sleep problem

TSMasBoleh!
post Apr 20 2018, 03:30 PM, updated 6y ago

3,599 posts

Nowadays.. i have sleep problem.. it can last continuously for days.

For example, i can be very tired and went to sleep at 11.30 pm then somewhat wake up at 3-4 am. Not really 100% wake up la.. much more like i am no longer in deep sleep stage, and i am just lying on the bed with my eyes closed then rolling here and there trying to get back to sleep.

This somewhat caused more fatigue to me and i got very tired for whole day the next day, It happened very frequently though..

I think it's due to stress or excitement. but how can i solve this?

Thank you
TSMasBoleh!
post Apr 21 2018, 06:31 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(gsrc @ Apr 20 2018, 03:45 PM)
To be honest, I have been experiencing this since I was in college.

Now I am 32yrs old already, still experiencing same thing. Every night sure wake up at 1 or 2am, then just keep rolling on bed.

I believe my bio clock is screwed up because when I was in college or fresh worker stage, I used to go clubbing / stay up late at night to play games / watch football with friends at mamak, etc.

Now I try to live healthy lifestyle, eat more vege and fruits, sleep early.
For me, I love to workout when super stressed out, it allows me to relax and sleep better.

I can see the difference in energy level, drastically improved and can focus better.
Then how you managed to readjust your biological clock back?

I went to gym and karate classes.. at night stll the same. I can be very exhausted at 11pm or 12.30 am then went to sleep . .still wake up sweat.gif

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Apr 20 2018, 04:03 PM)
Agree with gsrc above. Occasionally I'll have this issue when I'm stressed out or when I had coffee a little late (caffeine sensitive).

As you know it's due to stress/ excitement, the suggestion is to not think too much and calm down your mind before sleep. If you have a lot of energy, should try working out or gymming to make your body tired. However gym too late/ near to bed time is bad because your body is still in the state of feeling fresh after exercise/ shower.

Have lighter food evening, refrain from eating when it's too late and just don't think about anything when you're about to sleep. Don't play with phone right before bed; stay away from it at least 1 hour beforehand. See if it works for you.
So when you occasionally had this issue when you're stressed out etc, how you deal with it?

I see...

I think i shall have lighter food in the evening already.

So you are saying that I shall read book for at least 1 hour beforehand? I used to read ebook on my iPad though haha... the iPad got the function that cut down the blue light from omitted out of the screen. smile.gif

QUOTE(internaldisputes @ Apr 20 2018, 05:47 PM)
Do you meditate? Ever since I meditate I'm able to sleep better I believe.
Haven't yet, but plan to smile.gif You got meditate? How about share with me and others how you meditate?

QUOTE(Phino20 @ Apr 20 2018, 06:16 PM)
There are plenty of different ways to make your sleep better. Just ask Google smile.gif
haha, i know smile.gif Just wanna see if people here can offer something different or not smile.gif
TSMasBoleh!
post May 17 2018, 08:14 AM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(Jayne K @ Apr 21 2018, 09:43 PM)
u need to b in peace n not think anything already when u sleep. the reason u woke up is due to things tat are not resolved yet n ure thinking hard about it without realising actually
this is easier to be say than done unfortunately.

QUOTE(gsrc @ Apr 21 2018, 09:58 PM)
I didn't fix my bioclock  sweat.gif But working out and living healthier makes me feels more positive, less affected by the insomnia. I wouldn't become drowsy or sleepy during the day anymore.
So nowadays you cook at home or still eat outside?

QUOTE(Sam Kk @ Apr 23 2018, 04:00 PM)
I have been having sleeping issues for years, from stress at work generally. Active mind keeps me away from sleeping soundly unless I am really tired (which do happens once in a very long while). I tried sleeping pills too but I refrained from overtaking.

Using the smart phones & tablets lesser before bedtime seems to help some, less active mind when I go to bed. Some soft music with a use of essential oils can also help. All the best.
So nowadays you read books with some soft music and use of essential oils?

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Apr 24 2018, 11:13 AM)
Yes, lighter food in the evening and for good health, best to avoid eating at least 2 hours before bed? Eg. if you're planning to sleep at 10pm, by 8pm it's the time to stop eating. If you're hungry by 9 or before 10, I guess a glass of warm milk should do the trick.

I think different people deal with stress differently.
For me, laughter is the best medicine.

When I'm stressed, there are several options/ things I can do (depending on the time available and degrees of stress)

- Go for workout (that's when I sometimes feel truly alive)
- Watch some variety shows to laugh it off
- Hangout with a friend, complain and get things off
- Karaoke
- Play with furry pet
- Clean the house (you'll be surprised how good it feels afterwards biggrin.gif
- Plan for holiday

If you want to read a book, best for it to be a physical book that you can hold. But if cutting down blue light emission works for you, then I suppose it's alright?
Wow, this is a really helpful post. May I know what you normally do before you went to bed? Is it really reading books? haha.

