Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V2
nicholas_1213
Jun 3 2007, 08:51 PM
yeah i know as recommended from the homepage :
*Minimum of a 400 Watt power supply. (Minimum recommended power supply with +12 Volt current rating of 26 Amp Amps.)*
but i just wanna know what PSU are used by our forumer here as i believe 400w is just enough for it, so i wanna ask whether if i use PSU more than 500W it'll be an 'overkill'.. anyway thanks for the feedback..
eluna
Jun 3 2007, 08:59 PM
QUOTE(nicholas_1213 @ Jun 3 2007, 08:51 PM) yeah i know as recommended from the homepage : *Minimum of a 400 Watt power supply. (Minimum recommended power supply with +12 Volt current rating of 26 Amp Amps.)* but i just wanna know what PSU are used by our forumer here as i believe 400w is just enough for it, so i wanna ask whether if i use PSU more than 500W it'll be an 'overkill'.. anyway thanks for the feedback.. http://www.extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jspits depending how much optical and accessories plug into you CPU the factory recommended most likely more then enough, because impossible for them knowing what inside your CPU. 400watt just predicted (survey) amount if you do overclocking, charging your pda (whatever), many optical drive, fans... go for 500watt then. This post has been edited by eluna: Jun 3 2007, 09:00 PM
dattebayo
Jun 3 2007, 09:03 PM
there's never overkill in PSU... higher wattage on PSU doesnt mean u ll pay higher TNB bill. IMO, a PSU's reliability is more important than its rated wattage, some rated 600W PSU might have lower 12V currents, if u doubt other brands, get Silverstone ST50EF, its more than enough for OC'ed 8800GTS as long as u dont SLI silverstone is well known for their stability on 12V, and they really can deliver the current as rated on separate 12V rails. oh ya.. and here is the calculater to calc the total 12V current needed http://web.aanet.com.au/SnooP/psucalc.phpremember, more currents on 12 V is the most important. This post has been edited by dattebayo: Jun 3 2007, 09:06 PM
eluna
Jun 3 2007, 09:06 PM
QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jun 3 2007, 09:03 PM) there's never overkill in PSU... higher wattage on PSU doesnt mean u ll pay higher TNB bill. IMO, a PSU's reliability is more important than its rated wattage, some rated 600W PSU might have lower 12V currents, if u doubt other brands, get Silverstone ST50EF, its more than enough for OC'ed 8800GTS as long as u dont SLI silverstone is well known for their stability on 12V, and they really can deliver the current as rated on separate 12V rails. your mobo will get strike out first with large amount unuse power if power goes into unstable situation get branded psu for safety
nicholas_1213
Jun 3 2007, 09:09 PM
wow that's a cool website.. hehe thx bro, & thanks to all sifu here.. This post has been edited by nicholas_1213: Jun 3 2007, 09:10 PM
okitainda
Jun 3 2007, 11:22 PM
I got 450 Watt, I think should be enough to cater 8800 GTS (320 MB version)...
I look at the length of the card, 8 series seems pretty long, I wonder it will "touch" any of my mobo items like caps and all..
Any one know what is the exact length o the card?
Also, what is the price of such card now?
prospeed_ballz
Jun 4 2007, 12:25 AM
QUOTE(okitainda @ Jun 3 2007, 11:22 PM) I got 450 Watt, I think should be enough to cater 8800 GTS (320 MB version)... I look at the length of the card, 8 series seems pretty long, I wonder it will "touch" any of my mobo items like caps and all.. Any one know what is the exact length o the card? Also, what is the price of such card now? ur major concern is it might touch ur hdd.... must get a bigger casing...... 8800 GTS 320MB might be around RM1300++.... just survey in garage sale...... might find some one selling it cheaper.....
mADmAN
Jun 4 2007, 12:51 AM
actually the price is more like 1200....the Palit is even going for 1040 in the bulk orders section.
ur 450W is what PSU?
