Need advice on email hosting and backup

TSmp3
post Apr 25 2018, 11:37 PM, updated 6y ago

BOINCer
612 posts

Hi, am planning to get domain with the main purpose of Email hosting. I am not sure whether cpanel standard tools can fulfill my requirement or I need to find something else.

Going to make a few email addresses, whereby whenever some of these email address receive or send out email, it need to immediately archive/backup for audit and backup purpose. I have an idea the email host immediately send an copy email (to Gmail for example) whenever any email is sent or received.

Alternatively, somehow have the email host automatically backup each email to dropbox or Google drive.

Is this something doingable?

This post has been edited by mp3: Apr 25 2018, 11:38 PM
Andyzz
post Apr 26 2018, 11:34 AM

Lost Kampung Boy
1,196 posts

QUOTE(mp3 @ Apr 25 2018, 11:37 PM)
Hi, am planning to get domain with the main purpose of Email hosting. I am not sure whether cpanel standard tools can fulfill my requirement or I need to find something else.

Going to make a few email addresses, whereby whenever some of these email address receive or send out email, it need to immediately archive/backup for audit and backup purpose. I have an idea the email host immediately send an copy email (to Gmail for example) whenever any email is sent or received.

Alternatively, somehow have the email host automatically backup each email to dropbox or Google drive.

1. What you mentioned. Setup email forwarding, but your email sender field will be f uped.
2. Most reputable email hosting will have Daily Full Backup. Eg : https://www.exabytes.my/web-hosting/email-hosting
3. Accessing using POP3. Leave copy in host and delete only local copy. So your host email will not be affected. CONS: delay maybe 1 - 5min.
TSmp3
post Apr 26 2018, 01:30 PM

BOINCer
612 posts

Thanks for the reply.

One of my other concern is the user delete the email and empty the trash bin, therefore losing accountability.

There is no issue if the email is a bit delay by POP3. Just another thought, would there be setting in the host email to prevent user from using the option delete copy in host ?
TSmp3
post Apr 26 2018, 02:29 PM

BOINCer
612 posts

Someone pointed me to this link
https://documentation.cpanel.net/display/11...ivingforadomain

I think this is able to fulfill my requirements for accountability and tracing.
Andyzz
post Apr 26 2018, 07:16 PM

Lost Kampung Boy
1,196 posts

QUOTE(mp3 @ Apr 26 2018, 02:29 PM)
Someone pointed me to this link
https://documentation.cpanel.net/display/11...ivingforadomain

I think this is able to fulfill my requirements for accountability and tracing.
Yes. IMAP and POP3 is almost which enables email to be accessed from 3rd party app. But user can change from remain copy, to delete from host also. That is the danger.
Juno_wong
post Apr 29 2018, 11:26 AM

15 posts

QUOTE(mp3 @ Apr 25 2018, 11:37 PM)

Microsoft Exchange Online Plan 2 could solve your problem. Even user deleted from their webmail etc, their email still traceable at the admin center. You have full control of the every single email.

Only Microsoft provide such service on Earth. brows.gif

Source: Microsoft Exchange Online.

This post has been edited by Juno_wong: Apr 29 2018, 11:27 AM
TSmp3
post Apr 30 2018, 01:45 PM

BOINCer
612 posts

QUOTE(Juno_wong @ Apr 29 2018, 11:26 AM)
Microsoft Exchange Online Plan 2 could solve your problem. Even user deleted from their webmail etc, their email still traceable at the admin center. You have full control of the every single email.

Only Microsoft provide such service on Earth. brows.gif
Source: Microsoft Exchange Online.
Thanks for the information, will check further on this.
ladycooper
post May 25 2018, 09:53 AM

917 posts

how many mailboxes are you looking at to host to have this archive/backup functionality.

some options you may consider

1) https://www.smartertools.com/smartermail/bu...ss-email-server
- you may need a dedicated server or a VPS then subscribe to the above license to host it in your server or VPS.

2) https://support.office.com/en-us/article/en...3d-b9393b2342ce
- https://www.exabytes.my/office-365

0.0118sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 09:09 PM