Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V2

obefiend
post May 15 2007, 10:46 PM

Selamat Hari Raya Aidilluminati
863 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 15 2007, 10:48 AM)
hi guys, im not sure if this is the right thread, and atm im at work so cant search through the hardware forum if its posted or not...

almost guranteed to happen everyday but very random.

i downloaded ntune and checked the temperature and its a whooping 80-90c idle avg 85 c... wtf? or its normal? im running windows vista ultimate btw... and cstkl1 also mentioned that vista being permanent running on 3d clock... could it be the cause? please help...

that is too hot.. by at least 10 C. my GTX idles at 71-75......... and at about 60 on load. so u must have a ventilation problem in your casing. your crashing problem sound like an overheating gc. just a hunch...... how about opening the side panel and see of the temp goes down. if not maybe ur fan is not working properly. did u set the fan speed to manual? maybe the gc fan was accidently set to slow RPM

just my 2 cents..

btw

new test using futuremark 2006......... 9067. i think the proc and ram is holding me down

new test.. weird really. last 2 weeks i ran the same test using the same driver only got 8064...................how suddenly rise by 1K.. bizarre

and another thing.when i OC this card the score is always lower than stock. what could be the problem?

This post has been edited by obefiend: May 15 2007, 10:49 PM
obefiend
post May 16 2007, 04:32 AM

863 posts

[quote=cstkl1,May 16 2007, 01:11 AM]
[/quote]
nah
game at higher reso.
forget ure proc.

[/quote]

huh? high res games? i think 1680x1050 is gud enuff for me since the native res for my monitor is that. i was just trying to get some juice out of ths card. dont really see any difference post OC-ing.

as the question goes

how come the 3dmark goes down after OC... should it go up.. ram up the core to 700.........thats a good 100+ mhz faster than stock..

obefiend
post May 16 2007, 04:49 PM

863 posts

QUOTE(Hyde`fK @ May 16 2007, 11:56 AM)
Hard to say, don't even know what PSU he's using.
The PSU is even enough to power 8800GTX with your current system spec, no worries. 8600GTS and 8800GTS consume more less power than GTX.
im using Enermax 550 wat PSU. for sure enuff power since the GTX only needs a 450 to run. 2 hardisk .. i donthink i'm even sweating the PSU as it is. there is no slowdown during gaming or running futuremark. its really weird coz i lost a good 1000 mark everytime i OC this sucker

obefiend
post May 17 2007, 12:02 AM

863 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ May 16 2007, 11:28 PM)
why I cant find the Galaxy 8600GT on their english website? what is the GE's core/mem clock?

I dont think its available in lyp now... anyone selling this in lyn?

honestly, galaxy website is the worst among all GC makers shakehead.gif
try the MILKYSTAR.co.tw.. thats eveb worst. i remember looking out the info for my odl GF4 MX440. horrible........................
obefiend
post May 17 2007, 03:38 AM

863 posts

damn this game.........

keep on geting d3dx dll watsit error.. thank god for find dll.com.sheesh...........

my pc is getting its ass kicked..

snow 41 fps
cave 38 fps

setting as in the link..1600x1000 all setting maxed.........sheesh

This post has been edited by obefiend: May 17 2007, 03:52 AM
obefiend
post May 17 2007, 08:13 AM

863 posts

it running.......googled them up. but the issue here is the crashing of the game after a few seconds. the test ran flawlessly but not the actual game demo..

i am now dowloading the new driver....hope this fixes the bug
obefiend
post May 17 2007, 03:56 PM

863 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ May 17 2007, 12:09 PM)
Hmm, how did you get 1600x1200 ar ? On my Dell E228WFP 22", highest the menu allows is 1360x768. Anybody managed to run it at 1680x1050 ? Tq.
Edit: Also bro, just realized, why are you running it on DX9.0c ? Did you download the correct demo ? There are 2 versions of the demo. www.nzone.com has both versions and good speeds.

Edit #2: Ahh, you're not on Vista are you ? ehehe, soli.
i dunno. its just there.. see the thumbs. but teh thing is what aspect radio is that. ist not cool. looks stretchy. thats why in my eralier screen grab i change it to 1600x1000. still smaller than my 22" native. maybe i should play around with the INI file to get that resolution..

did the test again on all default,

snow : 69
cave : 45

thats too much diff between the 2.. but the cave sure looks awesome.....almost like 1992 CGI in The Abyss.....crazy!!

ABOUT GOW

i think microsfy made a slip about GOW on PC a few months ago. i read about it in PCGAMER march 2007 ( that means the mag printed on Feb).MS let slip of some secret Games for Windows display mock up and the guy from GoW is on it.. i'm not suprised that GoW will be ported. with Windows Live coming they are planning to let us pc to play with 360 owners. and what a way to do it too by porting 360's bestgame. it's a no brainer really.

btw........HALO.....its bloody overated.played the game a few years back. wasn't impressed at all. i rather waste my time playing MAFIA. now that is a game begging for a sequel!

obefiend
post May 17 2007, 09:56 PM

863 posts

QUOTE(Phoenixwunin @ May 17 2007, 09:23 PM)
I don't think Ageia Physix card is well worth it (unless you got the money.. lots of it to spend)

Correct me if I'm wrong.. but I thought the game supporting this card is limited right??
is a gimmick card to me. when they first luanch the card multi core processor is not out yet. these days any pc with quaad core can do all the physics processing. i dont think a few more paricle spark and blowing crates will make a game better.. dont really if the chap i'm shooting at really got blown away realistically. killing is killing........LOL
obefiend
post May 17 2007, 10:14 PM

863 posts

as far as i know more memory means better texture quality........more buffer.. that's all.......

