Should i bring ?, to beach side

TSg88
post May 14 2007, 12:21 PM, updated 19y ago

1,631 posts

Just wanna get some opinion from all the sifu, should i/we bring our DSLR to beach (Island) for shooting since most of us here using are non-weather seal body blush.gif

If yes, do we bring kitlens with body only ?

Will the "salt" wind from sea harm to the body nor the lens ? wink.gif .....how to clean the lens and body after expose to such environment ?

Ps : Still wanna enjoying snorkeling all ler unsure.gif
yewkhuay
post May 14 2007, 01:06 PM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

haha, tht reminds me of the last time i go perhentian, end up with beautiful beach photo and a dead camera few days later......

DLSR wo.....i 'd suggest bring kit lens (zoom lens ), DOn ever change lens....
xandman
post May 14 2007, 01:07 PM

When Darkness is the only Light U See.
7,214 posts

wondering the same question too...
will be off to spain soon...
wanna try and get some nice beach photos...=)
so is it ok to bring our dslr to the beach?
CompMac
post May 14 2007, 01:33 PM

世界見てください
1,573 posts

Bring a travel lens like 18-200 zoom and you will be fine without the need to change lens.
shinchan^^
post May 14 2007, 01:36 PM

K66
21,256 posts

ya equiped ur DSLR body with 17-40mm f4 L as kit lens
or 17-55mm f/2.8 as Kit lens thumbup.gif
m|ng
post May 14 2007, 01:54 PM

U want a piece of me?!
1,863 posts

I brought my Nikon F80 to redang previously...didnt die fortunately tongue.gif

I think getting a CPL or a ND filter will be good.. your pictures wont be so over-saturated.

And about the snorkelling thing.. I would advise you to leave the cam in the room.. Unless you have a waterproof bag.. u wudnt want your camera to get splashed.. u know lar..there will be a number of ppl there.

OR, u can get those waterproof casings to get ur DSLR underwater tongue.gif

Shashinki sells em
wlcling
post May 14 2007, 02:19 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

I did a check with other forumers earlier on as well. and there's 2 types of responses that will apply in your case as well!

1) Don't bring your camera out, and enjoy the most out of your holiday (beach trip)
2) Just bring it, after all, why buy a camera in the first place, if its only going to be kept at home...

hmm.. tough one....

but anyway, i recommend not bringing it out if its going to spoil your holiday worrying too much about it.

I.e, Is anyone going to take care of it while you're in the water, will you be missing out on activities just because you have to care for it? (in case of theft?)

I think for the beach, your main concern will be the sand getting into the creases of your lens. (imagine "feeling" sand while you zoom in and out) doh.gif

Even for the D200 which is weather-sealed, sea spray and sand is going to be a concern as well.
yewkhuay
post May 14 2007, 02:25 PM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

tht's y i m seriously considering getting a 770sw for kasar use....
TSg88
post May 14 2007, 02:55 PM

1,631 posts

Hmmm...thank you for all the feedback.

I think better dun bring since

1. will spoil holiday mood, tak-kan go snorkeling time leave it in room or to the reception to guard..won't really enjoy then

2. Since using a non weather seal body...aside from salt wind blow in, zoom ring might be blow in with very very smooth sand...

Might not have problem instantly..but later dunno..need to dig for a P & S camera la...what to do.

Unless i DUN WANT any activity aside shooting..wink.gif
Infinity
post May 14 2007, 03:10 PM

no limit
3,001 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ May 14 2007, 02:55 PM)
Hmmm...thank you for all the feedback.

I think better dun bring since

1. will spoil holiday mood, tak-kan go snorkeling time leave it in room or to the reception to guard..won't really enjoy then

2. Since using a non weather seal body...aside from salt wind blow in, zoom ring might be blow in with very very smooth sand...

Might not have problem instantly..but later dunno..need to dig for a P & S camera la...what to do.

Unless i DUN WANT any activity aside shooting..wink.gif
well ya i encounter the same problem when i brought my camera to PD. I do agree, when u r on ur camera, u can't enjoy your trip. my canon 400D dropped and fell on the sand. Luckily, not much sand and it's still working. *touch wood*
neoro_blitz
post May 14 2007, 03:54 PM

492 posts

Do i drive my car outstation or do I just take the bus ?
Do I wear the new pair of shoe or wear the old one till its busted ?

same goes for camera, do you love it too much to risk bringing it to a different location ?
There are risks and rewards for sure.

Well, try googling around for simple solutions and tips when traveling with a DSLR. Seaside , sunsets, and other non-ordinary pictures are something not to be missed by your shutter for sure. With adequate caution, I'm sure everything would just work out fine.

Bring a 50mm F1.8 lens , its cheap and with your slr , its a very light combo, of course the other zooms such are the 17-40 gives you flexibility, but the decision on whcih lens to bring, I would say, the one which you have the most "feel" and experience with.

Hope you have an enjoyable outing to the (island)
ac98
post May 14 2007, 09:14 PM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

I brought my EOS 300D to Penang beachside 3 times, PD twice and Cherating once ... okay also ... change lens of course can, juggle between my 50mm and a 70-200 F4L no problem. It's safe to bring but do practice common sense! If you ask me, shooting while you're HALF submerged at a waterfall and drizzling is even MORE crazy! Beach is kacang putih-lar ...
m|ng
post May 14 2007, 10:14 PM

U want a piece of me?!
1,863 posts

ac98 memang hardcore one tongue.gif

for my case when i was in redang, I left my SLR in the ROom when i went out for snorkelling and stuff.. as a result..i missed ALL the boat, snorkelling, ppl-having-fun in the blue sea shots. But I had fun.. which was worth it.

I only got shots from the beach activities. come to think of it,...it will NOT go missing, coz its still gonna be on the boat.. but risk it falling into the water / splashed with water.

you choose 1) Have fun or 2) have fun BUT worry about your equipments.

times like these..you'd wish you have that Olympus all terrain grade smile.gif

philipcs
post May 15 2007, 12:16 AM

2,581 posts

I only bring 18-70mm kit lens for travel. at most will bring 50mm f1.8 + SB600. if you purpose is go for relax, dont bring too heavy lense if not, at the end they are your burden.
TSg88
post May 15 2007, 08:37 AM

1,631 posts

now bring or not bring only..

if bring won't be fancy bring extra lens so i have chances to change hehehe, risk also higher tongue.gif
Blu-By-U
post May 15 2007, 11:15 AM

27 posts

Donno about you but I brought mine on beach hop in KK then to Langkawi. No problems. In fact I brought along a wide and a telezoom 55-200mm with a X1.4 Convertor. Nice sitting on the beach and snap snap. BTW, E-330 was in use and that means I get a 400mm out of the 200mm zoom add a 1.4X = 560mm. So lots of nice bikini shots. biggrin.gif

Forgot to add...bring along the lens hood, ND and CPL filter. You will need them.

This post has been edited by Blu-By-U: May 15 2007, 11:17 AM

0.0183sec    0.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:34 AM