Debit card, Anything about it.

MilesAndMore
post Oct 4 2009, 03:50 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(tiger63 @ Oct 4 2009, 02:35 PM)
Heard from a very reliable source that Maybank will soon introduce a new Debit Card. No details though.
Yet another new debit card ? That's cool if true. I'm about to close my Maybank savings account as my mom has canceled her AMEX. I do not need a Maybank account for the moment as the nearest bank to my home is Public Bank. Hopefully i'll get the new one should i decide to reopen a new savings account with them next time. And no, i will not give them back my Maybank Cherry VISA debit card when i go to close my savings account with them in November laugh.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Oct 4 2009, 03:51 PM
AskarPerang
post Oct 4 2009, 03:52 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

QUOTE(tiger63 @ Oct 4 2009, 02:35 PM)
Heard from a very reliable source that Maybank will soon introduce a new Debit Card. No details though.
I don't see the reason why they are introducing another new card.
The current one linking to your saving account is good enough.

I don't think there is other debit card that link your saving account together.
MilesAndMore
post Oct 4 2009, 07:52 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Oct 4 2009, 03:52 PM)
I don't think there is other debit card that link your saving account together.
There are many in the market actually. As a matter of fact, Maybank wasn't the first bank to introduce a debit card that links to your bank account(s).

These are the banks that offer either VISA debit card or debit Mastercard that is linked to your account(s) with the respective bank.
- Public Bank Day2Day VISA debit card
- Standard Chartered e$aver debit Mastercard
- Standard Chartered saadiq-$aver debit Mastercard
- Citibank VISA debit card
- UOB Bank debit Mastercard
- EON Bank Combi debit Mastercard
- RHB Bank Cash Connect debit Mastercard

solsekuin44
post Oct 5 2009, 11:25 AM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 2 2009, 01:50 AM)
Well, i started using credit card since February last year. Have done many purchase online using my credit card. So far no problem.

It is very easy for one to steal your credit card number. In all the receipts kept by the merchants, they have all your credit card/debit card number printed out on the slip. But don't have to worry too much lah  laugh.gif
Thanks again and sorry for late reply. Very scared la.. Once, my friend' account saving has been stolen. RM2000+ is gone.She lodged a report, but the bank still can't settle.
I'm going to stick with my debit card. I use what I put inside only. smile.gif

This post has been edited by solsekuin44: Oct 5 2009, 11:26 AM
MilesAndMore
post Oct 5 2009, 11:47 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Oct 5 2009, 11:25 AM)
Very scared la.. Once, my friend' account saving has been stolen. RM2000+ is gone.She lodged a report, but the bank still can't settle.
Yeah. That's probably the downside of using a debit card because with credit card, its credit cardholder has a limited liability of only RM250.

solsekuin44
post Oct 5 2009, 01:13 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 5 2009, 11:47 AM)
Yeah. That's probably the downside of using a debit card because with credit card, its credit cardholder has a limited liability of only RM250.
Really? So it means that, even if you've lost RM2000, you'll be refund by the bank?
Haha, noob question.. Still learning more on cc and debit card.
MilesAndMore
post Oct 5 2009, 02:22 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Oct 5 2009, 01:13 PM)
Really? So it means that, even if you've lost RM2000, you'll be refund by the bank?
Haha, noob question.. Still learning more on cc and debit card.
If you can show that it's a fraud then yes.

solsekuin44
post Oct 6 2009, 12:35 AM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 5 2009, 02:22 PM)
If you can show that it's a fraud then yes.
I see.. Hm, I think debit card is widely accepted now ya?
Can already see the credit/debit card options when paying thumbup.gif
MilesAndMore
post Oct 6 2009, 01:25 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Oct 6 2009, 12:35 AM)
I see.. Hm, I think debit card is widely accepted now ya?
Can already see the credit/debit card options when paying  thumbup.gif
By rights all merchant accepting VISA/Mastercard credit card will also accept VISA/Mastercard debit card smile.gif

lostasylum
post Oct 6 2009, 02:34 PM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 29 2009, 04:38 PM)
I think you have mixed up type A and type B. Type A is called VISA Electron and it doesn't come with a savings account while Type B is called Day2Day VISA Debit and you must a savings account with Public Bank in order to be eligible for Day2Day VISA Debit. I have used Type A before and currently using Type B. I personally prefer Type B because the card can be issued right away. Less hassle this way and you will get your card pin number straight.