I saw you been quite active in few sections of the forum that I am roaming in.

QUOTE(zeropoint9 @ Apr 24 2018, 03:41 PM)
Insomnia is not a disease, and no specific test can diagnose it. But it can make you feel bad, and it can affect your health. It can also be a sign of other problems.
Not getting enough sleep can affect your quality of life. It can lead to serious problems including injury, accidents, anxiety, and depression. Seek help if you think that you have insomnia.
Treatment options for insomnia:
1) Hypnotherapy-learn techniques to relax your mind and body. It may help you if you lie in bed with your mind racing.
2) Psychotherapy/Counseling/Coaching-by changing how you think. Cognitive-behavioral therapy is a type of counseling that can help you understand why you have sleep problems and can show you how to deal with them.
3) Medicines-Doctors recommend taking sleep medicines only now and then or only for a short time. They are not the first choice for treating chronic insomnia.
4) Biofeedback-EEG biofeedback/Neurofeedback is a safe, non-invasive, alternative option for insomnia. It is a tool for regulating sleep. Health professionals around the world report significant improvement in a large percentage of their clients using neurofeedback to treat chronic, long term sleep problems.

Source:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3542688
Thank you will look into it smile.gif
TSMasBoleh!
post May 17 2018, 08:16 AM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(Samantha L @ Apr 26 2018, 11:45 AM)
Don't straight away jump to the conclusion that it is insomnia ya. Get some professional advice please. You can also study on your behavioral patterns. What you do? Are you over stressed at work? Taking care of young children? Are there any other contributing factors?
To be honest i also dunno. sweat.gif

More like about missing a girl doh.gif

QUOTE(unclemike @ Apr 26 2018, 02:21 PM)
I used to have the same problem. Give meditation a try. i do mine 30mins everyday.
Mind share how you do meditation?

QUOTE(MaxyPower @ Apr 26 2018, 04:11 PM)
I had sleep problem too.
Establish a Soothing Pre-Sleep Routine

Ease the transition from wake time to sleep time with a period of relaxing activities an hour or so before bed. Take a bath (the rise, then fall in body temperature promotes drowsiness), read a book, watch television, or practice relaxation exercises. Avoid stressful, stimulating activities—doing work, discussing emotional issues.
Wow discussing emotional issues? Seriously? ... haha

QUOTE(ajibescobar @ Apr 28 2018, 03:32 AM)
I've the same problem on and off for 2+ years. Its definitely cause by extreme stress, makes us look like Ed Norton in FightClub.
Manage to find the root cause and solution for it?

QUOTE(Ckmwpy0370 @ May 3 2018, 09:06 PM)
try to drink a cup of honey or do some light yoga b4 sleep
it will help
Thank you for the suggestion biggrin.gif
TSMasBoleh!
post May 17 2018, 08:20 AM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(Fanvil1534 @ May 7 2018, 10:56 AM)
What I would recommend is to program your brain to sleep.

Our brains adapt and follow a familiar routine. The trick is to reprogram this so that your brain associate a certain action with sleep.

Many do all these before going to bed, drink a glass of milk, go to the toilet, read a book. The act of these is what makes your brain go into a routine auto pilot mode if you follow these up with sleep.

"Our brains and physiology like routine and predictability, so if someone has a routine each night of, say, watching the late news, having a warm glass of milk, brushing their teeth and getting in to bed for sleep, then the brain and our physiology recognise this behaviour as part of the preparatory process for sleep and respond accordingly, making it easier to fall asleep once we are in bed," Rogers told HuffPost Australia.

https://www.huffingtonpost.com.au/2016/08/0...all_a_21444739/

My personal experience, I have insomnia since college days. After understanding how our brain works, I decided to reprogram it and watch youtube videos to sleep. My brain will associate a specific youtuber's voice to sleep and will automatically fall asleep in less that 5 minutes. I have been doing it since for about 10 years now and never had problems trying to fall asleep.
Wow interesting post.

Then which youtuber's video you watch before you sleep? I am curious about it.

