KIA Spectra 1.6 (AT) Owner Thread, ...it's never too late to start

SUSMatrix
post May 16 2007, 07:08 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Sephia owner here...can join ar?? LOL.

Anyway, Sephia is an underpowered and petrol sucking car. But it's very comfortable and quality is way better than Plotong...well at least my imported Sephia....i heard local assembled Spectra got many problems also...sweat.gif..

Anyway, i wouldn't buy a KIA again if u ask me...FC is nightmare.

Btw, mine is 7 year old Sephia...still good. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Matrix: May 16 2007, 07:13 PM
SUSMatrix
post May 17 2007, 09:15 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ May 16 2007, 10:11 PM)
Maintenance is not so high laa
between 250 to 350 based on what u change laYea...the comfort is good though
especially cornerAt least it's better then Perdana  drool.gif Are u serious?
Gen 2?  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif At least Sephia is fully imported

Mine is 2001 model
the first batch to CKD in Gurun  laugh.gif
the first Spectra arrived in Malaysia is the CBU one, nearly RM85K that time
when the CKD model came out, it's around RM79K plus plus
then the cheaper one which is around RM69K plus plus
and now KIA got Spectra Novus model which is around RM78K plus plus

actually the RM69K model is very low in specs
not totally fully leather seat
cassette player, finishing on the door panel is cushion not leather like the previous model
no logo on the window frame so on n so forth

mine is nearly 6 years this year
so far so good, no major problem
timing belt ONLY RM480 changed with my friend, who is a KIA technician
former KIA technician who is opening his own workshop in Kajang
everything is cheaper there
when u go to KIA centre, the price is sky high
for the engine oil, i can get below RM150
and for changing timing belt there might cost u more than RM600
hee-hee....mine is the 69K version. And yes i recently change the timing belt also...can't remember but it's around RM450 plus minus. There this nifty little workshop in Sri Damansara (after the Penchala Toll Plaza/ One Utama) which is run by 2 young guys which were ex-KIA staff.

Still, i think it's more expensive than Plotong or P2 cars....i heard my friend changed his Wira timing belt recently for only RM3xx.

I would say the maintenance is a bit on the high side, but not too high until it's un-affordable. If u go KIA service centre, sure die...kena potong leher guaranteed...

btw, my engine is a bit loud nowadays compared to when it was younger, any tips to fix or remedy this (other than asking me change whole engine!)??

Added on May 17, 2007, 9:25 am
QUOTE(Tainted @ May 16 2007, 09:12 PM)
I'm very worried for the fc as said by many.
I currently looking at this as it's cheap.

But since the fc is hell,better look at something else.
Wise choice. I wouldn't buy another FC sucking machine since petrol price is skyrocketing thanks to Pak Lah.

Last time i bought Sephia, i knew it was petrol sucking, but at that time it was still affordable...(only around RM1.2/litre and TDM only naik a few cents every few years)...so i dun mind paying a little more petrol since i like the car...but nowdays...all signs point to petrol is going up until no-subsidy level soon...when it reaches RM2.6/litre, you'll be crying with a petrol sucking machine....

Now i only use my Sephia as weekend car and to go outstation. City driving i use MYVI.

If ur buying this car mainly for work and city driving, dun have a big budget, need a big loan, then i would seriously suggest u get a cheaper smaller and FC saving car.

AFAIK, stay away from Korean cars....all petrol sucking black hole...Hyundai also the same (ATOS, GETZ) etc. Japanese cars too expensive unless u have 80K budget for a Hinda City/Toyota Vios.

Anyway, it depends on ur budget and purpose.

This post has been edited by Matrix: May 17 2007, 09:25 AM

0.0200sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:49 AM