QUOTE(pekkauwer @ Aug 30 2020, 12:31 PM)
yeah, you can only used steam wallet code for that region currencyfor example you can't use a US gift card for malaysia steam account, it has to be a malaysian steam gift card
Steam Promotion, Discussion and FAQ Thread V55, Steam Summer Sale 2024, 27June-11July
Aug 30 2020, 04:27 PM
371 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Sep 11 2020, 12:39 PM
Sep 14 2020, 08:00 PM
QUOTE(H4XF4XTOR @ Sep 14 2020, 06:53 PM) Turns out, this could easily bypassed. gifting too much gift code from a new account can also trigger fraudulent activity so be carefulTested myself. -Have another steam dupe with malaysia currency -Make sure that the foreign acc and malaysian account is friend -From malaysia account just buy steam wallet from steam and gifted to the foreign account. (Obviously bought with your Malaysian debit) -The foreign acc will have gift notification similar to game gifts. once you accept. the amount automatically converted to that foreign account. Tested with Rm15 gift codes. The only downside is the market restriction but its only for 3 days anyway. ![]() ![]() someone did that on steam reddit and got his account limited soon after |
Sep 15 2020, 06:44 PM
QUOTE(diehard1979 @ Sep 15 2020, 05:56 PM) I not understand why steam got problem with that? to combat ppl buying cheaper games from other regionNo matter that person buy steam funds at where, it always go to exchange rate so what advantage can those people take? steam disabled changing store region due to horizon zero dawn region pricing two month ago and now this gift card issue |
Sep 15 2020, 10:53 PM
Sep 17 2020, 07:27 AM
Sep 17 2020, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(diehard1979 @ Sep 17 2020, 04:57 PM) What is the problem if you live in russia and buy cheap game for own? the problem is they don't live in russiaWe at Malaysia we buy at our region price right? What related to steam wallet? If I buy US10 steam wallet from outside, then activate at here, it give me about RM41.00++ right? Steam lose anything? steam is stopping ppl buying games from other region they don't reside in Basically here how it work You change your steam store region to russia and you can buy cheaper game price with gift card (credit and debit card will not work for most bank, they will block you from doing so due to diff billing address) so now steam region lock gift card is also to stop ppl from abusing these loop hole to buy cheaper games take horizon zero dawn as example https://steamdb.info/app/1151640/ when the games first release ppl start changing their store region to argentine peso and bought the game for RM29.77 due to this developer not happy and raised the price to RM115.79, so this effect the ppl who actually live in argentina are not happy about it https://www.mcvuk.com/business-news/pc-game...wn-price-hikes/ https://in.ign.com/horizon-zero-dawn/148780...round-the-world This post has been edited by alex82: Sep 17 2020, 05:31 PM |
Sep 25 2020, 01:28 PM
QUOTE(rko1268 @ Sep 25 2020, 11:52 AM) Those shopee / lazada platform selling steam game is legit? 1) send you gift through steam is ok but you have to becareful of fraudulent used of stolen credit cardThere are various method to activate the game after you purchase from them. All these methods is definitely lower price than retail. 1) Some will send you gift through steam which is seems the safest way. 2) Some will provide you a new account with the game your purchased from them. 3) Some need your id and password to activate the game in your account. (Normally this method has the lowest selling price among the other 2 methods mentioned above) Is it legit and how do they earn by doing this? 2) they provide you account of the said game purchase are mainly bought from lowest currency like argentine peso (not recommended) 3) same as 2nd, except that they change your account region to argentine peso so they can gift you the game from their account to yours(not recommended) all these 3 method is not legit in term of steam policy,you can get banned if you are caught doing so. i personally don't recommend you buying any games or software from shopees, i find it hilarious they used all kind of method to earn a buck or two i won't into too detail how they do it cause it against lowyat forum policy just buy steam gift card and buy the game yourself This post has been edited by alex82: Sep 25 2020, 01:58 PM memphiz_zero88 liked this post
Sep 25 2020, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(diehard1979 @ Sep 25 2020, 04:55 PM) How about some game key at grey area market such as gamivo, g2a, kinguin? game key get revoke from your account if they were bought with stolen credit or obtain illegally (scamming dev used for youtube review etc..)I know most of the key are from bundle. Let say 1 humble bundle top tier is $12.00 Someone buy it then split all game into individual item to sell, some can sell $5.00, some sell $1.00. I don't want to buy top tier $12 to get just one game but I willing to spend $2-3.00 for 1 of the game in there at those site. Then activate it steam, I take the risk as the key may not work. Other than this risk, do you got risk in getting ban by valve? If the key is buying with stolen credit card from the seller then resell at gamivo and I bought and activate it, the worst case is steam will revoke that key only right? nothing happen to my steam account? your account will be fine, just that you lose the game and the money bought from those grey market site |
