Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V2

TSHyde`fK
post May 13 2007, 02:41 PM, updated 19y ago

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

user posted imageuser posted image

Previous thread exploded over 2500 post. Let us start with version 2 here.

Link to previous thread : http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/343920

Currently available Geforce 8-series DX10 card in the market nowadays:-

8500GT 256MB DDR2 @ 128bit
8500GT 256MB DDR3 @ 128bit
8600GT 256MB DDR3 @ 128bit
8600GTS 256MB DDR3 @ 128bit
8600GTS 256MB/512MB DDR3 @ 256bit - to be confirmed
8800GTS 320MB DDR3 @ 320bit
8800GTS 640MB DDR3 @ 320bit
8800GTX 768MB DDR3 @ 384bit
8800 Ultra 768MB DDR3 @ 384bit

Drivers that aspect ratio scaling can work using WS LCD with 8X00 series GPU.

Windows XP - Forceware 96.89 - Download Link

Windows Vista - Forceware 101.41 - Download Link

Latest Forceware Drivers

Windows XP -ForceWare 168.18 WHQL 32bit - Download Link Updated 14/7/07

Windows Vista - Forceware 163.11 WHQL 32bit - Download Link Updated 14/7/07
Windows Vista - Forceware 163.11 WHQL 64bit - Download Link Updated 14/7/07

Utilities

RivaTuner v2.02 - Download Link Updated 14/7/07
ATi Tool 0.27 b2 - Download Link
nTune 5.05.47.00 - Download Link Updated 14/7/07
Coolbits 2.0 - Download Link

Benchmarks

Call of Juarez DirectX 10 - Download Link
NVIDIA Demo: Human Head - Download Link
Lost Planet - DirectX 10 Game Demo - Download Link
Futuremark 3DMark/PCMark Download Page - Download Link
Real-Time High Dynamic Range Image-Based Lighting - Download Link Added on 3/8/07 [Thanks to aidlover & mADmAN]

Patches

Vista Compatibility & Reliability Patch 32bit - Download Link Added on 3/8/07
Vista Compatibility & Reliability Patch 64 bit - Download Link Added on 3/8/07

Others

Microsoft DirectX 9 & 10 August 2007 - Download Link Added on 3/8/07 [Some new games would need this installed]
NVIDIA overscan compensation Fix - Download Link Added on 3/8/07
8800 Fan Speed guide - Webpage Link Added on 3/8/07 [Thanks toa aidlover& mADmAN]

Added on May 13, 2007, 2:46 pm
QUOTE(Eoma @ May 13 2007, 02:05 PM)
Anyone managed to get AA working in HL2 ? 8800GTX + Forceware 158.18 + Vista 32-bit. I'm enabling it in-game. Tried forcing it via the Control Panel, no go oso. Thanks.

p/s: AA works in cnc3, the cascades demo etc.
Try setting the AA option in Control Panel to Application Control.

This post has been edited by Hyde`fK: Aug 20 2007, 02:38 PM
TSHyde`fK
post May 14 2007, 02:48 AM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

Judging from Shamino's review, X2900XT doesn't seems that great for the price to be paid. And somehow ATI's IQ lose this time. But my my, 1Ghz core and 1Ghz memory for 16K 3DMark06.
TSHyde`fK
post May 14 2007, 09:24 AM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 14 2007, 02:56 AM)
dont write it off bro

did u see the overclock on stock.. thats beats a gtx already...here is the proof.. of my very own before..kekek but take note the lastest driver gives about 500 points or more than this...
the question is just HEAT HEAT HEAT...

i suspect because x2900 doesnt work like the g80's work with the shader clock and core clock.. so u every mhz u overclock teh x2900xt.. gives u a performance gain..

again.. either i buy them to test it .. or somebody has to. the question is
so far " Doom " sold his 8800gts to get this,
how many ppl who said wait and see and etc etc will get the card..
or are they going to say in august and hence forth.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Atta...=post&id=207714
x6800@3.317 , 473*7
EVGA 680 mobo,
2x1gb Crucial Ballistix Tracer - 950mhz CL4 - 2.2v
8800gtx 575/1350/900 (Stock)
3dmark06 = 11086.

