Other specs include a huge 7-litre fuel tank, all-round disc brakes (250mm front, 200mm rear), and contoured seat are all included in Sym’s latest ‘kapcai’. It was also mentioned that the 124kg bike is able to achieve a top speed of 155km/h.
In the highly competitive world of the Malaysia underbone, or kapchai, market, getting a boost over your market rivals is hard, and SYM Malaysia just upped the ante with the 2018 SYM VF3i supercub, priced at RM8,467 for the standard model, and RM8,785 for the Special Edition. All prices include GST, but exclude road tax, registration and insurance.
This is a first in the market, as the biggest supercubs typically have 150 cc engines, and Malaysia is the first to see the VF3i. What this means is the VF3i carries a 33 cc advantage over its market rivals and as we all know, there is no replacement for displacement.
Displacing 183 cc from its liquid-cooled, SOHC, four-valve single, the VF3i produces a claimed 17.7 hp at 8,500 rpm and 15.3 Nm of torque at 7,500 rpm. Power for the Euro-3 compliant VF3i gets to the ground via a six-speed gearbox with wet-disc clutch.
Rolling on 17-inch wheels, the VF3i carries a 90/80 tubeless tyre in front, and the rear wheel is shod in 120/70 rubber. Braking is done with a 250 mm diameter disc in front clamped by a dual-piston hydraulic calliper, the largest in its category, while the rear is stopped with a 200 mm diameter brake disc.
As for suspension, the VF3i uses conventional telescopic forks in front, with 80 mm of travel, while a non-adjuastable monoshock with 32 mm of travel props up the rear end. Fuel is carried in a 7-litre tank under the seat, giving some 171 km of range according to SYM.
For those who might wish to know, SYM claims the VF3i will show an indicated 155 km/h on the digital LCD speedometer, with engine speed shown on an analogue gauge. Lighting for the VF3i is LED all round, and the front cowl sports a pair of LED DRLs.
The 2018 SYM VF3i weighs in at 124 kg, and comes in two colour options, Red and Blue, while the Special Edition comes in Matte Black. Availability of the VF3i in the Malaysia market will be from May at authorised SYM dealers.
Local market competition for the SYM VF3i comes from the Yamaha Y15ZR, priced at RM8,361 and the Honda RS150R at RM8,478. Another option is the Benelli RFS150i, which retails at RM7,407.
This post has been edited by Perfect.Stranger: Apr 16 2018, 05:26 PM
Other specs include a huge 7-litre fuel tank, all-round disc brakes (250mm front, 200mm rear), and contoured seat are all included in Sym’s latest ‘kapcai’. It was also mentioned that the 124kg bike is able to achieve a top speed of 155km/h.
TOP SPEED 155KM/Hr?? biar betik? What's the point of the big CC then?
dude 155kmh seems too high
my previous 20hp suzuki also hard to get 140kmh
16hp fz150 also topped around 130kmh
bear in mind i’m using gps speed not meter one unless you sent your speedometer to SGS for calibration la
even 36hp yamaha r25 only topped around 180kmh
how come 17-18hp can get 155kmh?
those modified lc135 that got 150-160kmh top speed dynoed at 19hp wheelhorsepower, should be 23-24hp at the crank. How I know? I asked tauke bike dyno near my house.
This post has been edited by terradrive: Apr 16 2018, 03:58 PM
bear in mind i’m using gps speed not meter one unless you sent your speedometer to SGS for calibration la
those modified lc135 that got 150-160kmh top speed dynoed at 19hp wheelhorsepower, should be 23-24hp at the crank. How I know? I asked tauke bike dyno near my house.
those 155kmh are not gps published, its from the bike speedometer, by the gps ralat, it wud be 140-ish
I owned dat 20hp suzuki fxr b4 la, s'ban melaka hiway got 165 kmh, on dat digi meter.
Sanyang Motor Co., Ltd. Industry Motorcycles and automobiles manufacturing and sales Headquarters Hsinchu, Taiwan Parent Sanyang Motor Website http://www.sym-global.com Sanyang Motor Co., Ltd.
三陽工業股份有限公司
a Taiwanese company
Taiwan can have this design nice when Malaysia can do it
This post has been edited by bereev: Apr 16 2018, 06:58 PM
can la, i get around 145-150 on my Suzuki RG last time. in terms of performance. 2 stroke pawn 4 stroke kao kao. but 2 stroke noisy, maintenance mahal. drink petrol like crazy. somemore need to buy 2T. daily commute, better stick to 4 stroke. riding Gen 2 135LC now. max also can get 115-120km/h only. coz i am heavy but i usually cruise around 100km/h
like i said before, your bike’s speedometer is not 100% accurate
fxr150’s speedo also meter ringan
This post has been edited by terradrive: Apr 17 2018, 03:24 PM
SYM produce 1080 unit for the 1st batch. that's why it's hard to see the bike on the road. so far in our WhatsApp SYM owner group, there are 227 owners gather but we don't the exact number the bike has been sold.
so far no major problem for this bike. the only minor issue like mudguard senget at the back, bike wobbly during top speed, double stand not properly tighten.
all this minor issue has been settle it by Mforce service center. The after sales service from Mforce is very2 good. they will call us when you have a problem.
coming from LC135 spec 63mm, I would say this bike is awesome. with 7 litres tank, wide wheel and tyre, torque, top speed and the quality of bike I am very satisfied. already clock 3500km mileage and feel very joyful when riding this bike.
top speed average for this bike is around 140kmh (127kmh on GPS), some owner got 145~147kmh and it depends on road elevation, wind, rider weight and so on. for my bike, I change the sprocket to 47 at the back (stock sprocket 15-48 .. very torquey!) and I can get 146kmh top speed.
anything you can refer at the SYM VF3i FB group page.
hello there,
my VF3i already clock 7000km today. running smoothly. best EO grade is 15w-50 and i recommend Ipone 15.5 or R4000RS, Rock Oil, Motul, Liqui Moly and PJ1. Just change to a bigger tyre, front 100/80, rear 130/70.
This post has been edited by ImAn: Oct 31 2018, 10:19 AM
my VF3i already clock 7000km today. running smoothly. best EO grade is 15w-50 and i recommend Ipone 15.5 or R4000RS, Rock Oil, Motul, Liqui Moly and PJ1. Just change to a bigger tyre, front 100/80, rear 130/70.
Hows the Full throttle? Engine and gearing no problem when full throttle?
Looking at its large piston, fuel consumption how? How about the long ride feel? Tq
spare part not so hard la. not everday your motor rosak. is rosak, find spare part original online or service center or boleh kahwin spare part other bike.
always Y and H. that why the price is high right now. change to other brand la. all bike is same quality nowdays.