221 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Bottom

LYN PROTON IRIZ OWNER THREAD V9, Fun, meet feisty.

WiLeKiyO
post Apr 9 2019, 02:50 PM

5,144 posts

Just to confirm, changing head unit will void warranty?
camel90
post Apr 9 2019, 04:26 PM

Go-Kart racer, Amature Race Driver
1,314 posts

QUOTE(khairilyazit @ Apr 8 2019, 07:33 PM)
Bendik MKT is metallic based pads and the original is usually organic based pads. Metallic base is more heat resistant.. it'll hold up to high brake application, downhill runs better.. it doesn't fade as much.. but it is abit slow to warm and the cold brake application feel is not as sharp.. metallic pads also tend to use up the rotor much more.. leading to earlier rotor replacement.. it also generate alot of brake dust.. dirty your rims faster..

Organic base dont hold up to heat as good. But it has better initial braking and cold braking characteristics. It also dont eat the rotor so fast and less brake dust..

Anything i'm missing?
QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ Apr 9 2019, 09:11 AM)
Based on my experience with Bendix, it's the other way round on the brake dust. The rest is pretty much like what you mentioned.

P/S: CoSE has informed me before that if non-Proton brake pads are used, warranty to braking system is considered null & void. Harap maklum.  whistling.gif
QUOTE(khairilyazit @ Apr 9 2019, 11:07 AM)
My suprima has lots of brake dust on stock and bendix. Moved to trw and the dust lessen..

Iriz still on stock pads.. maybe gonna try bendix general ct for a change..
Thanks guys. A lot of info for me. Much appreciated notworthy.gif

I was using Bendix MTK a few years back on Viva. Of course the effect was awesome because unlike proton, viva's brake pad (RM30) is shitty. Hence, i posted here for your feedback on iriz. Hehe notworthy.gif

Anyway, just did a conversion to Bendix by DIY. The Iriz is driven by my mom ever since i got my Preve and hopefully the less power on cold braking doesn't affect her much (since she's driving slow around town). Will update you all on the feedback if any. rclxms.gif

jVIPERs2
post Apr 10 2019, 09:20 AM

LY.N Enthusiast
1,675 posts

QUOTE(camel90 @ Apr 9 2019, 04:26 PM)
Thanks guys. A lot of info for me. Much appreciated  notworthy.gif

I was using Bendix MTK a few years back on Viva. Of course the effect was awesome because unlike proton, viva's brake pad (RM30) is shitty. Hence, i posted here for your feedback on iriz. Hehe notworthy.gif

Anyway, just did a conversion to Bendix by DIY. The Iriz is driven by my mom ever since i got my Preve and hopefully the less power on cold braking doesn't affect her much (since she's driving slow around town). Will update you all on the feedback if any. rclxms.gif
I guess there shouldn't be a concern on the cold braking since we have BA & EBD... hmm.gif
WiLeKiyO
post Apr 10 2019, 10:03 AM

5,144 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Apr 9 2019, 02:50 PM)
Just to confirm, changing head unit will void warranty?
Anyone?
khairilyazit
post Apr 10 2019, 01:09 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ Apr 10 2019, 09:20 AM)
I guess there shouldn't be a concern on the cold braking since we have BA & EBD...  hmm.gif
Brake assist is an active vehicle safety feature designed to help drivers come to a stop more quickly during an episode of emergency braking.

EBD stands for electronic brake-force distribution. In this, a system measures the position of front and rear wheels and when brake is applied, it adjusts the braking power to maximise the braking power according to the road angle, car load, etc

answer from google..

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Apr 10 2019, 10:03 AM)
Anyone?
Yes it will. Voids HU warranty. Wiring warranty. Speakers. apa lagi connected to HU.
WiLeKiyO
post Apr 10 2019, 01:33 PM

5,144 posts

QUOTE(khairilyazit @ Apr 10 2019, 01:09 PM)
Brake assist is an active vehicle safety feature designed to help drivers come to a stop more quickly during an episode of emergency braking.

EBD stands for electronic brake-force distribution. In this, a system measures the position of front and rear wheels and when brake is applied, it adjusts the braking power to maximise the braking power according to the road angle, car load, etc

answer from google..
Yes it will. Voids HU warranty. Wiring warranty. Speakers. apa lagi connected to HU.
Ok noted.

Can't really stand the stock head unit anymore.
khairilyazit
post Apr 10 2019, 01:38 PM

406 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Apr 10 2019, 01:33 PM)
Ok noted.

