8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Samsung Samsung Galaxy S9/S9+ Discussion Thread V2

SUSkevin23
post Apr 19 2018, 09:06 PM

1,803 posts

Finally decided to upgrade from mate8 to s9 plus.

First thing i noticed is how fast the battery drains on this s9 plus. Go down like water. Kinda missing the mate8 insane battery life .

But the camera on this s9 plus is stupidly good. And the speakers are nuts.

And i put on a tempered glass. Somehow, the keys at the side of the screen become less sensitive.

The letters qaz and plm become not sensitive. Izzit due to the screen cruve?
SUSkevin23
post Apr 19 2018, 09:16 PM

1,803 posts

QUOTE(hightechgadgets8 @ Apr 19 2018, 09:09 PM)
go search for settings to increase screen sensitivity
Done. Problem solved.
SUSkevin23
post Apr 20 2018, 08:18 PM

1,803 posts

Just realised this s9plus is so freaking heavy ! I really feel the weight difference from my old phone.
SUSkevin23
post Apr 20 2018, 09:17 PM

1,803 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Apr 20 2018, 08:56 PM)
What's your old phone again?
Mate8 .

And i thought that phone was heavy with its 4000mah battery. This s9plus feels like a brick in ur hand.

And still adjusting my eyes to this amoled screen. Somehow the screen color is so warm compared to LCD screen.

This post has been edited by kevin23: Apr 20 2018, 09:19 PM
SUSkevin23
post Apr 20 2018, 09:27 PM

1,803 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Apr 20 2018, 09:18 PM)
Glass is heavier than aluminium bro smile.gif
One more thing. How come the call quality on this s9 plus is so bad? Voice keep breaking and line not clear?

I tried calling the same person in the same location on another phone and its perfectly fine.

When i use my s9, the voice keeps breaking . And the other person hears shrieking sounds

This post has been edited by kevin23: Apr 20 2018, 09:33 PM
SUSkevin23
post Apr 20 2018, 09:35 PM

1,803 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Apr 20 2018, 09:34 PM)
I don't have that issue on my phone. What network are you on?
Maxis. All the while no issues. Only happening on this new s9plus.
SUSkevin23
post Apr 22 2018, 11:43 AM

1,803 posts

Ok after a few days usage with s9plus

Pro:
Speakers are really next level shit
Screen is awesome
Fast performance
Battery has improved since the 1st day
Camera is awesome. Pictures and videos came out looking great

Cons
Ar Emoji is shit
Superslow motion is overhyped. So damn blur and screen turns dark most of the time .
I dont know why they had to curve the screen. Totally useless and makes me always accidentally touch the edge of the screen . Definately need a thicker casing. Slim casing really tak.boleh.
Youtube app has bug. When watching videos, i cant seem to scroll down to see other videos.
Call quality is no where as good as Huawei
Heavy AF phone
Charging is slow AF even with the original charger
The Bixby button is the stupidest invention ever. Countless of times when i wanted to lower volume, i would press the bixby button instead. If can, i wanna rip that button off.

This post has been edited by kevin23: Apr 22 2018, 11:46 AM
SUSkevin23
post Apr 23 2018, 10:48 AM

1,803 posts

QUOTE(alister88 @ Apr 22 2018, 07:44 PM)
Yup set to auto. What I mean is the ringing and the notification...  hmm.gif
I full blast the levels tho..
Yup. So damn weird. The speakers are loud when playing youtube and all.

When calls come in, the ringing and notification sounds are soft AF.
SUSkevin23
post Apr 24 2018, 03:40 PM

1,803 posts

After using this phone for a week or so i can say all that 6gb ram is really bullshit.

I have had chrome crash on me multiple times. Youtube just crashed just now. And just a few minutes ago, system UI crashed.

Wtf phone is this? I used my mate8 for so many years also hardly anything crashed.

So much for exynos and 6gb crap.
SUSkevin23
post Apr 24 2018, 04:09 PM

1,803 posts

QUOTE(Theoutspokenguy @ Apr 24 2018, 04:04 PM)
Crashes is seldom due to ram

My note 8 is 6gb my s8+ is 4gb but i can feel note 8 is alot smooth overall.

I use note and s8+ also hardly crash. Most of us dont use chrome, we use samsung browser its alot better than chrome and firefox combine on mobile.

Ui crashes can also be cause by many reasons like you transfer old data and due to data conflict it crashes or you install some 3rd party app that lead to crashes or some theme files or rooted or u got virus?

So best is dont transfer all android data to new phone. Use it as fresh
New fone. About 1 week old only. No virus. Didnt transfer anything except contacts.

