I have recently been tinkering with Truenas, because of my friend lah, he was asking me for my opinion on what is the best storage solution for his collection of photos.
Long story short, he is not ready to dig deep into his pocket for NAS yet because photography is his side hobby only, not earning much from it, and his internet speed is 1Mbps, not suitable for cloud storage either.
End up he bought a NAS HDD to store his photos first while he slowly progress to getting maybe a Synology NAS later on.
But I didn't stop my research, I stumble upon Truenas and that's how I started this.
QUOTE(Zack Styler @ Sep 19 2021, 08:37 PM)
Thanks I asked in the rig suggestion thread and this is what I got..
Planning to go with this for now..
Pentium G6400 - 239
Asrock B560M-HDV - 360
Kingston HyperX Fury 8GB DDR4-3200 X1 - 189
Cougar GX-S 450W - 159
For HDD/storage wise how many HDD I should start with? minimum of 2 right? Is SSD needed too?
Any suggestion is welcomed..
Curious to know, which NAS OS are you going to use?Planning to go with this for now..
Pentium G6400 - 239
Asrock B560M-HDV - 360
Kingston HyperX Fury 8GB DDR4-3200 X1 - 189
Cougar GX-S 450W - 159
For HDD/storage wise how many HDD I should start with? minimum of 2 right? Is SSD needed too?
Any suggestion is welcomed..
And what is your NAS future path?
I've been using Truenas for a couple of weeks now, and my initial intention was testing to set up a NAS myself and using it as a simple NAS. I got myself a couple of 5400 rpm hdd, and then now I am playing with the plugins and VMs, I wished I have gotten 7200 rpm hdd for better drive performance for those
(also regret selling off my old rig, first gen i7 cpu and cooler master haf case with lots of 3.5HDD bays)
Sep 28 2021, 01:36 PM

0.0233sec