Can't really stand the stock head unit anymore.
change jer.. make sure they use converter socket.. ask them dont cut ori socket..
WiLeKiyO
post Apr 10 2019, 03:04 PM

5,144 posts

QUOTE(khairilyazit @ Apr 10 2019, 01:38 PM)
change jer.. make sure they use converter socket.. ask them dont cut ori socket..
Hmmm, what do you mean?
annas473
post Apr 10 2019, 03:24 PM

813 posts

QUOTE(khairilyazit @ Apr 8 2019, 07:33 PM)
Bendik MKT is metallic based pads and the original is usually organic based pads. Metallic base is more heat resistant.. it'll hold up to high brake application, downhill runs better.. it doesn't fade as much.. but it is abit slow to warm and the cold brake application feel is not as sharp.. metallic pads also tend to use up the rotor much more.. leading to earlier rotor replacement.. it also generate alot of brake dust.. dirty your rims faster..

Organic base dont hold up to heat as good. But it has better initial braking and cold braking characteristics. It also dont eat the rotor so fast and less brake dust..

Anything i'm missing?
Stock doing great for me so far at sepang trackday.
RM300 from sc
I'm thinking to have others better options for the amount i paid
theWeird_Weird
post Apr 10 2019, 05:53 PM

1,063 posts

anyone of you face the issue like the car cant start after a long day at work?

normally after pressing the start button it will have some sound and then the engine start up.

But sometimes after tekan the start, it only has the cranking sound for long and then the engine fail to start. Then have to retry 2nd time then only can start. bruce.gif
1.5years old car.
KennRicky
post Apr 10 2019, 08:32 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(theWeird_Weird @ Apr 10 2019, 05:53 PM)

normally after pressing the start button it will have some sound and then the engine start up.

But sometimes after tekan the start, it only has the cranking sound for long and then the engine fail to start. Then have to retry 2nd time then only can start. bruce.gif 
1.5years old car.
Can be many reason de wo.
Starter, Battery, Fuel Pam, etc.
Need to go back Proton to check ~
annas473
post Apr 10 2019, 09:24 PM

813 posts

QUOTE(theWeird_Weird @ Apr 10 2019, 05:53 PM)

1.5years old car.
Got message appear at your speedometer info?
megadisc
post Apr 10 2019, 09:47 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Jun 7 2018, 12:43 AM)
I agree some SC are bad, that's why I only go to Proton's main SC at Shah Alam(CoSE) to avoid headaches and getting scammed.

I brought my IRIZ 2 years ago as well, so far there is no major problem.

But if you let me choose today, I would have pick the new Myvi.
same same

going on a road trip from jb to melaka and reaching 25K

wanna send for maintenance
- do advise what to check besides engine oil and coolant

thanks .
annas473
post Apr 11 2019, 10:14 AM

813 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Apr 10 2019, 09:47 PM)
same same

going on a road trip from jb to melaka and reaching 25K

wanna send for maintenance
- do advise what to check besides engine oil and coolant

thanks .
Tyre
Brake
Rooftop rubber
Wiper water
Battery health
megadisc
post Apr 11 2019, 10:24 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(annas473 @ Apr 11 2019, 10:14 AM)
Tyre
Brake
Rooftop rubber
Wiper water
Battery health
Thanks for sharing

Is it required to go workshop to check all these ??
C2KBAS2005
post Apr 11 2019, 10:54 AM

185 posts

QUOTE(annas473 @ Apr 10 2019, 03:24 PM)
Stock doing great for me so far at sepang trackday.
RM300 from sc
I'm thinking to have others better options for the amount i paid
had a shock when i send my car for routine service (every 6 months as my car less used) and complaint about the brake giving some sound when braking.....was told my front brake pad need to chance....my car is about 3.5 years with less the 28k km......the front brake pad cost rm299.80....not cheap to maintain our iriz.

Correction.....4.5years old car..... another 6 more months of warranty.....after this will service outside 😎😎😎

This post has been edited by C2KBAS2005: Apr 11 2019, 08:20 PM
kaliku
post Apr 11 2019, 11:08 AM

447 posts

QUOTE(C2KBAS2005 @ Apr 11 2019, 10:54 AM)
had a shock when i send my car for routine service (every 6 months as my car less used) and complaint about the brake giving some sound when braking.....was told my front brake pad need to chance....my car is about 3.5 years with less the 28k km......the front brake pad cost rm299.80....not cheap to maintain our iriz.
My 1.3 Iriz 3years old with 59k KM also haven't change brakepads. Serviced regularly at 10k KM interval.

How come yours need to change?
TAN WENG
post Apr 11 2019, 11:19 AM

145 posts

Axia front brake pad also rm290😭
megadisc
post Apr 11 2019, 11:39 AM

4,349 posts

No alternate parts ???

I also haven't changed since seldom drive

Have road trip tomorrow
jVIPERs2
post Apr 11 2019, 12:43 PM

LY.N Enthusiast
1,675 posts

It's the standard price Proton charges for the brake pads.

Make sure they show you and you're wise enough to know whether your brakepads are worn out enough to require a change.

Mine miraculously managed to grow and increase usability from 20k to 30k service... cool2.gif

221 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0179sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:02 PM