4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V2

TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Jun 23 2007, 12:54 AM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(nicholas_1213 @ Jun 23 2007, 12:14 AM)
u mean selling off their 8series and get the 9series? absence of DX10 games??
To be exact, I meant "depreciation"... in price sweat.gif

For example, if u have 5900XT and wanna sell off coz u wanna get 6600GT (or any card in that matter). But u heard 6600GT its price-drop in a weeks time. If u waited for that few weeks time, but at the same time, ur 5900XT selling value will be depreciate.

(Ooo.. next mth cheaper by rm100, at the same time.. dam.. my old card had to sell less (depreciate) rm100... sumthin like tat tongue.gif).

Unless, u not selling yer 3Dcard for the next coming card, which ppl shld wait for the price drop. Errmmz... i hope u understand.. my "england" not guud blush.gif tongue.gif

Cheers biggrin.gif
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Jun 23 2007, 03:12 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

Yea, it doesnt really affect those who selling their card to get an upgrade wink.gif

Btw, the 9series cards, if its coming out, imo Nvidia wont be releasing that fast considering theres basically no threat from their competitors yet.

And yea, abt lower power consumptions.

Cheers smile.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Jun 23 2007, 03:13 PM
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Jun 24 2007, 03:15 AM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

w00t!.. finally gotten my MSI 8800GTS 320MB OC EDITION!!! thumbup.gif rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif

And best of all it comes with 'Company Of Heroes'!.. thumbup.gif

Juz installed it few hrs ago, runs great and i gotta say its really quiet too, abt the same noise level as my 7600GT.

So far played RainbowSixVegas which runs great at 1680x1050res!!.. was playing at 1280x800res on my 7600GT, even that res oso laggish sweat.gif

And i benchmarked using COH, and i gotten
avg 73.1fps
max 137fps
min 32.9fps

and best of all it rated "GREAT" status... sweet gaming here i come! biggrin.gif

Btw, first time using the latest drivers for 8series.. i noticed kinda different, like the part when i click to see GPU temperature, and it asked me to download nTune.

I gotta say nTune pretty big filesize comparing other 3Dcards utility softwares.

And heres the idle temp. readings i gotten from nTune :-
CPU: 36'C and GPU: 59'C
Good temp.?

Cheers icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Jun 24 2007, 03:19 AM
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Jun 24 2007, 03:37 AM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

Phoenixwunin : Thx man! biggrin.gif

Btw, if u peeps wanna test stress yer card use this demo :-
http://www.daionet.gr.jp/~masa/rthdribl/#Download

This demo was out few years oredi, if not mistaken.

Im sure u peeps seen this demo before rite?... supposed to be the first HDR demo at that time too.. lol

Cheers biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Jun 24 2007, 03:38 AM
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Jun 24 2007, 03:53 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 24 2007, 10:05 AM)
For the COH, what setting you used cause i am getting average only on my com. Worried that it might be either my card or processor..

For the idling temp, i am getting roughly the same. around 58 - 61c most of the time. enjoy the card...
Well, i set all high-settings 0xAA at first, then later tried all ultra-settings 4xAA i still can get "GREAT" status thumbup.gif

Weird.. average, esp. since yer rig specs its much better than mine.

As i said earlier, didcha 'disabled vsync' for yer COH?.. bcoz its enabled by default.

Cheers biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Jun 24 2007, 03:55 PM
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Jun 24 2007, 04:17 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jun 24 2007, 04:06 PM)
isnt in COH, there's only the setting as either turn on AA or turn off it, it doesn't mention which level of AA
Yea, by think of it, previously COH has only on/off AA. So i guess must be the latest patch (v1.70) has "enchanced AA options" cool2.gif

The latest patch adds DX10 content too, if im not wrong.. COH basically the first full game uses DX10!.. altho i dont have Vista.. lol...

So far, i tried TitanQuest, Oblivion, NFS Carbon, SupremeCommander, CompanyOfHeroes, RainbowSixVegas, all that games, i finally i can play it at 1680x1050res smoothly rclxm9.gif

Cheers biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Jun 24 2007, 04:19 PM
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Jun 24 2007, 07:35 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(Clavicus @ Jun 24 2007, 05:25 PM)
Eh, i thought R6: Vegas doesnt support WS? You patched it or smth?

WTA, lets say i use a third party cooler with a high performance fan that does not support 3/4-pin input, wont the graphics card not startup as it didnt detect any fans?
Yea, my RSV its WS-patched wink.gif

And abt 3rd-party hsf, its there even a HSF made for 3Dcard doesnt have proper power-cable?.. blink.gif

Juz wondering what 3rd-party hsf are u referring/getting?..

Cheers biggrin.gif
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Jun 24 2007, 09:46 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(Clavicus @ Jun 24 2007, 08:08 PM)
I'm referring to Thermalright HR-03 Plus that does not come with a fan pre-installed. AFAIK, those high-performance fans does not come with 3-pin plugs because it draws alot of power or smth liddat.
I see... imo it wont be a problem considering theres 3Dcards out there uses 'passive hsf/coolers'.. meaning w/o any fan, it uses heatpipe tech like Gigabyte Silent-Pipe 3Dcards.

