Like fret hard and fret soft.
I thought you need to press hard enough for the correct tune to be achieved right?
Guitars Guitar, Fundamentals
May 17 2007, 08:57 PM
423 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Like fret hard and fret soft.
I thought you need to press hard enough for the correct tune to be achieved right? |
May 17 2007, 08:59 PM
2,650 posts Joined: May 2005 |
well sometimes i purposely fret it away from the fret abit(as in about the middle of the fret) to get that erm muddy? tone.
especially when performing speed buildups on the thick strings |
May 17 2007, 10:14 PM
268 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Bolehland |
i'd rather stick with the fact that having a decent guitar when u start makes it easier. not only in terms of sound, the playability and quality affects too.
i mean of course you would want a good sounding guitar and 'easier to press' frets as when it comes to electric guitar u need not fret that hard. |
May 17 2007, 10:35 PM
yeah with distortion its easier to get the sound but you gotta control the string noise
on and off i'll play my acoustic(not sure about the stock gauges) the string gauges are higher so when i play my electric guitar after that i feel my fingers are stronger |
May 17 2007, 10:50 PM
1,255 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
QUOTE(Peanutz @ May 17 2007, 08:57 PM) Like fret hard and fret soft. well it's intonation, you might wanna look up on the concept. pressing the string too hard will make the note go a little sharp. how hard you to fret usually depends on the guitar's action. lower action, lighter touch.I thought you need to press hard enough for the correct tune to be achieved right? |
May 17 2007, 11:02 PM
yeah, can do that to achieve that muddy effect i was talking about
May 18 2007, 07:19 PM
505 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Penang, Malacca, KL, Jakarta |
fretting too hard also makes ur rhythm goes off, well, in the bass world la. Like when i started learning slap and pop, i usually fret too hard, (dun ask me why, i think coz of the tension when learning something new
It's not my kapok's fault yea, btw. just my tensioness |
May 23 2007, 04:46 PM
Haha no I won't trade my Seagull
The face of it is rather soft though. Like a few dents are visible made by the pick :\ |
May 23 2007, 08:17 PM
6,339 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
no its horrible
hence give it to me i give u kapok its better |
May 23 2007, 08:34 PM
wah how you dent it with your pick..
even with a pickguard there i dunno how i will be able to hit the body while strumming.. |
May 23 2007, 10:04 PM
Don't know man really, most of the time my bro plays it.
But some other dents are caused by bumping into something. The wood is seriously soft one, I used my fingernails and put a little pressure and there is a dent already. Even softer than balsa wood :\ |
May 24 2007, 01:19 AM
844 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Puchong |
QUOTE(Peanutz @ May 23 2007, 10:04 PM) Don't know man really, most of the time my bro plays it. It's because of the moisture that softens your wood. IMO lahBut some other dents are caused by bumping into something. The wood is seriously soft one, I used my fingernails and put a little pressure and there is a dent already. Even softer than balsa wood :\ |
May 24 2007, 01:30 AM
6,339 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
May 24 2007, 11:14 AM
505 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Penang, Malacca, KL, Jakarta |
hehe, i dented my foster parents' seagull also lar, quite fragile stuff these guitars. u are much better off with a kapok, can last u 4 or 5 years at least.
summore very hard to dent 1 seagull owners would always wanna scold their foster sons wan la, for denting their guitars.. |
May 24 2007, 04:13 PM
844 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Puchong |
Kapok RULES!
May 24 2007, 07:03 PM
i'm using a pyramid acoustic(rm120 one)
the upper body paint actually came off due to sweat and i was wondering why is there a black line on my arm... yup, you get what you pay for. and that was the 2nd model i had replaced because the first one had serious technical issues like EXTRA ONE FRET?! so 2 frets sounded the same and there were a sh!tload of other problems |
May 25 2007, 02:03 AM
May 25 2007, 02:25 AM