Astro Version 13A, All about Astro Malaysia offerings

joshhd
post May 8 2020, 09:45 PM

7,795 posts

QUOTE(Xenopher @ May 8 2020, 09:41 PM)
This does sound scary  sweat.gif

Any Ultrabox user here can share your experience?

I'm an Ultra Box user here. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
Overall how is it, you ask? Okok lo.

Some people experience the Ultra Box keep restart for no reason, and WiFi disconnects itself.
Some people use no major issue, like me la.
Cuz when it comes to issues/software glitches, sometimes it depends on luck also.

Any question you want to ask, specifically?
What feature or function concerns you the most?
Xenopher
post May 8 2020, 09:53 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ May 8 2020, 09:45 PM)
I'm an Ultra Box user here. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
Overall how is it, you ask? Okok lo.

Some people experience the Ultra Box keep restart for no reason, and WiFi disconnects itself.
Some people use no major issue, like me la.
Cuz when it comes to issues/software glitches, sometimes it depends on luck also.

Any question you want to ask, specifically?
What feature or function concerns you the most?
If unlucky get a faulty unit will Astro replace it asap?

And is it user friendly and convenient? As in my 60+ years old parents can easily navigate and find channel/movies they want.

Another thing, is there any difference on the VOD for PVR and Ultrabox?
joshhd
post May 8 2020, 10:06 PM

7,795 posts

QUOTE(Xenopher @ May 8 2020, 09:53 PM)
If unlucky get a faulty unit will Astro replace it asap?

And is it user friendly and convenient? As in my 60+ years old parents can easily navigate and find channel/movies they want.

Another thing, is there any difference on the VOD for PVR and Ultrabox?

.....I think I'll just let other forumers here to give you their review.

Later people say I'm like a keyboard warrior, trying to tarnish Astro's reputation on Lowyat forum....
Xenopher
post May 8 2020, 10:26 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ May 8 2020, 10:06 PM)
.....I think I'll just let other forumers here to give you their review.

Later people say I'm like a keyboard warrior, trying to tarnish Astro's reputation on Lowyat forum....
You can pm me if you don't mind notworthy.gif
jhlou
post May 8 2020, 10:47 PM

826 posts

I'm on Value Pack 3B as well. And if I click upgrade DMT

Will Astro contact me before installation?
I worry now show free later charge me RM199 installation fee

Currently using DMT4

This post has been edited by jhlou: May 8 2020, 10:53 PM
joshhd
post May 9 2020, 03:31 AM

7,795 posts

QUOTE(jhlou @ May 8 2020, 10:47 PM)
I'm on Value Pack 3B as well.  And if I click upgrade DMT

Will Astro contact me before installation?
I worry now show free later charge me RM199 installation fee

Currently using DMT4

They will contact you before installation take place, so don't worry.
It's that better that you contact Astro customer service to double confirm. Their Astro Online Self Service portal is not 100% reliable.
joshhd
post May 9 2020, 01:27 PM

7,795 posts

"24 hours"....

"Relaxation is not allowed" Wow....

So which means, this excuse can't be used anymore:
We are unable to make any changes/further check to your account due to limited access to system during the Movement Control Order period. Alternative, you may contact us at 03-95433838 from 9am to 6pm to proceed with your request. Do apologies for the inconvenience caused.

"We need to think of a new strategy on how to reduce the number of customers terminating our service, and causing further financial losses to our company. One of it, is to put implement more 'challenges' to the leaving customer (make it harder for them to terminate) while being lenient to those who wish to upgrade its services and pay us more. Anyone here have any more ideas to suggest? 🤔🤔🤔🤔"

EDIT:
If you called Astro and waited very long, think again.
This lady here, wanted to terminate Astro and waited for more than 1 hour still no pickup.

Backup:

With this kind of service being a norm, and you are hiring Assistant Vice President, Revenue Improvement?
Money first, customer service last.
With your world class customer service, you got the balls to find someone with lots of working experience here and there, to increase company revenue for you???
Where is that logic? shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by joshhd: May 9 2020, 04:29 PM
hazim96
post May 10 2020, 09:48 AM

306 posts

Does anybody experienced subtitle issue most on astro channel? Sometime the subtitle will stuck or lost then appear again after sometime... it happend on One HD, HBO, ABO, AXN and more channel...
joshhd
post May 10 2020, 09:51 AM

7,795 posts

QUOTE(hazim96 @ May 10 2020, 09:48 AM)
Does anybody experienced subtitle issue most on astro channel? Sometime the subtitle will stuck or lost  then appear again after sometime... it happend on One HD, HBO, ABO, AXN and more channel...

Yes I do experience that. It's been quite some time already. I also experience that on Astro Go too.