I was wondering if Public Bank will ever reduce the annual for Public Bank Day2Day VISA Debit because RM12 is a bit high for me  sweat.gif  When EON Bank first introduced their Debit Mastercard early last year (red color one), the annual fee for it was RM20 a year but then they reduced it to only RM8 a year a few months later after it was launched.
this is one question that i have regarding the VISA debit that doesn't come with a savings account... if you don't need a savings account for your debit card, how is it a debit card? you would basically be buying items on credit would you not?

and also, how come charges for non-savings account debit card is cheaper than the one with the savings account? i thought it was the other way round?
and until now also i haven't received anything from public bank... so long...
nanakopy87
post Oct 6 2009, 02:37 PM

You were...
1,835 posts

its like a prepaid card,lostasylum...
but u need at least RM25 in ur card... and PBVE annual fee is RM12
and u apply for PBVE or PBD2D?
PBD2D should get it immediately and PBVE will get at least 2 to 3 working weeks.
MilesAndMore
post Oct 6 2009, 05:24 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(lostasylum @ Oct 6 2009, 02:34 PM)
this is one question that i have regarding the VISA debit that doesn't come with a savings account... if you don't need a savings account for your debit card, how is it a debit card? you would basically be buying items on credit would you not?

As Nanakopy87 said, it is sort of like a prepaid card.

and also, how come charges for non-savings account debit card is cheaper than the one with the savings account? i thought it was the other way round?
Huh ? The PBB VISA Electron annual fee is actually more expensive than PBB Day2Day VISA Debit. See below :

PBB VISA Electron
- No PBB savings/current account needed
- Need to wait 2 - 4 weeks to get the card
- Yellow color
- RM24/pa** (annual fee will be automatically waived provided you have spent at least RM1000 in a calender year)
- 0.5% rebate on all purchase
- Need to maintain at least RM25 in your account at all times

PBB Day2Day VISA Debit
- Must have a savings/current account with PBB
- Card will be issued to you right away when you open an account with PBB
- White color
- RM12/pa
- 0.8% cash back on petrol and groceries. 0.3% cash back on all other purchases.
- For those on Plus savings account, you need to maintain only RM1 in your account at all times.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Oct 6 2009, 07:24 PM
nanakopy87
post Oct 6 2009, 05:45 PM

You were...
1,835 posts

i wan to cry dy cry.gif
miles,i'm NANA not NANO cry.gif

hahahhaa..jkjk...

using it on paypal is included as ur spending oso
MilesAndMore
post Oct 6 2009, 07:25 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(nanakopy87 @ Oct 6 2009, 05:45 PM)
i wan to cry dy cry.gif
hahahhaa..jkjk...
LOL ! It's been corrected sweat.gif

solsekuin44
post Oct 6 2009, 11:43 PM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 6 2009, 01:25 AM)
By rights all merchant accepting VISA/Mastercard credit card will also accept VISA/Mastercard debit card  smile.gif
I love this card so much!! rclxms.gif You guys helped me a lot on debit cards.
Let's go lepak at mamak, my treat.
rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(nanakopy87 @ Oct 6 2009, 02:37 PM)
PBD2D should get it immediately and  PBVE will get at least 2 to 3 working weeks.
lost asylum, I received my PBVE debit card in exactly 2 weeks. Did you apply for debit card too?

