Icute 450W ATX and Geforce 7900GS

TSCBT
post May 16 2007, 05:19 PM, updated 19y ago

Hi everyone,

First time posting here...need some guidance from u experience pc guys..

Currently, my casing + PSU is the so-called cheapo Icute ATX 450W and using Geforce 6600Gt..with stable results.

Wanting to upgrade to Galaxy Geforce 7900GS Super but worry that my PSU will not have enuff juice... Eventhough the PSU states combined dual 12V rails are 32A ( 17A + 15A ), but somehow after reading numerous post...i have doubts now on the stated Amperage....

So had anybody out there successfully run the 7900GS with the ICute ATX like mine without power related problems ????

What about those sub RM200 PSU selling in Low Yat like enermax, cooler master brands..are they sufficient to power the 7900GS.

My current specs in PC have nothing much, just bare essentials for budget gaming.

My specs now:

AMD 64 Bit 3000+
Asus K4NE Mobo
1GB Ram
80GB Harddisk
1 DVD RW
6600GT 128 MB
ATX Icute Casing c/w 450W power.

Any recommendations and advice will be much appreciated. Thanks.

laksamana
post May 16 2007, 05:33 PM

1,356 posts

With 32A on +12V1 and +12V2, I think you should be fine. I'm running a 7900 GT with 34A on a Thermaltake 430W combined +12V rails.
cstkl1
post May 16 2007, 05:39 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(CBT @ May 16 2007, 05:19 PM)
Hi everyone,

First time posting here...need some guidance from u experience pc guys..
Currently, my casing + PSU is the so-called cheapo Icute ATX 450W and using Geforce 6600Gt..with stable results.

Wanting to upgrade to Galaxy Geforce 7900GS Super but worry that my PSU will not have enuff juice...  Eventhough the PSU states combined dual 12V rails are 32A ( 17A + 15A ), but somehow after reading numerous post...i have doubts now on the stated Amperage....

So had anybody out there successfully run the 7900GS with the ICute ATX like mine without power related problems ????

What about those sub RM200 PSU selling in Low Yat like enermax, cooler master brands..are they sufficient to power the 7900GS.

My current specs in PC have nothing much, just bare essentials for budget gaming.
My specs now:

AMD 64 Bit 3000+
Asus K4NE Mobo
1GB Ram
80GB Harddisk
1 DVD RW
6600GT 128 MB
ATX Icute Casing c/w 450W power.
Any recommendations and advice will be much appreciated. Thanks.
dude that amps are wrong
thats the full load u can take with each rail

combined max on both rails are lower...
expect like 20's something amps.
kanethesun
post May 16 2007, 05:39 PM

1,426 posts

it may run, but maybe only ngam ngam enough lo
for your budget of RM200, you may eye for the Acbel 450w, guess its more stable than your iCute 1 biggrin.gif
laksamana
post May 16 2007, 05:45 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 16 2007, 05:39 PM)
dude that amps are wrong
thats the full load u can take with each rail

combined max on both rails are lower...
expect like 20's something amps.
You're right. Should look at the sustainable rating, not the max. Correct me, but I think he should be safe with around 25A for a 7900GS.
Hornet
post May 16 2007, 06:08 PM

What?
4,251 posts

iCute is not the PSU for your 7900GS unless you wants to risk waiting few weeks for your 7900GS to be repaired under warranty once your iCute reaches the end of its lifespan.

Happened to me before, iCute 450W. One fine day it went pop and my GF6800 is off for 5 weeks warranty claim. Luckily they change the whole unit. BTW I'm now on Acbel 450W. Not the best PSU out there but its ok for me w/o any overclocking.

Seriously, don't do that to your system. Being able to take the load and run without a problem is one thing. These cheap PSU actual load capabilities is far from its rating figure. And their lifespan is also significantly shorter that the chances are very high that it will malfunction in a very short period, and its this failure that damage your hardwares.

