LYN PROTON IRIZ OWNER THREAD V9, Fun, meet feisty.

Jaredion
post Feb 21 2019, 10:45 AM

QUOTE(fever003 @ Mar 4 2016, 05:09 PM)
Ok thanks all for the input. I shall try BHP 95 then. There  is one nearby my house.

Will update you guys next week after finishing current Petronas fuel.
I’m driving Iris 1.3 executive 2015 April model.
Is there anyone knows the solution for the engine knocking noise?
Other than knocking noise some weird metal scratching noise appear near Vvt pulley that area.
My car had been haunting me for 3 years already and went to CoSe Hicom proton HQ SC can’t even give actual comment on it.
They still give me the same answer we check first.

Can anyone please help me out?
Anyone here encounter the same issue?

Jaredion
post Feb 21 2019, 11:16 PM

QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ Feb 21 2019, 10:54 AM)
Knocking was informed by CoSE that it's because of RON95... Should go away if you use RON97 because the SA said Campro is designed with use of RON97..  whistling.gif

Haven't experience "weird metal scratching noise appear near Vvt pulley" so can't comment much..
Which means there wont be any solution for it?

But dont u think its abnormal since not every car engine had the same issue?
If everyone has this problem then its merely acceptable only..
Well as an engineer should solve this issue not just say its normal and designed suitable for that certain fuel. confused.gif doh.gif

How are you going to compete with other brand of cars... No wonder everyone elder than me 20-30 years also say never believe in Proton..
Thought of giving a slight hope but turn out really hopeless.... rclxub.gif shakehead.gif
Jaredion
post Mar 4 2019, 03:13 PM

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Feb 22 2019, 12:44 AM)
I don't have such problem, I'm lucky I guess?  hmm.gif
During ur drive with constant speed about 40-60km/h also no sound? Cling cling cling metal knocking sound.
Jaredion
post Mar 4 2019, 03:16 PM

QUOTE(xcves @ Feb 28 2019, 08:46 PM)
still prefer old bunga raya rim..

anyway, tall boxy chassis is outdated already.

last time we always laugh at myvi even we had similar design because we had way better ride and handling where we can drive better and not turtle as easily..

but these days, the tall design really tak boleh pakai dy. suddenly makes iriz and this new facelift iriz look so so so outdated.

edit: im glad i went for myvi 2019 then.. before this i was deciding to get a 2nd car and it was between get back an iriz or go for new myvi. i was seriously considering waiting for this 2019 iriz but then i decided to just give new myvi a try instead..
Hahahahaha.. you still had the consideration on getting a iriz?
Which means that you don’t have any issue regarding engine pinging/knocking noise problem?

Jaredion
post Mar 7 2019, 05:39 PM

QUOTE(xcves @ Mar 4 2019, 04:38 PM)
Mine got when going up those ramp carparks..

The sound will come when engine below 2k rpm..

Those metal sound like driving old rusting falling apart cars right..
Yup this is it!
Sometimes I had it all day long while driving on straight flat roads.
Then I decide to go service centre made appointment and suddenly on that day it went empty.. lol betul!!!

Mind blown 🤯 totally

Meanwhile thanks for the reply..
Yet I still assumes that 20% of iriz total production had this issue.. Which is unacceptably fail.. in quality control.. shame on Proton manufacturer.
Jaredion
post Mar 16 2019, 01:17 AM

QUOTE(fever003 @ Mar 10 2019, 02:27 PM)
hey i have been battling this pinging sound since 2016. no solution until today.  Proton did update my ECU in Oct 2018, but it was temporary solution and came back after a week or two. I have also tried pumping in full BHP Ron97, but it doesn't improve much.

If anyone has any solution, please do let me know. Kind of getting sick of this pinging  sound, getting louder year by year.
Indeed.. Well I'll just leave it as it is drive until there is problem... disappointed to the MAX

0.0205sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:19 PM