This post has been edited by kevin613: Aug 12 2019, 02:12 PM
Thrust
post Aug 12 2019, 02:14 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

Better get Enkei from Thailand.
6UE5T
post Aug 12 2019, 08:01 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Kamigawaqs @ Aug 12 2019, 11:27 AM)
Well the cap says Rota but not sure original or not. Btw yesterday I was about to buy a used Rota but then got a very thin hairline crack on the lip! So yeah now doubtful of the strength.
6UE5T
post Aug 12 2019, 08:06 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Aug 12 2019, 02:14 PM)
Better get Enkei from Thailand.
Enkei Tuning is from Taiwan. The one from Thailand is Lenso.

This post has been edited by 6UE5T: Aug 12 2019, 08:07 PM
Delta09
post Aug 14 2019, 01:03 AM

Check out Konig rims.
kevin613
post Aug 14 2019, 11:28 AM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Aug 12 2019, 08:01 PM)
Well the cap says Rota but not sure original or not. Btw yesterday I was about to buy a used Rota but then got a very thin hairline crack on the lip! So yeah now doubtful of the strength.
dont expect too much from knockoffs... biggrin.gif
6UE5T
post Aug 14 2019, 11:36 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(Delta09 @ Aug 14 2019, 01:03 AM)
Check out Konig rims.
Yup Konig is an excellent choice, very affordable yet similar quality to Enkei, in fact it was some joint with Enkei. They make some very lightweight wheels.
woodentiger86
post Sep 3 2019, 05:09 PM

Budding DIY Detailer & Avid Gamer
2,414 posts

Any suggestions to look for rims and tyres? I'm looking to keep my stock 15" Myvi tyres and just trade in the rims.

Was looking at King of Rims initially. Any other suggested places to recommend?

This post has been edited by woodentiger86: Sep 3 2019, 05:09 PM
6UE5T
post Sep 3 2019, 05:29 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(woodentiger86 @ Sep 3 2019, 05:09 PM)
Any suggestions to look for rims and tyres? I'm looking to keep my stock 15" Myvi tyres and just trade in the rims.

Was looking at King of Rims initially. Any other suggested places to recommend?

Mudah, Facebook clubs/forums.

0.0212sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:25 AM