CAD design for Plastic injection moulding parts
TSknnthty
May 7 2018, 06:59 PM, updated 8y ago
Hi peeps,
Im in the process of designing and fabricating some plastic injection moulded parts for a gardening project im working on. Anyone here has any experience with industrial/product design for injection moulded parts? I dont have any experience in product design/manufacturing and would appreciate some pointers on this.
Tariq_H
May 7 2018, 07:07 PM
QUOTE(knnthty @ May 7 2018, 06:59 PM) Hi peeps, Im in the process of designing and fabricating some plastic injection moulded parts for a gardening project im working on. Anyone here has any experience with industrial/product design for injection moulded parts? I dont have any experience in product design/manufacturing and would appreciate some pointers on this. Thanks I work for 8 years in mold design before. I may help you with your project.
TSknnthty
May 7 2018, 08:27 PM
QUOTE(Tariq_H @ May 7 2018, 07:07 PM) I work for 8 years in mold design before. I may help you with your project. Thanks! PM'ed.
ZoomGarde
May 7 2018, 10:13 PM

QUOTE(Tariq_H @ May 7 2018, 07:07 PM) I work for 8 years in mold design before. I may help you with your project. Very interested in knowing how much does it need for mould design and fabrication.. Pls do Pm me as well. Becuz i am thinking to fabricated a plastic casing for a blower machine
Tariq_H
May 8 2018, 08:46 AM
QUOTE(ZoomGarde @ May 7 2018, 10:13 PM) Very interested in knowing how much does it need for mould design and fabrication.. Pls do Pm me as well. Becuz i am thinking to fabricated a plastic casing for a blower machine Easily 30k above, depends on how complex is your product design. It is not economical if you want to make a few pieces, unless for mass production.
ZoomGarde
May 8 2018, 11:22 AM

QUOTE(Tariq_H @ May 8 2018, 08:46 AM) Easily 30k above, depends on how complex is your product design. It is not economical if you want to make a few pieces, unless for mass production. Oh i see.. This RM30k is for trial and error until the real design is done and finalized?
Tariq_H
May 8 2018, 01:55 PM
It's the price of the mold. That price is lower end need to see the design for better estimation, price are until final product trial and error
ian.curtis P
Apr 15 2019, 09:24 PM
QUOTE(knnthty @ May 7 2018, 06:59 PM) Hi peeps, Im in the process of designing and fabricating some plastic injection moulded parts for a gardening project im working on. Anyone here has any experience with industrial/product design for injection moulded parts? I dont have any experience in product design/manufacturing and would appreciate some pointers on this. Thanks Hi, maybe the best way is just to contact some injection molder. They probably will be able to help you to adjust the design so you can actually produce the thing and they will help you to choose the material, do a prototype, fix the issues in performance etc. You have mentioned that you have some gardening project, does mean that you are looking for some biodegradable eco-friendly materials? If yes, check this case study https://polymermedics.com/blog/cases/how-we...adable-catheter, I believe the same guys will be able to help with a project itself, good luck!
altan
May 12 2019, 01:49 PM

Proper mold injection are extremely pricy unless you really want to commercialize the product say at least 10k pieces.
A cheap alternative for prototyping or small scale production in plastic would be 3D printing. Thought don't expect it to be cheap since it can go from hundreds to thousands of ringgit depending on the design.
Pm me or see my sig below for 3D printing services.