Project QX-88 : WC QX6800 + 8800GTX SLi, Dream_Machine 2007 100% completed.

TSuglyvamp
post May 16 2007, 09:27 PM, updated 19y ago

blink of life
1,666 posts

here's a sneak preview of our upcoming project after DarkGen.

Computer hardwares as follow:

Asus Striker Extreme
Intel QX6800 Quad Core Extreme
Gskill DDR-2 2GB x 2
SilverStone Zeus 850watt
Asus 8800GTX 768MB DDR3 PCIex x 2
Auzentech Meridian X
Pioneer SATA DVD-RW
Western Digital Raptor 150GB 16MB 10000rpm SATA x2 Raid 0
Western Digital 500GB SATA
SilverStone TJ-07

Water-cooling equipments as follow:
AquaExtreme MP-05 CPU
SwiftTech MCW60R x 2
3 x 120mm radiator
Swiftech Micro Res
SwiftTech MCP-655 water pump
PC-ICE non-conductive coolant x 2
Clearflex 1/2"
SilenX Ixtrema Pro series- 14dBA 120mm fan

Pictures of items

This post has been edited by uglyvamp: May 27 2007, 02:05 AM
TSuglyvamp
post May 17 2007, 03:18 AM

blink of life
1,666 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 17 2007, 03:04 AM)
eh how come all ure two builds always mix high end hardware with cheap stuff.

if i was him would throw those rams away with the raptor
and get better rams ... heck with the prices nowadays he might as well just top up and get some CL3's..kekek..

err also dont like that mobo..kekeke but that was when i had it with the prelimanary bios and asus didnt even gave a damn about support.. hear the new bios is pretty good... except errr not good support for the qx.
the 680 mobo had some problem for quad with not enough voltage something and thats why evga had a total new revision..kekeke..
wonder did asus solve this problem.see how high the fsb can go...

and isnt the da750 price estimated around the same as ST75???

other than that a sweet rig...
looking forward...hey the rig almost similar to ianho..kekeke except for intel quad and WC... and ian is running low latency ddr team xtreem rams..
which hardwares u think is cheap ?
u must be pretty wealthy that u find alot of other hardwares not matchable to yours as cheap. ?

i can never enjoy such luxury hardwares myself, and i will never wish to too smile.gif

TSuglyvamp
post May 17 2007, 05:05 AM

blink of life
1,666 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 17 2007, 03:25 AM)

that's why ... I was 1/2 confuse, which u referring to. hmm..

those were 2x 2gb smile.gif no stocks now in Spore for 2pairs. otherwise would have been 2pairs = 4x 2gb ... lol

QUOTE(jaya_pc87 @ May 17 2007, 04:23 AM)
i think you should do raid 0 on that raptor smile.gif
raid 0 raptors on other TJ-07 projects done b4 too.
2x 150gb raptors
2x 74gb
4x 150gb raptors ( took 2customers & combine as 1 for fun results & testing once ) hehe ..

ok .. next time i go dig out the harddrives benchmarks & post some up ..

but hey, customers say wat then i give wat lor ...
sometimes no point argue with that wat is good & wat is bad .. lol
do as they wish. everyone happy then good icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(irenic @ May 17 2007, 04:45 AM)
wow nice rig.. eh gary .. regarding the qx6800, does intel provides same cooling like qx6700? coz i heard that stock aircooling cant even handle the qx6800 at idle..

my stock hsf qx6700 idle temp is 60c ..
the original intel white box u see there has no printing information.
they dont even provide the stock hsf. so it actually come without HSF !!
only 5pcs in S'pore i was told & that these whitebox ones are considered top batch that O/C really well ...

will rape it when its mature .. but hope we got time for some number scores cos its quite rush one as customer from overseas, fly in 4days & must collect on 3rd day nite sad.gif

still doing it .. believe or not yawn.gif
TSuglyvamp
post May 21 2007, 12:01 AM

blink of life
1,666 posts

rig completed & on the way back to customer's home country.
good bro .. good patience, waited 1/2 day today for us to finalize some tweaks.

we'll update the rest of project logs & final pictures of the rig later ...

