Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V2

tanghm
post Aug 28 2007, 10:56 AM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

Guess what.

I can manually set my fan using Rivatuner but I cant set the fan speed using nTune !! All options are grayed out under te fan options.

So I'm exactly opposite eh ?
tanghm
post Aug 30 2007, 09:10 AM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

QUOTE(tonny @ Aug 29 2007, 10:33 PM)
Hi all nVidia8 experts,

I'm using Asus 8600GT 256mb (official 162.18 driver), do you've experience that when you play games like C&C3 or Supreme Commander, it will freeze randomly between 30 minutes to 1 hr ? I've go through the nVidia forum, but seems many people also face the same situation for 8600GT. Last week I've replaced my Acbel 350W PSU to Enermax Liberty 500W, but no much help. It still freeze randomly within 1 hr when playing C&C3. My PC spec is AMD X2 5600+; Asus M2N-E SLI; Patriot DDR-800 1GB RAM (with heatsink); Asus 8600GT 256mb; Enermax Liberty 500W.

Hope you guys can provide me some info or solution.

Regards: Tonny
I experience this when I'm still using my 7900GT. Try lower down some AA/AF settings in game. That works for me, cant remember which setting cant go highest as it will hang randomly like you say.

At first I also very scare about the temperature of this card. After even making it to run at 108'C with ATITool 100% 3D Stress Test but still running rock stable with no artifact/stability issue, I dont care about the temperature now.

Btw, MX-1 has helped reduced about 10'C from the load temperature from the stock paste.

This post has been edited by tanghm: Aug 30 2007, 09:32 AM
tanghm
post Sep 1 2007, 05:12 PM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

The heat comes from the heatpipe near the ventilation holes, you can see there's a heatpipe there. So thats why the SLi bridge area gets heated up.
tanghm
post Sep 2 2007, 11:00 AM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Sep 1 2007, 10:45 PM)
My previous Galaxy 8800GTS 640MB runs at 60 on idle & 68 on load.
After changing the stock TIM to Arctic Cooling MX-1, the temps drop to idle 56 & 64 on load. [At this time, Arctic Cooling MX-2 is still unreleased. tongue.gif ]

Can't understand why your 8800GTS goes that hot. sweat.gif
I can't understand why mine goes even HOTTER, up to 100'C yesterday with ATITool 3DView =.= !

Edit: Oh, its 31'C room temperature no air cond.

This post has been edited by tanghm: Sep 2 2007, 11:01 AM
tanghm
post Sep 6 2007, 10:46 AM

SSRI Addict
1,972 posts

QUOTE(HaHaNoCluE @ Sep 5 2007, 04:26 PM)
i got a problem running my 8800gts recently, it was factory oced to 550/900 but i downclock it to 550/850 due to artifacts lately... i oso bump into several BSOD ocassions, can some 1 help me out??? i dun have any idea wat caused it... i tried my gpu on another P35 + E2160 n it works perfectly, i've oso replaced rams n psu but still same...

my rig e6600, 400 x 9, 1.500vcore
abit aw9d-max, 975
ocz reaper 2 x 1gb, 800 4-4-4-15 (std)
acbel 550W i power
windows xp pro sp2
driver 163.44 beta
atitool 0.27b
usually this happen while i play games or run atitool 'show 3d' or 'scan for artifact'... after running for a few minutes, either BSOD or system lock up...
icon_question.gif

the BSOD screen

[attachmentid=289698]
I dont remember having ar5211.sys as part of NVidia drivers. Check the origin and the purpose of this file to assist in troubleshooting. I do run into BSOD during my 7900GT times but the driver involved is always nv4_disp.dll

Edit: Oops, you found out the origin of this file

This post has been edited by tanghm: Sep 6 2007, 10:47 AM

0.0177sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:39 AM