Streamyx The Unofficial Streamyx 4Mbps Users Club V1, Combo RM 160 Per Month *Updated Info*
logi
Jun 11 2007, 11:46 AM

i subscribed (upgrade) 4 mb last week, not activated yet, just called technician, will bring modem to install, activate tomorrow. In fact, i called 1-300, they said my old account inactive already 5 days ago, but my internet still working though, and speed increase from 150KB dload to 180KB. Will let u guys know after activated 4mb, crazy torrent dload here, will test with & without VPN, and newsgroup too.
logi
Jun 16 2007, 12:17 AM

Here's my result of 4mb. Got activated on Tuesday (no disconnection from registration till activated)
Speed: 5120kpbs (dl), 511kpbs (up) SNR Margin: 11.2 db (down) Line Attenution: 29.0 db (down) tested dl speed: 500-520 kB (newsgroup, speedtest, flashget) torrent: 100% shaping throttling, so 2-20kB, if use VPN: 100-220kB
modem: Billion, no problem with the settings but it got disconnection during some time where newsgroup & torrent together, then tried on prolink router, no problem. So the modem not so good.
Anyone knows which router brand good on handling more than 2pc, about 1000 connections on torrents? I tried on Prolink, it will slow down torrent speed on another PC.
logi
Jun 16 2007, 12:34 AM

yes, i done forwarding on router mode or just use bridge mode on 1 pc. if don't forward, VPN couldn't reach 100-220kB.
in fact, some of my torrents (like 3 out of 10) sometimes can fly high speed without shaping, so I guess you are lucky or maybe yours still not throttled 100% yet.
about VPN, you need to subscibe.
logi
Jun 16 2007, 02:29 AM

Yangxi: mine v5.07 also.
e-zdy: pls report back if really can fully utilize the 4mb VPN and stable too.
This post has been edited by logi: Jun 16 2007, 04:07 AM
logi
Jun 19 2007, 11:00 AM

QUOTE(bem69 @ Jun 19 2007, 03:02 AM) Sorry, just to butt in. So TMNet are just a bunch of motherf**kers after all looking at your SNR. They said its their policy that they can't provide service to people below 15db. I said I don't care at least its faster than 1mb, and they said no, it is their policy. Policy my ass lah, my SNR was 14db, and here your SNR is much lower but you got accepted. Btw, no offence to you logi, just a bit pissed off as my readout is almost the same as yours. QUOTE(Sigmax @ Jun 19 2007, 09:43 AM) The SNR margin will drop after the line is capped to a higher speed, that mean SNR margin of logi is higher before he subscribed the 4M package. yup, my SNR was 21db before the upgrade from 1mb. Anyhow, the installer told me, some subscibers even nearer to exchange, but only got 2-3mb coz of bad cooper line, so couldn't approve too.