One more model of storage type is SEERS. You can leave it on all the time and it self regulates. No direct contact with any electrical components. So far been using it, its quite stable.
storage heater or instant heater? which one safer?
Jun 20 2018, 12:44 PM
180 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
One more model of storage type is SEERS. You can leave it on all the time and it self regulates. No direct contact with any electrical components. So far been using it, its quite stable.
Jun 4 2023, 01:09 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
14,251 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
Jun 29 2023, 08:02 PM
163 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
Jun 29 2023, 08:33 PM
QUOTE(yuen300 @ Jun 29 2023, 08:02 PM) Can ask which model is it? i chose CS-60L (60 litre) which is good enough for me since only two persons in my house. Since it seems like there are not much shop selling, even Lazada also dont have much seller as well. it is not big but decent for 2 persons and with rooms to support by provinding enough hot power for more ppl to bath concurrently. this is bolehland products and they are suprisingly good which I had used it since 2014 and it has not given me any problem so far. it is using DC power also so it will be safer as well. but of course technically storage heater has no risk comparing to instant heater that has electronic components exposed directly inside the bathroom. yes, super hard to find now. not many shops are selling this i think. last time i bought it from home fair, one of the authorised seller is selling this at the fair. http://seers.com.my/products/appliance-pro...e-water-heater/ |
Jun 30 2023, 11:41 AM
QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 29 2023, 09:33 PM) i chose CS-60L (60 litre) which is good enough for me since only two persons in my house. I see. Thanks for the replies. Guess I have to call them to find out for their seller.it is not big but decent for 2 persons and with rooms to support by provinding enough hot power for more ppl to bath concurrently. this is bolehland products and they are suprisingly good which I had used it since 2014 and it has not given me any problem so far. it is using DC power also so it will be safer as well. but of course technically storage heater has no risk comparing to instant heater that has electronic components exposed directly inside the bathroom. yes, super hard to find now. not many shops are selling this i think. last time i bought it from home fair, one of the authorised seller is selling this at the fair. http://seers.com.my/products/appliance-pro...e-water-heater/ |
Jun 30 2023, 11:49 AM
QUOTE(yuen300 @ Jun 30 2023, 11:41 AM) no prob. this is a 'niche' brand i would say, even many local bolehland ppl may not be aware of this brand. so far so good. no complaint. it still works like charm and i never even off it at all. 24x7 on for consistent hot water supply. it is using DC so i supposed that even it is on 24x7 it should not consume too much electricity. it can adjust temperature as well. so technically one can adjust lower temperature for it to maintain to lower down the electricity consumption if one has no many family members at home (technically higher temperature water can be used for more ppl at once) to keep it on 24x7 i guess. i do not know actually if storage heater should be on 24x7 or though or it should be off when not using. (tried to find this info online but no result, if u know, do let me know as well. haha) This post has been edited by westlife: Jun 30 2023, 11:54 AM |
Jun 30 2023, 11:54 AM
11,667 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang/Subang |
QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 29 2023, 08:33 PM) i chose CS-60L (60 litre) which is good enough for me since only two persons in my house. AC/DC does not matter (no difference) for a heater (resistive load). Mktg gimmick 1it is not big but decent for 2 persons and with rooms to support by provinding enough hot power for more ppl to bath concurrently. this is bolehland products and they are suprisingly good which I had used it since 2014 and it has not given me any problem so far. it is using DC power also so it will be safer as well. but of course technically storage heater has no risk comparing to instant heater that has electronic components exposed directly inside the bathroom. yes, super hard to find now. not many shops are selling this i think. last time i bought it from home fair, one of the authorised seller is selling this at the fair. http://seers.com.my/products/appliance-pro...e-water-heater/ Storage heater also same principle of dipping a metal heating element into water "like an electric kettle". Mktg gimmick 2 |
Jun 30 2023, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 30 2023, 11:54 AM) AC/DC does not matter (no difference) for a heater (resistive load). Mktg gimmick 1 is it? this is what seers claim though. Storage heater also same principle of dipping a metal heating element into water "like an electric kettle". Mktg gimmick 2 not an electrician or engineer so cannot tell. anyway, using storage heater does not have direct connect to any metal so technically it should still to be safe to used in bathroom than instant heater. for my model, it claims that: ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Seers CS-60L Horizontal Single Tank DC Storage Heater 435MM (W) x 410MM (H) x 735MM (L) 60L Description In comparison to traditional electric storage water heater, our low energy consumption DC-Heater can reduce water heating costs up to 40%, thereby conserving energy and emitting low levels of carbon dioxide. The DC-Heater is designed for easy installation anywhere: it is compact and can be mounted on the wall in order to save space. The DC Powered Hot Water System can also be fitted into any existing storage heater household. Features Dimensions: 435mm (W) x 410mm (H) x 735mm (L) . No heating elements and no risk of electrical shock. 100% hot water consistency. Adjustable temperature. Temperature indicator. Eco-friendly. Provision of safe cables. Dry run protection. Good insulation. Low power usage (480 watts) rendering 60% energy saving. Lasts for long-term usage. This post has been edited by westlife: Jun 30 2023, 11:59 AM |