Temperature is solid.
though coretemp 0.95 couldn't run properly, immediately we execute coretemp, it crashes.

so below temp is taken from Nvidia's temp monitoring of both CPU, SYstem & 2x GPU. ( reference only, exact coretemp we dont have but surface temp is very good reading )

Once again, it is AquaExtreme's MP-05 that prove to be the BEST of the BEST water block we every use.

** Side topic a little, Apogee GT is the worst & over hyped waterblock ever, i feel shameful to even post the temp u know, can't be bothered to take screen shot even, their full load temp is erm ... CMI, I can't believe it myself sad.gif ***

first screenshot shows CPU & GPU @ Idle temperature.

2nd screenshot shows Only CPU O/Ced @ 3.6ghz, memory 2x 2gb DDR 800 @ CL 5,5,5,15 timing ( stock speed ) GPU load temp recorded by RivaTuner was good, not more than 50C, max to around 48-49C for both GTX

This post has been edited by uglyvamp: May 21 2007, 12:11 AM
TSuglyvamp
post May 22 2007, 03:35 PM

blink of life
1,666 posts

QUOTE(MetalZone @ May 22 2007, 01:46 PM)
I'm pretty sure you tested an unbowed Apogee GT right?

Apogee GT performance when unbowed loses to the FuZion. I'm not sure about the MP-05 as I dont have one to compare. But cooling masters have tested that on a lapped IHS, the MP-05 is about as good as a bowed Apogee GT. But a bowed Apogee GT will still beat the MP-05 on an unlapped IHS. Pretty much I can say an unbowed Apogee GT's performance will be just average. It's only after you bow it then its cooling performance will shine. The reign of Storm and MP-05 has ended on unlapped intel IHS's. Note that the FuZion also has a convex base. That is what a bowed Apogee GT mimics when you bow the base to get a convex base. Storm, MP-05, and an unbowed Apogee GT have a flat base.
we've all the cpu block's result with exact same setup
mostly done with some other witnesses around & even Modern Resources icon_rolleyes.gif
TSuglyvamp
post May 27 2007, 01:30 AM

blink of life
1,666 posts

note on our so call benchmark & temperature result from software. it may not be 100% accurate, but its done in a full working computer chasis. all hardwares are mounted with 1side panel closed, except the main sidepanel. Therefore, the result obtained will be for the user with this setup. We may not achieve similar results again.

now on with the show !!

project has been delivered to Brunei last weekend. and this weekend, we're busy with yet another QX 6700 + GTX setup ( female gamer )

Threebond Silicon gasket sealant we talk a bout earlier. Rad was leak tested for almost 20hrs non-stop. Before we mount it into our customer chasis.

3x SilenX fans & a Cooltrek 3x 120mm single pass radiator

MCW60-R GPU block sitting perfectly on the GTX core.

we custom cut some loose heatsinks to cool the additional controller here - passive cooled, together with 10pcs BGA sized copper ramsinks for the memory & 4pcs tsop sized copper ramsinks for the ... mosfets correct ? there would be a fan somehwhere inside the case driving active air through the SLIs & out at the PCI bracket opening

the AquaExtreme MP-05 we luv so much

Sound insulation at the bottom & PCI-E power cables sleeved up ... but alas, was a bit short of black heatsrhink that point of time ..

1x Sata DVDRW, 1X 500gb 2x 150gb Raptors

before it gets wet

This post has been edited by uglyvamp: May 27 2007, 01:40 AM
TSuglyvamp
post May 27 2007, 02:08 AM

blink of life
1,666 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ May 27 2007, 02:06 AM)
wow what a clean and near finishing look ... I bet there are few cut behind mobo tray to get it done ...