The only thing it wont start its not enough power or overheated, if im not wrong smile.gif

Cheers biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Jun 24 2007, 09:50 PM
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Jun 24 2007, 10:42 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(Clavicus @ Jun 24 2007, 09:58 PM)
You made a good point there. Thanks. happy.gif
No probs smile.gif

Btw, i juz did a quick 3DMark06 benchmark and i gotten :-
7182 3DMARKS

I gotta say from 7600GT to 8800GTS has nearly tripled my 3dmarks/score... sweet... rclxm9.gif

akachester : What didcha got for yer 3DMark06?..

And MSI 8800GTS OC EDITION owners, did u peeps use MSI D.O.T software?.. which its MSI's own overclocking utility.

Cheers biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Jun 24 2007, 11:00 PM
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Jun 25 2007, 03:21 AM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(zeronehza @ Jun 25 2007, 02:16 AM)
is tat really msi 88gts oc edition? ur score i think it was too low

my asus get 7885 in 3dmark06.. never oc... laugh.gif
my cpu and ram still bottleneck with my asus 88gts.... sad.gif others can get 8 - 9k in 3dmark06
Err... dude.. do u even know the benchmark (esp. synthetic benchmark) oso counts on cpu?... doh.gif

Your E6300 --> My x2 3800 ...lol

Cheers smile.gif
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Jun 25 2007, 07:07 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(victor_hoh @ Jun 25 2007, 09:34 AM)
8600GT SLi user, default clock. E4300 overclocked FSB to 266, running at 2.4GHz, and DDR2-667 RAM

7330 3DMark06 score?

consider ok?
Nice score smile.gif

Btw, i was wondering what score u gotten w/o overclocking yer proc.

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 25 2007, 11:12 AM)
thats a nice score man.....on par with 8800GTS thumbup.gif
Imo, he got extra few 100s 3Dmarks due his proc o/c (not to mentioned his proc and ours in different league or shld i say.. different generation.. lol).

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Jun 25 2007, 05:48 PM)
if quadcore is taken into account, this has further proved that 3dmark is actually a RichmanMarks whistling.gif
Thats why its called "synthetic benchmark", so dont take it so seriously on it.

If wanna benchmark, do it on games which its "real-world benchmark" which are much more accurate.

Most popular games nowadays has built-in benchmark, such as :-
1. Company Of Heroes
2. HalfLife 2 : LostCoast (direct3D benchmark)
3. Call Of Duty 2 / Quake4 (well u need to download demo benchmark to br standardized). (openGL benchmark)

These are the usual games i benchmark with.. wink.gif

Cheers biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Jun 25 2007, 07:34 PM
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Jun 25 2007, 11:39 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Jun 25 2007, 09:20 PM)
Hmm, how come you guys are getting 6k-7k with 8800gts? Doesnt sound right I guess. I get 9.1k with just my processor OC'd (E4300 @ 375*8). I doubt that the CPU oc could bring this type of performance gap.
=_="... dude... if u didnt see juz previous posts... do read it again...

To be sure any more 3Dmark06 n00bs out there doesnt know...

3DMARK06 its CPU DEPENDENT BENCHMARK!!!...

I gotta say... this really getting on my nerves for those who thinks that AthlonXP 2.4GHz its same as C2D 2.4Ghz... doh.gif

And esp. those who o/c their C2D and compares with my X2 3800 non-o/c.

Stop comparing and think its the same all bcoz its same MHz/GHz... it doesnt work that way!!!...

Damit!.. this really reminds of those ppl thinks AthlonXP 3000+ its 3000MHz... rclxub.gif

/rants-off

Cheers yawn.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Jun 26 2007, 12:02 AM
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Jun 26 2007, 01:36 AM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(tAmp0i @ Jun 26 2007, 01:21 AM)
20410 on 3DMark05, E6600 @ 3.85GHz, 8800GTS 320MB @ 648/945.... Gonna re-run with other driver smile.gif
Holy smokes!.. thats nearly 4Ghz... blink.gif

What CPU HSF are u using man?.. and dont mind asking what temp. are u getting at 3.85Ghz?..

Cheers smile.gif
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Jun 26 2007, 01:51 AM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 25 2007, 11:03 AM)
@ TomatomanzSeedlezz

Do you change the fan speed of your GC to 100% or are you running on default?I tried checking with PC Wizard. It stating i am running 100% even i did not tweak anything..
Well, i didnt chg fanspeed, esp. i dont even know where to chg fanspeed.. blush.gif

Where to chg ah?.. tried Rivaturner.. but it cant recognize my drivers.

Btw, didcha try using MSI D.O.T?..

