file download problem, any sifu can help ah?

TSchuan1961
post May 13 2007, 07:06 PM, updated 19y ago

335 posts

hi all sifus out there,

i have this problem sometimes. files that i download, when opened become .txt files? even though i they are supposed to be quicktime files. i suspect its because of some plug ins, but which ones? could it be my safari browser? and why does my quicktime show this in my browser?(see attchment)

thanks for any help.

Attached image(s)
jensen_tidus
post May 13 2007, 07:12 PM

360 posts

maybe u can try to ctrl+click the link then choose "download linked file" ??
Timber
post May 13 2007, 07:17 PM

484 posts

where are you trying to download those files? are they legal? if it is not most prob it's the movie makers trying to sabotage these sites that provides illegal downloads by posting/uploading fakes.
xandman
post May 14 2007, 06:13 AM

When Darkness is the only Light U See.
7,214 posts

from my experience of the problem...
it seems that u dun have a codec for the specified file...

jarydyap
post May 14 2007, 08:23 AM

75 posts

Try installing Perian? Or maybe Fllip4Mac WMV?
TSchuan1961
post May 14 2007, 11:25 AM

335 posts

thanks guys, i will try installing flip4mac (which i thrashed last time i cleaned up my system) and perian(nvr heard of this). my quicktime is pro version and i dont understand how it can not have the codec for typcial .mov file. damn!!! maybe its corrupted or something happened when i reinstalled it.

Added on May 14, 2007, 11:27 am
QUOTE(jensen_tidus @ May 13 2007, 07:12 PM)
maybe u can try to ctrl+click the link then choose "download linked file" ??
done that. didnt work. the file still downloads as gibberish text code.

This post has been edited by chuan1961: May 14 2007, 11:27 AM
wei
post May 14 2007, 12:10 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

what file is that supposed to be?
let's say the file supposed to be .mpg, but it ended up as .txt
jsut rename the extension to .mpg, OSX will ask u to add or to change the extention, choose change. try the new .mpg file.

0.0166sec    1.07    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:19 PM