Astro Version 13A, All about Astro Malaysia offerings

joshhd
post Jan 28 2023, 07:42 AM

7,796 posts

beIN Sports Secures The Rights To Broadcast Formula One In Malaysia
https://www.lowyat.net/2023/293066/bein-spo...ights-malaysia/
beIN Sports has signed the deal to become the official broadcaster of Formula 1 in ten territories across Asia including Malaysia. The exclusive broadcasting rights will be in place starting from the start of the upcoming 2023 season until the conclusion of the 2025 season.

Naturally, the deal not only covers the Grand Prix themselves but also Sprint Races as well as Qualifying and Practice sessions. The scope of the broadcast rights includes the company’s linear channels and its dedicated streaming platform, beIN Sports Connect.
Good news to Unifi TV customers, bad news for Astro.
joshhd
post Jan 28 2023, 07:47 AM

7,796 posts

QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Jan 27 2023, 05:05 PM)
Astro ultrabox speed test, what usually is your speed test result?
QUOTE(Qash-M @ Jan 27 2023, 08:03 PM)
Less than 35Mbps

Speedtests on your Ultrabox connects to Astro's streaming servers, and I suspect its servers has capped it to around 30Mbps per user, which is just enough for streaming 1 4K UHD channel at a time.
Even if you use LAN cable or you subscribe to 800Mbps fibre Internet, don't doubt yourself that you can't reach that kind of speed on your Astro boxes. So don't compare with the ones you see on speedtest.net

joshhd
post Jan 28 2023, 07:55 AM

7,796 posts

QUOTE(ckl1998 @ Jan 27 2023, 10:24 PM)
Astro told me that changes to super pack 3a is no longer possible as this plan is no longer offered. My current pack comes with dynasty, korean, new emperor plus, movies, sports, news, documentaries, about 160 per month. Since i already have my own netflix, they advised changing to platinum pack is the best option, however, need to pay additional 40 per month. Question, what other option i have? Are there difference between astro binded netflix vs the standard netflix? I know disney hotstar, astro box version is not the same as installed version on your tv, the tv version is better as some contents can be streamed as 4K but the box version cannot.
Are there difference between astro binded netflix vs the standard netflix?
Short answer is no. No special treatment here. You can use the same account to login across your devices as well.

Pretty much everything you need to know about Netflix on Astro, are all here: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=105799269

I know disney hotstar, astro box version is not the same as installed version on your tv, the tv version is better as some contents can be streamed as 4K but the box version cannot.
The Disney+ Hotstar App on Astro boxes are rubbish, max Full HD and Stereo audio only, and Disney is the one to be blamed.
I suggest you use Disney+ Hotstar App on your smart TV to enjoy its shows in 4K UHD and Dolby 5.1.
linkinstreet
post Jan 28 2023, 08:28 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jan 28 2023, 07:42 AM)
i already posted about it here https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=106450447

In any case, F1 going to Astro was always going to just be a stop gap, since the rights are sold as a package for this region by the FOM. BEIN didn't want to pick it up until the rights formerly held by Fox Sports ran out last year, (2022) which is why FOM were forced to allow the rights to be picked up by individual provider in each country for half of 2021 and all of 2022.

Once the previous rights has ran it's course, only then BEIN came in to for a new deal with the FOM.
Feliex
post Jan 28 2023, 11:44 AM

837 posts

Wonder 4K UHD still be available or not
CSNG8586 P
post Jan 28 2023, 11:46 AM

Probation
38 posts

QUOTE(Feliex @ Jan 28 2023, 11:44 AM)
i think astro will broadcast in 4K as well bah
linkinstreet
post Jan 28 2023, 02:27 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(Feliex @ Jan 28 2023, 11:44 AM)
Bein provides 4K feed for La Liga to Astro. It's likely they will also do so for F1
CSNG8586 P
post Jan 28 2023, 05:18 PM

Probation
38 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jan 28 2023, 02:27 PM)
Bein provides 4K feed for La Liga to Astro. It's likely they will also do so for F1
see what astro reply later bah...
feed2doorsmhbm
post Jan 28 2023, 11:49 PM

253 posts

Hey guys, elsewhere in ContentAsia
CSNG8586 P
post Jan 29 2023, 12:35 PM

Probation
38 posts

this astro really good, not broadcast KO VS ROMEN REIGN match at all...haiz...
linkinstreet
post Jan 29 2023, 12:48 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(feed2doorsmhbm @ Jan 28 2023, 11:49 PM)
My eye very bad, cannot read someting this small

QUOTE(CSNG8586 @ Jan 29 2023, 12:35 PM)
Deswai I subscribe directly to WWE Network. I cannot tahan astro cutting out all the good parts from PPVs. But now WWE Network also very expensive (9.99 USD is near RM50 now, haiz)

This post has been edited by linkinstreet: Jan 29 2023, 12:51 PM
joshhd
post Jan 29 2023, 01:06 PM

7,796 posts

QUOTE(CSNG8586 @ Jan 29 2023, 12:35 PM)
QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jan 29 2023, 12:48 PM)
My eye very bad, cannot read someting this small
Deswai I subscribe directly to WWE Network. I cannot tahan astro cutting out all the good parts from PPVs. But now WWE Network also very expensive (9.99 USD is near RM50 now, haiz)