Jun 30 2023, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 30 2023, 11:56 AM) is it? this is what seers claim though. surely this storage heater element doesn't look plastic to menot an electrician or engineer so cannot tell. anyway, using storage heater does not have direct connect to any metal so technically it should still to be safe to used in bathroom than instant heater. Attached thumbnail(s) |
Jun 30 2023, 12:02 PM
Jun 30 2023, 12:05 PM
QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 30 2023, 12:02 PM) u are talking about different brands? you mentioned storage heater.seers is what i am referring to. i dun believe that these are marketing gimmick. ![]() the heat can create from nowhere? lemme refresh physics class: The law of conservation of energy states that energy can neither be created nor destroyed - only converted from one form of energy to another. This means that a system always has the same amount of energy, unless it's added from the outside. via heat source via heat transfer This post has been edited by ceo684: Jun 30 2023, 12:07 PM Attached thumbnail(s) |
Jun 30 2023, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jun 30 2023, 12:05 PM) you mentioned storage heater. to me, if i dare to advertise that way. the way they do must be different from the rest of manufacturers. the heat can create from nowhere? The law of conservation of energy states that energy can neither be created nor destroyed - only converted from one form of energy to another. This means that a system always has the same amount of energy, unless it's added from the outside. via heat source via heat transfer and as a consumer, i am not into understanding so detailed of their techniical working principle. anyway, i am happy with the product overall. http://seers.com.my/products/appliance-pro...e-water-heater/ No Risk Of Electrocution The SEERS Hybrid Hot Water System is the world’s first eco-friendly hybrid technology that enables users to enjoy hot water that is powered by an easy-to-operate 12 Volt DC system. The system incorporates a revolutionary technology that offers an efficient heat transfer technique, where energy is extracted from the ambient air to produce hot water without the use of heating elements, electric boosters or hermetic compressors. Using only 12-Volt DC power consumption, the system is not only cost effective, but is also very safe to use. This post has been edited by westlife: Jun 30 2023, 12:10 PM |
Jun 30 2023, 12:09 PM
QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 30 2023, 12:08 PM) to me, if i dare to advertise that way. the way they do must be different from the rest of manufacturers. no zebra crossing, we only use pedestrian x-ing marketing gimmick lah.and as a consumer, i am not into understanding so detailed of their techniical working principle. anyway, i am happy with the product overall. http://seers.com.my/products/appliance-pro...e-water-heater/ so they using the warm side of peltier lah tu good luck with TNB bill This post has been edited by ceo684: Jun 30 2023, 12:11 PM |
Jul 1 2023, 11:36 AM
That why I am interested with Seers because of what they advertis. Was like thinking to speak to their distributor or at least see the item to make the decision.
For the heater water storage, actually what we need to look out for? Since been survey few common brands, Joven, Alpha and Elton, all their spec looks identical to me, how do we all select or make decision? Besides that, anyone know anything that we should be aware of when install, any precautions can take to prevent electrocution? |
Jul 1 2023, 11:50 AM
QUOTE(yuen300 @ Jul 1 2023, 11:36 AM) That why I am interested with Seers because of what they advertis. Was like thinking to speak to their distributor or at least see the item to make the decision. Make sure to have 10mA RCD fitted for each water heater + 30mA for whole house RCD.For the heater water storage, actually what we need to look out for? Since been survey few common brands, Joven, Alpha and Elton, all their spec looks identical to me, how do we all select or make decision? Besides that, anyone know anything that we should be aware of when install, any precautions can take to prevent electrocution? Brand of heater up to you. All the same function (electric kettle). This post has been edited by ceo684: Jul 1 2023, 11:53 AM Attached thumbnail(s) yuen300 liked this post
Jul 1 2023, 03:31 PM
Jul 5 2023, 12:37 PM
149 posts Joined: Feb 2021 |
Nearly got Seers as well last time, and after I surveying around electrical stores, hearsay from a salesperson that Seers is facing trouble from SIRIM / Suruhanjaya Tenaga for marketing misrepresentation, because some Australia / New Zealand buyers got the wrong info (they thought Seers is DC-powered due to this marketing misrepresentation), so they purchased Seers storage water heater to be installed in their camper trailer or RV. And when they found out they can't use Seers in their RV, they filed multiple complaints even to SIRIM / Suruhanjaya Tenaga.