QUOTE(kevingarlandmagic @ May 14 2018, 03:30 PM)
You can drink more water, that might be connected with an issue with your liver.
I actually tried to drink more water nowadays because of benefit of drinking adequate amount of water. But I am not aware that it may connect with an issue with my liver. Do you mind to explain about it? Thank you

QUOTE(perpetrator @ May 15 2018, 08:17 PM)
Mostly, situation, described by you, might be cozed by stress and exhaustion. So, maybe, you just need to rest more. And I’m talking not only about physical rest, but also about emotional.
For example, if you’ll start to do some sport daily, then despite it is a physical job, you may become feeling  yourself better, coz when your body do physical exercises, your mind resting.
Another reason of sleep issues is quite trivial. Are you used to eat before go to sleep? Coz if you do, it may be the trigger of numerous physical processes, which may interfere you with getting full rest while you asleep.
I actually got do karate and go to gym haha.

Nope, not really but there're time that I ate my dinner at 10pm.. because gym session ended around there sweat.gif Maybe this is one of the reason...

QUOTE(Ray Leee @ May 16 2018, 05:59 PM)
It's gonna b a month now, so how are you currently?
Doing a little better that's it sad.gif
TSMasBoleh!
post May 18 2018, 01:47 AM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ May 17 2018, 09:32 AM)
It's common stuffs I believe, and what helps to release stress is subjective. What I've listed down may work for some people, may not for others. On and off i do read, but I also realize it's not a good thing sometimes. If the book is really good, I get engrossed in it and refused to sleep sweat.gif

lololl yes, I've come across you in some sections too. I lurk more in sections under my care laugh.gif occasionally will check H&F due to interest.
That's a good point. Last time I used to read Singapore True Ghost Stories... wah piang... really becoming more and more engrossed... and refused to sleep doh.gif

So nowadays I will just read self help book.. not very interesting yet not that boring laugh.gif

That means there are quite a lot of sections under your care haha. Rarely see a mod so active in so many sections wink.gif And I thank you for your understanding and appreciate your work in this forum. smile.gif
TSMasBoleh!
post Jun 13 2018, 07:19 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(BookMyTherapist @ May 20 2018, 06:50 AM)
i think this problem is serious if it continue, because i mentioned that you feel over tired the whole day right? are you maybe got something that you wish to do or you must do but you haven't yet do it? maybe your mind keep thinking it over and over so your body becoming restless too.
I have a lot of things I wish to do or must do. Haiz... actually I am pretty stress.. plan to resign soon but then become more stress because I will be jobless
QUOTE(Ray Leee @ May 29 2018, 09:27 PM)
at least its getting a little better than not feeling anything, being indifferent! so keep going!  you can do it!
omg true s'pore ghost stories? hahaha tat's like my childhood "storybook"
hahaha  laugh.gif
yea, it's getting better but still not that good. Nowadays I actually eat some antihistamine to make me sleepy as well sweat.gif

IKR ! Very nice to read lehhh.. once read cannot stop one tongue.gif Can see many of us here read these SG ghost stories books biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Jayne K @ May 29 2018, 10:46 PM)
ya surely.. anyways im glad tat ure getting better, alittle is better than nothing at all just like another fella replied u just now.

anyhow, hv u heard of ASMR videos?
my frens said watchin tat or even just listening to it actually helps them to sleep too
it makes them feel sleepy..

mayb u wanna try?
Nope, I had not heard of it. I youtube it.. then saw a girl like whispering to her mike like that. blink.gif

So i am not really sure it will help or not.

QUOTE(Fanvil1534 @ May 30 2018, 03:36 PM)
I used to watch pokemon wifi battles with commentary. These few years I watch Kripparrian playing hearthstone, basically an online card game.

Go for a 5km run minimum once a week and try to reprogram your brain by associating an action or sound/visual cues to sleep. Give yourself maybe 2 weeks of applying this and see whether it works for you.
Woooo i see. Not bad biggrin.gif

I actually go to gym.. smile.gif

"associating an action or sound/visual cues to sleep."

It sound easy but really tough.. let me think on how to do this sweat.gif

QUOTE(Kekikan @ May 30 2018, 05:30 PM)
You could try taking melatonin, or have a cup of chamomile tea before sleeping. A glass of warm milk may help too.
charmomile tea... will search for it. Thank you biggrin.gif
TSMasBoleh!
post Jun 13 2018, 07:26 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ May 30 2018, 05:41 PM)
Singapore Ghost Stories!!! That was like, ages ago  back then those books were the "in" thing. Used to read them too.

You're right on the self help, that one could probably help. One thing that also helped me is taking Preserved Salted Kumquats (known as "kam kat" in short) an hour or two before bed. I think it reduces heatiness and soothes the body so I sleep better afterwards hmm.gif not sure if it'll work the same for others.

End of the day, most importantly is to clear your mind, exhaust your mind by imagining a story (like a fairytale or something?) to your liking and you'll find yourself dozing off. It's good to keep a creative part of yourself.

Talking about this - there's an interesting fact to share. Most Japanese married couple(s) sleep apart - same room, single beds - so that each of them can have quality sleep. This is to avoid one person's sleeping pattern/ habit affect the other. I find this interesting and very considerate.

