Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V2
HaHaNoCluE
Aug 13 2007, 03:21 AM
QUOTE(sHawTY @ Aug 12 2007, 01:47 PM) If you ask me, i didn't change the thermal pad, i leave it just like that as i just replace the TIM on top of the core IHS only.  can i just apply a big drop of mx-1 or mx-2 on the memory of my 8800gts for replacement of thermal pad??? i did that to my pwm heat sink before n it works... but i'm not sure if it can fill the gap... where to buy thermal pad???
HaHaNoCluE
Aug 14 2007, 01:08 PM
QUOTE(tonny @ Aug 14 2007, 11:39 AM) Hi shawty, Thanks for the reply. I'm really appreciate it. Yes. that is my graphic card now. 1) My PSU is Acbel 350W true power. If not stable, what is your recommendation brand and how many watt ? 2) Yesterday i've install nvidia official driver directly into my pc. But not yet test on C&C3. Previously blue screen of dead was appear during start of the C&C3 GDI campaign movie. 3) How do I know the graphic card is damaged ? But it seems work fine in windows environment without running high end game. 4) Latest nvidia driver from nvidia official is 162.18 right ?? Another q is asus itself hav release the driver for 8600GT is 168.18. I should always install the nvidia official driver is better ? Regards: Tony i have the acbel e3 350w too but i guess it doesn't have enuf juice to power ur gc... best bet, change it to something better... u dun have to buy those hyper expensive psu, someone mentioned ss560w for rm320??? or check in garage sales, ther is enhance 460w for rm100+... the acbel 350 is ok but i use it with e6300 (oc a bit), 4 hdd, 7300gs, 2 odd n the psu start not to performing well... changing it to any 450w psu solved my problem... try removing all the old gpu drivers n reinstall the forceware... good luck...
HaHaNoCluE
Aug 15 2007, 01:34 AM
ahahahaha.... finally u bought a camera shawty???
HaHaNoCluE
Aug 18 2007, 03:36 AM
8800 owner why cry??? just change again lor... IF ther's such thing as 9800gtx... biasa lar... that's the trend mar...
HaHaNoCluE
Aug 20 2007, 03:32 AM
the pcb is hot??? which portion??? front or back??? bro u better check ur gpu carefully...
the hottest part of G8x series card i thought is the bridge chipset... correct if i'm wrong, tq.. is ther a wc block for 8800 bridge chipset???
HaHaNoCluE
Aug 20 2007, 03:44 PM
QUOTE(ff8ong @ Aug 20 2007, 10:29 AM) or it can download from microsoft web? is ur pc on hibernate??? otherwise it's very seldom that monitor won't power up after it shut itself off... i on the shut down monitor after 20 minutes... n it never fails to power up...
HaHaNoCluE
Aug 20 2007, 04:54 PM
ian, maybe u should check if ther's a msg baloon right hand lower corner with msg 'Microsoft detected Apple products'... 'Unfriendly hardwares detected'... hahaha...
HaHaNoCluE
Aug 23 2007, 12:26 PM
QUOTE(tanghm @ Aug 23 2007, 11:22 AM) Can, I'm using it to view GPU temp on the system tray as well as to measure full load temperature (by open 3D View) My temperature with MX-1 (Measured with 15 minutes ATITool 3DView) Idle: 58'C (5 minutes right after bootup) Full Load: 95'C (AGAIN this is 15 minutes ATITool temperature) ATITool reports the TRUE full load temperature of any card, much much higher than normal 3D app where it doesnt utilise the GPU at 100% u better stop using ur card n try to refit ur hsf... it's too much for it to handle at 95'c.. oso does ur chassis supply sufficient ventilation??? my 8800gts start giving stupid buzzer (low whistling sound) when running atitool n then artifacts everywhere n finally lock up... it did the same in CS too... i thought it was my psu, but then after changing to several psu n driver (except the latest beta 163.44) didn't help, i've juz packed it n it's on it's way back for rma... btw, my idle is low 40'c load is somewhere near 50'c max... using mcw60 wc gpu block... running in default factory oc setting 550/900 all the time... 8800gts users, can gif some comments??? tq...
HaHaNoCluE
Aug 24 2007, 01:12 PM
QUOTE(tanghm @ Aug 23 2007, 09:46 PM) My 8800GTS full load 95'C after running for like 15 minutes lor, no problem at all can still OC to 620/930. The stock fan is really weak when come to pushing hot air out of the case, feel like removing the plastic covering the hsf and blow 80mm fan directly. But removing the plastic will have to damage the sticker covering the screw hole, hhmmmm 8800 series wont drop price anytime soon, with Crysis coming out round the corner expect a sale boost on 8800 series, you think NV will drop price ? i trim the sticker around the 2 screw holes so that i can remove the plastic cover n clean the hsf... it help the hsf to drop 1 or 2'C as dust can cause major restriction...
HaHaNoCluE
Aug 24 2007, 06:03 PM
QUOTE(yahn @ Aug 24 2007, 01:33 PM) Anyone try wiv remove the plastic cover and tie a 80mm fan on top of the hsf...  http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/491550 a few method has been tried... when the cover is opened, the ori fas is useless as it couldn't draw enuf air n channel them to the heat sink, so u can safely take off the ori fan... using 1 or 2 x 120mm fans can immediately cool it down to 47 to 50 idle... load is near 63 to 65... the stupid sli bridge is 1 of the most heat provider on 8800 card... try to double the thickness of the thermal tape for the sli chpset controller, rams, n the mosfet... it shows significant performance gain for ram especially... lyp got sell CM thermal tape (brown color, forgot wat's the thickness but not cheap)... applying better thermal paste to the gpu also help dropping around 1 to 2'c (i use arctic mx-1)... but some reported much better result (upto 5'c)... the vizo dual pci fan (or sumthin like dat) works very well too when 8800 without the heat shrouder/cover, n oso without the ori fan... n best of all it cost less than rm60... worth a try... but careful, some distro void warranty as long as u take off the hsf or remove the cover... good luck...
