Debit card, Anything about it.

WaCKy-Angel
post Dec 14 2007, 04:14 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(rkanian @ Dec 13 2007, 05:42 AM)
I also applied for the public bank visa electron debit card months ago..no news from them. debit card also need 1.5k salary meh!!

tunemoney application process is a hell for me. can't make the popup signup page make load properly..anyone have luck applying for the card?
How u apply PBB Visa Electron?
Usually u just need to open savings account with them and u will get the card on the spot.

QUOTE(spunkberry @ Dec 13 2007, 06:02 AM)
I find that debit cards are safer than credit cards.
Why do u say so?

QUOTE(rkanian @ Dec 13 2007, 03:57 PM)
are there any debit card here in malaysia which offer the benefits or privilege like the 0% interest installment plan offer to credit card holders. i'm completely new in this card thing. please advise. thanks.
I doubt Debit Cards can do installment.
WaCKy-Angel
post Mar 17 2008, 12:32 AM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(ahseng84 @ Mar 17 2008, 12:29 AM)
anyone applied maybank debit card?

need any T&C?

is it use our maybank acc2 apply?
No T&C, its just extra feature of your ATM card.
But RM12 chargeable for changing your normal ATM card to this Visa debit card.. thats all.
And its valid for 7 years, after that free of charge to renew the card.

Just go to any Maybank branch and bring your ATM and IC for verification and the card will be issued on the spot.
WaCKy-Angel
post Mar 21 2008, 11:04 AM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(carbon14 @ Mar 21 2008, 11:00 AM)
Don't use the Affin Debit Mastercard. It does nice for anything else other than verifying your Paypal account. Mine happened to charge me RM6++ and when I recieved my monthly statement, it didn't contain my 4digit verification code ALTHOUGH I saw the transaction the statement.

The statement just reads

SA DEBIT CARD PURCHASE ------------------------------------------------------  RM 6.38

I am pretty sure thats my Paypal payment in Affinbank !!
Mailed them in their CardCenter nothing happened.  rclxms.gif

Now I got my PB Visa Electron,but can't add to my Paypal account. Now gotta ask PB whats wrong. I already deposit RM50 inside that card. icon_question.gif
Contact paypal for futher action, or request for a refund
WaCKy-Angel
post Mar 24 2008, 09:06 AM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Mar 24 2008, 08:27 AM)
What is the purpose of doing this so? Security purpose? If yes, I don't see credit card has any security unless noticed by the bank ppl and notify the actual owner immediately
Because that is for security reason incase your card is lost, the lost is minimal.
And not only that petrol limit, you can only use your card at petrol station like max 2 times/day to avoid fraud.

The part about "card lost and security" problem, that is your own responsibility, you are held responsible for the safeguard of your card (if im not mistaken, the T&C does stated that).
Obviously you should inform the bank if your card is lost unless the card itself have ability to inform the bank, which requires more security in place for that to work.
Such as maybe cardholder DNA embedded into card and anyone other than owner touch the card will alert to bank, or PIN required for every transaction needed (but hey thats ATM card for that purpose)
WaCKy-Angel
post Mar 28 2008, 04:40 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(freeman85 @ Mar 28 2008, 12:17 PM)
maybank new visa debit card nice but be aware of some tiny charges

The fifth cash withdrawal and thereafter in a month at any Maybank ATM**
RM0.50 per withdrawal***

** The fee will be debited directly from the customer's accounts at the end of each transaction.
*** Fee waived if the respective account has a balance of above RM5,000 at time of withdrawal.
source
http://www.maybank2u.com.my/site_functions...l?visa_debit#a7
Man its still the same...

cash withdrawal goes to your ATM function, not visa debit function.
Currently its the same practice, unless your account has above RM2000 balance.
Why its practiced is becoz Maybank didnt impose annual fee for savings account like other banks that charge RM12.
U can withdraw free for 48tims (4times/month) and then u can also withdraw for free 24 times (that is equivalent of RM12 annual fees).

That means u can withdraw up to about 6times/month for free and if that is not enough for u, i suggest u do your financial planning properly.
WaCKy-Angel
post Mar 31 2008, 12:25 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(garfield007 @ Mar 30 2008, 09:53 PM)
Anyone use Standard Chartered debit card for purchasing digital camera or other electrical products and how about the % installment? Thank YOu tongue.gif
Debit card cant do installment.

QUOTE(scph50004 @ Mar 31 2008, 11:16 AM)
but a debit card is pretty useless for me if it doesn't do online transactions. don't mind about the annual fees, just allow me to do my online shopping without fail and I'm pretty much satisfied... smile.gif

Added on March 31, 2008, 11:18 am

open new account with Maybank visa debit card - free

convert from ATM card - RM12
yeah just close ur existing acc and get a new one tongue.gif

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Mar 31 2008, 12:19 PM)
Once I got the card, she explain to me that I need to change my pin again. Default pin is 123456. And I ask her other question like, payment limit, PLUS activation, etc. And I ask her, 'so I go to ATM and do it straight is it and do it all over again?'. She said yes and I straight go. After everything done and get into my car, I only remember they forgotten to collect RM12 from me laugh.gif
Lucky u then, check ur account maybe they might charge u whistling.gif whistling.gif
WaCKy-Angel
post Mar 31 2008, 12:28 PM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Mar 31 2008, 12:27 PM)
Checked, none.  rclxm9.gif  Usually when they will auto-debit from your account, they won't inform you, right? tongue.gif
fixed.
yup
WaCKy-Angel
post Aug 11 2009, 08:58 AM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(-Teddy- @ Aug 10 2009, 09:35 PM)
Heard that Maybank Visa Debit card can now be used for internet purchase, and can use it to verify PayPal too. Here - http://bit.ly/3eVGtG

I have a Maybank account already, so it make sense if I get one of these right? No annual fee, and I assume no top up fee too as it deduct directly from my bank account. Basically this thing is totally free? Is there any hidden charges that I don't see yet?
Yes ofcourse make sense.
No hidden charge

0.0197sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:28 PM