Shamino Vrzone
x6800@3.3    ,366*9
ASUS P5K Deluxe (Intel P35 Chipset)
2 x 1GB GSkill CL5DDR2 915MHz, 5:4 Divider
HD2900xt 880/1030 (742/828 - Stock)
3dmark06 = 11896!!!...
The 3DMark06 is good, but gaming performance not quite impressive from Sham's review. Could be driver issue, waiting for better driver release and see what X2900XT can do. biggrin.gif
TSHyde`fK
post May 16 2007, 10:10 AM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

[quote=obefiend,May 16 2007, 04:32 AM]
nah
game at higher reso.
forget ure proc.

[/quote]

huh? high res games? i think 1680x1050 is gud enuff for me since the native res for my monitor is that. i was just trying to get some juice out of ths card. dont really see any difference post OC-ing.

as the question goes

how come the 3dmark goes down after OC... should it go up.. ram up the core to 700.........thats a good 100+ mhz faster than stock..

[/quote]
Graphics card no getting enough "juice" I mean voltage. When running 3DMark, is there any freezing or slowdown?
TSHyde`fK
post May 16 2007, 11:56 AM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(jcliew @ May 16 2007, 11:32 AM)
What "juice" mean here i think is da current run in da rail rather than da rail's voltage thought hmm.gif
Hard to say, don't even know what PSU he's using.

QUOTE(akachester @ May 16 2007, 11:49 AM)
Just wondering, anyone knows where i can get XFX 8600GTS here in Malaysia and would the ST56F be powerful enough to power up the 8600GTS or maybe the 320MB 8800GTS?
The PSU is even enough to power 8800GTX with your current system spec, no worries. 8600GTS and 8800GTS consume more less power than GTX.
TSHyde`fK
post May 16 2007, 12:01 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ May 16 2007, 11:58 AM)
Thanks..I was waiting for ATI all these time but was worried about the 8pin connector thingy from PSU and with the price of the 86series seems to be coming down slightly every now and then, i guess maybe its time to give it a try..Preferbly to get the 8600GT/GTS from XFX..
Well, in the other thread, most already confirm running HD2900XT with only 2 x 6 pins PCI-E connectors is possible to overclock, just only Overdrive feature is disabled. Maybe you should wait for awhile, who knows there will be any price drop.
TSHyde`fK
post May 16 2007, 12:09 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ May 16 2007, 12:03 PM)
I would not purchase a 8600series unless i could find the XFX or maybe other brand that offers a good price though..For now, i am getting tired of waiting for ATI to at least show us, the consumer, something more of the mid end series..Anything over 1k is totally out of my hands for now. Was eagerly waiting for the 8800 series to drop to about 900..lol..Then i can start to aim for one..
I see. Who knows I might change in near future. biggrin.gif

TSHyde`fK
post May 16 2007, 02:05 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

Its still a demo. Most demo will have uncomplete/bad coding. So its still early to make any assumption.

This post has been edited by Hyde`fK: May 16 2007, 02:06 PM
TSHyde`fK
post May 16 2007, 03:45 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

Tell him to disable onboard vga.
TSHyde`fK
post May 16 2007, 05:35 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(obefiend @ May 16 2007, 04:49 PM)
im using Enermax 550 wat PSU. for sure enuff power since the GTX only needs a 450 to run. 2 hardisk .. i donthink i'm even sweating the PSU as it is. there is no slowdown during gaming or running futuremark. its really weird coz i lost a good 1000 mark everytime i OC this sucker
Try other drivers and see how.
TSHyde`fK
post May 16 2007, 08:26 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ May 16 2007, 07:15 PM)
Ok guys, i need some clear up in my mind right now..

Been thinking of these for while and hopefully you guys can help me out here..

I have a confusion in term of the usage of bits on a GC. When comparison is being done between the 6800 and the 7600, people are saying that the 7600 will be better even though the 6800 have more muscle and higher bit (256bit VS 128bit). I understand that it is due to newer technology that compensate the lost in bits, making the 7600 a better card..

