LYN PROTON IRIZ OWNER THREAD V9, Fun, meet feisty.

red4900
post Dec 3 2018, 06:57 AM

464 posts

I'm thinking of getting a used Iriz.

Would anyone be so kind to let me know what's the cons, things to lookout for, etc for this car. My concern is on reliability and maintenance (ease and price). Just for comparison sake, my current car is M2 Skyactiv.

Video reviews are either biased or too new (the review was done right after the car comes out). Similarly, the other review in previous thread version is also too new. I'm looking for mid-long term perspective.
red4900
post Dec 3 2018, 07:38 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(annas473 @ Dec 3 2018, 08:45 AM)
Trans Cvt / Mt

Maintenance: Cheaper rm2xx - 3xx for 10k km or less. Original Part can buy from sc or any source

Cons:
punch cvt not like old at
Ratling sound come and go

Pros:
Ancap star
Good handling

50/50:
Fuel consumption
So if I'm test driving a 2-3 years old Iriz, any issue I should look out for?
red4900
post Dec 14 2018, 09:56 PM

464 posts

Okay, got the Iriz finally - bought a used one. Standard 1.3.

The shop only gave me 1 key with remote, another 1 is just key without remote. I think the original owner lost it, and just duplicated the key. The key works though.

Question: how do I lock/unlock the door without using the remote?

Thinking of getting a reverse cam, possibly with a display that can support MirrorLink or AndroidAuto. Anyone has any recommendation?
red4900
post Dec 17 2018, 06:00 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(hawk1lo @ Dec 17 2018, 09:23 AM)
wow so the key without remote can start the car? i thought the remote got immobilizer and need close proximity only can start damnn
lol now that u said it... Let me clarify. I tested the key with the original key in my pocket. That could be why it works lol

QUOTE(azyune @ Dec 17 2018, 12:43 PM)
If going for aftermarket lcd HU almost all got support for external reverse cam which is just matter of your choice in budget and what brand/model. look for rm1k-rm3k range model  biggrin.gif
If i just go for any OEM brand, 600-800, boleh percaya ke. Whats the diff cheap and expensive one

Sorry never bought HU before. If all the differences is the cheapo one dont support bluetooth, or no handsfree, just lack of features, i would be fine i think.
red4900
post Dec 17 2018, 11:09 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(annas473 @ Dec 17 2018, 10:16 PM)
the feel, malfunction etc.. Recommended to get reputable audio brand
Whats the reputable audio brand? I really noob car's accessories lol

I know sony, blaupunkt has some audio stuffs for car, but dunno whether they are the normal brand or high tier brand.
red4900
post Dec 30 2018, 10:45 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(marquess9527 @ Dec 27 2018, 08:56 AM)
"Battery low" once, "CVT malfunction" few times...
What are we supposed to do if have "cvt malfunction"? This is during driving or during starting car?
red4900
post Dec 31 2018, 12:05 PM

464 posts

I filled up 20 litres petrol for the car, and after driving roughly 75-90km the fuel indicator only dropped 1 bar from full bar. Doesnt seem to make sense.

Is the fuel sensor gone wrong or memang the fuel tank's size is irregular causing this?
red4900
post Jan 12 2019, 10:09 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Jan 12 2019, 09:06 PM)
Genuine?
Fuel filter saja, no difference la ori or oem

Not a complex part, just get oem and save urself from headache lol
red4900
post Jan 13 2019, 06:07 AM

464 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Jan 12 2019, 10:56 PM)
Can I just buy my own fuel filter and ask Proton CS to change it on my next service?

Does it against their policy bla bla bla?
Eh i lupa. It will void warranty

If no warranty diff story la
red4900
post Jan 22 2019, 07:38 AM

464 posts

Has anyone installed rear wiper for Iriz?

How much the cost? Buat kat mana?
red4900
post Jan 22 2019, 04:52 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(khairilyazit @ Jan 22 2019, 04:36 PM)
Install or change?
RM22+ kat Proton SC iinm..

If Standard model, can add meh?
Install new

I dont know whether can or cannot

Thats why ask here first lol. Possible tak nak add new?
red4900
post Jun 9 2019, 08:28 PM

464 posts

Havent driven the iriz for 4 weeks, my battery went flat.

Changed battery, now i have yellow check engine light

Anybody have same experience?
red4900
post Jun 9 2019, 09:08 PM

464 posts

QUOTE(azyune @ Jun 9 2019, 08:38 PM)
Every time replacing the battery it will light up due to ecu resetting. It will be gone later or on the next day
Do we need to manually reset the ecu when change the battery? Do i need to go to shop or this is all done automatically?

This post has been edited by red4900: Jun 9 2019, 09:09 PM
red4900
post Jun 10 2019, 10:08 PM

464 posts

I wanna do 60km / 3 years service. MyProton app say it's RM750.

Would it be cheaper or better if i do it outside? Car dont have warranty anymore, prev owner nvr service with SC.

My only concern with outside shop is trustworthiness, so if anyone can recommend any shop in Shah Alam/PJ that can do the job, I'm all ears.

0.0232sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:27 PM