one thing i noticed from the manufacturer's website such as evga and bfg, when they recommend a 400-420W PSU with xxAmps on the rails... they always state that its based on a QX6800 system. so i guess a lower power consuming system should be alright if u meet the bare minimum of the recommendation from those sites.
derek87
Jun 4 2007, 01:48 AM
hey... guys.. what is the difference between ForceWare 158.24 Vista 32-bit WHQL and NVIDIA ForceWare 158.45 Vista 32-bit? it's here, http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=1653http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=1651This post has been edited by derek87: Jun 4 2007, 01:49 AM
Quazacolt
Jun 4 2007, 09:15 AM
QUOTE(derek87 @ Jun 4 2007, 01:48 AM) hey... guys.. what is the difference between ForceWare 158.24 Vista 32-bit WHQL and NVIDIA ForceWare 158.45 Vista 32-bit? it's here, http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=1653http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=1651same question here, ive checked the release notes on both version but found nothing different. only difference i can find is the official release is WHQL certified (cant be 100% certain either as i havent install those myself)
toughnut
Jun 4 2007, 09:31 AM
for those who still asking questions and argue bout power requirement for 8series cards, QUOTE(toughnut @ Jun 2 2007, 04:22 PM) -400W enough for C2D E6600 + 320M 8800GTS? yes -400W enough for OCed E6600 + 320M 8800GTS OCed? yes again -400W enough for OCed E6600 + SLi 320M 8800GTS OCed? YES!!! http://www.madshrimps.be/?action=getarticl...537&articID=574PSU used, FSP ZEN400 400Watt Passive Cooled!!! posted before but another threadThis post has been edited by toughnut: Jun 4 2007, 09:33 AM
akachester
Jun 4 2007, 10:32 AM
Do anyone know Vertex is still carrying 8600GTS XFX product here in Malaysia or is there any other local shops that carry them? Not through Bulk orders..
rockmaniac85
Jun 4 2007, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(derek87 @ Jun 4 2007, 01:48 AM) hey... guys.. what is the difference between ForceWare 158.24 Vista 32-bit WHQL and NVIDIA ForceWare 158.45 Vista 32-bit? it's here, http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=1653http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=1651version seems to be different. if i were you, i'll pick the nvidia forceware 158.45, as it is the latest compared to 158.24.
akachester
Jun 4 2007, 12:15 PM
Doesn't having the WHQL means its better because its a certified driver?More stability?
calvin
Jun 4 2007, 12:33 PM
QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 4 2007, 12:15 PM) Doesn't having the WHQL means its better because its a certified driver?More stability? no WHQL = no certified = stability not assured..
sleepy
Jun 4 2007, 01:23 PM
If I'm not mistaken, the new .45 driver is supposed to give a boosts in CoH in DX10 mode
derek87
Jun 4 2007, 02:00 PM
i see... well im having other problems too... I cant get to adjust the screen size for the tv out size..(tried changing the resolution, all cant help) like the software from nvidia we all have in XP. But it seems there's nothing for me to adjust in Vista.
Anyone knows how?
dattebayo
Jun 4 2007, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(okitainda @ Jun 3 2007, 11:22 PM) I got 450 Watt, I think should be enough to cater 8800 GTS (320 MB version)... I look at the length of the card, 8 series seems pretty long, I wonder it will "touch" any of my mobo items like caps and all.. Any one know what is the exact length o the card? Also, what is the price of such card now? GTS is 9 inch, while GTX should be 10-11 inch. normal ATX casing shouldnt pose a problem, caps wont block the card too as their height are still lower than the height of pci-e slot. The one u should worry is the SATA port or IDE port which are on the same line as the PCI-e slot
Phoenixwunin
Jun 4 2007, 02:08 PM
akachester
Jun 4 2007, 03:46 PM
Gosh, how lucky you guys can target those high end cards (GTX,GTS)...I am just sitting there hoping the price will drop but there aint any movement of the price at all for now..Not sure when will they start to drop...
Do you guys think 8600GT SLI will outperform a Single 8600GTS?And by how much?
This post has been edited by akachester: Jun 4 2007, 04:11 PM