Nvidia prepares to shrink G80 to make a G90

TSLemmings
post May 16 2007, 01:04 AM, updated 19y ago

522 posts

NVIDIA still has to launch a few G8x cards and is mulling an upgrade to its high-end offerings.

The firm would like to double up on G80 to a GX2 dual-chip version, if it can conquer the heat and power management problems that poses. After that it will be time for G9x flavour, codenamed G90, our senior industry sources tell us.

Those same sources say Nvidia needs a more cost-efficient way of producing G9x high-end chip based on the G80 marchitecture. Chances are that Nvidia is working with TSMC to produce the chips on a 65 nanometre process. The resultant shrunken chips would work with much higher frequencies, and powered with GDDR4. But we still have to confirm these details.

There are two challenges going down to 80 or 65 nanometres from the current 90. An optical shrink from 90 to 80 nanometre doesn't allow much space for clock speed increases. You cannot go much higher than 700+ MHz depending on the chip marchitecture. It

Going down to 65 nanometre is not an optical shrink and presents a major engineering challenge. That's why it took AMD ages to go from 90 nanometre CPUs to 65. And graphics chips are even more challenging to shrink. Nvidia will go 65 nanometre with G78 and if this goes well it will probably try to move all its chip to 65nm in order to make more money per wafer.

If Nvidia makes G80 smaller there may also be just enough space for 512-bit controller. If all goes as planned, the chip is scheduled for second part of 2007. We will keep our ears open. Nvidia never comments out forward-looking stories.

SOURCE

Hope this is not posted yet. So, G90 will be coming out soon? smile.gif
ikanayam
post May 16 2007, 01:24 AM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

Not soon. At least not the top end as far as i know. Earliest should be towards December this year, but possibly later.
obefiend
post May 16 2007, 04:35 AM

Selamat Hari Raya Aidilluminati
863 posts

sweet that could mean the 8 series hoing down in price.then i can get a second GTX and SLI the sum beyotch
Hornet
post May 16 2007, 10:09 AM

What?
4,251 posts

G90 is suppose to be codename for next generation of GPU GeForce 9 already, right? unsure.gif

sounds too soon to be true

This post has been edited by Hornet: May 16 2007, 10:10 AM
jcliew
post May 16 2007, 10:55 AM

Retired Enthusiast
889 posts

GeForce 8-series still cooking hot not ppls edi start talking bout 9-series ah? doh.gif
dun u guys think it's kinda early now? sweat.gif
charge-n-go
post May 16 2007, 11:00 AM

4,060 posts

IIRC, a GPU with new u-architecture will surface every 18 months. Not sure if this is still the trend.
stone13
post May 16 2007, 11:02 AM

272 posts

thanks for the info man later will change my graphic card
AceCombat
post May 16 2007, 11:38 AM

5,434 posts

will it be the hot topic 8900GTX chipset?
mADmAN
post May 16 2007, 11:46 AM

10,530 posts

dammit! i was just thingking of picking up an 8800gts 320mb end of the month... i pray it doesnt come out soon...if it comes out late next year im fine tongue.gif

now should i get a 7300gt and wait for the new ones or should i just whack in the 8800gts?? hmm.gif
ikanayam
post May 16 2007, 11:51 AM

there are no pacts between fish and men
10,544 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ May 15 2007, 10:46 PM)
dammit! i was just thingking of picking up an 8800gts 320mb end of the month... i pray it doesnt come out soon...if it comes out late next year im fine tongue.gif

now should i get a 7300gt and wait for the new ones or should i just whack in the 8800gts?? hmm.gif
Just get the GTS. It's not coming THAT soon.
Hyde`fK
post May 16 2007, 11:54 AM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

At most 6 months earliest away from now. Or wait for HD2900XT price to stabilized in two weeks time and see which one fits your taste.
SUSjoe_star
post May 16 2007, 01:24 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

IMO you shouldnt put much trust in news from the inquirer. They're the tabloid of the comp industry.
justone
post May 16 2007, 01:29 PM

justone
1,067 posts

nvidia will not allow ati to get ahead them easily...features from ati is getting wider,so we can actually predict wat type of features and performance from nvidia's coming soon..

hope it'll release earlier...
den i can anticipate 2nd hand HD2900XT in garage sales rclxms.gif
Phoenixwunin
post May 16 2007, 01:33 PM

841 posts

lol.. for me this is a good news... now I take 8800GTS.. later when 8900 are released the price of 8800GTS will surely drop.. allowing me for an SLi setup (provided I choose an SLi capable mobo now)...
karhoe
post May 16 2007, 02:13 PM

6,238 posts

Damn, 8XXX seems to be something 'still new' and now they are already talking about 9XXX, anyway, what's next?

Are we expecting G100, for Geforce 10k ?
SUSdattebayo
post May 16 2007, 02:16 PM

5,366 posts

not that fast ler... sweat.gif
its not easy to manufacture 65nm graphic chip, they will have to observe how AMD 's own 65nm midrange 2xxx will perform, then they will take AMD's experience and enhance their own
so that will be subject to delay, see how long AMD delay the HD2900?

even MS confirmed that new windows will out in 2009, but I still not believe though whistling.gif

This post has been edited by dattebayo: May 16 2007, 02:18 PM
Vodoo2k
post May 16 2007, 02:17 PM

1,365 posts

for me, i'll just invest on what's best now. No point on waiting cause if that's the case, you will never purchase anything, you see this vicious life cycle??? 2 years ago, i think my bro was the first one who bought his 9800 pro in Malaysia, but now.. it just sits lying in my cabinet hehehe... heheheh.. plus Nvidia wont upgrade to a 8900 that soon hehehehe

This post has been edited by Vodoo2k: May 16 2007, 02:18 PM
LExus65
post May 16 2007, 02:53 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

well x2900 series doesnt seems to be making too much of a thread to g80 series for now........... may be x2950series around 3 quater will pulls some really whirlwind on nvidia...........

goin 80nm does not seems to making much progress, so i think nvidia may just keep the g80 running for a while till they can engineered 65nm ......... and make it as 9000series
clayclws
post May 16 2007, 03:27 PM

2,659 posts

Wow...too early to say...but this sounds like GeForce 3...

0.0144sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:20 PM