Macbook Pro & ants problem
TSwiraone
May 15 2007, 10:59 AM, updated 19y ago
I thought it was me spilled some sweet drink on my MBPro .. but to my surprise, the problem seems to be global .. There are lot of ants going in and out of those little speakers holes .. and I googled this morning .. and wallah .. http://www.google.com.my/search?source=ig&...le+Search&meta=Load of people complaining about the ants problem .. Just wondering if any of you MBPro owners have the same problem. Took from someone's blog: This post has been edited by wiraone: May 15 2007, 11:00 AM
insomnia
May 15 2007, 11:11 AM
Maybe it's the "Apple's" fruity aroma that lure the ants to nest in there!! LOL!!
Could it be the design that's perfect for easy and entry and exits?
TSwiraone
May 15 2007, 11:18 AM
This might be the answer to my question .. http://www.macriot.com/article.php/20070112012912354"Every computer that houses a processor, will have some form of thermal compound to wick heat away from the processor's core to a heatsink or heat pipes that conduct the heat generated by the processor's core out of the unit. Whether its a portable or a desktop. Macs are no exceptions. Now, the interesting thing that we would like to share, is the realisation that this same material used in most Macs also act as a magnet for ants. Yes, ants. Which are small enough to crawl between the small openings and cracks on your Mac to make their way to your thermal compound. As discovered, this may, in the long-run, have ill side effects for your Mac." But how to resolve this??? Anyone?
insomnia
May 15 2007, 11:24 AM
Wow! What an interesting finding, this will be a good write up for The Star InTech.
Spray those anti-ants control thingy onto a damp clothes or tissue paper, then wipe every corner of your table that you'll usually place your mbp to avoid ants crawling up.
Have you heard of this anti pest control software that are able to send out low frequency to get rid of insects?
siawgu
May 15 2007, 11:29 AM
walao eh.. this also happened to my Mac mini and my Apple wireless Keyboard.. Ants like Apple too?
imin
May 15 2007, 11:30 AM
anti pest control software...there is such thing???
TSwiraone
May 15 2007, 11:31 AM
Let me know where I could get this anti-pest control software
neekun
May 15 2007, 01:58 PM
So far my MBP no "semut" problem  Whenever i not using it i keep it in a sleeve...precious haha!
kwekeugene
May 15 2007, 03:19 PM
Since that you spilled drinks on it. Then I guess if you spray a little Ridsect on it, it wouldn't hurt  Just make sure you don't spray it on the screen..
N0eL
May 15 2007, 07:29 PM
I have ants problem with mine.... it attract ants~! Always ~!
babyk
May 15 2007, 08:54 PM
my macbook also got lots of ants going in the fan blowing hole...geez...i thought i am the only person has this problem
kwekeugene
May 15 2007, 10:41 PM
Hehe... Discolouration Random Shutdowns Exploding batteries Cracked enclosure Whining issues Ants  Man, that's quite a list
TSwiraone
May 16 2007, 06:58 AM
Well, I haven't experienced the first five in your list .. and the ants problem I do believe you won't get this if your house doesn't have ants problem..
tinkerbel
May 16 2007, 09:11 AM
Fanaddict!
Looks like I'm gonna have to be v careful about this ANTS problem. Thus far, and still keeping my fingers crossed, I haven't had any of the above issues happened to my MBP *phew*
danielwan
May 16 2007, 11:40 AM
..And I though its only me who have this 'ant' problem...
jcheong
May 16 2007, 03:04 PM
Just leave the macbook on while crunching the CPU or scan disk it as insects couldn't handle the heat.
babyk
May 16 2007, 04:17 PM
TSwiraone
May 16 2007, 05:19 PM
It seems that the thermal paste used by Apple attracted the ants .. should we worry about it? Should I call Apple? Added on May 16, 2007, 5:24 pmQUOTE(jcheong @ May 16 2007, 03:04 PM) Just leave the macbook on while crunching the CPU or scan disk it as insects couldn't handle the heat. I'm sure you don't want this thing happens when leaving the macbook crunching numbers/playing dvd etc do you?  This post has been edited by wiraone: May 16 2007, 05:24 PM
vandetta
May 16 2007, 06:14 PM
I also faced this. Not with my iMac. But my last iBook and current MacBook attract ants!
hellojeffo
May 16 2007, 09:33 PM
My girlfriends Compaq V3200 notebook attracts ants for some unknown reason... so far, my Macbook has got no ants... phew!