Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V2

LExus65
post May 13 2007, 10:09 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

wander if those Ultra A03 core ever make it into mainstream GTS and GTX ..... if it does it good news for a lot of ppl........
LExus65
post May 16 2007, 03:05 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

8800 series card has not much difference in between brand actually, so any brand would do............ as all came from the same maker

so left down bundle software and some accessories only

MSI and EVGA does offer something better of OC version..........
LExus65
post May 16 2007, 06:11 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

normally galaxy GE version has dual bios and a voltage jumper for the GPU core, u can get a lot of extra kick form those..........

LExus65
post May 17 2007, 05:29 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

wah lost planet so terrible meh the requirement................
LExus65
post May 22 2007, 10:11 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

88GT series still all came from the same manufacturer if not mistaken, so far only a few maker put their own cooler
LExus65
post May 29 2007, 02:18 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

well it seems vista is having difficulty in OCing ur Graphic card, so a OC version would have already done the job for u.........

btw the KO version fan is position differently if not mistaken, it should have better performance like the ultra version does.........
LExus65
post May 31 2007, 08:04 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

wah nice 8500GE............. i think i goin to take 1 to play around too...........
LExus65
post Jun 5 2007, 08:19 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

well 2nd 8800GTS below 1k is seriously a good deal now, worth it
LExus65
post Jun 6 2007, 02:12 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

GE for galaxy is Gamer's Edition i believe........ they call it the Skull Ash for 7 series and grimlin or something for 8 series cards........

usually comes with dual bios and some voltage jumper for the core.......nice feature

u can look for review in chinese websites, seem quite capable, only letdown is the cooler master VGA cooler, wish they are putting back the old Zalman or better Artic Cool stuff for it.......
LExus65
post Jun 7 2007, 07:47 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

keep ur 6800GS>......... unless u want to go for DX10 which has not being surface much yet..........
LExus65
post Jun 19 2007, 10:56 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

LExus65
post Jun 20 2007, 08:21 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

arc did bfgbundle with games ?? that may help u to sell...............

btw all 8800 series are made in china and from the same factory......for all manufacturer.......there are none non reference design........
LExus65
post Jun 20 2007, 11:17 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

i'm using asus, my idle at 63 also, load around 68 ~ 70 only.......fan also 60% all time, i think the main problem is that the clock speed is slightly higher then stock.....the fan is actually slower too....

now trying to get a big fan to blast it see whether it goes down or not, i found that the underneed is indeed very very hot, if a heat sink is there would help a lot
LExus65
post Jun 21 2007, 10:01 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

thx for advice, stevenlee, stacker do have some advantage on this.....there a lot of place for ventilation, extra intake would just force the hot air out at the other side or top.........

the air in my casing is not hot, around ambient only like 30.......... only problem is the air filter works too well........ all the fan air flow is mess up and cut down like 60%, u should take notice of that Arc........that why i need additional fans to direct the air flow to place where i want......

i have try to put fan blowing straight on the card itself, helps quite a lot manage to cut it down to around 58.......i i believe it can go lower..... have no time to experiment with another configuration yet.......

btw mine cpu and mobo all on passive cooling, so the mobo area only relies on casing exhaust for ventilation,
LExus65
post Jun 21 2007, 05:23 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

idle at 72 really high wor............but still no problem for 88 i guess........normal operating range, side panel exhaust wont do much good if u deprive ur GC of fresh air intake.......it mught just get worst
LExus65
post Jun 23 2007, 10:47 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

wah 9 series coming already, hopefully smaller die and better memory can reduce heat and power consumption..........
LExus65
post Jul 4 2007, 03:18 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

so madman hows the temp now after setting ur fan speed,

at 90 % i'm able to get around 58 on idle and 65 load but the ambient still remain at 49 all time......
LExus65
post Jul 4 2007, 04:00 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

hoho icic that might be the problem, lack of fresh air intake
LExus65
post Jul 12 2007, 08:28 AM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

320mb is sufficient for 22" as long as u make some small minus on the AAs........

idle at 65 in such a large casing on the high side, may be u try to push the fan at 80 ~90%, the noise is not so noticeble in a enclose casing.....

u can monitor the clock speed, normally during idle the clock speed will be throttle back down.........can cut some heat down

btw for reference mine is idle at 56oC, load around 65 with supreme commander..... fan duty cycle at 90%
LExus65
post Jul 16 2007, 04:45 PM

Old Gezzer.....
1,995 posts

well i second HaHaNoCluE's tips, either u make a exhaust for it like those fox-1 blower (evercool) or something else for it............ btw cooling the underneath of the card would help a lot too

hehe after a series or try and error testing to come out with that configuration with 90% fan duty cycle all time , now i can maintain my card idle at 56oC, ambient of 45, @ 620:2000, load 63oC......

i used supreme commander and CnC3 as testing.......

i believe 8800ultra would do better as it can take cool air from both upper and lower side, it is much better

0.0193sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:30 AM