tanghm
post Jul 23 2007, 05:05 PM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

I just got Gigabyte 8800GTS 320MB.

The temperature is very high for me

Idle: 85'C
Full Load: I've seen 103'C

Anyone out there can share a light ? Its ridiculously high.

Setting the fan to run at 100% and these are the readings:

Idle:73'C
Full Load: 96'C

Software used: Both nTune and ATITool reports the same readings

This post has been edited by tanghm: Jul 23 2007, 05:06 PM
tanghm
post Jul 23 2007, 09:48 PM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

My temp reading is at Auto 60% default setting.

If fix at 100% it will go down to Idle:70'C Load:95'C but its almost audible
tanghm
post Jul 24 2007, 10:12 AM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

I set mine to 100% Fan using RivaTuner.

Idle: Still 73'C
Load: 90++ 'C

Open entire case and lay flat on the floor, still the same.

=.= ?
tanghm
post Jul 24 2007, 01:09 PM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

QUOTE(kutet @ Jul 24 2007, 12:47 PM)
that still high... mine gigabyte 8800 GTS 68@idle 80-85@load .. did u oc ur gc ... if i oc, temperature can reach that high ...
I did not OC, default 513/792 clocks.

Mine can reach your temp 68/80-85 if full blast 100% fan.

Load 90+ 'C only when using ATITool with 3D View to monitor, otherwise in games will max go to 92 (tested with Company of Heroes, quickly Alt+Tab out and look at ATITool temp on systray)
tanghm
post Jul 24 2007, 07:25 PM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

Covered the vent holes:

Here are my temps:
Idle: 67'C (Fans fixed at 100% Duty Cycle)
Load: 100'C

So if you ask me, yes my idle temp drop from 73'C to 67'C when the 4 vent holes are covered with tape.

Called the shop about my heat issue, they say its perfectly normal for 8800GTS to reach that temp.

This post has been edited by tanghm: Jul 24 2007, 07:44 PM
tanghm
post Jul 24 2007, 09:28 PM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

Thanks for the idea, I actually have that fan.

Now my temps dropped from 73'C/104'C to 60'C/91'C

Still high on the full load temp but its already huge difference, -13'C !!

Question, how do you all measure load temp ?

I use ATITool with 3DView opened, the temp will shoot up to my mentioned figures. If normal 3d app or gaming, it will not go that high, confirmed on my 7900GT which is now giving me problems on artifact (common 7900GT issue)

This post has been edited by tanghm: Jul 24 2007, 09:31 PM
tanghm
post Jul 24 2007, 11:55 PM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

QUOTE(ben_panced @ Jul 24 2007, 10:31 PM)
who cares about the load temp?? get the xfx 86gts and put a pci fan card underneath it and set the fan speed 100%, that should lower the load temps drastically..
Woo Hoo thats exactly what I did.

Played COH for hours just now, highest temp I've seen only 78'C instead of the shocking 104'C rclxm9.gif
tanghm
post Jul 25 2007, 09:27 AM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jul 25 2007, 12:57 AM)
do u guys put that blower fan right at the next pci slot or 1 or 2 slots away or what??
1 slot away for me, right next to it is not advised as gap for airflow is too small there. The air where the vent holes are is very hot, so adding a vga pci exhaust fan does the perfect job to push the hot air out of the case, which it did a 13'C drop for my case.
tanghm
post Jul 25 2007, 02:36 PM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

Major difference between all mentioned brands are the packaging contents. i.e. Some give 2 games, some 1, some even give 3DMark06 inside it (ASUS if not mistaken)

Performance wise there is almost no noticeable difference (~1%) depending on how the manufacturers clock their cards in the bios (some follow nVidia reference, some OC 10% higher etc, i.e MSI OC version)

I would like to get EVGA one but its not available in LYP, as the cooling design is proprietary and does not follow nVidia reference and is a tad better in cooling.

Among all brands, I prefer to take ASUS because it has 3 years warranty. The day when I bought mine ASUS is out of stock in the whole LYP so I ended up taking Gigabyte instead which also covers 3 years warranty. MSI cards is 2 year warranty while the rest are only 1 year.