Cheers tongue.gif
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Jun 26 2007, 11:04 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(sleepy @ Jun 26 2007, 01:12 PM)
Oooo. Pardon me Mr-1337-in-3Dmark06. I didnt know that because the last 3DMark I've tested is the 05.

And btw, I do know that a 2.4ghz C2D and A64 is not the same, ipc's are not the same on both. Just I didnt know the difference would be this big in 06 compared to 05. Again, you're the 1337 for calling non-3dm06 awares as n00bs notworthy.gif
Other than u sounded sarcastic, sorry abt that... bring out frustration on u there.

Abt calling u n00bs, not like i saying ur #$@$@%... sweat.gif , well i was once too, and who hasnt?.. lol

Well, at least u know now... heh tongue.gif

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 26 2007, 09:05 PM)
yeah...i remember reading long ago in this forum.. some dude running his PCIe GC at 4x...so i wanna check...coz for some reason my 3D Mark 05 im only getting 8k.

not sure the reason. but i suspect the main reason is that my HDD is dying. but just wanna make sure its not the PCIe slot.

and there are 8x PCIe slots built into the mobos.

and speaking of 3dmark 05... i just re-downloaded it a few days ago....and for some reason i have to check my scores online. i cant check it WITHOUT submitting the ORB. how do i do it without having to check it online ah??

the previous 3dm05 i downloaded a year ago didnt have this..can check without going online.
Yea, u can check yer PCIE speeds on CPU-Z.

And abt 3DMark05, yea, it used to show result straightaway w/o going online smile.gif

Now the latest version of it, needs to check yer results thru online.

QUOTE(eluna @ Jun 26 2007, 10:26 PM)
nowaday graphic card only using pcie 16x slot with 75 watt supply
low 3dmark score does not mean anything gua? y worried? as long as play as good as other gamer fps then it just fine
Yea, juz take it lightly when comparing with 3DMark06, as i said, best to benchmark using games cool2.gif

Cheers smile.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Jun 26 2007, 11:12 PM
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Jun 26 2007, 11:51 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(sniperwolf @ Jun 26 2007, 12:01 PM)
How to determine whether its a split or not? As normal the fan compressor part is outside the room where as the 1 in the room is the blower la. Its not a too old model and if I not mistaken its the 1st panasonic model with ionizer which I bought around year 2004
Hey snipey,

Yea, basically yers its split-unit, meaning theres 2 separate parts/units, one the blower and the other its the compressor.

Thats really quiet, esp. considering with yer air-con on.

Cheers smile.gif

Added on June 26, 2007, 11:56 pm
QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 26 2007, 08:24 AM)
Never tried the D.O.T before cause i never touch that CD before as well..LOL..Maybe i should give it a try but Ntune also have the ability to let you OC the card as well right?
I see.. well, according the reviews, they said the MSI's D.O.T pretty solid 3Dcard utility.

If not mistaken it can o/c, see temperatures, check artifacts, and best of all, auto o/c.

I might try that later, esp. after i gotten a new PSU wink.gif

And yea, nTune can do o/c too.

Cheers smile.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Jun 26 2007, 11:57 PM
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Jun 28 2007, 02:15 AM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

No problems here icon_rolleyes.gif

Helldude : juz wondering what temperature yer card at?.. idle and load.

Anywayz, have u tried different drivers?...

Btw, theres a new beta drivers juz out from Nvidia, try it out smile.gif

http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp_2k_162.15.html

Cheers smile.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Jun 28 2007, 02:16 AM
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Jun 28 2007, 10:14 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(chOOOk @ Jun 28 2007, 09:29 PM)
anybody has a unused PCIe to molex converter that is unused?
my 8800 GTS didn have this in the bundle sad.gif

im willing to buy at reasonable price.

Im juz curious, what PSU are u on?... must be pretty old, considering u need a convertor for it..

Cheers smile.gif
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Jun 30 2007, 02:32 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(christopher_mhm @ Jun 30 2007, 12:17 PM)
hey guys, i got a question, my com specs r like tis, p4 2.8, 965 ds3, 512 mb ddr533 ram, n recently bought galaxy 8600 gt. wen i benchmark 3dmark05 graphic test only i get bout 2.5k score, wats wrong wif my system? i use forceware 158.22 driver..
Hmmmz.. have u tried "Project Search & Compare" and do "Match your active 3DMark06 project (exact CPU & GPU speed)" in ORB (which after u submitted yer scores online), easier to find out that way.

Cheers smile.gif

This post has been edited by TomatomanzSeedlezz: Jun 30 2007, 05:22 PM
TomatomanzSeedlezz
post Jul 8 2007, 08:52 PM

Killer Tomatoz!..
1,898 posts

QUOTE(§layerXT @ Jul 8 2007, 07:34 PM)
There is no need to drop price since 2900series does not perform better than 8800series
Yeah, imo theres basically no competition. Hence Nvidia aren't worried and price will stay for now.

Cheers smile.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0454sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:28 PM