Prefer chrome. Been using chrome all the while and hardly crash on my other phones. On this s9+ in 1 week crash 3 times d.

On my mate8 iinstalled all sorts of apps even those not in the playstore. Never had any issue.
SUSkevin23
post Apr 24 2018, 06:58 PM

1,803 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Apr 24 2018, 06:23 PM)
Samsung Internet Browser is the way to go with Exynos equipped phone. Samsung enabled hardware acceleration for it. Only use chrome for specific sites that needed desktop like experience.
I googled and yea chrome is also crashing on note 8 as well.

SUSkevin23
post Apr 25 2018, 12:36 AM

1,803 posts

QUOTE(Azureknight94 @ Apr 24 2018, 10:04 PM)
Try to wipe the phone and see if problems still occur. If it does then suggest you go to a Samsung service center to have the phone checked out. Might be some mobo problem. 3k+ phone shouldn't be having these kinds of problems! Most users here not complaining of similar problems too.
Ok will try. This is a 4k phone!
SUSkevin23
post Apr 25 2018, 08:36 PM

1,803 posts

QUOTE(wjchay @ Apr 25 2018, 06:57 AM)
Hi, is there anyway to boost reception for Maxis on my S9+? I have been having 4g 2 bars in office and sometimes disconnection using internet.
Yeap i realise samsung antenna not very good. On my old phone, i wud be getting full barswith 4g+ on my data. But on this s9 plus, its 1 or 2 bars with 4G at the same location on Maxis
SUSkevin23
post Apr 25 2018, 08:38 PM

1,803 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Apr 25 2018, 02:55 PM)
LoL

Who is the brilliant genius that said 9810 bring improvement to camera?
Not sure about that. But for sure i can see huge difference btw s9plus and note8 /s8plus camera.

SUSkevin23
post Apr 26 2018, 01:24 PM

1,803 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Apr 26 2018, 11:06 AM)
Samsung changed their jpeg processing. Less heavy on the smoothening and sharpening.
I bought like 5 of these biggrin.gif

[attachmentid=9759256]

On the topic of accessories.

Gotten another case... Spigen Rugged Armor Urban.

[attachmentid=9759265]

Some observations.

The Urban version addressed a few shortcoming of the old Rugged Armor. First, while thickness is the same the Urban is cut differently so there's additional 3mm of space between tempered glass and case corner. Confirm won't lift any tempered glass.

At certain angle with the old Rugged Armor, tempered glass is higher than case coverage ie the glass will touch the floor when dropped. The Urban addressed this but only by a tinnnny bit though.

Another pet peeve with the old Rugged Armor is that the back of the case will smoothen up, turn shiny and ugly pretty quickly. I've gone through 3x Rugged Armor case (not including other cases) during the lifetime of my S7E. The texture on the Urban might help alleviate this.

And this just arrived.

[attachmentid=9759274]

Fusso oleophobic coating repair. Tried it on my S7E .... sooo smooth now.
I am using this spigen case. But fake one... Lol.. Feels damn nice to hold
SUSkevin23
post Apr 26 2018, 01:54 PM

1,803 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Apr 26 2018, 01:32 PM)
laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

Nicest to hold is still ringke fusion imo

UAG is nice also but TBH I find the quality lacking abit.

Design/function wise its great but the molding lines on the bumper part is so rough... doesn't reflect on its price lor.
Thats y i buy fake one. Rm15 only. Can change every mth... Lol
SUSkevin23
post Apr 26 2018, 03:27 PM

1,803 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Apr 26 2018, 03:22 PM)
...but will your phone survive a drop? The material quality is inferior to the original case. It is fine for scratch protection but I wouldn't risk a 4-5 feet drop with them.
The case looks and feels solid enough for me.

There is no guarantee ur fone will survive a drop with the ori casing la.
SUSkevin23
post Apr 27 2018, 11:29 AM

1,803 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Apr 27 2018, 08:22 AM)
Double posted
Not only Amoled. My 2 year old mate8 also had this same issuei guess its a android thing. Dont see it happening on old iphones
SUSkevin23
post Apr 27 2018, 12:37 PM

1,803 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Apr 27 2018, 11:37 AM)
Old iPhones no AMOLED ma, but then again Mate 8 also not AMOLED right?
Mate 8 Lcd Screen.
SUSkevin23
post May 4 2018, 03:38 PM

1,803 posts

QUOTE(junkieG @ May 3 2018, 09:38 AM)
i sold my iphone 7 256gb for 2k recently.

then i only topup 1k for 128gb s9+ brand spanking new.

imma happy boy now.
Iphone 7 sucks wei. Btw whr u buy 128gb s9plus at 3k? So cheap?

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0897sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 08:19 PM