In terms of the forum hahaha probably 'coz I've always been active in those sections so the Admin parked them under my care
I know right ! Ages ago... so nostalgic to see all of you talking about it again haha. Indeed very "in" thingy rclxms.gif

You made those "Preserved Salted Kumquats (kam kat) " yourself?

That's fascinating, imagine a story... I sometime imagine i am a girl been loved by lovely handsome dude laugh.gif well, can't sleep and lying in bed got nothing to do laugh.gif

Nowadays, I can't really clear my mind.. is like too many things in my mind, i normally just open my spotify and play a playlist called sleep .. with soothing music.. but I ended up listening to the music instead sweat.gif

I actually also read an article about married couple sleeping in different room for good quality sleep, this only applicable if one of them have severe snoring etc...

But for now, I am staying in a room alone on a single bed.. so that shall not be an issue haha.

Nowadays I sleep with aircond on.. last time I only slept with fan, can feel that my whole body is very hot. That may be one of the reason why I can't sleep well..but I am sort of afraid of cold , so I maintain my aircond at 27 like that.

Admin are lucky to have you as their mods smile.gif I used to own a forum but it's all history now. biggrin.gif LYN just too big to be taken over and i am a latecomer with lousy strategy

QUOTE(ZoomGarde @ May 31 2018, 09:56 PM)
Had been encountering this for years..

I dunno wad is the root caused. Sometimes my head/neck is stiff until i cannot lie down on a pillow. Need to lie down straight on mattress without anything.

Just cant sleep for dunno wad reason.

Tried to exercise kaw kaw.. sometimes it works, sometimes backfired as overly tired until cant fall asleep.. like body is tired but mind is active and keep thinking..

I also dunno wad my mind is thinking... how to shut down the mind/brain ?
Sound like you suffers from severe insomnia. sweat.gif Got plan to see doctor?
TSMasBoleh!
post Jun 13 2018, 07:27 PM

3,599 posts

To everyone here, I am really grateful and thankful that you all have willingly share with me details etc.

Really thank you so much notworthy.gif
TSMasBoleh!
post Jun 14 2018, 07:43 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(ZoomGarde @ Jun 13 2018, 09:52 PM)
No plan. Becuz after see them probably gonna he worst as new problem arise.. wallet problem

Haha
Then so far how is your situation?
TSMasBoleh!
post Jun 16 2018, 07:00 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(ZoomGarde @ Jun 14 2018, 11:40 PM)
Up n down..

Try not to see phone 30 min before sleep..
I see. Wish us all the best 😊
TSMasBoleh!
post Oct 7 2019, 02:15 AM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(corihata @ Oct 6 2019, 01:32 PM)
you worried too much about trying to fall asleep
to solve this u need to have an attitude that if sleep then sleep if not then u just get up watch cat video or things that relax ur mental

Exercise is great but, based on your post it's more of a mental issue than physical. Because u knew the time really well when u woke up/start sleeping.
The tricky part is when u TRY TO relax it's get harder to relax. That how u get insomia.
Thank you so much corihata...I try to relax more nowadays..but got a lot of stuffs to think
TSMasBoleh!
post Nov 26 2019, 12:11 AM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(verapantano @ Nov 21 2019, 03:33 PM)
Are you busier than usual as of now..Most of the time, your body reacts like this when you are tired and exhausted than usual..It means you need rest time but not only for your body but also for your mind. Reduce your workload and relax your body and mind. If you are thinking about something deeper.. your body may not able to get restful sleep. So, relax and calm. If you face the issue furthermore. you may need to consult a doctor regarding the issue
yes. I am busier than usual after i changed job. Previous job more chill.. current job more competitive then got toxic people like one colleague wanna see me choke up with workload. Not only colleague, even in the house also full of toxic people.

I am kinda in depression
TSMasBoleh!
post Nov 27 2019, 12:52 AM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(luvjim @ Nov 26 2019, 10:43 AM)
any close friend you can talk to? always chit chat with someone you can trust and be your listener.

or even here if you want.  icon_rolleyes.gif
haha..well.. i think i am mostly alone bah

QUOTE(verapantano @ Nov 26 2019, 01:36 PM)
So, the situation is obvious... you need advanced care than now before the situation getting serious. meet a counseller immediately and he will direct you the right medical consultant
You are talking to me?
TSMasBoleh!
post Nov 27 2019, 07:53 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(luvjim @ Nov 27 2019, 10:02 AM)
then you can continue talk to us here, or even pm me  icon_rolleyes.gif
Haha it is a really private one. Apology for this

0.0206sec    1.04    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:10 AM