Can describe what kind of "good parts" that Astro cut it off?
I thought WWE is already rated 18, so definitely it is already not meant to be viewed by kids, so what else they want to cut?
linkinstreet
post Jan 29 2023, 01:23 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jan 29 2023, 01:06 PM)
Can describe what kind of "good parts" that Astro cut it off?
I thought WWE is already rated 18, so definitely it is already not meant to be viewed by kids, so what else they want to cut?
I once subscribed to both WWE Network International and Astro's version. Usually they cut out US commercials (Verizon, Slim Jim, stuffs that are not sold and not paid for commercial slot in Malaysia). But there are times Astro just cut/censored out some parts from shows or matches, like a few years back, there was a dude who attacked Bret Hart during his hall of fame induction. If you watch the original WWE Network feed, you would see the attack before the feed was cut and shown to something else, but Astro just removed that incident altogether.

Also sometimes since Astro has to replace the original US commercial with local ones, they would overrun the local commercial and in turn, have tu cut out extra parts from WWE's broadcast, such as entrance, people interacting after matches, etc. Just a few seconds here and there, but if you watch both, you would notice it

I presume for today, since the Royal Rumble overran by A LOT, they didn't realise that it's still not finished, and Astro moved on to the scheduled next program, but then realised that it's not yet finished, and only show the last match 30 mintues later

This post has been edited by linkinstreet: Jan 29 2023, 01:25 PM
feed2doorsmhbm
post Jan 29 2023, 01:40 PM

253 posts

See for yourself
https://www.contentasia.tv/eNewsletter/2023..._5_Feb_2023.pdf
joshhd
post Jan 29 2023, 08:30 PM

7,796 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jan 29 2023, 01:23 PM)
I once subscribed to both WWE Network International and Astro's version. Usually they cut out US commercials (Verizon, Slim Jim, stuffs that are not sold and not paid for commercial slot in Malaysia). But there are times Astro just cut/censored out some parts from shows or matches, like a few years back, there was a dude who attacked Bret Hart during his hall of fame induction. If you watch the original WWE Network feed, you would see the attack before the feed was cut and shown to something else, but Astro just removed that incident altogether.

Also sometimes since Astro has to replace the original US commercial with local ones, they would overrun the local commercial and in turn, have tu cut out extra parts from WWE's broadcast, such as entrance, people interacting after matches, etc. Just a few seconds here and there, but if you watch both, you would notice it

I presume for today, since the Royal Rumble overran by A LOT, they didn't realise that it's still not finished, and Astro moved on to the scheduled next program, but then realised that it's not yet finished, and only show the last match 30 mintues later

shocking.gif shocking.gif
If you ever encounter this, straight away file a complaint to MCMC. mad.gif
Very good in slotting in ads, and also very good in cutting other unnecessary things. dry.gif

IMO I think the government should do something about this, like create a policy that ensures pay TV providers are not allowed to unnecessarily modify or tamper the original content.
What I see is, pay TV providers love to use the excuse of "complying censorship guidelines" and then end up do some extra that negatively affect viewer's experience, yet it is financially benefitting them.
Otherwise, the government should impose a ban for pay TV providers from manually slotting in ads onto the TV channels, unless it is their own in-house channels.
Zot
post Jan 30 2023, 08:19 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jan 28 2023, 07:47 AM)
Speedtests on your Ultrabox connects to Astro's streaming servers, and I suspect its servers has capped it to around 30Mbps per user, which is just enough for streaming 1 4K UHD channel at a time.
Even if you use LAN cable or you subscribe to 800Mbps fibre Internet, don't doubt yourself that you can't reach that kind of speed on your Astro boxes. So don't compare with the ones you see on speedtest.net
Yes. the speed test through Astro is way low than speed test on Unifi or 3rd party.
-oc-gassa
post Jan 30 2023, 12:44 PM

967 posts

this is among the reason I change from Unifi to Astro... but since Astro put in 4K... we'll see until my subscription ends... who will do better
XypherionID
post Jan 30 2023, 03:14 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(feed2doorsmhbm @ Jan 28 2023, 10:49 PM)
So, this is new. Seems like HITS Now will soon be the modernized version of HITS, with recent shows from the 2000s as compared to their main channel which mostly airs classic shows.
Interesting. Can't wait for the Feb 6th launch,
Qash-M
post Jan 30 2023, 03:43 PM

#FreePalestine
6,104 posts

QUOTE(-oc-gassa @ Jan 30 2023, 12:44 PM)
this is among the reason I change from Unifi to Astro... but since Astro put in 4K... we'll see until my subscription ends... who will do better
4K sports event video unifi TV still can't deliver. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Qash-M: Jan 30 2023, 03:43 PM
ycs
post Jan 30 2023, 03:51 PM

4,232 posts

so difficult to cancel astro subscription; can only do via phone, on hold for 30mins, verification on all details, why cancel, have to wait for Astro to return call to get cancellation ID within 3 days, billing cycle on 8 Feb

if dont get cancellation ID, then another month to pay ?

1081 Pages « < 749 750 751 752 753 > » Top

0.0318sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:44 PM