This post has been edited by Hornet: May 16 2007, 06:12 PM
dazzle
post May 16 2007, 06:16 PM

Peace Seeker's
799 posts

I'm also using 7900 GS with Acbel PS2/450W Intelligent Power. No issue on this PSU. So far my pc is stable.
Hybrified
post May 16 2007, 11:03 PM

1,071 posts

agreed, i heard many bad stuff bout icute psu also laugh.gif but their casing nice nod.gif

PSU im using acbel ... so far so good ... just that sumtimes it make those bzzz noise sweat.gif
-pWs-
post May 16 2007, 11:41 PM

8,545 posts

ICute casing very cute...but not PSU. Just go for otehrs PSU like Acbel, Enermax, and so on.
So far so good with my Acbel and 79gs card smile.gif

-pWs-
TSCBT
post May 16 2007, 11:44 PM

Thanks guys for the advice.....

Kinda budget tight now after allocating the dough for 7900GS... My budget is sub RM 200
for PSU... so what the u guys think the below choices is sufficient and stable for my new coming 7900GS..

i) Enermax 350W FMA Iron
ii) Cooler Master 430W Extreme Power
iii) Enlight 400W 0r 450W True Power
iv) Acbel Polytech E2 350W 20/24 Pin
v) Thermal Take TR2 420W

All these are sub RM 200 PSU that i find at lowyat pricelist....which i kinda hope can get the job done.

Further advice from u guys will be helpful. Hope that i do not need to breach above the RM 200 budget... Damn..for the sake of gaming..really burns my wallet !!

TSCBT
post May 16 2007, 11:56 PM

Laksamana was saying something like looking for sustainable rating,...i can't seem to find or i might not know which is the figure .....

Anyway, im attaching the pictures taken on the PSU..kinda blurry taken on handphone..
yupihas
post May 17 2007, 12:25 AM

171 posts

Only max power written shakehead.gif

dude iCUTE sux lol Change to enermax or acbel with at least 400W true power... Dont take the risk of burning everything in ur rig la... Risikio rosak semua but jimat duit buat sementara waktu or tambah duit skit dan hati senang thumbup.gif ?

fuzagi
post May 17 2007, 12:48 AM

Cushcushiers
1,052 posts

im running 7900GT with acbel 350w..but 7900gt box states that it require 450W though
ltw82
post May 17 2007, 12:12 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(CBT @ May 16 2007, 11:44 PM)
Thanks guys for the advice.....

Kinda budget tight now after allocating the dough for 7900GS... My budget is sub RM 200
for PSU... so what the u guys think the below choices is sufficient and stable for my new coming 7900GS..

i)  Enermax 350W FMA Iron
ii) Cooler Master 430W Extreme Power
iii) Enlight 400W 0r 450W True Power
iv) Acbel Polytech E2 350W 20/24 Pin
v) Thermal Take TR2 420W

if u like Cooler Master brand go for 500w Extreme Power would be better, rm220...
brows.gif
suggest hunt for Enermax 370w FMA II if still under ur budget...
shakehead.gif
dun even try 7900gs on icute... even 6600gt is on the border-line limit for icute...
- L e O -
post May 17 2007, 01:14 PM

No Music No Life
1,995 posts

QUOTE(ltw82 @ May 17 2007, 12:12 PM)
if u like Cooler Master brand go for 500w Extreme Power would be better, rm220...
brows.gif
suggest hunt for Enermax 370w FMA II if still under ur budget...
shakehead.gif
dun even try 7900gs on icute... even 6600gt is on the border-line limit for icute...
last time i tried 6800 on 450 watt capalang psu, within 2 months inconsistence graphic performance, 3dmark score flunctuate up and down, play game half way hang, pc keep on restart, after 2 months, psu totally kong,btw its icute psu doh.gif
lelong2007
post May 17 2007, 01:33 PM

arissto premium coffee looking for experience salesman / salesg
704 posts

same with me here i cute psu really cannot trust ...

0.0193sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:43 PM