I believe in Malaysia, no electric storage water heater, regardless of brands, are DC-powered, all should be AC-powered. ![]() This screenshot is taken from Seers' website. See how they mentioned that their storage water heater is a DC Powered Hot Water System (highlighted in yellow) but the product specification (bracketed in red) shows rated voltage is 240V and frequency is 50/60Hz. I am no engineer so please correct me if I am wrong, but the product specification's rated voltage and frequency is basically saying the product is AC-powered, because DC should be no frequency (0Hz). I believe this is marketing misrepresentation? |
Jul 5 2023, 03:58 PM
149 posts Joined: Feb 2021 |
QUOTE(yuen300 @ Jul 1 2023, 11:36 AM) For the heater water storage, actually what we need to look out for? Sharing my research I have done last time - there are 2 conventional storage water heaters tank technology in the market:Since been survey few common brands, Joven, Alpha and Elton, all their spec looks identical to me, how do we all select or make decision? 1. Enamel-coated tank | newer technology, more leak-resistance, and more economical - CENTON, ALPHA, MIDEA are using this. 2. Stainless steel tank | old technology, more prone to leaking at high pressure, higher material cost (stainless steel) - JOVEN and ELTON are still using this. Hence, better to go for enamel-coated tank brands. ![]() A quick search on Shopee, CENTON has the best-selling and the highest 5-star rated storage water heaters, eg. this Neptune Series. CENTON and ALPHA has nearly the same specs, with CENTON being slightly cheaper but ALPHA brand is more popular. MIDEA is way cheaper compared to the previous 2 Malaysian brands, maybe because MIDEA's power rating is only half of previous 2 (1.5kW for MIDEA and 3.0kW for CENTON and ALPHA), which means MIDEA takes much longer time to heat up. QUOTE(yuen300 @ Jul 1 2023, 11:36 AM) Besides that, anyone know anything that we should be aware of when install, any precautions can take to prevent electrocution? Adding on to ceo684's advice, make sure the storage water heater u buy comes with and has been installed together with 2 isolation barriers (for both inlet and outlet) to prevent current leakage from water heater to u, and 1 pressure relief valve at the inlet to prevent the inner tank from overpressure which may lead to leaking tank or even worst, explosion. Most SIRIM / Suruhanjaya Tenaga approved storage water heaters should already have this prefixed together.This post has been edited by Selene Yeo: Dec 14 2024, 10:16 PM |
Jul 9 2023, 06:26 AM
QUOTE(Selene Yeo @ Jul 5 2023, 12:37 PM) Nearly got Seers as well last time, and after I surveying around electrical stores, hearsay from a salesperson that Seers is facing trouble from SIRIM / Suruhanjaya Tenaga for marketing misrepresentation, because some Australia / New Zealand buyers got the wrong info (they thought Seers is DC-powered due to this marketing misrepresentation), so they purchased Seers storage water heater to be installed in their camper trailer or RV. And when they found out they can't use Seers in their RV, they filed multiple complaints even to SIRIM / Suruhanjaya Tenaga. so now seers is quiet/disappeared from the market becos of this?I believe in Malaysia, no electric storage water heater, regardless of brands, are DC-powered, all should be AC-powered. ![]() This screenshot is taken from Seers' website. See how they mentioned that their storage water heater is a DC Powered Hot Water System (highlighted in yellow) but the product specification (bracketed in red) shows rated voltage is 240V and frequency is 50/60Hz. I am no engineer so please correct me if I am wrong, but the product specification's rated voltage and frequency is basically saying the product is AC-powered, because DC should be no frequency (0Hz). I believe this is marketing misrepresentation? it is stated the rated power is 6xxW? does it still mean that it is more energy saving? |
Jul 9 2023, 01:12 PM
QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 9 2023, 06:26 AM) so now seers is quiet/disappeared from the market becos of this? It’s the same. Based on power formula is P = E/t, where P means power, E means energy, and t means time in seconds. This formula states that power is the consumption of energy per unit of time.it is stated the rated power is 6xxW? does it still mean that it is more energy saving? So if the energy is 1/5th (600W vs 3kW) It just means it will take five times longer to heat up (in a nutshell). Total energy needed is the same (assuming no cooling losses etc) Selene Yeo liked this post
| Change to: | 0.0217sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:45 PM |