HaHaNoCluE
Aug 27 2007, 03:27 PM
QUOTE(kmarc @ Aug 27 2007, 01:17 PM) Sure. Remember that previous generations of GC has lower 2D settings and higher 3D settings. I just can't understand why the newest generation can't do that!!! Going to ask Nvidia about this, looks like they have a forum at their website too....  well, quite an interesting topic u have ther, downclocking the gpu might save u a bit current i guess... QUOTE(tanghm @ Aug 27 2007, 03:00 PM) Go ahead and pick 100 8800GTS cards. I'm pretty sure if there is no 100% manual fan speed overwrite via 3rd party software, all cards runs at 70'C++ idle temperature. can't understand what u trying to say here... most 8800gts idle at around 60'c with adequate ventilation... u can use rivatuner to set the fan at watever speed u want... it's in low level setting...
HaHaNoCluE
Sep 1 2007, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 1 2007, 05:13 AM) decided to try something to help with the cooling of my 2x 8800s... previously it takes a while for the temps to go down from load to idle. so i added a 60mm fan in the HDD bay to help push some air from the front intake to the GC coolers.. bottom card benefitted alot from this....from load, the temps went down pretty quick to idle...even the idle temps has dropped... top card however, is not receiving as much air as the bottom card...but its still benefitting from this... temps from load to idle drops pretty quick...but still not as fast as bottom card. idle temps has also dropped. not really sure about load temps..as i started the PC and straight ran 1 round of CoH benchmark and 1 round of 3D Mark 05.... currently top card is idling stable at 63 and bottom card is at 56  the sli bridge area is still friggin hot though  maybe u can install the hdd at the 5.25" bay n remove the hdd rack so the front intake fan can supply enough cold air directly to both ur gpu...
HaHaNoCluE
Sep 5 2007, 04:26 PM
i got a problem running my 8800gts recently, it was factory oced to 550/900 but i downclock it to 550/850 due to artifacts lately... i oso bump into several BSOD ocassions, can some 1 help me out??? i dun have any idea wat caused it... i tried my gpu on another P35 + E2160 n it works perfectly, i've oso replaced rams n psu but still same... my rig e6600, 400 x 9, 1.500vcore abit aw9d-max, 975 ocz reaper 2 x 1gb, 800 4-4-4-15 (std) acbel 550W i power windows xp pro sp2 driver 163.44 beta atitool 0.27b usually this happen while i play games or run atitool 'show 3d' or 'scan for artifact'... after running for a few minutes, either BSOD or system lock up... the BSOD screen
This post has been edited by HaHaNoCluE: Sep 5 2007, 04:29 PM
HaHaNoCluE
Sep 5 2007, 05:23 PM
QUOTE(-vip3rleon9- @ Sep 5 2007, 05:18 PM) i have a theory. too hot, maybe?  that was my 1st thought too so i bought my self wc kit... now idle at 40'c load near 50'c so heat is not an issue... i got copper ram sinks n 120mm fan blowing directly toward the card... so temp is all under control... anymore idea wat the bsod trying to explain???
HaHaNoCluE
Sep 5 2007, 06:36 PM
QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 5 2007, 05:30 PM) try googling it up...i remember bumping into something somewhere about the irq not less or equal to thingy... i've been searching oso... but still searching... hopefully will get a clue... *update: juz found out some article with the ar5211.sys problem, it seems like my new 108mbps wifi NIC isn't compatible n clashes with my GPU... wat a world... gonna go home n try remove my NIC, n c how... tonite OT till 11pm... hope i can get it done tonite... QUOTE(mdzaboy @ Sep 5 2007, 06:33 PM) have u try changed the nvidia driver including beta..? mine when gc reach more than 100C(oc to 765/2150) consider blue screen or pc restart..  sell me urs... This post has been edited by HaHaNoCluE: Sep 5 2007, 07:59 PM
HaHaNoCluE
Sep 5 2007, 09:01 PM
QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Sep 5 2007, 08:22 PM) i got the same problem when o/c too high the cpu... even when i lower down the o/c still getting the same prob... solution : increase the voltage for core,ram & northbridge... my system is already rock solid stable... orthos more than 24 hours stable, memtest 6 hours stable... juz the gpu... the best luck i ever have with any gpu is the nvidia 6200, 7900gto, ati x300 all on same system... the BSOD screen shows this stupid ar5211.sys which happens to be part of my wifi card driver... guess maybe i jus remove it n c how... about the lock up while gaming n atitool 'show 3d'... well hopefully it's the stupid wifi nic caused them too... i tried bumping my vcore, vmch n vdimm a little higher than it is now, but same result... really annoyed by this... i tried the old cs1.6 oso can lock up  ... mdzaboy, wat brand of 8800gts u use??? it should be the same as all 8800 r produce by nvidia themself... anyway, maybe ur luck better guar...  ... planning to do some vmod to my gpu but till i solve the lock up n bsod 1st...