Dont buy 1 year warranty cards, I already have bad experience with my previous Leadtek Winfast 7900GT which gave artifacts problems after 1 year 3 months... RM1.3k gone down the drain like that.
tanghm
post Aug 10 2007, 11:05 AM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

3DMark06: 8637 on my setup (sig)
tanghm
post Aug 21 2007, 01:22 AM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

Lost Planet @ DX9.0c

Screenshot shows it all.

It's Amazing.

tanghm
post Aug 21 2007, 01:44 PM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

Lost Planet is indeed typical consolish style game like you said Devil May Cry series. Jump shoot, destroy, collect drops.

8800GTS can barely handle it in certain boss battles, framerate as low as 15fps.
tanghm
post Aug 23 2007, 11:22 AM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Aug 22 2007, 02:15 PM)
can ATI tool use in 8 series?thanks
Can, I'm using it to view GPU temp on the system tray as well as to measure full load temperature (by open 3D View)

My temperature with MX-1 (Measured with 15 minutes ATITool 3DView)

Idle: 58'C (5 minutes right after bootup)
Full Load: 95'C (AGAIN this is 15 minutes ATITool temperature)

ATITool reports the TRUE full load temperature of any card, much much higher than normal 3D app where it doesnt utilise the GPU at 100%

This post has been edited by tanghm: Aug 23 2007, 11:25 AM
tanghm
post Aug 23 2007, 09:46 PM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

My 8800GTS full load 95'C after running for like 15 minutes lor, no problem at all can still OC to 620/930. The stock fan is really weak when come to pushing hot air out of the case, feel like removing the plastic covering the hsf and blow 80mm fan directly. But removing the plastic will have to damage the sticker covering the screw hole, hhmmmm

8800 series wont drop price anytime soon, with Crysis coming out round the corner expect a sale boost on 8800 series, you think NV will drop price ?
tanghm
post Aug 24 2007, 12:08 AM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

Wooo stanley85 another Gigabyte 8800gts 320 user, mind telling your idle + load temperature at default and 100% fan speed ?

Yes, get those PCI slot VGA exhaust fans will help get rid of the hot air around the 4 ventilation holes area.
tanghm
post Aug 24 2007, 03:23 PM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

QUOTE(HaHaNoCluE @ Aug 24 2007, 01:12 PM)
i trim the sticker around the 2 screw holes so that i can remove the plastic cover n clean the hsf... it help the hsf to drop 1 or 2'C as dust can cause major restriction...
How you trim ? The sticker completely covers the screw hole. Wouldn't trimming it will be obvious that you have opened the plastic hsf casing and cause problem during warranty ?
tanghm
post Aug 25 2007, 11:20 PM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

Even Gigabyte 8800 GTS 320MB now is selling RM1100 at Cycom
tanghm
post Aug 27 2007, 09:19 AM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

I have tried downclocking it to like 250MHz core but the temperature reduction is not by much, only -5'C or so.

Mine runs at full 512/792 even at desktop mode, cant they make 2D/3D clocks to run independantly to save energy cost.

@obefiend
Unless you force the fan to go at 100% duty cycle, 70'C idle temp is perfectly normal for me, which is my idle temp during 60% duty cycle.
Now forcing 100% duty cycle, idle temp is 57-61'C depending on room temperature. i.e. 57'C @ 28.5'C, 61'C @ 31'C

This post has been edited by tanghm: Aug 27 2007, 09:21 AM
tanghm
post Aug 27 2007, 03:00 PM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

Go ahead and pick 100 8800GTS cards. I'm pretty sure if there is no 100% manual fan speed overwrite via 3rd party software, all cards runs at 70'C++ idle temperature.
tanghm
post Aug 28 2007, 09:36 AM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

I come to conclusion that the load temperature depends on what 3D application you are running.

I was playing Company of Heroes yesterday my load temperature only 72'C, Stalker was 88'C, Lost Planet 91'C. All at 100% manual fan speed.

Hhmmm might wanna try kmarc's downclocking trick to save energy.

This post has been edited by tanghm: Aug 28 2007, 09:38 AM

0.0212sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:44 AM