This post has been edited by joshhd: May 10 2020, 12:14 PM
izwanikhsan
post May 10 2020, 09:52 AM

1,217 posts

QUOTE(hazim96 @ May 10 2020, 10:48 AM)
Does anybody experienced subtitle issue most on astro channel? Sometime the subtitle will stuck or lost  then appear again after sometime... it happend on One HD, HBO, ABO, AXN and more channel...
Yes. Very annoying. Surprisigly did not happen on Astro Go. Only on Astro STB. I guess that is the downside of softcoded subtitle compared to hardcoded one.
hazim96
post May 10 2020, 11:54 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ May 10 2020, 09:51 AM)
Yes I do experience that. It's been quite some time already.
Complained to Astro, is the same thing as if the complaint isn't made at all. They'll ask specifically what channel and programme name is it, then they'll investigate only that particular channel and programme instead of investigate why it happen randomly at any time, any channel or any programme.

It also happen on Astro Go as well.
Yes, true. Astro will give instruction to reset the decorder only and the same problem is still occured. But program from is VOD is no problem only on live channel is the problem
hazim96
post May 10 2020, 11:55 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(izwanikhsan @ May 10 2020, 09:52 AM)
Yes. Very annoying. Surprisigly did not happen on Astro Go. Only on Astro STB. I guess that is the downside of softcoded subtitle compared to hardcoded one.
Last year dont have the subtitile problem... starting early this year or dec last year this subtitile problem occured
joshhd
post May 10 2020, 12:04 PM

7,795 posts

QUOTE(izwanikhsan @ May 10 2020, 09:52 AM)

It didn't happen on Astro Go? Weirdly, I do experience the same on Astro Go as well, where the subtitle is like 'flashing' for few milliseconds that kind.
And the subtitle won't appear for a while, then reappear again.
TSnexona88
post May 10 2020, 03:26 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

so guys everyone knows that CMCO extended till 9 June..

How about Astro Free Channel Preview? I assume it's still on 12 May right.. since it's CMCO not MCO tongue.gif
joshhd
post May 10 2020, 04:18 PM

7,795 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ May 10 2020, 03:26 PM)
so guys everyone knows that CMCO extended till 9 June..

How about Astro Free Channel Preview? I assume it's still on 12 May right.. since it's CMCO not MCO tongue.gif

Since people can start go to work already, it's kinda hard to say also...
But I do have a feeling that they might extend Stay Home Concert channel though...

I have a feeling that if Astro stop extending its complimentary viewing, there would be more customers to terminate Astro service altogether.
Why? Because some would think that there's nothing interesting to watch on Astro anymore, especially after those subscription-required channels are no longer able to watch for free.

Astro Go? Video On Demand? Still, there are many viewers out there have limited or no Internet access at home due to coverage issue, so some would rely on linear TV channel as their primary method of entertainment.

But if they continue to extend, then there'll be more existing subscribers making noise to Astro, saying that it's not fair to them.
So Astro got to decide, they wanna lose money to existing subscribers downgrading their package, or existing subscribers leaving Astro once and for all.
They'll need to have some damage control to prevent further losses to the company.

Anyhow, just wait for any announcement to be made on 12 May then. Why that day? Because Astro always announce things last minute. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by joshhd: May 10 2020, 04:19 PM
TSnexona88
post May 10 2020, 05:19 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ May 10 2020, 04:18 PM)
Since people can start go to work already, it's kinda hard to say also...
But I do have a feeling that they might extend Stay Home Concert channel though...

I have a feeling that if Astro stop extending its complimentary viewing, there would be more customers to terminate Astro service altogether.
Why? Because some would think that there's nothing interesting to watch on Astro anymore, especially after those subscription-required channels are no longer able to watch for free.

Astro Go? Video On Demand? Still, there are many viewers out there have limited or no Internet access at home due to coverage issue, so some would rely on linear TV channel as their primary method of entertainment.

But if they continue to extend, then there'll be more existing subscribers making noise to Astro, saying that it's not fair to them.
So Astro got to decide, they wanna lose money to existing subscribers downgrading their package, or existing subscribers leaving Astro once and for all.
They'll need to have some damage control to prevent further losses to the company.

Anyhow, just wait for any announcement to be made on 12 May then. Why that day? Because Astro always announce things last minute.  tongue.gif
Hehehe...
Meeting last minute to make decisions...
Typical Malaysia style 😋

People asking from day 1 mco for discount..
No feedback... Bill needed to pay as usual....

joshhd
post May 10 2020, 06:14 PM

7,795 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ May 10 2020, 05:19 PM)
Hehehe...
Meeting last minute to make decisions...
Typical Malaysia style 😋

People asking from day 1 mco for discount..
No feedback... Bill needed to pay as usual....