Anyway it's so awesome ... all the details has been carefully taken care ...
not a single cut on this chasis smile.gif

if u have seen the actual case, its quite easy to do the cable management on TJ-07. mainly my gf did it ..

back of the TJ-07 chasis ...

the Silverstone Zeus 850watt psu indeed has a bunch of cables, with a around 65% unused. no place to dump, this is the best location. airflow we notice has been affected a little, the 3x 120mm silentx is a little too weak to push through the radiator fins then the massive cabling again. nevertheless, i do feel slight warm air coming out from the back of the 07. silent operation achieved with some slight "performance sacrificed" ?? but hey ... the cpu still orthos for like 4-5hrs stable @ 3.6ghz ( QX 6800 ) gpus didn't have much time to test out sadly.

here we use PrimoChill Non-Conductive coolant - Transparent color ( under UV its blue ).

after adding the transparent coolant. we added some RED PrimoChill coolant to get purple color instead. The original purple PrimoChill coolant is Non-UV reactive though it does look very purple. So we mix the reactive transparet ( blue ) + Red to obtain purple. and yes, we pour & mix, pour & mix till we get the purplish effect.

4x UV CCFL 20cm inside. Turn the PC on with low lighting in store. Actual enviroment was actually darker than in picture. we just allowed the camera to expose a little longer for the brighter effect.

sadly, our camera was not able to really capture the purple effect shown in real life. the actual color on the tubings is actually mild purple.

we tried to get more more effect playing around with the camera but still can't get it, sad ! my gf suggested to leave the pictures as it is & not edit them for the effect otherwise other areas may be afffected so we leave the pictures taken in the original colors.

the right angled sata cables were all purple, the end of the sata is actually purple also, except that we over sleeved with additional purple sleeving. on this part we were able to get the UV purple effect.

complete view of the TJ-07 with sidepanel closed. Nothing much to see when we close the sidepanel... hmmm. only the tubings stand out.

the system packed in the original box & ready back to the owner's home country - Brunei. The package has to be in the position as shown.

At the airport, we instructed the staffs to transport the package at the correct upright position as shown on the "stickers"
System arrived 4hrs later & got a message from the customer that his new rig arrived in the desired manner as we wished. good services provided by both airport crews. i'm so glad & certainly do not wish our sleepless nites go into waste.
TSuglyvamp
post May 27 2007, 03:13 PM

blink of life
1,666 posts

yep, the front is CFP 51, harddrive bracket. uses 3lots to house 4hds .. neat stuff smile.gif

and yes, next quad rig is a female gamer. are u one also linnet ?

preview for the next one ....
our customer didn't like all the other casing that opens on the normal side. and decided to take this one instead. we inverted the chasis without her knowledge, hopefully she'll be surprised & appreciate it.

then i figured out Ian's 07 can do, 09 should be able to. and tried out .. whola !!
successful but i wouldn't do it a 2nd time .. lol so much so cuttings & precision holes required to mount the skeleton again sad.gif

TSuglyvamp
post May 29 2007, 04:44 PM

blink of life
1,666 posts

QUOTE(jolipoli81 @ May 29 2007, 03:07 PM)
may i know roughly how much u spend on that rig?
really sorry man ..

thnk i'll try to keep the pricing thing to the rig itself.

u can try to estimate urself . sorry notworthy.gif
TSuglyvamp
post Jun 1 2007, 11:12 PM

blink of life
1,666 posts

no more updates for this already. that's all guys.

didn't have much time to stress test for more benchmark scores.

its somebody else's anyway so wont rape too much .. lol
TSuglyvamp
post Jun 6 2007, 09:56 PM

blink of life
1,666 posts

* sigh** can we all stop talking about the pricing & rich owner thing ??

lol ... he actually save up for quite a few mths b4 deciding on 1time investment like that .. i'm sure i wont see his upgrade at least for the next 2yrs smile.gif

thanks for all the comments anyway wink.gif

w're currently working on another mini wc project .. hehe.
really humble rig this time.

0.0217sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:37 PM