QUOTE(nanakopy87 @ Oct 6 2009, 05:45 PM)
i wan to cry dy cry.gif
hahahhaa..jkjk...

using it on paypal is included as ur spending oso
Haha, don't cry la.. Typo happens..
Nano is also a good name.
Very high tech! cool2.gif
MilesAndMore
post Oct 7 2009, 12:19 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Oct 6 2009, 11:43 PM)
Let's go lepak at mamak, my treat.
rolleyes.gif
Too far away laugh.gif Going to KL alone with take me 2 hours 30 minutes by MAS/Air Asia sweat.gif

solsekuin44
post Oct 7 2009, 12:46 AM

❤ Going Mirrorless ❤
4,228 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 7 2009, 12:19 AM)
Too far away  laugh.gif  Going to KL alone with take me 2 hours 30 minutes by MAS/Air Asia  sweat.gif
Where are you currently? smile.gif This week got tiket murah AirAsia what.. nod.gif
MilesAndMore
post Oct 7 2009, 06:57 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Oct 7 2009, 12:46 AM)
Where are you currently? smile.gif This week got tiket murah AirAsia what.. nod.gif
Sabah sweat.gif But thanks anyway icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Oct 7 2009, 07:25 AM
lostasylum
post Oct 7 2009, 09:33 AM

running to stand still
1,085 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Oct 5 2009, 11:25 AM)
Thanks again and sorry for late reply. Very scared la.. Once, my friend' account saving has been stolen. RM2000+ is gone.She lodged a report, but the bank still can't settle.
a few months ago, my credit card was swiped for some online game (by valve software) amounting to RM2xxx... i raised a dispute with the credit card company and it's still under investigation. however, while it is pending, they will return the amount in dispute first...

i've been using a credit card for at least 5 years and this is the first time this has happened to me. i've changed my visa secure password (for online transactions) and so far, nothing similar has recurred.

Added on October 7, 2009, 9:34 am
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 5 2009, 11:47 AM)
what credit card are you using? none of the credit cards that i'm using have that limited liability clause of RM250.

Added on October 7, 2009, 9:35 am
QUOTE(nanakopy87 @ Oct 6 2009, 02:37 PM)
PBD2D should get it immediately and  PBVE will get at least 2 to 3 working weeks.
i applied for the one with savings account (should be PBVE right?)

This post has been edited by lostasylum: Oct 7 2009, 09:35 AM
MilesAndMore
post Oct 7 2009, 09:51 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(lostasylum @ Oct 7 2009, 09:33 AM)
what credit card are you using? none of the credit cards that i'm using have that limited liability clause of RM250.
I'm currently using HSBC VISA and HSBC Mastercard. Used to use CIMB Mastercard, Maybank AMEX and AMEX Green Charge Card.

Actually this rule applies to all credit/charge cards issued by any banks in Malaysia. It is a rule set by Bank Negara Malaysia. Just that the bank will not tell you about it. All Malaysia issued credit/charge cards have a limited liability of RM250 only, if proven to be a fraud.

QUOTE(lostasylum @ Oct 7 2009, 09:33 AM)
i applied for the one with savings account (should be PBVE right?)
No. Yours should be the Public Bank Day2Day VISA Debit. The one below. PBVE doesn't come with a savings account. Even if you already have a savings/current account with Public Bank, the PBVE will not be linked to your savings/current account.

And please refer to the post below. It was posted in the previous page directed to you.
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 6 2009, 05:24 PM)

PBB VISA Electron
- No PBB savings/current account needed
- Need to wait 2 - 4 weeks to get the card
- Yellow color
- RM24/pa** (annual fee will be automatically waived provided you have spent at least RM1000 in a calender year)
- 0.5% rebate on all purchase
- Need to maintain at least RM25 in your account at all times

PBB Day2Day VISA Debit
- Must have a savings/current account with PBB
- Card will be issued to you right away when you open an account with PBB
- White color
- RM12/pa
- 0.8% cash back on petrol and groceries. 0.3% cash back on all other purchases.
- For those on Plus savings account, you need to maintain only RM1 in your account at all times.
This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Oct 7 2009, 09:53 AM

132 Pages « < 123 124 125 126 127 > » Top

0.1131sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:11 AM