Yes. Definitely bills have to pay as usual.

Because previously, their "account deactivation unit" is "not working", so accounts can't be suspended or terminated due to whatever reasons, including non-payment.
Yes, your Astro bill will still go on charging as usual, even if you don't pay.
The outstanding bill amount of your Astro bill will keep on accumulate as you don't pay, and there's no guarantee whether your account would get suspended or not even after MCO is lifted.
Now with this CMCO, not sure la...

If you can clear the outstanding balance, then better clear as much as you can, before they auto suspend your account.
Of course, if can, better clear all la.
TSnexona88
post May 10 2020, 06:18 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,447 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ May 10 2020, 06:14 PM)
Yes. Definitely bills have to pay as usual.

Because previously, their "account deactivation unit" is "not working", so accounts can't be suspended or terminated due to whatever reasons, including non-payment.
Yes, your Astro bill will still go on charging as usual, even if you don't pay.
The outstanding bill amount of your Astro bill will keep on accumulate as you don't pay, and there's no guarantee whether your account would get suspended or not even after MCO is lifted.
Now with this CMCO, not sure la...

If you can clear the outstanding balance, then better clear as much as you can, before they auto suspend your account.
Of course, if can, better clear all la.
normally / previously how long outstanding bill before astro suspend the account? 3m? 6m?
u know? or anyone else have experience it hmm.gif
joshhd
post May 10 2020, 06:48 PM

7,795 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ May 10 2020, 06:18 PM)
normally / previously how long outstanding bill before astro suspend the account? 3m? 6m?
u know? or anyone else have experience it  hmm.gif

What you mean 3m or 6m?
If I'm not mistaken, as soon as 1 day lol.
Astro will send you SMS to remind you, like this:
RM0.00 ASTRO: Rindu program menarik di Astro? Jom jelaskan bil [AC 08xxxxxxxx] berjumlah RMxxx.xx sblm tarikh akhir 2020-05-13.
Pembyrn kini lebih mudah dgn bill.astro.com.my/xxxxxxxxx Sila abaikan sekiranya bil sudah dijelaskan. Terima kasih. #DudukRumah utk Malaysia yg lebih selamat.
Astro bill works like this:
Today is 10 May 2020, and you receive Astro bill, dated 10 May - 9 Jun 2020.
So this bill that you need to pay, is for you to watch Astro from 10 May until 9 Jun.
By right, if you don't clear your payment by 9 Jun, usually they'll would suspend your account as soon as next day (which is 10 Jun).
Well although, sometimes it might give you 1-3 days allowance...

This Astro leh, although from the surface, it's a postpaid service. But in reality, it's like a "hybrid postpaid-prepaid" service.
It's like I issue you an invoice for you to enjoy Astro for the next 30 days, so you must pay within this 30 days.
If you didn't manage to pay up on the 30th day, your account shall be suspended on the 31st day, or anytime (maybe within 1-3 days) after the 31st day.

And on Astro, there's no such thing "minimum payment". Astro is not credit card that "allows you to pay a lower fee first, but with interests" and it's not meant for you to hutang lama lama and pay late.
Your Astro bill can still be suspended even if you don't pay the full amount.
So, pay the full amount, or more than the full amount also can. The balance will bring forward to next bill.

Understand now?
joshhd
post May 10 2020, 07:32 PM

7,795 posts

Looks that Astro authorised installers (or maybe just some of them) are having a hard time completing countless jobs...

Translation:
I want to complain this technician. Came and do it for just 10 minutes, and says no signal due to decoder, then after replaces decoder didn't even go up and check satellite dish. As he leaves my house, it became no signal.
Called him, he said he needs to attend (rush/catch up) to other customers.
Too many jobs to do, and didn't even bother to check satellite dish...
It seems to me that because the installers are "rushing" to earn income (to cover their expenses) since they can't work since MCO started.
Because they want everything to be "fast", so they skipped the steps to check satellite signal too?
"Oh, as long got signal, can already... No necessary need to climb up and check, which is kinda time consuming..."

Whatever reason it is, it could be the reason why some random customers would face "Services Currently Not Available" issue because the installer didn't check for dish alignment upon any technical visit.
In my opinion, Astro should check signal readings each time they visit customer's premises, including minor issues to make sure dish is really, really properly aligned.
Instead, they're like "Astro box got issue? Just come, replace and activate, then leave. Satellite dish literally left forgotten."
Yet, that's what you get for a RM65 techincal service fee. dry.gif

Yea, too many backlog jobs to be cleared especially since MCO started, which equals to many unhappy customers.. So, what to do? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by joshhd: May 10 2020, 07:32 PM

1081 Pages « < 217 218 219 220 221 > » Top

0.0182sec    0.90    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:03 PM