sorry if i'm wrong.......
obefiend
post May 18 2007, 02:04 AM

863 posts

the only game that i know who uses AGEIA are

GRAW 1 an 2
Cellfactor <-- nok even ouk yek..
obefiend
post May 18 2007, 01:16 PM

863 posts

GTX FTW..................well..if u have the dosh..

so a small question.. i'm thinking of picking up another 8800 GTX and SLI this baby. my question is would a 550 watt PSU enough. i'm using an enermax one at the moment. its hooked on to a few fans and 2 HDD only..

obefiend
post May 18 2007, 04:03 PM

863 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 18 2007, 01:23 PM)
nope.
second u want to game 8800gtx sli with a 22inch???
dood.. just because i have a 22 for my monitor doesnt mean i dont have a big ass plasma at home. i dont really liek the tone of your post there. sure u have u ultras big up.. u want someone to pat ur back?

why cant someone just answet the question first and then give ur opinions.. sheesh

so......is 550WATTS enough for my pc SLI config..

obefiend
post May 21 2007, 03:18 AM

863 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ May 20 2007, 07:20 PM)
Yea, that should be a main concern. How do you feel about the card?Worth the money?

I am just worried that this card might not be able to handle the new 22" LCD i am ordering. Thats why i am still in doubt..
22" inch natives at 1680x1050.. so no prob the card can handle it. even my old 9600xt can handle the native res. heck..my old GF4 TI can handle 1950 something no problem. but the problem is wether it can suppor games on that setting. but to be honest i dont mind playing games on non native res just as long as the game runs smoothly.......dunno about u guys lah but to me gameplay is more important that shiny eftects.......
obefiend
post May 21 2007, 03:02 PM

863 posts

damn 20 K for 05? holy god in heaven. i only trust 05 scores since it doesnt take into account the CPU speed as much!

btw people.. does the RAM efect the score. i suspect it doesnt. so anyway this past few days my GTX is idling at 78C. weird.. it normally at 71C..
obefiend
post May 29 2007, 12:31 PM

863 posts

QUOTE(prospeed_ballz @ May 29 2007, 11:05 AM)
STALker and C&C 3 works perfectly with my GTX.......the shadow looks real.....

BTW, is it worth for me to use a 22' lcd widescreen with my 8800GTX.....im currently using samsung 205BW 20'......
is it worth it.........its bloody worth it mate! im using 22 with my GTX now.......awesome.. but u know what. for some unknown reason some games dont support 1680x1050 resolution........i have to tweak the INI files of most games to make it run in that native resolution
obefiend
post Jun 7 2007, 03:29 PM

863 posts

just a question.. how do you output to HDMI using 8 serie scard... i am thinking of hooking up my pc to a HDMI enable TV..

the new ATI seems to have them built in

do i need to buy an adaptor... currently the TV is hooked on component..
obefiend
post Jun 8 2007, 03:36 PM

863 posts

QUOTE(Eoma @ Jun 8 2007, 11:21 AM)
i was thinking about this too, and I don't think it's possible unless there's a DVI to HDMI dongle for the card. I wonder if the 2900XT's dongle will work on the 8800 series.  hmm.gif

Vista issues ? Hmmm. single 8800gtx experience:

Buggy yes (IE has crashed a few times) performance wise ? maybe slower than XP, but still plenty fast. AA and AF ? Works fine on some titles with no problems. OpenGL ? Haven't installed my copy of D3 and Q4 yet. Game crashes ? None so far. (cnc3, stalker, call of juarez, far cry, RE4, colin mcrae dirt demo).

My user experience = it's ok. wouldn't change back to XP.
cheer EOMA. but is the ATI dongle availble for sale? i tot that small little dongle can only be bought with an ATI card...

another question.. if and IF i get the HDMI output dongle does that mean i can discard the audio cable as well since HDMI is both for AUDIO and VIDEO also right?

on a side note has anyone with a GTX and ULTRA tried the Doug Jones Human Head demo.......that demo is sick. i know its supposed to be an ULTRA demo but the whole thing still ran butter smooth on my GTX.. its damn unreal

for those who are interested here is the linky!!
HUMAN HEAD ULTRA DEMO

Added on June 8, 2007, 3:39 pm
QUOTE(derek87 @ Jun 7 2007, 09:04 PM)
HELLO~~~~ No one knows the answer?
i think u have to go the NVIDIA SETTING. from there u can access the display setting for each display

some tvs are stuck to 800x600 so u cant change them anyways..

what tv is this card hooked on anyways?

This post has been edited by obefiend: Jun 8 2007, 03:39 PM
obefiend
post Jun 8 2007, 05:57 PM

863 posts

QUOTE(BurgerRI @ Jun 8 2007, 04:11 PM)
check this piece of interesting news out....

http://theinquirer.net/default.aspx?article=39829
sick.. time to start saving again., coz come christmas i'm gonna buy my own christmas prezzies!
obefiend
post Jun 8 2007, 07:24 PM

863 posts

QUOTE(ltw82 @ Jun 8 2007, 03:57 PM)
sweat.gif
thx for the clarification on HDCP supporting specs...
i wouldnt expect it require both LCD + gc to be HDCP compliant...
guess i miss out HDCP feature for taking the 1st batch 8600gt...
so u need both device HDCP compliant. that means im f**ked? my monitor is not HDCP compliant.. glad i didnt jump yet into the HD bandwagon
obefiend
post Jun 9 2007, 01:00 PM

863 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Jun 9 2007, 11:48 AM)
g92 this christmas, no worries, ROFL!

THREE times the power of g80's... madness
madness?.. .. this is NVIDIA!!

AHAHAAHHA

but one need to upgrade the proc also othertwise bottleneck..G80 cards as powerful as it is now already suffered bottlenecks on current proc.. duno la about quads.. got bottleneck also ?

0.0214sec    0.05    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:28 AM