Mystery solved there. However, doesnt this implies on the 8series as well?Many people here have said that they are disappointed in having only 128bit on the 8600 series (including myself for no reason) and resolve in buying the 7900GS just for the sake of some proven performance and a higher bit (again, 128bit VS 256bit). Wouldnt a newer technology in the 8series compensate in the lost of bits, and making the 8600 a better card?
Those card with lower memory bit like 7600GT with 128bit, can beat previous 6800, that because 7600GT has high core and memory compare to 6800, thus giving 7600GT more memory bandwidth compared to the bandwidth of 6800. Memory bandwidth is what matters most.
TSHyde`fK
post May 16 2007, 10:08 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ May 16 2007, 09:47 PM)
Ok. I get the point there..So, would this means since the 8600GT/GTS also have higher core/memory speed compared to the 7900GS, wouldnt the 8600GT be a good buy as well (only difference for GT and GTS is the bandwidth)?I mean, the higher bandwidth would compensate for the lost of bit right?
7900GS : 43GB/sec
8600GT : 22.4GB/sec
8600GTS : 32GB/sec

That's why 7900GS sometimes can pull out better fps compare to 86XX, but not always.
QUOTE(asmly14 @ May 16 2007, 09:51 PM)
Do you know what I do with my 8800gtx? Play DOTA.... no other application other than programming.

No time to play. Such a waste am I? Just wonder, why all of you that bought high end graphic cards for? Definately I do not know why cstkl1 keep upgrading his GC. Sold off his 8800GTX for Ultra. *Woah*
LOL. He did mentioned the reason in other thread.
TSHyde`fK
post May 17 2007, 07:49 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(LExus65 @ May 17 2007, 05:29 PM)
wah lost planet so terrible meh the requirement................
Don't feel bad. The demo's coding might be poorly written, like what happened to DOOM 3 last time.
TSHyde`fK
post May 18 2007, 03:18 AM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(viqq @ May 18 2007, 03:12 AM)
hey guys just wondering...do i need a vista certified or compliant motherboard to run a 8-series card?
No you don't have to. Any board with PCI-E slot will run the card.
TSHyde`fK
post May 18 2007, 05:16 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

Eh people, stop the arguing. If all people here are all at the same standard, this world is boring already, get what I mean? wink.gif
TSHyde`fK
post May 28 2007, 04:14 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ May 28 2007, 03:59 PM)
gaji coming out today so looks like ill be ordering the 8800GTS once i settle my finances & bills. hopefuly everything ok...otherwise cant order....

the 2900xt is really attractive...but the driver issues and especially heat issues is really putting me off. more heat means more power and my pc is gonna be on 24/7 for torrents. dun wan daddy to start screaming about the electricty bill laugh.gif

as for the galaxy....i think they OC their cards...coz theres a shop here in MV that sells it...i saw on the box got written overclocked on the corner...just dunno how much OC done to it la...myself, planning on the BFG 8800GTS 320MB OC2. lifetime warranty drool.gif how i wish i have enough money for the 640MB OC2.

and hopefully next month's pay can get another one for SLi drool.gif
For 22" WS, 320MB would be sufficient. There's no much improvement owning a 640MB for 1680 x 1050 resolution. Save those money to grab something else you have in mind. smile.gif
TSHyde`fK
post May 28 2007, 04:38 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

I tested some games with my card on my LCD, some games are good, some are demanding for my card to handle.

STALKER max settings on 1920 x 1200 is just playable, mouse movement is lagging. 1680 x 1050 is great, although graphics will be not that crisp. NFS series, nice but sad that it doesn't support WS. GRAW is good enough to play with max settings with 1920 x 1200. Test Drive Unlimited also smooth with max settings. CnC3, haven't try it out. Now I wonder how my card will handle Crysis on my LCD. Guess might have to spend more getting a GTX at least. sweat.gif
TSHyde`fK
post May 28 2007, 08:35 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(s[H]sIkuA @ May 28 2007, 07:36 PM)
There is a hack for NFS to support widescreen smile.gif
Tried, doesn't really helps much.
TSHyde`fK
post May 28 2007, 09:46 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

If only GTX price drops alot. But by then, will have more choice to choose from. biggrin.gif
TSHyde`fK
post May 28 2007, 10:24 PM

D9s Killer
2,378 posts

QUOTE(rockmaniac85 @ May 28 2007, 10:19 PM)
yep, a never ending cycle it is.

i'm here getting the same card as you. hope that it will rox.
Certainly it will. Still it's one of the best value card available around as for now. Hope you enjoy once the card has arrived in your place. smile.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0477sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:41 AM