Sep 29 2020, 07:57 PM
QUOTE(msiabole10 @ Sep 29 2020, 04:20 PM) Hey for those dont know yet FIFA 21 coming to steam but i also cant confirm origin account not needed origin account is needed And remember always support original guys!!! QUOTE Incorporates 3rd-party DRM: EA on-line activation and Origin client software installation and background use required. Requires 3rd-Party Account: EA Account (Supports Linking to Steam Account) Requires agreement to a 3rd-party EULA EA SPORTSâ„¢ FIFA 21 EULA https://store.steampowered.com/app/1313860/...SPORTS_FIFA_21/ |
Oct 10 2020, 02:42 PM
QUOTE(soulz69 @ Oct 10 2020, 01:58 PM) got steam guard also no use, your login session is store on the phishing site for temp, that hacker can gain access to your account without entering steam auth code have to becareful login to 3rd party site or app that use steam login, always check the url https://forums.steamrep.com/pages/hijacking/ This post has been edited by alex82: Oct 10 2020, 02:47 PM |
Oct 24 2020, 10:46 AM
QUOTE(liangzai84 @ Oct 22 2020, 11:46 PM) Where to buy steam cards? Sorry I just came back from overseas where i used to buy steam cards from 7-eleven eclubstoreoffgamers shopees maybank2u.com.my/maybank2u/malaysia/en/personal/services/digital_banking/online_prepaid.page? lowyat garage sales section make sure you buy RM steam wallet, now steam wallet have region lock in place QUOTE We have made some changes to how Steam Wallet Codes are redeemed on Steam, as part of our ongoing effort to reduce scams like the ones explained HERE. These changes should not impact regular customers who enjoy using Steam wallet codes they purchase at retail in their local currency. Each Steam User Account is associated with a specific currency, which you can see in the top right corner of your Steam Client. Going forward, you may encounter an error if you try to activate a Steam Wallet Code issued in a different currency than the one of your Steam User Account. If you have questions about your ability to redeem Steam Wallet Codes, please contact Steam Support. If you are concerned about the legitimacy of a Steam code you have purchased, you should ask your retailer. Please visit our Where to buy Steam Wallet Codes article to find Valve-authorized retailers for genuine Steam Wallet Codes. https://tinyurl.com/yya4tueg liangzai84 liked this post
Nov 16 2020, 01:18 PM
QUOTE(ArifHaz @ Nov 16 2020, 01:27 AM) Hey guys. if you bought only one game from russian store, don't think they will just banned your account, the most they will give you a second chance and ask you not to do it again.i am so afraid now xD. i saw the discussion about changing the region and now more strict. but i still dont understand. So i bought Fifa 21 from shoppe because of it being so cheap then the normal price and the seller did access my account but i change my usual password of course. and i did got the game, but now wallet is now russian currency cant really change it into RM anymore. only in add funds to the steam wallet i can change the country. but not the main one at the top left of steam page. So since then i bought 1 dota plus subs, among us and Automobilista dlc. All of these i bought steam wallet from maybank and redeem it to my account. So now what? i just dont want to get banned tbh. the price so cheap also can make more broke XD |
Nov 16 2020, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(ArifHaz @ Nov 16 2020, 09:11 PM) hopefully lah Under account detail, you can switch back store region to malaysia if it still workAlready, all good But how do i change the store preference now? do i contact the steam support? I can change Billing to malaysia i can see the price in RM but the wallet still in russian. Btw why cant i buy steam wallet using Visa from maybank? As for maybank credit card you have to call maybank to whitelist steam transaction, alot of bank block gaming related site on default nowdays |
Nov 17 2020, 04:48 PM
QUOTE(skylinelover @ Nov 17 2020, 01:16 PM) alot of chargeback, remember a malaysian guy traded rm30k worth of cod:blackops 2 steamgifts for tf2 crate keys, after a week he chargeback everything. probably cause of these type of incident cause malaysian bank to blacklist gaming related site |
Nov 25 2020, 08:18 PM
Steam sales start 2am later until dec 1st
Dec 22 2020, 07:24 PM
Dec 26 2020, 11:14 AM
Jan 6 2021, 01:18 PM
QUOTE(kiritoffx @ Jan 6 2021, 11:06 AM) need help my steam seems need me to login everytime i turn on my pc even i tick the option remember my password you can delete everything from steam folder except for "steamapps" folder (this is where your installed steam games are store" and steam.exeif uninstall steam. do the steams games also removed? i dont redownload since a few games are larger than 50gb and my internet speed only 4mbs and my external hdd also full to do games backup can anyone know how to fix this>? after that double click steam.exe from the folder and let steam redownload everything |
Jan 8 2021, 05:03 PM
QUOTE(kiritoffx @ Jan 8 2021, 04:49 PM) In the client in the Steam menu -> Settings -> Account there is a checkbox right at the bottom "Don't save account credentials on this computer". <--leave this uncheckedand delete the Steam folder from C:\users\appdata\local This post has been edited by alex82: Jan 8 2021, 05:52 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0558sec
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:39 AM |